Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flower Mound, TX
Dec 23, 2009

Great deal; gorgeous resort!

The hotel is beautiful; the lobby view out to the ocean and swimming pool are breathtaking!! Unfortunately we had bad weather for 3 out of the 5 days, but the hotel staff did everything they could to make the guests enjoy their time; provided board games; set up a casino table, etc. They even showed a movie in the theater due to the heavy rain we had on Monday. The food is very good! I cannot say excellent because this is an All Inclusive resort and you are not going to get top of the line here; but it is very, very good. The buffet offers a huge variety of items, I think sometimes there is just so much that the guests mistake this for low quality. That is not the case here and this is my second visit at this resort. You do have to make the effort for the reservations at the specialty restaurants but now you can actually reserve up to two days out so no more of that daily requirement to go to the Lobby and remembering to make the reservations. Some of the cons at this hotel; small swimming pool which gets crowded with "towels"... yes, towels not people. There are folks that are very inconsiderate and day after day leave their towels on the chairs therefore "reserving" some of the best spots (non-stop whether they are there or not and they don't care). I saw chairs reserved for an entire day and nobody ever showed up; while this is on a "first come first served" basis! The beach has eroded a lot since my last visit in 2005 and there is very little of it now... also the hotel is big and casts a shadow on most of the beach as well as the pool. The main pool with a swim-up bar is the most popular, but also gets a lot of shade which makes it difficult to tan especially while all the good spots are already taken by those who leave their towels overnight!! The pool is rather small but the view once again is gorgeous! Overall, I love this resort; it is beautiful and has great service! You get a lot for your money and you won't be disappointed "IF" you can live with not getting so tanned!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Jungle tour and snorkeling (via speedboat or wave runner)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sodakinseattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was in great condition. The room had a spectacular view. The water sports were available at the RIU property next door but required advance reservations. The deserts were tasty. I would stay here again. [...]Transportation was provided by Gray-Line/ Mayaland and they force you to meet with their agent at the hotel to arrange your return transportation. The meeting is actually a sales opportunity for excursions and they overcharged me for an "adventure" that they sold to me. They make up their own exchange rate after quoting US Dollars. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

X-Terra was impressive with the caves and river. The sales office and transportation is a short walk east of the hotel. They also have the Xcaret and other park adventures there. Do not purchase through Gray-Line/ Mayaland. A Gray-Line/Mayaland agent sold me the adventure when meeting her to arrange my return transportation to the airport [...]. She quoted the price in US Dollars and then made up her own exchange rate which ended up being higher than the quoted price. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card. I assume it is their common practice since it is an easy way to make a lot of extra money off of tourists. Be WARNED! If you see Gray-Line /Mayaland in the lobby- stay away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 16, 2010

Very "Ritzy" Resort

The resort was very nice with friendly staff. The rooms were always cleaned to perfection and our belongings were never moved and tampered with. The only downfall was the weather. It was very windy, and cloudy for most of the days. You had to wear pants to be comfortable. Since the resort is situated on a curve it felt like a tunnel for the wind. However, it was in a very good location- walking distance from lots of places and we made the best of it since the weather was very enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to be out of the clubs and downtown by 1 am, after that it changes and turns into the locals hangout, I didn't feel comfortable and was scared. Also, if you do plan on going downtown, set something up within the hotel for a better rate, many clubs charge $40-$60 just to get in (but does include all drinks)! If you sign up for a "club tour" you pay roughly $80 dollars and get to go to 3 different clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom/daughter
Business
Iowa
Mar 23, 2010

Beautifully decorated

We were just looking for relaxation and good food and drink. It met all of that and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Mar 9, 2011

