$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
613 reviews
Good times

Excellent location and staff... my wife loved the traditional appearance of the hotel (very... See full review

  • Texas Travelerss
  • Sep 9, 2014
Excellent

Beautiful property, excellent food, and friendly stafff members. Drinks could have been better, not... See full review

  • Agemini86
  • Sep 9, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (613)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinP
Virginia
Jan 14, 2013

Great Vacation

Everything was great. The service was fast and friendly.The food was good and the rooms were nice. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viri D.
San Diego, California
Jun 24, 2014

Nice view with construction noise

We had a great time in Cancun the only down fall was the construction going on next door to our room. We got a beatiful ocean view but the noise was really annoying we had to keep our door closed most of the time during the day..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

make your reservations to the hotels restaurants as soon as you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy if room was decent
Highlands Ranch, CO
Nov 8, 2010

RIU

Hotel was beautiful. Service and food outstanding. [...] in main outside dining for breakfast and lunch buffet was rude and begged for tips. Japanese, Los Arcos and French was awesome - food and service outstanding. Our biggest issue and why we would not return was as follows: The ROOM! Mold and musty to the point we could not breathe and could not wait to go home - sad but true then they cleaned with amonia to kill the mold/must. Bed uncomfortable and sheets damp always. Had to wash our clothes and souveniers three times when we returned to get the smell out. [...] - with Grey Line/[...]sold us activities and she did not know what she was talking about - expensive and disappointed with CocoBongo. She sold us the Dolphin experience and then came back and wanted more money?? That is it - overall the hotel staff and hotel was beautiful and we loved it but sleep is important and we never slept due to smell/dampness in the room - we slipped on the tile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
i
ny,ny
Nov 15, 2009

weekend getaway

Just wanted to enjoy a weekend away, there was not enough to do at the hotel, just 2 pools, not very big. No indoor or heated pool, it was very windy so therefore very cold. The food was not great and was sitting out too long at the buffet and whats up with a mexican hotel, but no mexican restaurant. We felt rushed out of the restaurant, would have liked seconds at the Brazilian restaurant, but felt like it would be too much to ask. The room was big, view was great, however not very comfortable feeling since everything was tiled, the king size bed was two full beds pushed together -not very comfortable. The sheets were used too much since they were piling and not very soft. The hotel felt very grand when you first walked in but not too much after that, the drinks were ok -inconsistent. The staff was very nice and attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mcoy
Queens, NY
Dec 19, 2010

nice but.....

The hotel was very clean, very well taken care of. The staff was wonderful, always there to help you, and were very polite. That was a huge plus. The food was not that great. We went to the Brazilian restaurant and left before we were done, LoL, thats how much we didnt like it. The Mexican restaurant, italian, and buffet were average. The steakhouse was awesome, that we loved. The pools were nice, drinks were very weak, but they had whatever you wanted to drink. I liked the resort, just very disappointed in the food. Also, if you wanted to dance, you have to go next door to riu cancun, the palace did not have a night club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

go next door to riu cancun for club. It stayed open until 2am, and its free with all the drinks you want. Coco bongos, etc, all the clubs are expensive and very crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toms River, NJ
Oct 29, 2009

Bad food

I would not recommend this hotel simply for the horrible food. My fiancé and I had to eat at the buffet for all but one of our meals and we were hungry the entire trip. The one meal we had at the so called "Steakhouse" was the only time I ate a piece of meat for five days. Not only was the food at the "Steakhouse" below average, but the "Steakhouse" was the buffet that we had eaten at all week. Very tough time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of singles...you need to tip everyone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Javier Ala
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 20, 2014

Alright Stay

it was fun there, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I wish the food was a little better, but that's real about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melrose
Wichita, KS, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great Service..

We always try to stay at RIU resorts. We have been to Cancun numerous times and usually stay at the RIU Carribe. We wanted to see if the Palace was worth the extra money. On a positive note the rooms are a little bigger but beds are no better and balcony not any bigger. The service at the Palace is top notch. Whether you are on the beach or by the pool they have someone taking your order and making sure your drinks are full. The beach is not real big, and the ocean is kind of rocky. Because the hotel is so tall it blocks the sun around 2pm. So the pools and most of the beach are sunless. The buffet was not as good as the Carribe or the RIU Cancun next door. The Restaurants were good. But we spent most of our time next door at the RIU Cancun's buffet. Very few kids, which is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go next door to the RIU Cancun and use their buffet, much much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Idaho
Mar 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel, but......

This is our second stay at the Riu Palace Las Americas, and it is a beautiful, smaller, quieter, hotel. In our opinion one of the best locations in the hotel zone. The beach here, while small, is perfect, and the water always calm. It is protected and even on windy days,amazing. That being said, this hotel needs to step it up in the food and service (friendly) department!! The buffet was pathetic, imagine our surprise when we went next door to the cheaper Riu Cancun, and saw their extensive and quite tasty buffet. I would estimate it was 3-5 times as large, always had a carving station with prime rib and more, an italian (fresh pizza) area, an authentic Mexican food area, and a seafood area....and surprise it all had some flavor. The "reservation" only restaurants at the Palace were a joke, they would tell you they were totally booked and then would be half empty and closing down by 8...and at times the waitstaff in these "exclusive" restaurants could be rude. The front desk staff also bordered on rude, they failed miserably in the friendly department. Never smiling or asking how your stay was going. We did use the spa, and once again, while clean and pleasant I would not reccommend it....for the price I expected a little more pampering. The massage table was covered with a large towel and that was it! The massage itself was mediocre. However, for all my complaining, I would probably stay there again for the location, I like the size and the quieter atmosphere, and for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny S
Ohio, USA
Feb 22, 2012

First Experience at an All-Inclusive

Great hotel with amazing staff. I felt taken care of and very special. I'm in my late 20's and while I appreciate peace, quiet and conservativeness--I got a little too much at this hotel. The Riu Caribe next store did have a younger crowd, a small, very dark night club, and sports bar (open 24hrs). Most of the hotel shows were terrible and night clubs incredibly loud and overly crowded. I went late February to avoid spring breakers, but it just so happened that it was 'Canadian Spring Break'. I would prefer more options for nightlife so I'd have a choice of a happy medium. The food wasn't so great either. In between meals you don't get very good service, the buffet was almost the same every day, and there were no 'specialty stations' where you could create your own sandwich/smoothie/burrito etc. The dinner you needed reservations for however were pretty good. My biggest complaint -- there was no late time food options unless you went next door. (Don't count on room service, it was horrible). At night the grounds can get a little chilly since the hotel blocks most sunlight by 5:30pm. Ultimately, if you want to party like a spring breaker, get waited on like royalty, and have a quiet pool or beach to relax -- this is your hotel. At my age, I don't mind getting up to get my own drink. I would have rather saved that extra couple hundred and stayed at the Riu Caribe next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YveC
New York, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2012

First Trip to Cancun

To sum it up. It wasn't what I expected. This is suppose to be a 4 star resort but the rooms are mediocre. They have this molding smell and the room was humid at all times even with AC on high and fan on. I just feel damp throughout my sleep. The views are pretty good though, since I got Ocean View Junior Suite. The food need a special touch to it and it was repetitive and not satisfying at all. But everyone should go try Puerto Madero, awesome steak & lobster house, which is a cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find this guy name Hawaii in Forums Plaza. He gives the best deals on all the activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search