$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
713 out of 713
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family fun time in mexico
Business
Albuquerque
Jun 5, 2013

Great vacation

We had a lot of fun. Even with the rain. The staff was excellent and the food was good. The water at the beach was beautiful and warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to oingo boingo.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE Salsa King
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 28, 2013

Fantastic place to relax and enjoy the sun and beach

Overall, my family and I enjoyed our stayed at this hotel. All employees BUT the front desk employees were very nice and helpful. This hotel has to definately change the young people working at the front desk, they don't know what they are doing and do not show care for your needs. I had to call several times making the same requests, there was never a scence of urgency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants across the hotel.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HoustonRome
Business
Houston
Aug 20, 2013

Great Location

Location was central to all of Cancun's main clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mijp
Business
Stow, Ohio
Aug 28, 2013

great vacation place

we had a great time ime in 2012, so we went back in 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mxlllo6
Business
chantilly, va
Aug 31, 2013

Great experience

Surprisingly good foods in the international buffer; great pool view and beach; the only complaint is the dampness in the room even with air conditioning on all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family group
Business
Michigan
Aug 31, 2013

Good Hotel but Needs improvement in some areas!

Stayed at RIU PALACE for one week in August ...I will go into detail about my stay =) Checkin: My reservation was for a standard room and I asked for an ocean view and was given an upgrade but didn't have a balcony but took it anyway... Didn't get a welcome drink although I did see other people receiving them ...might depend what time you get in perhaps? Check in was long and check in process was slow! Housekeeping/Room: Room had a bit of a musty smell ...I left 2 dollars and told a housekeeper I seen in the hallway to reclean the room ..When I came back the room looked recleaned and smelled a lot cleaner so I guess if you tip they clean better.. I only tipped the housekeeper the first two days stayed a week the room was cleaned even days a tip wasn't left... Room is all tile no carpet ...Beds I thought were on the hard side and pillows were flat ...Hotel should invest in new matters and pillows ....Overall room was pretty nice...nice size bathroom...bathtub was a lil on the slippery side ..Also the safes in rooms need to be upgraded they are not with a code you are given a key upon check in and if you lose it you have to pay $50 ....annoying having to carry that key around! Food: Food was pretty good not wow but you had plenty to choose from...does get repetitive after a week stay but always found something to my taste ! Only ate the buffet because every night is a themed night at the buffet and you are likely to find most food served at the restaurants at lest one night at the buffet! Pool: Pool area is nice but does show some wear and tear ... We swam anyway but would be nicer if the pool areas didn't look so worn out! Pool service was good they were always asking if you needed a drink! Beach: Very clean beach...Is a smaller beach but no seaweed which I really liked because other cancun hotels have a lot of seaweed on there beach!! Hotel should invest in putting umbrellas on the beach! there are plenty by the pools but would be nice to also have some on beach! Shows: shows were on the chessy side! could be a lot better! Was told other hotels in the area have way better shows...So if you are a show person this may not be a good hotel option! Over all hotel was clean (always seen workers cleaning) but is dated If the hotel did some remodeling and repairs would be a very nice hotel.... would only go back if I found a really good deal and if they did some renovations ...overall was a good trip and we did enjoy had great weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CleOHTraveler
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 8, 2013

Fantastic Staff in an Overall Good Hotel

Atmosphere: Nice and well kept, however as other reviews mention, a rotten egg/sewer smell was periodically noticeable in the main pool area. Did not last long and came in spurts. Beach: Very nice and well kept. Minimal waves, slightly rocky, and a decent number of fish in the water. Beds: Mediocre; Sheets were rough and beds were stiff. Two of the four people in our group often woke up with a sore back. Drinks: Mediocre; Liquor was VERY watered down, frozen drinks contained minimal alcohol, but beer wine and champagne were plentiful (Beer was Dos Equies). Location: Close to the heart of it all, however between the two RIU hotels we did not venture off the resort very often. Pools: 2 pools, one "family friendly" and another with a swim-up bar and activities. The family pool was very nice, but the swim-up bar was noticeably "warmer" in temperature and always filled with people who never got out of the pool. Before going in the swim-up pool, go look at the water at night with the lights on. The particle difference between the two was remarkable. Restaurants: 5 restaurants and 1 main buffet. Italian was sub-par (shrimp linguine); Mexican was sub-par (mixed fajitas); Japanese was good (beef/vegetable dish); Fusion was very good (Lamb); Steakhouse was excellent (surf and turf); Buffet was overall good as the dishes always change but the restaurants in general proved a better meal. Rooms: Pay for the ocean view, it is well worth it. Our first room was "lagoon view" which consisted of facing another hotel with ongoing construction. Towards the end of our stay, we were upgraded to an ocean view and the difference was remarkable. Staff: Staff was remarkable. Very friendly and attentive. A small tip goes a long way, however it is not required. Overall: I would recommend this hotel to a friend. We made a few trips to the RIU next door and it was crowded, loud, and sub-standard to the level of attention and detail we received at the Palace Las Americas. If you book, book an ocean view. (Outside Resort): If going in 2013 I'd recommend a trip to Coba as this is the last Mayan pyramid you are still allowed to climb. The hotel staff mentioned that at the end of the year, the public will no longer be allowed to climb the pyramid. (Note: Coba is a 2 hour drive each way). Swimming with the dolphins was also a highlight of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lubia
Business
Santa Fe springs,ca
Oct 28, 2013

Amazing

First time to cancun and we had a spectacular time . The location was great the staff was the most friendly staff I have encountered. Place was so clean food was so good and abundant. Our travel rep Edgar was great and helpful . I am going back next year I got more than I expected my friend and my boss going next year we are all staying at the hotel only complaint is the beds are a little too hard. But other than that all was great .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dinner reservations for the restaurant early!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike and shawn
Business
ohio
Nov 26, 2013

very good

everything was great. and very very nice place for vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hammer hank
Business
woodbury, mn
Dec 2, 2013

nice, but

yes just came back ,the hotel is beautiful, the problem was, seems they are a little short on beach area I think there beach is getting swept back into the Caribbean , supposedly you have excise to the riu cancun beach but it's not possible to walk there via the beach, I would suggest 30 40 truck loads of sand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

book your transportation from the airport on the web, hotel zone take advantage of there bus service about 70 cents a trip, the people are great down there

Back to menu Return to top