$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
707 out of 707
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Astoria, NY
Mar 18, 2010

Great place to stay

I was on a vacation with 4 20-something friends and loved the location, beautiful and clean rooms, the magnificent beach, gorgeous pools. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the buffet was very good. The a la carte restaurants were disappointing, however. My friends stayed at the Riu Cancun, which is less expensive than the Riu Palace. I would highly recommend paying a little extra to stay at the Riu Palace, because it is much nicer for not that much more money. Overall, it was a great experience and I will stay at other Riu hotels in the Caribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Mar 17, 2010

Love the hotel

We loved the hotel. It was in a perfect location. We walked everywhere from to the outlet mall across the street to the flea market and bars. You could also take a cab or bus, but the weather was great and it took 10-15 minutes to walk anywhere. The hotel was beautiful with super-friendly staff. The food was great and there were 5 different a-la-carte restaurant if you didn't like buffet. We'll definitely stay at Riu again. They really know what they're doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Always bargain. A simple T-shirt can start off at $50 and by the time you walked away, it would be down to $15. Unless it is in an outlet mall where all prices are marked down already, you should always bargain. We spent $87 for swimming with the dolphins and the advertised price was $135.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Mar 11, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Excellent trip with top notch service. The hotel is spotless! Our room faced the ocean with a balcony. The room had a huge bathroom, a bedroom area, and a sitting room. The room bar was always stocked. The restaurants were difficult to book because they are rather small, but don't worry because the buffet is outstanding. The pools are gorgeous with plenty of setting and activities. The wait staff constantly replenishes your drink. The beach is clean and the sand is like white powder. Check in and check out were a breeze. We recommend fishing at El Dorado Beach Club. They cooked our fish and served it with all the condiments and beer for $5! Best meal we have had in our lives We are planning to return to this hotel next year. So relaxing, quiet, no "spring breakers", elegant, but still casual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Upon arrival, check in with customer service to make restaurant reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heather Bear
Business
Prov, RI
Mar 9, 2010

Wish I could have stayed longer!

We had 9 friends go down together. Hotel was beautiful but the weather wasnt as amazing. VERY windy and not that warm. But when we went next door to the Riu cancun there was practically no wind. It was nice to stay in the better hotel with use of the amenities next door. And with our group being in the mid 20 range the Riu Cancun was set up for that. It had a mini club and younger people staying there. The restaurants at the palace were GREAT! and the buffet had plenty of options. We had no problems getting reservations for 9 people. Never woke up early or had to wait in lines. Just start booking the day you get there and keep doing it 2 days in advance. the only one we didnt try was the Japanese because not everyone in our group loved sushi. And we were also a little late to rise so we often got stuck missing breakfast and then consequently missing lunch. The are in betwen small buffets but I could have used a few more options. I wish during the random hours there was more dining options. We wnt out to Pat O briens (dont do it) The city (HUGE CLUB) and Sweet (very luxurious) club entry fees at about 45 to get in with open bar (which is only like tap beer, vodka and rum) We haggled to make the 45 include a vip table with bottle service. That made the experience soooo much better. My boyfriend and I had a couples massage, not expensive in my opinion and was very nice and relaxing. We booked a zipline and atv combo before we left online through [@] very trustworthy and super cheap only $99 each including round trip transfer, I had so much fun on this I would do it again. We had other friends staying at the OASIS (MTV Spring break hotel) it was $26 to get in for the day, I would never want to stay there but it was fun for just one day. We spent another day on a private catamaran snorkeling (its so crazy to see the fish so close, don't worry they don't bite) and the boat took us to an island for shopping. We also spent a day on the beach jet sking and parasailing. All in all it was a great time we were there for 7 days 6 nights but wish it was 10 because I wanted to do so much other stuff. I personally spent a total of $750 (not including the initial cost of the trip) We did however go to clubs, go on excursions, get massages, rent jetskis and tipped generously. Ive been on cruises and spent double. I would go back to Riu again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

