$372 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
628 reviews
Was better than expected!

food was great! staff was great! overall will be back See full review

  • las super dad
  • Nov 27, 2014
Memorable vacation

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Me and my friend enjoyed our vacation. See full review

  • brence
  • Nov 16, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (628)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VitaliyG
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 9, 2012

most horrible hotel ever

it was our second trip to mexico, i am very disappoint; A/C don't really work, smell of mold all over hotel, security safe i was able to open with toothpick, bad location and very dirty as soon you step out of hotel, super noisy from cars and something else....plus food poising, last night spent hugging toilet. I and my wife couldn't wait to get home. Next summer we will go to Hawaii, been they twice and much better than Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanDC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2012

everything is great except one MAJOR thing

I got a master suite with an ocean view and they upgraded us for a jacuzzi on the deck. Ocean view was excellent and the room was very clean, and big. Two showers, one tub, one outdoor jacuzzi. They are extremely stingy with their A/C. We realized that our A/C was not responding at all and so I called maintenance. They said that both my sliding glass doors have to be closed and locked, in order for the A/C to work. Like a DC cab driver... It never got cold. stayed at about 77 each night. I woke up in sweats the first night. Especially for a suite, the AC needs to be more powerful. Waitstaff was excellent. Food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the adjacent Riu's for the shows. The one at this one was stupid, cheap, and a waste of time. Almost mockable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary couple2013
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
May 15, 2013

Overall good, not great.

First of all, I was expecting spectacular service after all the great reviews. I did feel like the staff were nice, but I did not feel like anyone went out of their way to make my stay special. I requested an upgraded room SEVERAL times, (and I KNOW there had to be upgrades available, as it wasn't that busy) but they wouldn't even consider it. They just flatly told us NO each time we asked. I was willing to pay for it, I just wanted an ocean view room. They would not help me at all. The food was just mediocre. We made reservations at most of the "special" restaurants, and I would not do that again. The Japanese restaurant was fine, but for the most part, the food was better at the buffet. (still not great, but better) One thing that was very upsetting was that the pool closed at 6 pm!! WHY?! One night they even pushed us out 1/2 hour early. (The one VERY SMALL hot tub closed at 8:30.) We traveled there specifically to enjoy the pools, and there was really nothing to do after 6 pm when they closed. I was VERY disappointed in that. We had money stolen out of our room one day. It was there in the morning, they cleaned our room, and then it was gone. It was a small amount, and I made sure to use the safe for all of our major valuables, but stealing is stealing however you look at it. I went to the front desk the next morning to tell them about it, and they just brushed it off. In fact, the guy even made a face like it was typical. The hotel was nice, and the outside is beautiful, but the inside needs a little TLC. Furniture is a little shabby, needs some detail wok. Overall good. Beach area is small, but nice. Overall we had a good time, and would possibly travel there again knowing what we know now. However, I would sure like it if they considered some of my concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tim in Columbus
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 29, 2013

Frequently travel to this area

Our 12th time to an all-inclusive, first one in Cancun, mostly in Riviera Maya. Riu Palace Las Americas is beautiful. Fantastic lobby, grounds and pools. Many reviews have complaints about the front desk, and I have to agree. We arrived 4 hours before the 3pm check in time. I would rather a hotel be honest and say to come back at three. This place goes through the full check in process, telling you that they have good news for you, gives you all the necessary things for your stay, and then tells you the room is not ready. We were told to have lunch and come back at noon (lunch starts at 12:30), we toured the resort for an hour, came back at noon, no room yet. This happened again at one pm and two pm. At 2:40pm, I stayed at the desk and was given my room key. One front desk woman was very snippy when I asked the code to dial a room from the house phone. As she barked, "20 then the room number", I was less than amused. The GREAT service came from: Restaurant waiters: Felipe (breakfast) Miguel (lunch and dinner at Krystal) Bartenders: Marianna and Abu And the absolute BEST service and smiles from pool and beach servers: Enrique, Fermin and William The entire staff was great, and I would rate them a five if not considering the front desk's attitude and incompetence/policies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike the Peace Bringer
Business
Culver City, CA
Jan 3, 2014

It's more like 3.5 stars at most...

