$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
611 reviews
Just a sic trip!!

Where to begin? Arrive at Rui with the entire staff greeting you, serving you assisting you,... See full review

  • Sweet Logistics
  • Aug 21, 2014
Excellent

We stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas August 6-11(2014).. it was a fantastic experience. The... See full review

  • Balkan
  • Aug 12, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (611)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Hampshire
Apr 22, 2009

Great trip, Too Short

Great place to stay. Service was great. Food was excellent especially the Japanese Restaurant and the Krystal restaurant. Something for everyone. Nightly entertainment and then typically a road trip afterwards to one of the local night clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo. Worth the show.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, MD
Apr 22, 2009

Riu Palace Cancun Review

Great place to lay on the beach and relax. Food is very good. Not crazy about having to make reservations in advance for specialty restaurants. Evening entertainment was always good. Nice to have access to the Riu facility next door. That added more restaurants, beach facilities, bars and entertainment to the stay. Rooms well maintained and clean. Good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Riu facility next door. Greatly increases the choices.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dover, Delaware
Apr 22, 2009

Spring Break 2009, for a Mid-40's couple

Excellent hotel and staff. The Bars/drinks were great. The food was presented well and tasted delicious. The hotel atmosphere is very relaxing, just what I wanted. We stayed next door at the Riu Cancun two years ago. Also a very nice hotel. I think I liked the Riu Las Americas slightly better. Both Great hotels, we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice variety of restaurants. But, make reservations early.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Romeoville, IL
Apr 18, 2009

If mold bothers you, stay away.

Orbitz - Their local agent ripped us off and bait/switched our Chitzen Itza trip for a cheaper one. Don't buy from them. There Orbitz airport transport company rep was complaining about his tips and stating that Orbitz made him work for free/ tips only. A really bad experience. Facility - Awesome view and rooms Smell - Terrible mold smell. Believe the reviews. Our luggage is still outside the house. Food - If you like a low grade buffet, then go here. Otherwise don't. The staff have handsinks and don't use them, ever. The 'restaurants' are pretty weak. Sushi - like the grocery store - no better, no worse The 'really nice' restaurant - ??? Tapas - not tapas Italian - not exactly Steakhouse - Grissle house Seriously, if you want all-inclusive, pay less somewhere else. Drinks - Dos Equis only, undrinkable wine, drinks are like going to Applebees, not Mexico. Also, they hide the 'call' liquors under the bar, very bizzare. We had to leave the resort to get a decent Margarita. We saw other people purchasing wine at Walmart and bringing it to the restaurant. Fitness Center - 30 years outdated. You can't get a workout here. Pools - Like the pictures, very nice. Hot tub, one broken and the other not clean. You can see large and small particulate matter floating in the water. We would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slager
Cherry Hill, NJ
Mar 29, 2009

THE PLACE TO BE WHEN VISTING CANCUN ~!

Although I usually do not write reviews on places where I have stayed, I had to write one for this hotel as it was more than I expected..The trip and hotel were top notch!The staff, especially [...] at the front desk, [...] in the Don Roberto Buffet and Diego at the pool bar were the BEST servers we ever experienced in all of our travels. Although our first night was in a room that did not have a balcony. [...] made certain that we would have one for the remainder of our stay.. The next day they moved our belongings to a room with a balcony and it was exactly what we envisioned. The suites were gorgeously decorated, the view was fabulous and the room service was first class all the way.The staff were very attentive to whatever we wanted, when we wanted it and the service we received was outstanding without ever getting that "bothered" feeling. Our best interests were what the staff projected and they did a wonderful job..I would highly recommend the Riu Palace and using Orbitz as my travel site. Orbitz did an excellent job in seeing we were comfortable and content with our trip and made many tour options available, with no pressure tactics used. This is one of the best sites for trip packages, prices and making sure we were well taken care of when visiting a foreign country..Thanks to the staff at Orbitz and the Riu Palace Las Americas for making this trip a total pleasurable Success!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

IF you are into Shopping, the Riu Palace Las Americas is within a short walk to the many shops and clubs located in Cancun..but far enough away where you are not bothered by the crowds.. My only annoyance was at the flea market where you are approached by every vendor to come to their store.. Although I didn't like that, we did find one person who took us around each store and no one bothered us when they saw he was with us already..

