$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
954 reviews
Vacation

It's the best bang for your buck. The food is great, room is clean, pool is clean, the wait on you... See full review

  • 2903
  • Jul 14, 2014
My Son got married there

They hotel was FABULOUS! They food was GREAT! It was alot more then we expected. The weather was... See full review

  • sonny24
  • Jun 26, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (954)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
954 out of 954
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny S
Ohio, USA
Feb 22, 2012

First Experience at an All-Inclusive

Great hotel with amazing staff. I felt taken care of and very special. I'm in my late 20's and while I appreciate peace, quiet and conservativeness--I got a little too much at this hotel. The Riu Caribe next store did have a younger crowd, a small, very dark night club, and sports bar (open 24hrs). Most of the hotel shows were terrible and night clubs incredibly loud and overly crowded. I went late February to avoid spring breakers, but it just so happened that it was 'Canadian Spring Break'. I would prefer more options for nightlife so I'd have a choice of a happy medium. The food wasn't so great either. In between meals you don't get very good service, the buffet was almost the same every day, and there were no 'specialty stations' where you could create your own sandwich/smoothie/burrito etc. The dinner you needed reservations for however were pretty good. My biggest complaint -- there was no late time food options unless you went next door. (Don't count on room service, it was horrible). At night the grounds can get a little chilly since the hotel blocks most sunlight by 5:30pm. Ultimately, if you want to party like a spring breaker, get waited on like royalty, and have a quiet pool or beach to relax -- this is your hotel. At my age, I don't mind getting up to get my own drink. I would have rather saved that extra couple hundred and stayed at the Riu Caribe next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joesmoe
austin Texas
Jul 6, 2010

July 2010

due to tropical storm Alex the shoreline was covered with see weed. I don't feel that enough was done to clean the beaches. The staff were professional and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
i
ny,ny
Nov 15, 2009

weekend getaway

Just wanted to enjoy a weekend away, there was not enough to do at the hotel, just 2 pools, not very big. No indoor or heated pool, it was very windy so therefore very cold. The food was not great and was sitting out too long at the buffet and whats up with a mexican hotel, but no mexican restaurant. We felt rushed out of the restaurant, would have liked seconds at the Brazilian restaurant, but felt like it would be too much to ask. The room was big, view was great, however not very comfortable feeling since everything was tiled, the king size bed was two full beds pushed together -not very comfortable. The sheets were used too much since they were piling and not very soft. The hotel felt very grand when you first walked in but not too much after that, the drinks were ok -inconsistent. The staff was very nice and attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO
Feb 23, 2011

Hotel Review

We had a good experience. Making reservations for the restaurants was inconvenient. It would be nice to make the dinner reservations at the same time the hotel reservation is made. The room was very nice and very clean. We did have an issue with the lock on the door; our card did not work; they re-coded it and it still did not work; finally they called maintenance and they had to change the batteries on the door; this was done late in the evening and they worked on it over 30 minutes. We stayed at the resort the entire time and enjoyed sitting by the beach and the bar service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

you can only make reservations for two days in advance. you need to get to the lobby by 8:00 a.m. to get your reservation for the restaurant of your choice. later than that, the restaurant is full and you will not get your first choice.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AJL70s
Dallas, TX
Jul 12, 2014

Ok experience

The hotel was centrally located, with an amazing view of the beach. Unfortunately the hotel was outdated, the bed was not comfortable, sheets were rough, and the comforter was noticeably worn out. The staff was great, the buffet restaurants and specialty restaurants were good, but the 24hr room service menu was very limited. The pools were very nice. The overall experience was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Next Wave(boat) Catamaran to Isla Mujeres was an excellent experience! The crew was awesome, they went above and beyond to ensure an amazing trip.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, New York
Feb 13, 2011

Great Service, room OK

The service at this hotel was fantastic, especially in the restaurants. The main facility was nice, but could use some sprucing up. The couches in the main lobby could be cleaned. The bathtubs were like a closet and difficult to get in and out of. At check in we were not given any information about the facility or the shows, and our key did not work. Although there was 24 hour room service, it was a very limited menu and there were no beverages available. Dinner did not start until 6:30, which is a little late. Also guests should know that the specialty restaurants all require reservations, which need to be made in advance, which means that you cannot make one for your first evening. The specialty restaurants are only open for dinner. Grayline: although they were easy to locate, we had to wait over 15 minutes. Upon leaving there was an accident, which means that they were over 20 minutes late in picking us up. The driver, however, was lovely. Also they really pushed the day trips, which could be obtained for better prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

make your dinner reservations upon arrival.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joesmoe
austin Texas
Jul 6, 2010

July 2010

due to tropical storm Alex the shoreline was covered with see weed. I don't feel that enough was done to clean the beaches. The staff were professional and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican Vacation Lover
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Apr 14, 2012

it was a fine trip, it WAS Cancun, after all!

Everything was average, to me. I've just been in better rooms. And nothing was really that spectacular except a young man working on the beach (Amilcar). The room was okay size, not a great layout, in my opinion. The hotel's idea of ocean view was to go out on your balcony and lean over, looking to the left. My other complaint was that it's so competitive to get a restaurant reservation! We even got in 3 hours before normal check-in and we still couldn't get a restaurant reservation for the night we arrived. Are you kidding me? Not to mention, in a 4-night stay, we were never able to get into the Japanese restaurant - and we are NOT late sleepers! But, all staff was extremely awesome! Not a single one miserable. The beach was incredible, as far as the sand, the crowd, being rock-free in the water & being able to get lounge chairs. And I already mentioned Amilcar, an outstanding employee, to say the least!! The pool closest to the hotel has NO lounge chairs around it (???), just 8 built-in cement "beds" w/pads. I don't understand that. It was by far the least crowded pool, so that was nice, but is it supposed to be only for those 16 people that get the beds at the crack of dawn? Beautiful inside the building, for sure. All in all, I was in Cancun for the week, how bad could it be?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Western Maryland
Feb 25, 2011

P.U. STINKS - very musky/mildew

The Riu is absolutely gorgeous. Very clean. Staff is very friendly & helpful. The SMELL IS AWFUL. DON'T unpack your clothing. Leave them in your suitcase, with it zipped. If you don't, you will take that smell home with you, on your clothing, and it takes seeral washes to get rid of that smell. On bathing suites, (maybe because of the material) the smell did not come out, we had to pitch them. Also, they did not keep refridgerator full of beverages and did no turn down service at the end of the evening. Food was great, however, all 4 of us got really sick, intestional. It lasted for a week. Coincidental??? I don't know for sure. It is flu season :) The bed always felt wet, so much dampness. We stayed at the Riu in Punta Cana, it smelled the same way. Not sure what that is all about. YUCK! I would recommend to a friend, but, I will make sure they are aware of that foul odor. Sometimes looks are deceiving. Beautiful to look at, BUT....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping center and Flea Markets are setup in safe walking distance.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jcich56390
MInneapolis
May 8, 2010

May in Cancun

The room circuit breaker kept blowing when the lights were turned on. The TV and the lamp in the sitting area wouldn't work and I thought it was the circuit breaker but they weren't hooked up. I had to move the dresser and do it myself. The cable for the TV, the power cord and the lamp were not hooked up. I addition the toilet wouldn't stop running. Not what I expected from a RIU

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Stay in the Hotel. No need to leave.

Back to menu Return to top