$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
954 reviews
Vacation

It's the best bang for your buck. The food is great, room is clean, pool is clean, the wait on you... See full review

  • 2903
  • Jul 14, 2014
My Son got married there

They hotel was FABULOUS! They food was GREAT! It was alot more then we expected. The weather was... See full review

  • sonny24
  • Jun 26, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (954)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
954 out of 954
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jackie911
Long Island, NY
Oct 16, 2012

"Amazing surprise birthday trip"

Our first visit to Cancun and it was by far the greatest experience!!! The Hotel was elegant and clean, staff was very friendly, great restaurants inside the hotel. We had a great ocean view suite, not mentioning the two infinity pools one with a pool bar, DJ and great party hosts every day and the other much more relaxing to enjoy the sea breeze and a nice frozen drink. Hotel is located in the center of everything.."great for nightlife" Overall we would rate this Hotel a 10. We were so pleased with our experience that we are planning our second trip for next year already!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seada H.
Roseville, CA
May 19, 2013

Excellent vacation

My husband and I stayed at this resort 2 times. We love it ! The staff is very helpful. The room was spotless and staff was taking care of it a couple times a day. Tip helped too. Wi Fi is free. The food was great and there are so many choices . The beach and water are just fabulous! I really enjoyed swimming in an ocean and I could not have enough of it. We tipped as much as we could because all these people are working soooo hard to make our stay fabulous. There are a lot of activities during the day. We took a trip to Chichen Itza ruins. It was a long trip (2.5 hours in one direction), but it was nice. Book the trip when you are booking a vacation. We payed $89 booking in our resort but other tourists payed less than $60 ! I would highly recommend this resort for a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The night shows were pretty good. The staff organized transportation to disco clubs (for young people) but they had to come back in their own arrangement.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Liberty
Dec 22, 2008

Great Location

We were made to feel right at home. The hotel was great place to stay. The pools were very nice and rooms had a great veiw of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

local shopping plaza right next door.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rezrocket2011
Hill City, South Dakota
Dec 24, 2011

It was a great vacation with great service. So much food and beverage to choose from.

We had a great week. So much food and beverage to choose from. Customer service was supurb from the moment we checked in to dining to bar to being taken care of on the beach. It will be hard pressed to surpass the service. Only thing we did not like was the room always had moisture in the air. Felt like the sheets/pillow were damp and clothes the same. Besides this one thing, every thing else was perfect. We plan on staying at a Riu again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Tip the staff at dining and bar, they will not forget you and will always take care of you. When entering dining or bar, they will almost fight over you to serve you. Makes one feel good. There was so much selection and options, unbelievable.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agent M
Lake Balboa, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Great time at our 1st All Inclusive

This was our first time at an all inclusive resort. Based on this experience, I never want to stay anywhere but a RIU. My only major gripe is that once you head up the elevators to the room floors, there is a slight moldy/mildewy smell as soon as you get onto the floor. In all fairness, Cancun is a very humid place, so I can understand how moisture can constantly seep into the structure. There was never any visible mold/mildew anywhere. Same smell is in the room, but after a week, I couldn't really tell anymore. The hotel workers are constantly cleaning the place. We would wake up around 6:30am - 7:30am local time there would be an army of people in the lobby and pool area sweeping, mopping, wiping everything down. Obviously, no glass containers by the pool, so instead the bars use small hard plastic cups. They are very small (~ 6 - 8 ounces), so I would recommend bringing a bigger cup with you. I saw a few guests do this. The restaurants on property are great, but you do have to make dinner reservations to the specialty ones. In order to make a reservation, you have to physically go down to the lobby and do it in person.I would recommend getting there when they open (7am) in order to reserve for the following day. I believe you can try to reserve for the same day and the following day only, but the girl let us make a 3rd reservation 2 days out. Also, for men, no sandals or shorts at the places that need a reservation, and you have to wear a shirt with sleeves. I did see somebody get turned away for wearing shorts. Although tips are supposed to be included, I would recommend tipping the hotel workers who provide excellent service I believe towel service for the pools starts at 7am. Hardcore guests would get their towels and "reserve" the chairs they wanted. Usually in prime locations next to the pool with he two bars. This is supposedly against hotel policy, but everybody does it. They place their towels on the chairs around 7-7:30am and probably don't make it to the pool until 9:00 or 10:00. I am guilty of this myself, but only after seeing how the prime pool real estate was being gobbled up. Public buses stop outside of the Riu Caribe (sister hotel), which is directly adjacent to the Riu Palace. One way is 8.5 pesos per person. We used it to go to Mercado 28 and Walmart. I had to stop at Costco (long story) and the cheapest way that was recommended to me was to take the bus into town, and once in town, take a cab to areas in El Centro. A cab ride from Mercado 28 to Costco was 20 pesos. That definately would have been a long walk. We booked two 1 day excursions with vendors that setup shop in the lobby every morning. Their prices are identical, but they may slightly differ as to stops, toll roads vs public roads, etc. We book an excursion to Chitzen Itza and to Xcaret in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Do not change your dollars to pesos. For the most part, you will get more bang for the buck using dollars. Vendors will give you a price in dollars, and if you have pesos, they will convert using a lousy exchange rate.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
35Yrs Together
Chicago
Sep 12, 2012