Nice hotel in a good location, friendly staff and there was some variety in food. However be prepared for the 'upgrade' extortion, where they show you a couple of rooms, the one you paid for obviously is the worst room in the hotel and you would have to pay only in cash, no receipts. The food was worse than expected (mash potatoes made of flakes rather than fresh potatoes; not so many veggie options). Don't even bother with the Japanese restaurant, it was the worst. There's a mold/mildew smell across the hotel and there were signs of mold/mildew in the shower ceiling - they have no fans in the bath rooms, only vents. The water dropped on the floor, even a tiny bit, would stay there for days without drying. The beach was very nice, with a few rocks on the side where we could watch different types of fish using the snorkeling equipment provided by the hotel. Watch out for the sea urchins that hide under the rocks. Overall it is a good place to bring kinds and spend the time within the hotel.There were many fun activities organized by the hotel. It's not worth to book an all-inclusive though if you plan to have 2 or more day trips to the surrounding sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Javier Ala
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 20, 2014

Alright Stay

it was fun there, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I wish the food was a little better, but that's real about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st louis mo
Jun 15, 2009

quite dissappointed!!!

we booked a lagoon view and were given parking lot view, hotel said they dont offer a lagoon view. we were told 3 different stories- we could get a water view room for 175.00 extra per night, no water view rooms available or we could switch rooms for no additional charge on the 4th night of our 5 night stay. 3rd offer made after calling orbitz 2times to get this mess straightend out, am interested to know how much my phone bill for that will be, 1st call 40 minutes long, 2nd call 20 minutes. front desk staff very rude and unaccomadating, orbitz totally misrepresented the room type we were getting, we were under the impression we had ocean view. this was a very frustrating and disappointing experience, we will never book through orbitz again and will never stay at this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid the mexican outlet nearby the hotel, prices overinflated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
northeasterner
Business
albany,ny
May 2, 2009

good value

good value. lack of beach disappointg. food could have been better and more variety. french restaurant has microscopic portions. steak house disappointing. japanese restaurant only one worthwhile. however, wait staff very accomodating and attentive. getting reservations to these restaurants is a hassle. long lines at concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joni/Chachee
Business
Indiana
Nov 7, 2010

Location, location, location

My husband and I have been to Cancun several times, however, this was our first stay at this location. Hotel is fair at best. The smell of mildew, dampness is a little overwhelming. We have stayed other places and never had this type of odor. The food is fair. Lots of choices on the buffets, three times a day, only reservations for dinners in the good restaurants. sometimes hard to make reservations, they only let you make them for the following two days only. Pools were excellent! Pool bar, service, servers, entertainment, was phenominal. Staff speaks very good english. Room service, maid, beverage cart for your rooms, were disappointing. NO TOP SHELF liquor. not even Captain Morgan. The person thats refills your mini fridge knocks twice and barges right in your room. I was showering and couldn't get to the door, the man just walked right in and filled the fridge. I also asked for Pepsi light, (this is the name of Diet Pepsi in mexico) he ignorred me, and proceeded to fill the other sodas. Your bed, sheets, towels, etc, in your room feels damp and smells like mildew the entire time. As far as night life goes...you have a different show on the resort every night. About an hour and then everything is done by eleven. If you choose to go into town, Coco Bongo, The City, sweet, etc..those are all in walking distance. They will try to get you a taxi or go as a group on a bus. The entertainment staff does very well in keeping you informed on which club or bar they will be going to each night. Please also note, there are rumors Mexico is not safe right now. WE were completely safe and felt fine the entire trip. When enjoying the pool/beach, if you bring your own cup/drinking glass, they will make you whatever you want in it, otherwise, you will be served tiny, six ounce juice cups, with hardly any ice. Ice was definately a huge problem...either they were afraid of too much ice watering down your drink, or people in mexico just dont like ice cold drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to nightlife, huge plus. however, they will still try to get you to pay for the group rate for the bus trip and VIP. When arriving to the place, cover charge was the same and there was no special perks with going with your hotel staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bikerbobby
Business
flemington nj
Dec 6, 2010

very safe getaway

seems like they need more waiters on the beach they did not have enough snorkels or masks.however the food was the best we have had at any resort 5 stars for the food staff and waiters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top