$392 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
637 reviews
Awesome family trip

this hotel is amazing, enjoyed every minute of it, since the welcoming until we left See full review

  • frank0007
  • Jan 21, 2015
Fabulous Experience

10 day visit exceeded expectations. Staff is superb and goes out of their way to please. Nightly... See full review

  • DB.511
  • Jan 15, 2015
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (637)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
637 out of 637
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 13, 2009

Great Experience

The Resort is absolutely wondeful.Exceeded my wildest expectations.RIU treats its customers like royality. They pamper you and its was so hard to leave the place. I would however recommend that the lobby needs new sofas.The sofas looks old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you make your reservations at the restaurants early enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Costica
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jul 13, 2009

Best vacation for the money

Every thing, from the quality of the food to the personal service exceeded our expections. We would recommend this hotel to anyone we know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

There is a kind of hidden fee for phone calls made from the hotel room. We had been told that there was a charge fee if we use the hotel room phone and we knew that. We bought a prepaid card ($10) to make phone calls back to US and when we checked out we had to pay $56 for using the room phone as some connection charges which they didn't tell us about. Would have been nice from them had they clearly explained that to us when we checked in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Omz
Business
Chicago
Jul 11, 2009

Excellent

Great Hotel. Beautiful place, beautiful service, beautiful pools and beach. The food was good, not great but good. its a coupley and family type of hotel, not a bunch of singles looking to party. so if you want a peaceful relaxing vacation this is the place. if you are with friends and want to party then this place is nice, but your gonna have to go outside the hotel for the singles and partiers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Branchville, New Jersey
Jul 9, 2009

Riu Palace Los Americas

The specialized restaurants(except Spanish) offered excellent meals.The meats and seafood were superb in quality. The buffet was extensive but not superior.The Mexican service workers were not only friendly but so hard working. The infrastructure needs some refurbishing.The beach is inviting; the pools were attractive but warm.Because of the pathetic AC in the lobby(and elevators that require days to repair!) I will not return to RPLA even though I have been there three of the last four years.It's too bad because RPLA could be a great vacation destination but I guess they just want to save a little money. So, I will be spending mine somewhere else in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Los Arcos for lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California Vacationer
Business
San Diego,Ca
Jul 5, 2009

Fantastic couple's getaway

Everything was fabulous. I am glad that my daughter opted to stay home as I am from California and I didn't realize that there would be so many topless women. Not too mention that I didn't see many children there during our stay....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 5, 2009

Paradise

Service was exceptional. Visited the pool everyday! It was our honeymoon, so we had a couples massage - well worth the money! The first room they gave us had 2 twin beds pushed together and they called it a king. We went back to the desk and asked for a room change and they happily moved us. The food was better than average, the fusion resaurtant was the best, the steakhouse not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve the fusion restaurant, it was the BEST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ofie
Business
elk grove, ca
Jul 3, 2009

Great way to relax

This was a wonderful trip for me and my husband, we enjoyed the different foods available, the room service and how friendly the hotel personel were and their attitudes toward us. Most of the other people we saw at this hotel all looked happy. Of course we can't control the weather (it rained two day) but you can still go out and sightsee the city. We went by public bus, and it was fun so were the people of cancun. Only thing is watch out for the street guys trying to sell you a free dinner or trip its a scam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Eat at hotel so when your out you don't have to look around for a restaurant, which can be a hit or miss sometimes. And if you can take a snack for the road. This gives you more time to enjoy your outing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monica "Tell it like it is"
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 23, 2009