All that we expected

We will definitely go back in future - staff was friendly and helpful. Although some people in their reviews mentioned that you can't swim due to the rocks, we disagree - perhaps these people were there in a peak season. The beach area was comfortable - the swimming area was big enough for a good exercise and the beautyful wide variety of fishes we saw during snorkeling was rewarding. We enjoyed the restaurants on the premises and did not even bother to go outside the resort for food. We asked for a smoke-free room and management went out of their way to fulfill my request. The only thing that would have made my stay more enjoyable, is if they could designate an area to non-smokers on the pavilion. The extreme heat and humidity combined with a smoke smell is not a good experience to a non-smoker. Hey, but we just moved each time and not even this one negative point, will prevent us from going back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Camper Richacha
Northern VA - Washington DC Metro
Sep 13, 2009

Riu-abulous! (Fantastic Riu!)

We have stayed at all 3 of the Riu Hotels (Palace, Cancun, Caribe) on Cancun - they are all nice and priced according to ammenities and comforts; generally the Caribe is the most affordable and the Palace is the luxury end. We certainly enjoyed our recent stay at the Palace Las Americas. The staff and service at the Riu Palace are second to none in Cancun. This is an all-inclussive resort, and the food was good at all the restuarants, including the main dining hall. The alcohol call brands are top shelf and perhaps more familar to US travelers than the liabations offered at the other Riu resorts. The Palace is beach front (all 3 Rius are beach front in Cancun) and has one of the best north-facing calm clear water coves in all of Mexico! If you are planning a trip to any RIU property, be sure to join the RIU Class (Hotel frequent stayer club program) before checking in to get credit for your first stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 26, 2008

GREAT TRIP

The Riu Palace Las America is now rated 5 Stars in my book. They checked us into our room right when we showed up to the hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Every restaurant including the buffet was excellent. The staff was very helpful and after the first day they actually remembered everyone in my party by first name which made us feel more comfortable. Not one thing went wrong on this trip for us. We barely even left the hotel because they had everything we needed. I definitely will be staying at the Riu Palace again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the nightlife is just a short walk away and the sister Hotel next door also has activities which were helpful and convenient.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Astoria
Nov 29, 2008

The Riu Palace is opulence at its finest!

The magnificent European architecture qualifies this hotel as one of the best in Cancun. The professional staff, wonderful dining options and elegant rooms combined to make our stay a truly memorable experience. There are a few drawbacks however. 1) The beach area is rather small during peak season and one has to arrive by 9 AM for a lounge chair. 2) There are only two public restrooms on the ground floor. It is quite a journey from the showroom to the restroom. There are no restrooms in the restaurants or bar either. 3) There is only one bar open evening hours which one can tire of quickly. There are three bars outside: a swim-up bar and a pool bar, which close around 6 PM, and a third bar by the showroom which sometimes stays open later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hard Rock, Resort downtown area with many loud bars. More for the 20-something crowd. 10-15 minute walk.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fulio
cali, colombia
Jun 20, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO RELAX

its an excelent experience for someone who wants a total relaxation. I fully recomend this hotel. The only bad thing is that you should be carefull with your personal belongings cause theres lots of people that are waiting for you to leave your personal belongings an steeling them. In mi case in the RiU PALACA LAS AMERICAS lobby my wallet disapeared while i was making my check in. Be very Carefull

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanita and Paco
Florida
Sep 4, 2010

Pampered in paradise

This was the first time we were able to do an all-inclusive vacation and it exceeded our expectations. Friends of ours, that are world travelers, have stayed at the Palace 13 times. The Palace treats you like family. With only 400 rooms it is capable of giving very personable service. Someone is always there to help you. Because we only had 5 days we spent all he time relaxing, drinking and eating at the resort. We ventured out once to do some shopping at the mall across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

We didn't find this out till our last day--the hotel staff(that coordinates the pool activities & nightly shows/at the La Nuit lounge provide a shuttle service. Around 11pm or so the Palace entertainment staff accompanies the bus to other nightlife activities and shows at other locations in Cancun that accomodate all RIU guests with entrance/ free drinks and a special designated seating place for RIU guests. This info was not given to us at c/in.

Back to menu Return to top