$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joe
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 22, 2007

cancun 6/18/07

Upon arriving check in was smooth, we arrived late evening and all the food that was avalable was buffet. Room was nice and mini bar was well stocked. The next day we tried to make reservations for that nights meal, but they told us it was too late( it was only 12:30 pm)so we had buffet again, we made reservations for the next two nights at that time. The food at the buffets was just ok for all inclusive. That afternoon we tried to get our water and mini bar restocked and it fell on deaf ears, we called 5 times in a 4 hour period, and the last time we asked do we have to come get it our selfs!! finally after 5 hours we got our water restocked, i don't know what the big deal was. The beach was small, they charged you for towels if you did not have a towel card. The nightly shows were short and the bars closed at 1am, and didn't open back up until 10 am the next day.The food in the specialty resturants was good. All in all it was a good trip but the hotel staff didn't act like it was a 4 star hotel. If you walked outside the hotel you really could smell sewage and if the wind was right at the beach you could also smell it. We may try the RIU PALACE LAS AMERICAS again, but the staff better be more on the ball. The system for reserving dinner has to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John R.
Business
N/A
May 11, 2015

WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN

First let me say everything at the hotel as far as staff, food, amenities and location was absolutely great. My only complaint that killed my whole trip was the hotel has a cockroach problem. The 1st room we checked into #638 I killed 2 within the 1st 2 minutes of being in the room both came out from under the mini bar, and as im getting our bags to leave a noticed another one right along the dresser. My wife freaked out and wanted out ASAP so we grabbed our stuff and left right back to the front desk. Front desk was very helpful and got us a new room #723 upon opening the door and turning on the light I hear my wife scream their are 2 more crawling up the wall. They finally got us a 3rd room that did not have a problem or we just didn't see. Two days later while returning from the beach we notice a pest control guy coming from the room right across from us with his big industrial sprayer and the hall way smelling like a very strong chemical. Wow wonder what they were spraying for. Can honestly say this was the most uncomfortable stay I have ever had its impossible to sleep knowing this is going on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DON D.
Business
N/A
Jun 26, 2015

Did Not Enjoy My Stay

This hotel is very nice, but did not meet my expectations, we were meeting in Cancun for our family reunion. unfortunately could not get a good nights sleep because the beds were very uncomfortable due to the fact there was plastic sheeting between the mattress and bed sheets making noise. we could not go to the hotel's beach front and ocean water at all ( it was closed to swim ), we could only just use the pool. for that I would stayed home and used my own pool and did not have to pay the high cost for the air fare and hotel. I would like get a full refund .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yaping Shen
Business
Shanghai China
Jan 5, 2014

A Great Vacation

We had a wonderful. The food was great and hotel was ver nice. We'll come back again. The only thing is that the hotel has no evening entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary Denver
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 12, 2014

Riu Palace keep their standards!!!

Very good experience with Riu Palace Las Americas. Friendly stuff, good service! Clean rooms and great food variety!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GLSW
Business
Helena,, MT
Jan 19, 2014

Relaxing week with friends

Our room was exceptionally clean. We were given a room with 2 queens when we first checked in, but were switched to a king the next day upon our request. The food was very good overall, but some of the hot items were cool or cold. The wait staff really hustled to make sure that we had all we needed. We had a great meal in the Krystal restaurant. Great ocean view. The massages were okay - more attention could have been paid to some special touches for the price that we paid. The hotel lobby, restaurants, common areas were attractive and clean. This was our second time at this hotel and we would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

We liked the Krystal restaurant the best. Great service. Presentation of food was excellent. Get your reservations in early.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pierc232
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 21, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas Review

We had a great time at Riu Palace Las Americas! The food was great and the staff were all so friendly. We enjoyed the restaurants - the French restaurant is amazing - and there was plenty of food and drinks to choose from. My one complaint would be that the room wasn't as clean as I'd like. The bathroom had a somewhat slimy film on the floor and smelled a bit moldy, and we saw a HUGE cockroach on the last day. I'm sure this is typical of a tropical environment and everything else in the room was great, but I just wanted to mention. Also if you want to lay out in the sun, you'll need to get up early to reserve your space as much of the pool and beach areas are shaded. We don't have kids but I'd say this hotel was kid friendly, lots of families. Overall, this is a great hotel and I'd come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Krystal (the French restaurant) has THE BEST steak at the hotel. Great food.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DenverDan
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 31, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas 01/2014

!st time staying at the RPLA and it was great....just like the Riu Caribe and Riu Cancun, the RPLA was a beautiful hotel to stay at, and I will visit again. One drawback that might affect people choosing the RPLA is the lack of a beach, but its due to the layout of the hotel. There IS beach space, but very limited, so if you are a beachwalker, this is not an ideal place to take a walk. The ocean is very rocky right outside the shore, so wear some rubber beach shoes, but a short distance away, there is alot of space to snorkel and swim. The water is soooooo clear! The food is about the same as the other 2 Riu hotels...lots of variety and plenty of it.....The fruit and various shrimp dishes were outstanding. As usual, the hotel staff was great and very helpful. No problems with the room or service. I will be going back.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbie50
Business
New York
Feb 5, 2014

Better than expected

This hotel is just beautiful! The palace motif works well and everthing was clean and well kept. The variety and abundance of food was quite impressive and of course the staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate at a different restaurant every night and did not have any trouble getting reservations. My favorite restaurant was the Japanese and Crystal. least favorite was the steakhouse. Steak does not seem to be their best dish. The pools were beautiful and while the beach is narrow there was never a problem getting a chaise. I was happy that I did not pay much attention to the negative reviews that I read. Some people are very picky. The hotel also had a good mix of ages. Some families with kids, some young and middle age couples and some older folks. So you feel very comfortable. Go and enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the bus stop to Cancun. Make sure you get the right bus. When on the return road you cannot see the hotel because of a shopping area in between so pay attention or you might over shoot the hotel and have to walk back or take the bus again.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovincancun
Business
Minnesota
Feb 17, 2014

Great Vacation!

We stayed at this hotel with a group of 12 friends/family. It was a great place and a lot of fun! The staff made it even more fun - kind and energetic!! We would return! Only complaint is the beds were uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the entertainment that is offered nightly at the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top