$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
712 reviews
Awesome trip!

This hotel meet more than what I expected! The first impression in the front desk?awesome! The made... See full review

  • Marudeya
  • Jun 14, 2015
A great winter's lock get-away!

This was my 6th trip back to the Riu properties, I even joined them for the inaugural month at the... See full review

  • Senor Lopes
  • Jun 13, 2015

The all-inclusive Riu Palace Las Americas in Cancun is a premier resort destination for travelers to Mexico's Yucatan peninsula. The architecture is a charming blend of Moorish, modern and Mayan styles. The centerpiece of the resort is a massive and ornate swimming pool with a swim-up bar and private cabanas. Miles of beautiful white sand beach are preserved for the exclusive use of resort guests, so you will never feel crowded while you soak up the sun. The award-winning staff is always on-hand.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Highlights

The Riu Palace Las Americas is home to five stellar restaurants. Don Roberto serves local and international cuisine, and Los Arcos serves Italian pastas and pizza. By the pool is El Romero grill and steakhouse. Tío Pepe serves traditional Mexican fare, while Krystal serves eclectic fusion dishes. Last but not least, Sakura satisfies craving for sushi and calamari. Watersports from kayaking, jet skiing, snorkeling, diving and catamaran excursions are just a stroll away from the palace, while nearby destinations include the pyramids of Kukulkán in Chichen Itzá and the Turtle Conservation Centre of Isla Mujeres. When the sun goes down, the Pacha nightclub opens up where guests can dance to the beats of local and international DJs, while 24-hour room service means it's never too late for a delicious meal.

Nearby attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Policies

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie911
Long Island, NY
Oct 16, 2012

"Amazing surprise birthday trip"

Our first visit to Cancun and it was by far the greatest experience!!! The Hotel was elegant and clean, staff was very friendly, great restaurants inside the hotel. We had a great ocean view suite, not mentioning the two infinity pools one with a pool bar, DJ and great party hosts every day and the other much more relaxing to enjoy the sea breeze and a nice frozen drink. Hotel is located in the center of everything.."great for nightlife" Overall we would rate this Hotel a 10. We were so pleased with our experience that we are planning our second trip for next year already!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Unsatified
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Never stay at this hotel !!!!!!!!!!

Service desk wasn't friendly, no water on sat . , bed to hard , pillows flat, no iPod dock , no adult club, no microwave, not even a sports bar , arrived on my birthday didn't acknowledge it. Pool closed at 7pm way to early!!!! No activities after 5pm. Limited access to restaurants and to grace period for reservation and restaurants was not full but denied entry. Buffet was carnival cruise line style . Negative 5 stars !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reject Rio Las Americas
Business
Louisiana
Aug 2, 2012

Maybe another Rio, Not this one!!

Stayed for 4 days. Day 1- First room no air condition (AC). Told staff when I arrived. Rio AC person said it will get cool, give it an Hour. Arrived back at my room around midnight- NO AC!! We moved to another room (no assistance from the resort) at 12.30 in the morning. AC seemed to be working. Tried to call front desk no phone. No TV remote. Day 2. Told front desk about No TV remote and phone at 8.30 am. Got back to room around 3.30- Room had not been cleaned and phone and TV still not woking. Day 3. Got locked out of the room because key was not working. Got back into the room late and AC Did not work... Staff said the balcony door was slightly open therefore the AC did not come on ALL DAY. We never opened the baclony door, so who did? Possibly housekeeping,,, Day 4- The front desk manager apologize for all of my inconviences and gave me a email address to complain. Visited another resort for a day- Moon Palace employees never asked for a tip but the Rio employees always asked about their service, which meant "CAN I GET A TIP" Would never stay at this resort again and would not refer!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus if you want to get around... Cost 80 cents. The local market was very fun!!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chelle Be
Business
New Jersey
Dec 15, 2009

Small beach, cold pool and lots of shade

Very disappointed with this place, this was my second trip and last trip to Cancun. The hotel was poorly designed because it shades the entire pool area and most of the beach. Storms tend to hit the resort area early and once the sun returns, there is is only shade at the resort, which explains why the pool was very cold (NO heater, like it says in the description)! Also, the specialty restaurants were already booked when we arrived and when we were lucky enough to get into one, the seating did not seem to be filled to capacity (so why aren't the guests getting what they pay for?) My recommendation is to definitely go somewhere else!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go somewhere else!! The hotel shades the pool area for most of the day and there is no SUN!!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Van Morrison Fan Guy
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Beautiful! Like a Gold Ring..on the Snout of a Pig!