HAGGLE! the price they say is never the "Real" price. This goes for excursions, shopping, cabs and even club entry fees. We rented a private catamaran for a half day to take us to isla muerta for shopping, coral reef snorkeling, open bar on the boat. They wanted 90pp we talked him down to 45. Just walk away and they come down to the price your want. Even when everyone was paying $45 for entry into the club we just asked that price to include a private table with bottle service. Throw someone a tip and they will do anything for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Feb 16, 2010

Very "Ritzy" Resort

The resort was very nice with friendly staff. The rooms were always cleaned to perfection and our belongings were never moved and tampered with. The only downfall was the weather. It was very windy, and cloudy for most of the days. You had to wear pants to be comfortable. Since the resort is situated on a curve it felt like a tunnel for the wind. However, it was in a very good location- walking distance from lots of places and we made the best of it since the weather was very enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to be out of the clubs and downtown by 1 am, after that it changes and turns into the locals hangout, I didn't feel comfortable and was scared. Also, if you do plan on going downtown, set something up within the hotel for a better rate, many clubs charge $40-$60 just to get in (but does include all drinks)! If you sign up for a "club tour" you pay roughly $80 dollars and get to go to 3 different clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, Greece
Feb 16, 2010

Great.

Riu Palace Las Americas is the best hotel in Cancun. The Spain creator - architect Mr Sancimez designed, 6 years ago, a real Grand Hotel similar to those in Cannes and Monte Carlo of the period between the two wars. In the lobby you take the atmosphere of the legacy. Very nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna, VA
Feb 10, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

Our assigned room upon arrival was clean and had a wonderful view but, I was terribly disappointed with the completely overbearing musty smell in the room as well as in the hallways. Unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel. The hotel staff was very accomodating, first trying a thorough cleaning with clorox. Ok for a couple of hours, came back by evening and continued to linger. They changed our room after 2 nights and the second one was slightly better, not as potent. I've stayed in very nice resorts on the beach before and you will sometimes get a little sea smell, but not like this! Unfortunate because everything else was great. I personally would not stay there again or recommend to others because of this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Caribbean Carnival Cruise was fun and the food served was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Get a way traveler
Business
Columbus OH
Feb 2, 2010

Great facility food and beverage not goo

The restaurant choices were not good and offered only two seating times - food at these restaurants way below par. All well liquor and tap beer. I would have liked a Corona in a bottle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucester, Virginia
Jan 23, 2010

Outstanding Service

Service here was best of any Rius that we've stayed at. At any meals they never let your glass go empty or a dirty plate be left. Highly recommend the steakhouse. You eat outside by the water and the filet was excellent ! Was best for us to sit at same table every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They really took care of us that way. Food overrall was of good quality and you could always find something you like. We were able to get drinks anywhere we sat....by the pool, in the lobby on the patio. They were attentive !!! Gotta love 85 degrees when we were leavin 40 degrees in Virginia !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Went to Chitzen Itza . It's one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It's a MUST see even if you are not a history buff. My wife is not and she enjoyed it. Take the bus ride n tour from any roadside vendors. Do NOT pay more than $40 per person. This includes bus ride, lunch buffet AND admission !! Plan on ALL day from about 8am til 8pm ( no matter what they tell you ).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sodakinseattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was in great condition. The room had a spectacular view. The water sports were available at the RIU property next door but required advance reservations. The deserts were tasty. I would stay here again. [...]Transportation was provided by Gray-Line/ Mayaland and they force you to meet with their agent at the hotel to arrange your return transportation. The meeting is actually a sales opportunity for excursions and they overcharged me for an "adventure" that they sold to me. They make up their own exchange rate after quoting US Dollars. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

X-Terra was impressive with the caves and river. The sales office and transportation is a short walk east of the hotel. They also have the Xcaret and other park adventures there. Do not purchase through Gray-Line/ Mayaland. A Gray-Line/Mayaland agent sold me the adventure when meeting her to arrange my return transportation to the airport [...]. She quoted the price in US Dollars and then made up her own exchange rate which ended up being higher than the quoted price. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card. I assume it is their common practice since it is an easy way to make a lot of extra money off of tourists. Be WARNED! If you see Gray-Line /Mayaland in the lobby- stay away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top