$372 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
628 reviews
Was better than expected!

food was great! staff was great! overall will be back See full review

  • las super dad
  • Nov 27, 2014
Memorable vacation

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Me and my friend enjoyed our vacation. See full review

  • brence
  • Nov 16, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (628)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joesmoe
Business
austin Texas
Jul 6, 2010

July 2010

due to tropical storm Alex the shoreline was covered with see weed. I don't feel that enough was done to clean the beaches. The staff were professional and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Oct 26, 2009

OK

We spent most of our time at the sister hotel riu cancun, enviroment was full of fun. Riu Palace had the better rooms and beach, but the pool sceen was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

COCO BONGO!!!! BEST PLACE TO GO AND HAVE A GREAT TIME. SHOWS AND MUSIC WAS AWESOME. A MUST DO IN CANCUN!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
malzie
Business
Boston, Mass
Aug 19, 2009

enjoyable but a bit tired

This was our third trip to the Riu Palace las Americas. The hotel is still a beauty but is showing some signs of wear. This was the first trip over a weeklend and it was definitely a younger, rowdier, and louder crowd. The front desk personnel bordered on rude and this was a first! We always travel to the Riu Palace but we are in doubt for next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go for your own travel to and from the airport. You may book through Orbitz. The shared ride takes forever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thenewlyweds
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun

Pool was so hot we could not swim in it, too crowded, and never any room at the "infinity edge" there were very few cabanas with shade around the pool and the drinks were just okay. The food was just okay, the buffet was better than any of the restaurants. I am not a picky eater, so I always was happy with my food and ate it, but if you are picky eater you probably wouldn't like it. I wish the pool would have been cooler/more refreshing. Would have been much better had there been a bigger "swim up bar" as well. We have been to Cancun about 6 or 7 times and there are nicer places to stay. We went with friends so it worked out great though. The service was excellent and Christina at the concierge desk went out of her way to help us. The reservations setup is nightmare. Waiting in a line at 8 o'clock in the morning on vacation is absolutely ridiculous and then to get there and not even allow a group of 8 to sit at the same table and the food to be subpar. My biggest annoyance was our room key not working on several occasions which was a big hassle considering it is a long way to the reception desk and the elevators are slow. This also means it is not easy access from your room to get down to the pool and beach so don't forget anything! For the price this is a nice place to stay for a weekend getaway, but for anything longer.. i would recommend paying a little extra to stay the Royal Cancun or the Excellence. Both of these blow the Riu Palace Las Americas away as far as service, amenities, food and pool/beach area. It is also a lot quieter with absolutely no kids. There were a lot of famlies with kids at our hotel which i was suprised about. I will say the hotel is beautiful and the shows were entertaining. The staff there really tries their best to keep everyone entertained. We had a great time with the few couples that we went with. Make sure that you specify a king size bed and a ocean view room because several people didn' t get that and weren't happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to carlos and charlies and senor frogs. We had a great time at both!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jcich56390
Business
MInneapolis
May 8, 2010

May in Cancun

The room circuit breaker kept blowing when the lights were turned on. The TV and the lamp in the sitting area wouldn't work and I thought it was the circuit breaker but they weren't hooked up. I had to move the dresser and do it myself. The cable for the TV, the power cord and the lamp were not hooked up. I addition the toilet wouldn't stop running. Not what I expected from a RIU

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Stay in the Hotel. No need to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laazykat
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 14, 2010

Decent stay... but not for the price

I guess I'm comparing this place to other top notch hotels in the Riviera Maya. I have no other all inclusives in Mexico to compare it to. That being said, the pool was great, and the beach (although small) had calm and clean blue water to swim in (which is hard to find in Cancun). However, the walls are super thin, and the shower has no lights above it so it's kind of dark to shower or bathe. The food at the buffets for breakfast, lunch,and dinner were pretty good. I went with a friend and we both got food poisoining, but I can't blame that on the hotel... maybe on the selection of what we ate. The hotel allows for reservations to the dinner restaurants 2 days in advance... which is bad if you're just going for a few days (since you have to eat buffet for the first couple of nights). We tried the brazilian and the japanese restaurants. The first was ok, but the japanese one was pretty bad actually.... and SLOW. Would I go back again? No. I think I'll stick to the Riviera Maya resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 23, 2010

riu palace las americas

You will definitely not go hungry here. Food is available all the time. The staff is friendly and it was great to have easy access to the beach. If you like to go out at night, Riu is walking distance to the clubs. The quality of the food was average to above average. The drinks are really watered down so stick with the wine or liquor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations for the dinner meals.We enjoyed Krystal was the better one for dinner. For Lunch, try los arcos instead of the buffet to give your stomach a break!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RedHour
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Great Hotel with a few ;(

The Hotel location was very nice and the view was amazing. I enjoyed the service and the food was great. This hotel is really All Inclusive...everything is included. However there were a few things I didn't enjoy. 1st. Both pools were very dirty, specially the pool with the bar smelled awe-full and the water was full of lemons from other people drinks and ash from the cigarettes and it looked like that they had not cleaned the pool for a long time. 2nd. It is nice the get free drinks all the time, but whats the point when there is no alcohol in it and I'm not a drinker I drink maybe twice a month socially. 3rd. The entertainment was ok....maybe for families but definitely not for young couples or singles...I would have liked more sport entertainment and just fun overall...that was definitely missing...they just had a 9.45pm show which was only 45minutes long and very boring. The beach area was great and nice to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was very good...I liked the fusion restaurant "Krystal".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valdez146
Business
Kansas city
Feb 9, 2011

pretty nice

We thought the hotel was nice but not worth the extra money it costs to stay there. There were better deals out there. I had never stayed at a RIU hotel before and would again for the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor frogs is fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viri D.
Business
San Diego, California
Jun 24, 2014

Nice view with construction noise

We had a great time in Cancun the only down fall was the construction going on next door to our room. We got a beatiful ocean view but the noise was really annoying we had to keep our door closed most of the time during the day..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make your reservations to the hotels restaurants as soon as you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top