Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mike and shawn
Business
ohio
Nov 26, 2013

very good

everything was great. and very very nice place for vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hammer hank
Business
woodbury, mn
Dec 2, 2013

nice, but

yes just came back ,the hotel is beautiful, the problem was, seems they are a little short on beach area I think there beach is getting swept back into the Caribbean , supposedly you have excise to the riu cancun beach but it's not possible to walk there via the beach, I would suggest 30 40 truck loads of sand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

book your transportation from the airport on the web, hotel zone take advantage of there bus service about 70 cents a trip, the people are great down there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PBG1
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 18, 2013

Excellent Hotel but not nearly perfect

Ill try to make this short and concise. PROS: *Food is excellent and varied. *Hotel is absolutely beautiful. *Staff is very friendly and courteous. *Very good location. CONS: *The beach is the worst part of the hotel. Incredibly small and congested. If you are a beach person then skip this hotel. People are literally on top of each other and you dont get sun til late morning due to the layout of the building. *The elevators are VERY small and hot. We walked into the elevators (2 of them) and its like getting into a sardine can that is 125 degrees. *The shower is too small for 2 people. When I go on vacation I like to take showers with my girlfriend and this was near impossible because of size. *Entertainment was comprised of sub par musicians and dancers. Skip it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you try out ALL the restaurants in the hotel. The food was absolutely delicious and there was plenty of it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neuraminidase
Business
Columbia, MO
Dec 29, 2013

Paradise

Very briefly (you're busy): Lots of stuff to do on site (we left resort only 3 times the whole trip). Food was alright but a little bland after a couple days. Staff was impeccable, super friendly, went extra mile, prompt, and ALWAYS trying to push off tequila on you (very charmingly!). The room smelled a tad of alcohol due to drink dispenser and unfamiliar developing world smells. Overall, I would stay here or Palace Penninsula next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Don't spend too much elsewhere. The resort has so much to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Argyle
Sep 30, 2008

Hotel was Incredible

We loved the facilities at the RIU palace. It was a lot nicer than it's sister property next door. The lunch and dinner buffets left much to be desired but the breakfast was decent. The hotel tends to cater to the European crowd which is fine, but I was looking for more of my southern breakfast foods. Beautiful beach and location though. When you are looking out you can't see any other hotels, only Isla Mujeres across the way. Highly recommend upgrading to an ocean view room. Definately book reservations for the specialty restaurants at the table by the front desk. The Italian is good but only open for lunch, no res. required, the only other one that we ate at was the Brazilian and it was pretty good. The specialty restaurants are really the only decent food at the resort. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Everyone speaks English and it is within walking distance to Senor Frogs, Carlos N Charlies, Hard Rock Cafe and many shopping areas. The room was nice and the bathroom had 2 sinks and bathtub/shower combo. We loved the turndown service at night; it was a nice touch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping, a large souvenier store, Hard Rock Cafe, Starbucks, drugstores, McDonalds, Carl's Jr, Coco Bongo nightclub, Carlos N Charlies are all within walking distance. Don't take a cab, it really is a short walk to get to anything you want to do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcherroy
Business
Miami
May 30, 2011

Memorial Day Vacation

I was taking different tours, I think the service at the hotel is still very good, burt I think the concierge at the front desk is a little poor for example they don't haver internet service to check if a fly is on time or not. But in general I think the service is pretty good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couples Time
Business
Corpus Christi Texas
May 26, 2011

Great All Inclusive location

The white contrast of this beach front hotel was beautiful against the turquoise ocean. The staff was friendly and attentive. Although the food was not the greatest, the hotel did a good job in providing a large varity for their cusomers. It was nice to have a show to go see each evening. We enjoyed ourselves and would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forgot Something???? No problem as there are Shopping Malls within 5-10 min walk from Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Apr 9, 2011

Didn't Want to Leave!

This was our first time in Cancun. As we were checking in at the front desk, we were greeted with a refreshing, much-needed, cool, tropical drink. The view from our balcony was amazing, and exactly what we needed to relax. The beach was very, very nice, and directly across you could see Isla Mujeres. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The resort is located at the top of the hotel strip and very close to many shops. Will most likely return. The food was good, but unfortunately, the restaurants (besides the buffet) had few selections, and for my husband who is a very picky eater, this was certainly a downside to our stay. We would have appreciated a 24-hour snack place that had burgers and pizza, etc. I was disappointed that we didn't get over the next door sister resort to see what they offered. The other disappointments, to me, were the bed and bedding, and the selections in the refrigerator-would have liked fruit juices also, not just soda. Overall, though, very nice for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you are into relaxing, as my husband and I are, the hotel has a number of bars where you can just sit and have a cocktail and enjoy each other's company. And, the staff are all phenomenal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 22, 2011

Great accomodations

Enjoyed the sun, beach and pool Did not venture from the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Jun 25, 2011

Great Resort - Great Value

I traveled with a friend and we really enjoyed the reosrt. The food was good for an all-inclusive resort and offered many options. We really loved the breakfast buffet - ask for pineapple orange juice. Spent each day around the pool and had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although tipping is not required...a few dollars goes a long way. The staff works hard and does not make much money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top