Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinP
Couples
Virginia
Jan 13, 2013

Great Vacation, Great Service

Everything was great. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice, the beach and pool are nice. It was a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
bloomington, indiana
Nov 28, 2010

great food and service

Both restaurants and buffet were exceptional. Attentive service. Beach was too short for decent walks, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather Bear
Friends
Prov, RI
Mar 9, 2010

Wish I could have stayed longer!

We had 9 friends go down together. Hotel was beautiful but the weather wasnt as amazing. VERY windy and not that warm. But when we went next door to the Riu cancun there was practically no wind. It was nice to stay in the better hotel with use of the amenities next door. And with our group being in the mid 20 range the Riu Cancun was set up for that. It had a mini club and younger people staying there. The restaurants at the palace were GREAT! and the buffet had plenty of options. We had no problems getting reservations for 9 people. Never woke up early or had to wait in lines. Just start booking the day you get there and keep doing it 2 days in advance. the only one we didnt try was the Japanese because not everyone in our group loved sushi. And we were also a little late to rise so we often got stuck missing breakfast and then consequently missing lunch. The are in betwen small buffets but I could have used a few more options. I wish during the random hours there was more dining options. We wnt out to Pat O briens (dont do it) The city (HUGE CLUB) and Sweet (very luxurious) club entry fees at about 45 to get in with open bar (which is only like tap beer, vodka and rum) We haggled to make the 45 include a vip table with bottle service. That made the experience soooo much better. My boyfriend and I had a couples massage, not expensive in my opinion and was very nice and relaxing. We booked a zipline and atv combo before we left online through [@] very trustworthy and super cheap only $99 each including round trip transfer, I had so much fun on this I would do it again. We had other friends staying at the OASIS (MTV Spring break hotel) it was $26 to get in for the day, I would never want to stay there but it was fun for just one day. We spent another day on a private catamaran snorkeling (its so crazy to see the fish so close, don't worry they don't bite) and the boat took us to an island for shopping. We also spent a day on the beach jet sking and parasailing. All in all it was a great time we were there for 7 days 6 nights but wish it was 10 because I wanted to do so much other stuff. I personally spent a total of $750 (not including the initial cost of the trip) We did however go to clubs, go on excursions, get massages, rent jetskis and tipped generously. Ive been on cruises and spent double. I would go back to Riu again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

HAGGLE! the price they say is never the "Real" price. This goes for excursions, shopping, cabs and even club entry fees. We rented a private catamaran for a half day to take us to isla muerta for shopping, coral reef snorkeling, open bar on the boat. They wanted 90pp we talked him down to 45. Just walk away and they come down to the price your want. Even when everyone was paying $45 for entry into the club we just asked that price to include a private table with bottle service. Throw someone a tip and they will do anything for you.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
TN
Mar 17, 2010

Love the hotel

We loved the hotel. It was in a perfect location. We walked everywhere from to the outlet mall across the street to the flea market and bars. You could also take a cab or bus, but the weather was great and it took 10-15 minutes to walk anywhere. The hotel was beautiful with super-friendly staff. The food was great and there were 5 different a-la-carte restaurant if you didn't like buffet. We'll definitely stay at Riu again. They really know what they're doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Always bargain. A simple T-shirt can start off at $50 and by the time you walked away, it would be down to $15. Unless it is in an outlet mall where all prices are marked down already, you should always bargain. We spent $87 for swimming with the dolphins and the advertised price was $135.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, New York
Apr 12, 2010

Had a great time

I enjoyed the hotel very much, its not a spring break hotel so no annoying kids running around drunk. The average age at the pool and beach was between 24-36.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Canton
Aug 8, 2008

Nice Place, But..................

