$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
707 out of 707
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinP
Virginia
Jan 14, 2013

Great Vacation

Everything was great. The service was fast and friendly.The food was good and the rooms were nice. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcherroy
Business
Miami
May 30, 2011

Memorial Day Vacation

I was taking different tours, I think the service at the hotel is still very good, burt I think the concierge at the front desk is a little poor for example they don't haver internet service to check if a fly is on time or not. But in general I think the service is pretty good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couples Time
Business
Corpus Christi Texas
May 26, 2011

Great All Inclusive location

The white contrast of this beach front hotel was beautiful against the turquoise ocean. The staff was friendly and attentive. Although the food was not the greatest, the hotel did a good job in providing a large varity for their cusomers. It was nice to have a show to go see each evening. We enjoyed ourselves and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forgot Something???? No problem as there are Shopping Malls within 5-10 min walk from Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 9, 2011

Didn't Want to Leave!

This was our first time in Cancun. As we were checking in at the front desk, we were greeted with a refreshing, much-needed, cool, tropical drink. The view from our balcony was amazing, and exactly what we needed to relax. The beach was very, very nice, and directly across you could see Isla Mujeres. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The resort is located at the top of the hotel strip and very close to many shops. Will most likely return. The food was good, but unfortunately, the restaurants (besides the buffet) had few selections, and for my husband who is a very picky eater, this was certainly a downside to our stay. We would have appreciated a 24-hour snack place that had burgers and pizza, etc. I was disappointed that we didn't get over the next door sister resort to see what they offered. The other disappointments, to me, were the bed and bedding, and the selections in the refrigerator-would have liked fruit juices also, not just soda. Overall, though, very nice for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you are into relaxing, as my husband and I are, the hotel has a number of bars where you can just sit and have a cocktail and enjoy each other's company. And, the staff are all phenomenal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 22, 2011

Great accomodations

Enjoyed the sun, beach and pool Did not venture from the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Jun 25, 2011

Great Resort - Great Value

I traveled with a friend and we really enjoyed the reosrt. The food was good for an all-inclusive resort and offered many options. We really loved the breakfast buffet - ask for pineapple orange juice. Spent each day around the pool and had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although tipping is not required...a few dollars goes a long way. The staff works hard and does not make much money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew96
Business
Muskegon, MI
Mar 20, 2011

Good Couples Getaway

While we stayed here, we layed out by the pool and went down to the beach every day. All the drinks are included and the hotel staff even comes down to the beach to serve you. The only thing about the drinks is they are not very strong, but I guess thats good for some people. When you get there make sure you sign up for the dinner slots. Most of the days we didn't eat until 8:45 because the 6:30 time was taken. The food was excellent though, I definitly recommend the Japanese. One other thing I will point out is there is no internet in the rooms, this was only a minor inconvenience because I was there on vacation not to check email. Overall, I would recommend this to someone looking for a relaxing vacation as a couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel staff meet in the lobby most nights to go out to the clubs. I suggest paying and going with them. The clubs were packed and they got us right in. We tried going to "the City" on our own and we waited in line and did not stay long because it was too packed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsly
Business
philadelphia
Feb 22, 2011

cancun 2011

good hotel for the money. close to nightlife and shopping. Beach and pool was a bit crowded. food was ok but the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucester, Virginia
Jan 23, 2010

Outstanding Service

Service here was best of any Rius that we've stayed at. At any meals they never let your glass go empty or a dirty plate be left. Highly recommend the steakhouse. You eat outside by the water and the filet was excellent ! Was best for us to sit at same table every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They really took care of us that way. Food overrall was of good quality and you could always find something you like. We were able to get drinks anywhere we sat....by the pool, in the lobby on the patio. They were attentive !!! Gotta love 85 degrees when we were leavin 40 degrees in Virginia !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Went to Chitzen Itza . It's one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It's a MUST see even if you are not a history buff. My wife is not and she enjoyed it. Take the bus ride n tour from any roadside vendors. Do NOT pay more than $40 per person. This includes bus ride, lunch buffet AND admission !! Plan on ALL day from about 8am til 8pm ( no matter what they tell you ).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flower Mound, TX
Dec 23, 2009

Great deal; gorgeous resort!

The hotel is beautiful; the lobby view out to the ocean and swimming pool are breathtaking!! Unfortunately we had bad weather for 3 out of the 5 days, but the hotel staff did everything they could to make the guests enjoy their time; provided board games; set up a casino table, etc. They even showed a movie in the theater due to the heavy rain we had on Monday. The food is very good! I cannot say excellent because this is an All Inclusive resort and you are not going to get top of the line here; but it is very, very good. The buffet offers a huge variety of items, I think sometimes there is just so much that the guests mistake this for low quality. That is not the case here and this is my second visit at this resort. You do have to make the effort for the reservations at the specialty restaurants but now you can actually reserve up to two days out so no more of that daily requirement to go to the Lobby and remembering to make the reservations. Some of the cons at this hotel; small swimming pool which gets crowded with "towels"... yes, towels not people. There are folks that are very inconsiderate and day after day leave their towels on the chairs therefore "reserving" some of the best spots (non-stop whether they are there or not and they don't care). I saw chairs reserved for an entire day and nobody ever showed up; while this is on a "first come first served" basis! The beach has eroded a lot since my last visit in 2005 and there is very little of it now... also the hotel is big and casts a shadow on most of the beach as well as the pool. The main pool with a swim-up bar is the most popular, but also gets a lot of shade which makes it difficult to tan especially while all the good spots are already taken by those who leave their towels overnight!! The pool is rather small but the view once again is gorgeous! Overall, I love this resort; it is beautiful and has great service! You get a lot for your money and you won't be disappointed "IF" you can live with not getting so tanned!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Jungle tour and snorkeling (via speedboat or wave runner)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sodakinseattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was in great condition. The room had a spectacular view. The water sports were available at the RIU property next door but required advance reservations. The deserts were tasty. I would stay here again. [...]Transportation was provided by Gray-Line/ Mayaland and they force you to meet with their agent at the hotel to arrange your return transportation. The meeting is actually a sales opportunity for excursions and they overcharged me for an "adventure" that they sold to me. They make up their own exchange rate after quoting US Dollars. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

X-Terra was impressive with the caves and river. The sales office and transportation is a short walk east of the hotel. They also have the Xcaret and other park adventures there. Do not purchase through Gray-Line/ Mayaland. A Gray-Line/Mayaland agent sold me the adventure when meeting her to arrange my return transportation to the airport [...]. She quoted the price in US Dollars and then made up her own exchange rate which ended up being higher than the quoted price. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card. I assume it is their common practice since it is an easy way to make a lot of extra money off of tourists. Be WARNED! If you see Gray-Line /Mayaland in the lobby- stay away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top