$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
707 out of 707
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinP
Virginia
Jan 13, 2013

Great Vacation, Great Service

Everything was great. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice, the beach and pool are nice. It was a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Feb 13, 2011

Great Service, room OK

The service at this hotel was fantastic, especially in the restaurants. The main facility was nice, but could use some sprucing up. The couches in the main lobby could be cleaned. The bathtubs were like a closet and difficult to get in and out of. At check in we were not given any information about the facility or the shows, and our key did not work. Although there was 24 hour room service, it was a very limited menu and there were no beverages available. Dinner did not start until 6:30, which is a little late. Also guests should know that the specialty restaurants all require reservations, which need to be made in advance, which means that you cannot make one for your first evening. The specialty restaurants are only open for dinner. Grayline: although they were easy to locate, we had to wait over 15 minutes. Upon leaving there was an accident, which means that they were over 20 minutes late in picking us up. The driver, however, was lovely. Also they really pushed the day trips, which could be obtained for better prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make your dinner reservations upon arrival.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 23, 2011

Hotel Review

We had a good experience. Making reservations for the restaurants was inconvenient. It would be nice to make the dinner reservations at the same time the hotel reservation is made. The room was very nice and very clean. We did have an issue with the lock on the door; our card did not work; they re-coded it and it still did not work; finally they called maintenance and they had to change the batteries on the door; this was done late in the evening and they worked on it over 30 minutes. We stayed at the resort the entire time and enjoyed sitting by the beach and the bar service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you can only make reservations for two days in advance. you need to get to the lobby by 8:00 a.m. to get your reservation for the restaurant of your choice. later than that, the restaurant is full and you will not get your first choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joesmoe
Business
austin Texas
Jul 6, 2010

July 2010

due to tropical storm Alex the shoreline was covered with see weed. I don't feel that enough was done to clean the beaches. The staff were professional and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna, VA
Feb 10, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

Our assigned room upon arrival was clean and had a wonderful view but, I was terribly disappointed with the completely overbearing musty smell in the room as well as in the hallways. Unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel. The hotel staff was very accomodating, first trying a thorough cleaning with clorox. Ok for a couple of hours, came back by evening and continued to linger. They changed our room after 2 nights and the second one was slightly better, not as potent. I've stayed in very nice resorts on the beach before and you will sometimes get a little sea smell, but not like this! Unfortunate because everything else was great. I personally would not stay there again or recommend to others because of this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Caribbean Carnival Cruise was fun and the food served was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toms River, NJ
Oct 29, 2009

Bad food

I would not recommend this hotel simply for the horrible food. My fiancé and I had to eat at the buffet for all but one of our meals and we were hungry the entire trip. The one meal we had at the so called "Steakhouse" was the only time I ate a piece of meat for five days. Not only was the food at the "Steakhouse" below average, but the "Steakhouse" was the buffet that we had eaten at all week. Very tough time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of singles...you need to tip everyone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
i
Business
ny,ny
Nov 15, 2009

weekend getaway

Just wanted to enjoy a weekend away, there was not enough to do at the hotel, just 2 pools, not very big. No indoor or heated pool, it was very windy so therefore very cold. The food was not great and was sitting out too long at the buffet and whats up with a mexican hotel, but no mexican restaurant. We felt rushed out of the restaurant, would have liked seconds at the Brazilian restaurant, but felt like it would be too much to ask. The room was big, view was great, however not very comfortable feeling since everything was tiled, the king size bed was two full beds pushed together -not very comfortable. The sheets were used too much since they were piling and not very soft. The hotel felt very grand when you first walked in but not too much after that, the drinks were ok -inconsistent. The staff was very nice and attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thenewlyweds
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun

Pool was so hot we could not swim in it, too crowded, and never any room at the "infinity edge" there were very few cabanas with shade around the pool and the drinks were just okay. The food was just okay, the buffet was better than any of the restaurants. I am not a picky eater, so I always was happy with my food and ate it, but if you are picky eater you probably wouldn't like it. I wish the pool would have been cooler/more refreshing. Would have been much better had there been a bigger "swim up bar" as well. We have been to Cancun about 6 or 7 times and there are nicer places to stay. We went with friends so it worked out great though. The service was excellent and Christina at the concierge desk went out of her way to help us. The reservations setup is nightmare. Waiting in a line at 8 o'clock in the morning on vacation is absolutely ridiculous and then to get there and not even allow a group of 8 to sit at the same table and the food to be subpar. My biggest annoyance was our room key not working on several occasions which was a big hassle considering it is a long way to the reception desk and the elevators are slow. This also means it is not easy access from your room to get down to the pool and beach so don't forget anything! For the price this is a nice place to stay for a weekend getaway, but for anything longer.. i would recommend paying a little extra to stay the Royal Cancun or the Excellence. Both of these blow the Riu Palace Las Americas away as far as service, amenities, food and pool/beach area. It is also a lot quieter with absolutely no kids. There were a lot of famlies with kids at our hotel which i was suprised about. I will say the hotel is beautiful and the shows were entertaining. The staff there really tries their best to keep everyone entertained. We had a great time with the few couples that we went with. Make sure that you specify a king size bed and a ocean view room because several people didn' t get that and weren't happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to carlos and charlies and senor frogs. We had a great time at both!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Oct 26, 2009

OK

We spent most of our time at the sister hotel riu cancun, enviroment was full of fun. Riu Palace had the better rooms and beach, but the pool sceen was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

COCO BONGO!!!! BEST PLACE TO GO AND HAVE A GREAT TIME. SHOWS AND MUSIC WAS AWESOME. A MUST DO IN CANCUN!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
malzie
Business
Boston, Mass
Aug 19, 2009

enjoyable but a bit tired

This was our third trip to the Riu Palace las Americas. The hotel is still a beauty but is showing some signs of wear. This was the first trip over a weeklend and it was definitely a younger, rowdier, and louder crowd. The front desk personnel bordered on rude and this was a first! We always travel to the Riu Palace but we are in doubt for next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go for your own travel to and from the airport. You may book through Orbitz. The shared ride takes forever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valdez146
Business
Kansas city
Feb 9, 2011

pretty nice

We thought the hotel was nice but not worth the extra money it costs to stay there. There were better deals out there. I had never stayed at a RIU hotel before and would again for the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor frogs is fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top