The Riu Palace Las Americas is a lovely looking hotel (looks like a palace) with an old Spanish, sort of antique, look. The service is excellent. Everyone was friendly and greeted you with a smile. The beach and ocean were beautiful with a white sand beach meeting a turquoise water. They bring you drinks on the beach and have activities available for water sports, etc. Some drawbacks include that part of the beach is located where there are a lot of rocks in the ocean which can be painful. The food was okay. The best place to eat is the steakhouse. Moreover, if you are not into gourmet dishes you will be disappointed. The Japanese restaurant was good as well, but, you have to like sushi and have an open mind if this is not something you are used to eating. The breakfast is not great and could be much better. The major drawback, especially for my wife, was that the hotel had a moldy smell. The hallways and the room smelled of this to the point that my wife could hardly tolerate being in the room. When we complained, they placed a machine in the room to ameliorate the smell, but it did little, if at all, to make it better. There was also some mold on the mattress. The room otherwise looked nice and had a balcony with an ocean view. We only went to one show in the evening. It was the Michael Jackson show. It was okay, I thought the performers put a lot of effort into their performance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Branchville, New Jersey
Jul 9, 2009

Riu Palace Los Americas

The specialized restaurants(except Spanish) offered excellent meals.The meats and seafood were superb in quality. The buffet was extensive but not superior.The Mexican service workers were not only friendly but so hard working. The infrastructure needs some refurbishing.The beach is inviting; the pools were attractive but warm.Because of the pathetic AC in the lobby(and elevators that require days to repair!) I will not return to RPLA even though I have been there three of the last four years.It's too bad because RPLA could be a great vacation destination but I guess they just want to save a little money. So, I will be spending mine somewhere else in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Los Arcos for lunch

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Chick
Couples
Silverthorne, CO
Jul 21, 2009

RPLA was amazing!

The RPLA was amazing! The hotel has a Victorian inspired theme which is NOT characteristic of being in Mexico but certainly does give 5 star class and elegance. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful from check in until check out. We paid a little more for an Ocean/Sea view suite and it was well worth the money. If you need more water/beers(dos equis)/ soda (pepsi products) just stop by the front desk and ask- they will fill you up. The "quiet" pool is not quiet it is more a kids pool and the "activity" pool has games all day and more of an adult atmosphere. This hotel is certainly not for party people- we were on our honeymoon and noted that most of the people staying there were older people (couples and groups) and honeymooners like us. We spoke with a cab driver that said the RPLA and Riu Cancun have the best beaches in Cancun- this is true. Other hotel's beaches have been washed away and the RPLA beach was big. You can take out snorkeling gear for an hour at a time (although the gear is not very good but it is free!) and you can rent kayaks ($2 p/p) which is fun for a bit but you can not leave the hotel area so you can not go very far. Overall our experience was awesome! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to a friend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to book your reservations for the hotel restaurants FIRST THING- you can book up to 2 days in advance. The first day we were there we booked the next two nights and then woke up early the next morning to book the third night and so on.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cold in Wisconsin
Friends
Mt Pleasant, WI
Dec 11, 2010

Sun, Sand, and Fun for all

My friends and I had an amazing time at RIU. The staff was AMAZING and extremely helpful. Whether it was fulfilling a craving for Poppers or the personalized service from Rudolpho at the bar, the staff was always eager to meet our needs. The only thing lacking was the quality of the beds. They could definately use some new matresses, but OMG the view was to die for!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Definately visit Rudolpho at the LaTerreza Bar outside by the Japanese restaurant. He is a blast and always makes people feel at home!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mocksville, NC
Oct 8, 2010

Awesome resort!!!

Impeccable staff and great location! The Krystal, Tia Pepe, and Los Arcos restaurants are really good, but may have a different taste than you are accustomed to. The head waiter in Los Arcos, Lucio, is a very nice and friendly guy! Great talking with him. The Los Arcos also serves an Italian lunch that is really good. The buffet exceeded all expectations! Lots of really, really good food! Las Americas Mall in downtown Cancun is upscale and cool, as is La Isla outdoor mall a few miles south.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unbelievable rental car prices at around $7 a day in Cancun at the airport. Easy to find your way around. We went to the RIU Palace in Playa Del Carmen for a day trip, an hour away, to use their resort and much nicer beach!!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ClasEJJ
Couples
Stockholm, Sweden
Oct 29, 2010

The good service makes you feel good!

All inclusive indicates that the service might not be that good, but it was really very good. The staff was very attentive and they treated you very well. Spending the days at the very nice sandy beach and then enjoy really good food in a nice atmposphere, what more can you ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The a la carte restaurants in the hotel were excellent. It is a joy to see and taste the food. The only draw back was that the selection of wines was very limited.

Back to menu Return to top