$288 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
713 out of 713
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JudyO
Business
Chicago
Jun 27, 2012

Great getaway

I'd never been to Cancun, much less to an all-inclusive, but my husband and I were looking for a little getaway to take advantage of some plane tickets. After much investigation, I chose Riu Palace Las Americas. It is a beautiful hotel… one of the prettiest in Cancun from the outside. From the inside, also spectacular. The lobby is filled with marble everywhere, the towering ceiling showcasing beautiful stained glass that stretches nearly from one wall to the other. Having gone in January, we had nice breezes while outside and with the beautiful décor we were constantly reminded that we were someplace special and far away. We arrived later in the evening and were upgraded to a honeymoon suite without request at check-in, which was fantastic. We got up to the room – it was beautiful and just like one of the pictures provided, with a smaller relaxing area off of the ‘bedroom’ and wrap-around balcony. There was an issue with water on the tile floor there (due to sliding glass door left open), but it was cleaned up immediately during our visit downstairs and we never had another issue during our stay. I did notice a slight musty odor, but it obviously wasn't too bad as I didn’t even end up using the deodorizer I had brought along after reading other reviewers. The room was clean; you could see some areas in the hotel that needed a bit of repair (cracks & plaster repair) but nothing overtly distracting. The food at the hotel was at times really good and at other times mediocre. Be sure to sign up for dinners early and often. Our favorite was the Japanese restaurant, and my least favorite was probably the steakhouse (steaks WAY too thin). Guess I’m spoiled by Midwest American beef. I enjoyed eating lunch at the outside restaurant just off the pool/patio area, where we had some great fajita-type meals. Breakfast was decent… I’m more of an egg/bacon/fruit person and it was nice to have whatever you wanted but I was surprised that for a 4-star hotel that the offerings in the main dining area weren’t of a little higher quality. A lot of the fruit was really average and the melon was not tasty at all... I'd hoped for better after I was in a place where fruit should grow really well! Pineapple, grapefruit & grapes were good. I also did not like eating at the main dining area for lunch as the options during that time were not as tasty – however, once we figured out where & how to eat we were quite happy. There is an Italian restaurant that you can eat at for lunch, which we enjoyed. I regretted an evening out to an expensive dinner outside the hotel – not needed with all the dinner options in the hotel itself. I had my first pina coladas which turned out to be my drink of choice for this trip – somehow they were just perfect. Spent the last 2 days of our trip reading and lounging on the patio under palm trees and listening to the ocean. Servers would come by and as if we needed anything frequently enough; I was so relaxed by the end of the trip it was hard to think about going home. This was our first experience with all-inclusive and I loved the freedom of not having to worry about money and tipping. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up as early as possible with the reservation consierge for the restaurants.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FamilyWithKids
Business
Chicago
Jul 9, 2012

Superb family vacation!

Pros: * Location is great; you can walk over to the other RIU resorts too which is great. * Food is great - buffet and the restaurants. Although we didn't get to try all the restaurants. * Service is really good. Waiters in the bar, pool, beach and restaurants were really good. * Rooms are awesome! Great view - we had a jr suite ocean view which was totally worth it. * Hard liquor, beer, soda and water - stocked daily in the room. We loved it!! * They had a bunch of activities for the kids every day - my 4 yr old had a blast. Cons: * Both the pools close at 7 which is really a bummer! I probably would look for a place where the pool is open until later or even overnight. * Restaurant reservations were hard to come by - particularly hard because we had a big group. But the buffet was pretty good for dinner too. * Not a lot of shade by the beach on one side - same with the pool. Fortunately, we went at a time that wasn't too hot - it was in the 80s. 100+ would have been bad though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco bongo which is a must-go dance club is really close. Ask at the front desk - they have free drop off service which is really good since they take you past all the crazy lines to get into the club. There is also a so-so dance club in Riu Cancun next door. Not so great but its a dance club... Jetski, parasailing and stuff available in the resort - pricey but definitely haggle!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovely Mimi
Business
Herndon VIrginia
Jul 25, 2012

Romantic vacation

This was our second time staing in this hotel and we enjoyed it as much as we did last time we highly recommend it. Very friendly staff and high quality food .beautiful swimming pools and lots of intertainment day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Remember to make reservation for dinner

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akb006
Business
texas
Jun 8, 2012

Great

Hotel was very nicely kept, one of the best I have seen in Mexico. The beds were terrible, restaurants were fairly good, staff was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel next door is a RIU hotel so all amenities can be used there also with all inclusive.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AA Supreme
Business
New York
Sep 6, 2012

Great experience. Great value.