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 9, 2009

Fabulous vacation

My husband and I thought everything was wonderful at the Riu. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay at other Riu locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Loves Vacation
Hartford, CT
Mar 8, 2009

Awesome Place

We went for 5 days with two other couples. Staff is all VERY friendly and helpful. Pools are sparkling clean and beautiful. Scenery was just awesome. A beautiful hotel (all-inclusive) with activities during day and evening. Alcohol day/night in room or out at their bars/restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFL
Bethlehem, PA
Mar 3, 2009

A Good Place But NOT Great

I am a business owner and was able to get away for four days and three nights by myself. This was my fourth time to Cancun. I would recommend this to a friend but I much prefer The Royal and will stay there next time I go as I feel it is the nicest all-inclusive resort. But, I just wanted to give this one a try. Overall, it was nice. Beach = 9/10 (no coral, no waves, crystal clear water...would give a 10 if it was a bit larger) Upkeep of Property = 10/10 cleaning service = 10/10 pool = 6/10 (too small and crowded) drinks = 6/10 (weak drinks served out of nasty plasic cups - yuck) food = 7/10 (it was good but far from great) service = 9/10 entertainment at resort = 5/10 (go out for this) Bar in Resort = 6/10 (it is small and pushed off to a corner section outside of the lobby...lacks people and socialization). Rooms = 7/10 (My back still hurts from those hard beds! Older "version" TV...not too modern looking but it was VERY clean)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Senior Frogs and Coco Bongo are about a five minute walk from the resort. These places area must see.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Palace Las Americas

I took this trip to celebrate my niece's upcoming birthday. She is a teen and I wanted to have plenty of activities to keep her busy and excited about the trip. The Palace had kayaking, snorkeling, and para sailing included. We had a fabulous time. We were waited on hand and foot. All the food she could eat. However you should make your reservations for all the restaurants when you first arrive. Beautiful views are also a plus the site doesn't do it justice it was amazing. My only complaint would be the air conditioning ---I just couldn't get it to where I was comfortable, but I never called to ask about it because I was hardly in the room. Drinks seemed water downed but I fixed that by getting shots which were not watered down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mette & Eric
Malmoe, Sweden
Feb 19, 2009

Great hotel with pleasant atmosphere

We stayed at the hotel for 12 days and we had a great time! Didn't want to go home... We used the pools, the gym, the tenniscourt, the beach and the restaurants every day. Every day started with an outstanding breakfast with lots of fruit and homemade smoothies - sitting in the outdoor restaurant viewing the beautiful beach - while being spoiled by the friendly and helpful waiters. The food variety got a bit monotonous after a while though - except for the breakfast. Our experience with the staff in the reception was unfortunately not as positive. Their English skills were very poor, and they seemed not at all service-minded - Marriott could teach these guys a thing or two... We had several issues with them during our stay - the first was when we complained about our initial room having a smell of mould. It took them a couple of days to get us another room. The second issue was when we were having a spot of trouble with the Airport-hotel roundtrip voucher we bought in combination with the hotel stay (at Orbitz). The hotel reception staff refused to help us in making a call to Gray Lines - the cab company - as they argued this was not a toll free number and as such it would cost them money to make. Could you ever imagine hearing such an argument coming from a Marriott or Hilton associate...? Finally, we wished to sign up as members of their Riu Class, which the reception staff couldn't fix for us - the told us to do it online ourselves instead... However, we did meet a lot of friendly people (other guests while staying there. And it should be said, if you're considering staying at one of the other two Riu hotels in Cancun - don't, this one is much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall La Isla is nice - and it's only a short busride away.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search