Riu Palace

I am hoping this review will assist you in making a decision when picking hotels. This is my second trip to Riu Palace and I must say I am extremely disappointed. There are five restaurants on site that you have to book reservations for the day before to get in. Seating is limited and if you are not in line by 745 am then you are not getting reservations. The buffet was good but for a week it gets boring. As for the room... I will start with the positives. We stayed in room 150 over looking the pool and out to the ocean. Gorgeous view. Now for the negatives... The bed was infested with fleas. I woke up in the middle of the night covered in bite marks, my forearms were peppered with bites and face,legs,stomach and back were covered as well. Thinking it was only me I looked over to realize that my husband was sitting in the chair asleep. He had gotten out of bed due to the bites he had covering his body. I asked to speak to the manager and was rudely informed by [...] that he was able to help me. He promised to change the sheets and pass on my request to speak to the manager. The sheets were changed but the manager never contacted me. The following day I went back up to complain again as the shower head exploded and water was spraying every where but out the head. They told me that they would have someone one fix it. It never happened either. I requested to have the beds cleaned again and the sheets were changed but the comforter and pillows (which we removed off the bed) were never changed and were the main issue with the fleas. On my final day of checking out, I asked why [...] the manager had never called me, and he said "he is too busy with real problems". I could only imagine what other people were experiencing. Pick a different place to stay. It has gone down hill and it is unfortunate to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo one night (Wed or Thurs) are ideal. Tons of people there but the show is one like Las Vegas. It is a night club and a couple of older people were nervous as to what to expect. But the entertainment is amazing and its not a typical night club. If you buy in advance you can save $10 off your tickets. Everything is open bar in Mexico and if you tip your waiter well ($20 the first time he brings you your drinks, they will flow endlessly all night long). There is a neat massage place across from the Riu Palace as well that has 90 min massage for 79.00 Cheap and they do an AMAZING JOB. Definitely worth looking into. If you want to purchase any trips (Jungle tour, swimming with dolphins,night cruises, fishing, etc) go to Walmart. You can take the bus there for 7 pesos (.50 cents) each way and the prices are half of what you would pay in the hotels. There is a neat office right inside Walmart that will help you make all the arrangements.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jun 23, 2009

Amazing first trip away together!

* Beautiful hotel with every amentity possible. * Moonlight massages are a must. * Be sure to upgrade to an ocean-view room to guarantee an amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

There is a professional photographer that takes pictures of guests all around the hotel. To reserve your time, there is a phone number and book in the lobby next to the check in desk. Definitely a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MexicoAddict
Business
Des Moines, IA
Jun 23, 2009

Take me back now!

The only reason I took a star off was because there wasn't any palapas on the beach. I LOVE to spend time by the ocean (after all, that's why you go south, right?). The sun is soo hot and I would fry in 20 minutes without some shade, so that really put a damper on things--we had to stay by the pool the entire time (as did everyone else, so chairs were full by 8:30 am). Other than that, the swim up bar was fantastic, we played water volleyball 2x/day (I fried anyway). The restaurants were pretty good-lots of seafood-our favorites were Steakhouse, Fusion, and Tapas. We couldn't get reservations the first and last nights b/c they were full, but its amazing what a few $ will do for you--we got in anyway--just show up on time. Bypass the Japanese restaurant. Don't expect food to taste like home--you are going to a new place to try new things. The buffet is pretty good, but does have the same stuff each day. I liked the cusom made omlette each morning. Never ate dinner, but did get some chocolate fountain one night. When we checked in, I plopped down a $10 bill and said 'don't suppose you have an oceanview room available?'--I got one and got a room right away while others had to wait for their room. It probably didn't hurt that I told them it was our anniversary. Tip: pay for what you want. The rooms are very nice--the halls do smell a bit musty, likely due to carpet/humidity, but its really not that big of deal. The room didn't seem to smell that way, but after we got home, my clothes did. you'll likely get it. Don't take any large bills with you--we didn't take anything larger than a twenty, and we took about 75-80 ones for tips, $50 in fives, etc. Your change will be in pesos, so the smaller the bill you have, the better. Entertainment was pretty good. The staff makes things pretty fun--the shows are ok at night--the American Flavors show is probably the best. We went to Xel-Ha--highly recommended--it was actually our second time. Compared to other trips--we have been to Aventura Spa Palace twice and would say Aventura is eons better in every single aspect, but it is also more expensive. If we go back, we will go back to Aventura.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't spend your $ at the resort shops or book tours at the resort. Go across the street to the Flea Market where you can barter or to the Mall next to the Market (you can't barter here). At the resort, they wanted to charge us $119 to go to Xel-Ha, we paid $88 across the street. Or, you can check the price across the street, then go into the resort and they will ususally come down in price. If not, book across the street (keep in mind you might be on a bus with mostly Mexicans, but you will still have an English translator/guide). Another tip: I can't stress enough that, even though you are going to an 'all inclusive' (tips too) resort, to pay for what you want. You will get much improved service, and all around enjoy your trip much more. Our wait staff remember our drinks we ordered, visited us more often, sat us at better tables, and treated us better than those who didn't tip. $2 left on the pillow for the maid got us turn down service every night. $5 got us into restaurants that we didn't have reservations for. $10 got us checked in and an oceanview upgrade. And wheneve we tipped, those staff remembered us throughout the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top