My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves. The pools are great (one for activities and one for peace and quiet). The beach is fabulous. The staff is super-nice and helpful. There are a lot of families and children, so I wouldn't call it a classic couples resort. Overall we had a great time and will definitely be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The buffet at Roberto's was probably the best dining experience on the resort. We tried some of the reservation-restaurants, but nothing beat the quality of the food at Roberto's. So don't fret if you can't get a reservation at some other place. Also, if you want prime deck-chair placement you'll need to get up between 7am & 8am to save them.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ML Charlotte
Business
North Carolina
Sep 12, 2012

Beautiful Family Getaway

We enjoyed this hotel from day 1 to last day of our stay. We definetly are coming back to Riu Palace Las Americas !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chanoc
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 14, 2012

Peasant experience

Good entertainment during the day and during the night with shows. The food was excellent very diverse with something for every body.If you need to keep on partying they take you to the night clubs, and the hotel staff takes care of you..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chimarillo
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 17, 2012

Great stay again!

I couldn't rave more about the people at this hotel. Everyone was wonderful a super pleasant to deal with. The room had amazing views and was relaxing to be in. The beach was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't worry about making reservations at the "Specialty" restaurants. There really isn't anything overly extraordinary about them. You can pretty much get the same food at the buffet.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivy pharmD
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 18, 2013

Relaxation at its finest

This hotel is gorgeous! The pool side is very clean and the staff is friendly. Location is great!! Walking distance to all of the clubs/bars in cancun. Be sure to take advantage of your access to the hotel next door, Riu Cancun. Riu Cancun has a younger and more of a partying type of crowd compared to Riu Palace. Meet in the lobby of Riu Cancun at 1055PM where $50 USD will get you a ride, a table, unlimited bottles of alcohol and no waiting in line, at the hottest club in cancun on that specific night!!! Only negative on this hotel is food. The restaurants on site deliver mediocre fare and sad attempts at Italian food and other americanized dishes. The best restaurants on site are the steak house and the Japanese restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maresness
Business
New York City
Feb 4, 2013

Family accommodating, not family- friendly.

If you want to enjoy this place, please go when you know the weather is great. The only fun things to do require you to be outside on the beach or pool. They don't have indoor pools or heated pools. They have a jacuzzi inside the spa but young children are not allowed. When we went, which was for 6 days, we only had 3 days of sun. (And even then, it wasn't that warm). My 2 year old spent most of her time in the bathtub with her beach toys. That being said, the staff were incredibly friendly and kind. Very eager to help and please. We were very pleased with them. Decor was classic, not the most modern but very beautiful, well- maintained and clean. The rooms were large and comfortable. Also, bring your own toothpaste!! We had to pay an arm and a leg for it. Food was pretty good. Room service food selection was very limited and there are no snacks in the minibar. They have tons of drinks in it though. The special restaurants that required dinner reservations were not that great. Our favorites were Mexican & steak, (the rest were subpar- Japanese & fusion in particular were not too good) the general buffet restaurant had a nice selection of foods. We ended up goin there most of the time. All in all, we had a great time despite the weather. My ratings are based on having a small child around. But if we didnt have to consider her, then we probably would've rated higher. **Also 3 standup employees were Eric at the front desk, Alexis (male waiter) and Rebecca (female waiter). They were warm, inviting and very accommodating. 5 stars for each of them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try asking nicely for a room upgrade!- or at least a room with a nicer view :) it worked for us.

Back to menu Return to top