Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
whatsurgenre
Couples
East Lansing, MI, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Spring Break at the Palace

All-inclusive means free drinks and food and we certainly took advantaged of it. We stayed for 5 days and even though we stayed around the hotel, we did not get sick of anything. There are many different places to relax and have a drink, get a tan or swim in the pool or the ocean. There are plenty of restaurant options and be sure to reserve dinner plans early. All of the staff were very accommodating and were professional. There are club scene within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
virginia cavero
Couples
Madison, WI
Mar 14, 2012

birthday celebration

This was our second time at the Riu Palace las Americas, my husband and I decided to go back due the great and friendly customer service, nice and clean suites, awsome ocean view, food, drinks, housekeeping service. Back on October 2011 we went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and now on March to celebrate my birthday, the staff at the restaurants help my husband to make a nice experience from our dinner celebrations in both occassions, specially thanks to Armando, nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bday in Mexico
Friends
Boston, MA
Mar 22, 2012

Perfect location

This couldn't have been a better choice, the hotel was beautiful, rooms were great, pool and beach fantastic (the sand at the beach at this hotel was nice and soft but right next door it was gritty and rocky). The location couldn't have been better, it really is in the heart of the hotel zone. You can walk to almost anything. There is a mall right across the street, it's not the greatest mall but at least it's there. You can also take the bus to Plaza de Isla, this is a much nicer mall with a lot more to do. It is possible to walk but it's a long walk. The flee market is just a few blocks away so you can get cheap gifts. Food at the hotel was delicious. There was so much to choose from at the buffet and at the specialty restaurants it was just delicious. I will definitly stay there again the next time I go to Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oly Driver
Couples
St. Cloud,Minnesota
Mar 31, 2012

Winter warm up

This was our 2nd time to Mexico, the first was to Riviera Maya. RIU's beach was on the small side, but plenty of chairs to enjoy the sun and surf. Limited chairs by the activities pool, but that was likely since they were the closest to 2 of the bars. That doesn't matter that much since the servers check on you often and remember what you were drinking. Do yourself a favor and bring your own mug/glass. Bigger the better- less waiting for refills! Rooms are very nice, separate sitting area, good size bathroom and shower. But we were not in our room much more then sleeping and showering. Read comments about a musty smell, chalk that up to the humidity I think. Stayed on 2nd floor overlooking the activities pool, but didn't notice much smell with the doors closed and A/C on. A number of restaurants at the hotel--- book early! Limited seating available and we did not get eat at all of them; which was disappointing. The buffet was very good, plenty of variety of beef, chicken, seafood and pasta. Nightlife at the hotel felt simple. Laid back to enjoy the drinks and cool ocean breezes. We spent the evening hours after dinner with drinks, cards and conversations. Just the way we like it. Wonderful hotel, wonderful place, wonderful trip!!! Thank you Rudolpho the bartender, and the rest of the RIU staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shona
Family
New York, NY, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Family getaway

We came with 3 children in the age of 22 ,17 and 12 The hotel is buthifull , the view is amazing .evrybudy need to order a room with an ocean view .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The best place to eat is the buffe .

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CellaMay
Couples
Woodbury, MN, USA
Apr 13, 2012

AMAZING

This was our second time at the Riu Palace Las Americas and it was just as amazing as the first time. Everything from the staff, food, service, cleanliness to the location was perfect. A lot of people complain about the smell. Well the smell is the ocean, not a musty smell. You will find that at any hotel in Mexico. The nightlife entertainment at the hotel is great. My boyfriend and I actually got to be a part of one of the shows and had a great time. They really know how to keep you entertained there if you don't want to go outside the hotel, or even before you leave for the night. ABUNDIO! The best service we received was from our bartender Abundio in the bar inside the first lobby, he really made the trip fun. He would see us walking in and he would start our drinks for us so by time we sat down at the bar they were ready. He just was very enjoyable to be around. The front desk was helpful as well. They were always very pleasant and accommodating. We stayed in an amazing ocean view room right in the middle and loved waking up to that every morning. All the food was great, however the steakhouse is our favorite. Along with the buffet that they offer there. Both times that we have stayed in Cancun, we have only had dinner at the hotel by choice. We went and explored other restaurants and found that they offer a lot of the same stuff that is prepared at the hotel. We can't wait to go back again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess and Steve
Couples
Chino, California
Apr 13, 2012

Great all around

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. From the staff, to the food, to the entertainment. Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mocambo just two blocks from hotel, delicious buffet.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DepDoug
Couples
Michigan
Apr 30, 2012

Perfect

We felt that we were the owners!!!!!!!!!!! Everything was worth 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

You are in Cancun.....................

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sloppy
Friends
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2012

Amazing Vacation

My experience at the Riu Palace Las Americas was fantastic. The hotel has a very ritzy feel to it. The upkeep was truly impressive. All day every day we saw maids mopping floors, workers sweeping sand from the poolside decks, and even people cleaning the blades of ceiling fans. Our room was so nice and was one of the cheaper options. My boyfriend and I had a king size bed with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Our 2 friends had a room right next to us which was great. Every day our room was made up and our fridge fully restocked with water, beer and soda - not to mention 4 types of hard liquor. The food was surprisingly awesome for an all-inclusive resort. The buffet had different dishes every day with everything from cheese and crackers, salad bar, and deli meats to paella, roast duck, pasta dishes, and soup. The 4 out of 5 restaurants we tried were excellent - all the way from service at the door to decor to food quality, and each had a different theme which kept things interesting. NOTE: You do need to make a reservation for dinner each night ahead of time, and these reservations are limited and seemed to fill up very quickly. You should stop at the customer service desk as soon as you get there to make some dinner reservations. The drink selection was also impressive for an all-inclusive resort. The frozen and mixed drinks were great and didn't taste cheap. The drink service was incredible - there was always a waiter walking around to take your drink order whether you were on the beach, in the lobby, or at the pool. At the restaurants and buffet, your glass never gets empty because they are so on top of their service. We also utilized the small gym (which is fine for a little bit of vacation exercise) and the spa, where we got a couples massage. It was very relaxing if you care to spend the extra money. My only complaint would be that the beach is a bit small and cramped, which you can kind of tell from the website's pictures. Also, the beach doesn't have any shade normally provided by umbrellas or grass hut thingys which would have been nice to get out of the hot sun sometimes. You can always go up to the pool area where there are umbrellas and palm trees that provide shade, but it would have been nice if there was something on the beach itself. We had an amazing time and would love to try another Riu hotel at another location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to venture outside of the hotel if you are willing to spend a little extra money - it felt very safe to us and we found some great places for food, drinks and entertainment within 5-10 minutes of walking off the resort. A little place called Mextreme was so much fun and prepared authentic, fresh guacamole for us right at our table.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tran's Family
Family
San Jose, CA
May 5, 2012

Fun Family Trip

Very nice hotel, clean, great food, and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance from from center

Back to menu Return to top