$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
954 reviews
Vacation

It's the best bang for your buck. The food is great, room is clean, pool is clean, the wait on you... See full review

  • 2903
  • Jul 14, 2014
My Son got married there

They hotel was FABULOUS! They food was GREAT! It was alot more then we expected. The weather was... See full review

  • sonny24
  • Jun 26, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (954)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
954 out of 954
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
st louis mo
Jun 15, 2009

quite dissappointed!!!

we booked a lagoon view and were given parking lot view, hotel said they dont offer a lagoon view. we were told 3 different stories- we could get a water view room for 175.00 extra per night, no water view rooms available or we could switch rooms for no additional charge on the 4th night of our 5 night stay. 3rd offer made after calling orbitz 2times to get this mess straightend out, am interested to know how much my phone bill for that will be, 1st call 40 minutes long, 2nd call 20 minutes. front desk staff very rude and unaccomadating, orbitz totally misrepresented the room type we were getting, we were under the impression we had ocean view. this was a very frustrating and disappointing experience, we will never book through orbitz again and will never stay at this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid the mexican outlet nearby the hotel, prices overinflated.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose, ca
Oct 26, 2009

OK

We spent most of our time at the sister hotel riu cancun, enviroment was full of fun. Riu Palace had the better rooms and beach, but the pool sceen was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

COCO BONGO!!!! BEST PLACE TO GO AND HAVE A GREAT TIME. SHOWS AND MUSIC WAS AWESOME. A MUST DO IN CANCUN!!!!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
northeasterner
albany,ny
May 2, 2009

good value

good value. lack of beach disappointg. food could have been better and more variety. french restaurant has microscopic portions. steak house disappointing. japanese restaurant only one worthwhile. however, wait staff very accomodating and attentive. getting reservations to these restaurants is a hassle. long lines at concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Western Maryland
Feb 25, 2011

P.U. STINKS - very musky/mildew

The Riu is absolutely gorgeous. Very clean. Staff is very friendly & helpful. The SMELL IS AWFUL. DON'T unpack your clothing. Leave them in your suitcase, with it zipped. If you don't, you will take that smell home with you, on your clothing, and it takes seeral washes to get rid of that smell. On bathing suites, (maybe because of the material) the smell did not come out, we had to pitch them. Also, they did not keep refridgerator full of beverages and did no turn down service at the end of the evening. Food was great, however, all 4 of us got really sick, intestional. It lasted for a week. Coincidental??? I don't know for sure. It is flu season :) The bed always felt wet, so much dampness. We stayed at the Riu in Punta Cana, it smelled the same way. Not sure what that is all about. YUCK! I would recommend to a friend, but, I will make sure they are aware of that foul odor. Sometimes looks are deceiving. Beautiful to look at, BUT....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping center and Flea Markets are setup in safe walking distance.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toms River, NJ
Oct 29, 2009

Bad food

I would not recommend this hotel simply for the horrible food. My fiancé and I had to eat at the buffet for all but one of our meals and we were hungry the entire trip. The one meal we had at the so called "Steakhouse" was the only time I ate a piece of meat for five days. Not only was the food at the "Steakhouse" below average, but the "Steakhouse" was the buffet that we had eaten at all week. Very tough time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of singles...you need to tip everyone!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Dec 23, 2010

riu palace las americas

You will definitely not go hungry here. Food is available all the time. The staff is friendly and it was great to have easy access to the beach. If you like to go out at night, Riu is walking distance to the clubs. The quality of the food was average to above average. The drinks are really watered down so stick with the wine or liquor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations for the dinner meals.We enjoyed Krystal was the better one for dinner. For Lunch, try los arcos instead of the buffet to give your stomach a break!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thenewlyweds
Dallas, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun

Pool was so hot we could not swim in it, too crowded, and never any room at the "infinity edge" there were very few cabanas with shade around the pool and the drinks were just okay. The food was just okay, the buffet was better than any of the restaurants. I am not a picky eater, so I always was happy with my food and ate it, but if you are picky eater you probably wouldn't like it. I wish the pool would have been cooler/more refreshing. Would have been much better had there been a bigger "swim up bar" as well. We have been to Cancun about 6 or 7 times and there are nicer places to stay. We went with friends so it worked out great though. The service was excellent and Christina at the concierge desk went out of her way to help us. The reservations setup is nightmare. Waiting in a line at 8 o'clock in the morning on vacation is absolutely ridiculous and then to get there and not even allow a group of 8 to sit at the same table and the food to be subpar. My biggest annoyance was our room key not working on several occasions which was a big hassle considering it is a long way to the reception desk and the elevators are slow. This also means it is not easy access from your room to get down to the pool and beach so don't forget anything! For the price this is a nice place to stay for a weekend getaway, but for anything longer.. i would recommend paying a little extra to stay the Royal Cancun or the Excellence. Both of these blow the Riu Palace Las Americas away as far as service, amenities, food and pool/beach area. It is also a lot quieter with absolutely no kids. There were a lot of famlies with kids at our hotel which i was suprised about. I will say the hotel is beautiful and the shows were entertaining. The staff there really tries their best to keep everyone entertained. We had a great time with the few couples that we went with. Make sure that you specify a king size bed and a ocean view room because several people didn' t get that and weren't happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to carlos and charlies and senor frogs. We had a great time at both!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Idaho
Mar 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel, but......

This is our second stay at the Riu Palace Las Americas, and it is a beautiful, smaller, quieter, hotel. In our opinion one of the best locations in the hotel zone. The beach here, while small, is perfect, and the water always calm. It is protected and even on windy days,amazing. That being said, this hotel needs to step it up in the food and service (friendly) department!! The buffet was pathetic, imagine our surprise when we went next door to the cheaper Riu Cancun, and saw their extensive and quite tasty buffet. I would estimate it was 3-5 times as large, always had a carving station with prime rib and more, an italian (fresh pizza) area, an authentic Mexican food area, and a seafood area....and surprise it all had some flavor. The "reservation" only restaurants at the Palace were a joke, they would tell you they were totally booked and then would be half empty and closing down by 8...and at times the waitstaff in these "exclusive" restaurants could be rude. The front desk staff also bordered on rude, they failed miserably in the friendly department. Never smiling or asking how your stay was going. We did use the spa, and once again, while clean and pleasant I would not reccommend it....for the price I expected a little more pampering. The massage table was covered with a large towel and that was it! The massage itself was mediocre. However, for all my complaining, I would probably stay there again for the location, I like the size and the quieter atmosphere, and for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
st louis mo
Jun 15, 2009

quite dissappointed!!!

we booked a lagoon view and were given parking lot view, hotel said they dont offer a lagoon view. we were told 3 different stories- we could get a water view room for 175.00 extra per night, no water view rooms available or we could switch rooms for no additional charge on the 4th night of our 5 night stay. 3rd offer made after calling orbitz 2times to get this mess straightend out, am interested to know how much my phone bill for that will be, 1st call 40 minutes long, 2nd call 20 minutes. front desk staff very rude and unaccomadating, orbitz totally misrepresented the room type we were getting, we were under the impression we had ocean view. this was a very frustrating and disappointing experience, we will never book through orbitz again and will never stay at this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid the mexican outlet nearby the hotel, prices overinflated.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akb006
texas
Jun 8, 2012

Great

Hotel was very nicely kept, one of the best I have seen in Mexico. The beds were terrible, restaurants were fairly good, staff was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel next door is a RIU hotel so all amenities can be used there also with all inclusive.

Back to menu Return to top