$267 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
657 out of 657
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jcich56390
Business
MInneapolis
May 8, 2010

May in Cancun

The room circuit breaker kept blowing when the lights were turned on. The TV and the lamp in the sitting area wouldn't work and I thought it was the circuit breaker but they weren't hooked up. I had to move the dresser and do it myself. The cable for the TV, the power cord and the lamp were not hooked up. I addition the toilet wouldn't stop running. Not what I expected from a RIU

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Stay in the Hotel. No need to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Nov 16, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laazykat
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 14, 2010

Decent stay... but not for the price

I guess I'm comparing this place to other top notch hotels in the Riviera Maya. I have no other all inclusives in Mexico to compare it to. That being said, the pool was great, and the beach (although small) had calm and clean blue water to swim in (which is hard to find in Cancun). However, the walls are super thin, and the shower has no lights above it so it's kind of dark to shower or bathe. The food at the buffets for breakfast, lunch,and dinner were pretty good. I went with a friend and we both got food poisoining, but I can't blame that on the hotel... maybe on the selection of what we ate. The hotel allows for reservations to the dinner restaurants 2 days in advance... which is bad if you're just going for a few days (since you have to eat buffet for the first couple of nights). We tried the brazilian and the japanese restaurants. The first was ok, but the japanese one was pretty bad actually.... and SLOW. Would I go back again? No. I think I'll stick to the Riviera Maya resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcoy
Business
Queens, NY
Dec 19, 2010

nice but.....

The hotel was very clean, very well taken care of. The staff was wonderful, always there to help you, and were very polite. That was a huge plus. The food was not that great. We went to the Brazilian restaurant and left before we were done, LoL, thats how much we didnt like it. The Mexican restaurant, italian, and buffet were average. The steakhouse was awesome, that we loved. The pools were nice, drinks were very weak, but they had whatever you wanted to drink. I liked the resort, just very disappointed in the food. Also, if you wanted to dance, you have to go next door to riu cancun, the palace did not have a night club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

go next door to riu cancun for club. It stayed open until 2am, and its free with all the drinks you want. Coco bongos, etc, all the clubs are expensive and very crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy if room was decent
Business
Highlands Ranch, CO
Nov 8, 2010

RIU

Hotel was beautiful. Service and food outstanding. [...] in main outside dining for breakfast and lunch buffet was rude and begged for tips. Japanese, Los Arcos and French was awesome - food and service outstanding. Our biggest issue and why we would not return was as follows: The ROOM! Mold and musty to the point we could not breathe and could not wait to go home - sad but true then they cleaned with amonia to kill the mold/must. Bed uncomfortable and sheets damp always. Had to wash our clothes and souveniers three times when we returned to get the smell out. [...] - with Grey Line/[...]sold us activities and she did not know what she was talking about - expensive and disappointed with CocoBongo. She sold us the Dolphin experience and then came back and wanted more money?? That is it - overall the hotel staff and hotel was beautiful and we loved it but sleep is important and we never slept due to smell/dampness in the room - we slipped on the tile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Dec 23, 2010

riu palace las americas

You will definitely not go hungry here. Food is available all the time. The staff is friendly and it was great to have easy access to the beach. If you like to go out at night, Riu is walking distance to the clubs. The quality of the food was average to above average. The drinks are really watered down so stick with the wine or liquor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make reservations for the dinner meals.We enjoyed Krystal was the better one for dinner. For Lunch, try los arcos instead of the buffet to give your stomach a break!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RedHour
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2010

Great Hotel with a few ;(

The Hotel location was very nice and the view was amazing. I enjoyed the service and the food was great. This hotel is really All Inclusive...everything is included. However there were a few things I didn't enjoy. 1st. Both pools were very dirty, specially the pool with the bar smelled awe-full and the water was full of lemons from other people drinks and ash from the cigarettes and it looked like that they had not cleaned the pool for a long time. 2nd. It is nice the get free drinks all the time, but whats the point when there is no alcohol in it and I'm not a drinker I drink maybe twice a month socially. 3rd. The entertainment was ok....maybe for families but definitely not for young couples or singles...I would have liked more sport entertainment and just fun overall...that was definitely missing...they just had a 9.45pm show which was only 45minutes long and very boring. The beach area was great and nice to hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was very good...I liked the fusion restaurant "Krystal".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Maryland
Feb 25, 2011

P.U. STINKS - very musky/mildew

The Riu is absolutely gorgeous. Very clean. Staff is very friendly & helpful. The SMELL IS AWFUL. DON'T unpack your clothing. Leave them in your suitcase, with it zipped. If you don't, you will take that smell home with you, on your clothing, and it takes seeral washes to get rid of that smell. On bathing suites, (maybe because of the material) the smell did not come out, we had to pitch them. Also, they did not keep refridgerator full of beverages and did no turn down service at the end of the evening. Food was great, however, all 4 of us got really sick, intestional. It lasted for a week. Coincidental??? I don't know for sure. It is flu season :) The bed always felt wet, so much dampness. We stayed at the Riu in Punta Cana, it smelled the same way. Not sure what that is all about. YUCK! I would recommend to a friend, but, I will make sure they are aware of that foul odor. Sometimes looks are deceiving. Beautiful to look at, BUT....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping center and Flea Markets are setup in safe walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Mar 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel, but......

This is our second stay at the Riu Palace Las Americas, and it is a beautiful, smaller, quieter, hotel. In our opinion one of the best locations in the hotel zone. The beach here, while small, is perfect, and the water always calm. It is protected and even on windy days,amazing. That being said, this hotel needs to step it up in the food and service (friendly) department!! The buffet was pathetic, imagine our surprise when we went next door to the cheaper Riu Cancun, and saw their extensive and quite tasty buffet. I would estimate it was 3-5 times as large, always had a carving station with prime rib and more, an italian (fresh pizza) area, an authentic Mexican food area, and a seafood area....and surprise it all had some flavor. The "reservation" only restaurants at the Palace were a joke, they would tell you they were totally booked and then would be half empty and closing down by 8...and at times the waitstaff in these "exclusive" restaurants could be rude. The front desk staff also bordered on rude, they failed miserably in the friendly department. Never smiling or asking how your stay was going. We did use the spa, and once again, while clean and pleasant I would not reccommend it....for the price I expected a little more pampering. The massage table was covered with a large towel and that was it! The massage itself was mediocre. However, for all my complaining, I would probably stay there again for the location, I like the size and the quieter atmosphere, and for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st louis mo
Jun 15, 2009

quite dissappointed!!!

we booked a lagoon view and were given parking lot view, hotel said they dont offer a lagoon view. we were told 3 different stories- we could get a water view room for 175.00 extra per night, no water view rooms available or we could switch rooms for no additional charge on the 4th night of our 5 night stay. 3rd offer made after calling orbitz 2times to get this mess straightend out, am interested to know how much my phone bill for that will be, 1st call 40 minutes long, 2nd call 20 minutes. front desk staff very rude and unaccomadating, orbitz totally misrepresented the room type we were getting, we were under the impression we had ocean view. this was a very frustrating and disappointing experience, we will never book through orbitz again and will never stay at this property again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid the mexican outlet nearby the hotel, prices overinflated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top