Very satisfied

This Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. We wanted to go on this vacation to get away from it all, the bad weather at home, work stress, and just relax, etc. You can go to the swim up bar side for a more loud musical atmosphere or to the other side for a more quiet atmosphere. Depends on your mood for the day. The beach was smaller but nice at it is more protected from the winds that are known in Cancun. The entertainment crew was more than outstanding. We totally enjoyed all they had to offer. They work very hard to show everyone out there a great time. The Bartenders were fantastic as well in all of the bars. We were VERY happy and satisfied with the beverage choices they had to offer. I had read reviews that some people thought the drinks were watered down, but I dont believe it. My drinks were great. My husband and myself mostly drank Southern Comfort and were happy they had it available. They have many top shelf alcohols to choose from for all other tastes. The food choices were all OK. My husband and I liked the breakfast and lunch choices the best at the buffet. Buffet at night wasnt nearly as good so we then went to the other Riu and were more happy there for evening meals at their buffet. We went to 3 of the restarants. We tried the Steakhouse, the Japanese restarant as well as Krystal. Krystal was our favorite one. Must make reservations to any restarants 2 days in advance. We liked our room although it is 2 beds pushed together which was no big deal to us but may be for some. The beds are extremely hard but we went to the front desk to have pads put in them and that helped alot! There is a musty smell in the rooms and floors of the Hotel, but that is EVERYWHERE in Mexico. It just is how Mexico is. The view from our room was fantastic! The floors get very slippery, so watch out when walking around with a wet swimsuit or after showering. Speaking of the shower, that was the worst. It was like standing in a rounded bowl on the bottom. You have to be very very careful when getting in and out as well as standing in there. I wonder if they have had alot of people that injured themselves in the shower or the step down to your living/balcony area. All in all, we had a wonderful time and would VERY MUCH SO consider going back to this or the other RIU next to it anytime again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Lots of fantastic entertainment right in this Riu as well as the one next to it. We had no reason to venture out to any other clubs as we were entertained right there. I do although recommend the Coco Bongo as I have been there on a previous trip. The crowd is alittle older though that stay at this Hotel. An 17-21 year old may become bored.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ollie b
Business
salt lake city, utah
Mar 21, 2011

great value. beautiful location.

beautiful views of ocean front property. close to clubs and shopping. rooms are better than average. food was good. people were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew96
Business
Muskegon, MI
Mar 20, 2011

Good Couples Getaway

While we stayed here, we layed out by the pool and went down to the beach every day. All the drinks are included and the hotel staff even comes down to the beach to serve you. The only thing about the drinks is they are not very strong, but I guess thats good for some people. When you get there make sure you sign up for the dinner slots. Most of the days we didn't eat until 8:45 because the 6:30 time was taken. The food was excellent though, I definitly recommend the Japanese. One other thing I will point out is there is no internet in the rooms, this was only a minor inconvenience because I was there on vacation not to check email. Overall, I would recommend this to someone looking for a relaxing vacation as a couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel staff meet in the lobby most nights to go out to the clubs. I suggest paying and going with them. The clubs were packed and they got us right in. We tried going to "the City" on our own and we waited in line and did not stay long because it was too packed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsly
Business
philadelphia
Feb 22, 2011

cancun 2011

good hotel for the money. close to nightlife and shopping. Beach and pool was a bit crowded. food was ok but the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 3, 2009

Riu Palace

The hotel was great..even though it was noisy. We had to call hotel security one night is was so loud. The breakfast/lunch buffet was terrible. Most of the food was not edible. The dinner were better, but the Rodizo restaurant was really bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Tx.
Oct 19, 2009

Very nice hotel, but you better tip!

The hotel was great and the food was as well. The gratuities are supposed to be included already, but if you don't tip, don't expect a lot of service. And if it's your anniversary, don't expect much either. We got a tiny fruit basket and a small bottle of tequila, which was weird since we had a tequila dispenser in our room already. It was our 10th wedding anniversary and I guess since it is all inclusive, they don't have many options to make your anniversary any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be prepared to have to book a reservation 2 days ahead of time for any of the specialty restaurants. The buffet was great though, so you do have options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top