As I first beheld the outside of the marvelous-looking Riu Palace Las Americas, the cab driver told me, '"We call this the Church, because everyone seeing it for the first time says, "Oh My God!"' I laughed. then he quickly added, "Also, because when they are leaving, they look at the bill and say, "Jesus Christ!"' I laughed a heartier laugh, ignoring the possible truth behind those ominous words. Now let me be clear: I did not wind up paying more than the all-inclusive package price I got via Orbitz. But I did get less than what I bargained for. #1. On my first night of stay, I got a shard of glass in my big toe, because the bathroom floor hadn't been properly cleaned, and there was no first aid kit available. I was told I needed to wait until morning. #2. On my second day of stay the air conditioning went completely out that afternoon. A maintenance guy I saw in the hall told me this problem was affecting the whole wing of the complex. I took him to the front desk so he could repeat this as I complained. (I was a sweaty mess...an hour after showering, and dressing to go to my son's pre-wedding dinner.) the manager at the desk joked that I "must sweat a lot." When he noticed I failed to get his humor, he said they'd have the problem fixed within a few hours. I asked if the hotel planned to please adjust my bill. and then the manager laughed, as if I was joking. #3. On the fourth and final day of my stay, I left my room to have breakfast with other members of my family and the bridal party (this whole visit was about my son's wedding at the hotel). When I returned, I went to re-charge my cell phone, and the combination charger/usb adapter for the phone...had VANISHED from the wall socket by my bed...where I had it plugged in from the night of my arrival. (No..it was NOWHERE on the floor, under the bed or whatever.) It had clearly been stolen. I should have followed the night clerk's admonishment, as she handed me the key to the room safe, to keep my "valuables in there." Well..I kept my Passport, Credit Cards and Cash there..but who'd have guessed...I mean, a $25.OO phone charger? Ah well, chalk it up to underpaid help, I guess. In fairness...I know of no other people of the 16 of us reported theft, I just know I got hit. But...2 others reported loss of air conditioning...with NO REFUND of any kind offered. So..there's a my honest report. This was my first visit to beautiful Cancun, and I managed to have a great time with my family and friends in this lovely city. But I will never...EVER...stay at the Riu Palace, nor any hotel associated with it again. I wish that I'd read a review like this one before I booked my stay there. The folks running this ornate "Riu Palace Las Americas" have the attitude like, "Hey..have fun but don't complain! You're lucky we let you stay here!" I don't think that's a winning attitude for those in any service industry. That's why this Proverb from the Bible comes to mind: "As a jewel of gold in a swine’s snout, so is a fair woman which is without discretion."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just Me.
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 24, 2010

Beautiful Resort, Food Not so Great!

The Hotel was very pretty and extremely clean. But, the means that were included were not that great. I can actually say that there was only one meal that i truly enjoyed (The Mexican Restaurant). The Drinks were very weak. More mix, than alcohol. Service was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
buxs2112
Business
columbus, ohio
Aug 15, 2009

Learn you Spanglish

Ignoring the fact that my cell phone was stolen by an employee 20 minutes after arrival; the staff, from top to bottom were rude. i was told that I needed to speak Spanish by a bar waiter. My room assignment was wrong. My paperwork was lost. I was not given any safe keys, towel passes, or hotel orientation.When I went back to the Service desk to aquire these items, my original representative was not there. Upon being asked to describe him; which I did, the reply was "that's not good enough"!! When these issues were brought to the attention of the hotel manager, I was met with an unfriendly attitude. The reply to "speak more Spanish" was: Well you are in Mexico. Run from this resort. And yes, this was my 3rd trip to the same hotel!! Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Scuba is a must

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver bc
Sep 20, 2010

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly

the staff that is mexican is great, very helpful and friendly! management is very arrogant and not the least helpfull! While we were there we decided to visit the sister hotel riu grand caribe and have lunch. During lunch my husband ate a piece of pumpkin pie that I noticed was covered in mold (his sight is not the best) and upon looking at the rest of the pie it too was covered in mold. When we called management to speak to him about this situation his first reaction was : I don't know what on the pie (anyone can figure out what it was) and when my husband got angry and said : stop playing games, you can be sued for this! the manager became angry and replied with : I came all the way from my office (a 2 minute walk) to apologize to you so don't treat me like this! When we brought this up with the manager at the Palace (they are all linked) we basically received a shoulder shrug and a smile. Satefy concerns: during our stay one couple left their safe key in the room and lost $4000, passports and credit cards while another guest had her purse stolen at the front door. Keep safe key on you at all times and secure valuables! Other than these experiences and the fact that our luggage is sitting outside because of the mold and mildew smell than is very strong throughout the hotel we had a good time. We would not reccomend this for anyone looking for 5 stars, it is more like 3 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

avoid renting cars or buying attractions from people off the street, they are all selling time share and trying to lure customers through discounts on attractions and car rentals.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ruko
Business
SA, TX
Oct 7, 2011

Thieves in hotel!!

Somebody stole my bag from a hotel room!! And hotel sad, it's my fault!! Because I did't put my bag in a safe. It's nice hotel but there are thieves inside hotel!!! Don't take nice stuffs!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Before go to shopping, check hotel shops first, you will not ripoff!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed to say the least
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 2, 2011

Worst trip ever

Were do I start? Aside from the reception employees, the staff at the rest of the hotel was great, which is the only positive thing I can say about this place and the 1 star goes to them. So issue one started there Thursday night, ate at the steak house, and by the next afternoon I was on the toilet for the next two days. Don't eat any of the raw fish there. On to the next issue, customer service at the front desk - waiting 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge us while other people after us were helped. Now I know in America we form lines and wait out turn, but if you go there as an american, plan on being rude and cutting in front of people to get any help. Next, if are you a diabetic, stay away. The drinks, supposedly all inclusive with alcohol, will either give you diabetes or give you stomachache which will lead to developing diabetes with the high sugar content. Next, if you think the food here is great, then you need to get out. I don't consider cooking the same meat in the same way with different garnishes to be considered a reason to say it's different to each restaurant there. The only place that had good food was the fusion restaurant. For the hotel itself - bring snorkeling flippers or you might drown in the bath tubs when they don't drain, bring incense because part of the hotel smell, take you liquor bottles for the rooms and add alcohol to the drink, plan on spending time in the lobby at a hotel that only offers wifi in the lobby. Overall- Cancun trip $2100- Pepto Bismol, Dorritos, Chex Mix $38 - Overall hotel quality and services, worthless - Dominos on vacation because everything else makes you sicker, priceless. No disrespect to the other people, but I have been on a lot of all inclusive vacations, and if you think this is the best place ever, then you need to travel more because you haven't truly experienced other places. My recommendation, go to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loves2Travel01542
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 24, 2014

Do not stay here

The worst food I ever had. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff was rude unaccommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The worst food I ever had.

Back to menu Return to top