$392 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
641 reviews
Great Stay at RIU Palace Las Americas

Everything about the stay was great. Excellent food with plenty of options, very nice resort which... See full review

  • Ryan F.
  • Feb 19, 2015
AMAZING!

My husband and I were impressed. We were treated like royalty. The food was to die for, the view... See full review

  • Happy in Sun
  • Feb 4, 2015
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (641)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
641 out of 641
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surfman
Business
North Carolina
Apr 27, 2014

Family spring vacation

We had an excellent week at the Riu Palace Las Americas. The feature that stands out is the service. From the bars, to the restaurants, to the front desk and room service--it was excellent. We sometimes tipped, but not often. The staff provided excellent service with or without a tip. Abu in the hotel lobby bar was outstanding. The rooms were clean with excellent views (we had an ocean view Jr suite). They were not especially large, but adequate for a family of four. The only real downside was the small size of the beds for 4 people--somewhere between a single and double for 2 people. I hope that this is upgraded with the (apparent) planned renovation next year. The food was really good, but not superlative. It was interesting that the buffet's were as good, if not better, than the specialty restaurants. The food at the specialty restaurant "Kystal" was just weird--and not especially good. The Japanese specialty restaurant was excellent. There are lots of outdoor activities available for those interested. I sailed, played tennis (court needs an overhaul), played ping pong, volleyball, frisbee, kayaked, and swam. The fitness center is small, but clean and functional. If interested in wave runners, para-sailing, boating, fishing, etc…, these are available for an additional fee. There are lots of bars and pool activities. The access provided to all of the Riu resorts (3) is great and provided some variation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Stevens
Sep 21, 2008

Beautiful Place

This was an absolutely beautiful place to stay. We had a lovely corner suite with a 180 degree view. The only problem we had was that the housekeeping service was not very consistent, and we could not choose which type of liquors to have in our room. (this is an all-inclusive resort) There are four bottles of liquor in the room for you to choose from; vodka, rum, tequila and brandy. We asked for the rum to be replaced with coconut rum several times through several people, and kept getting told that it would be replaced 'soon'. Finally we visited the front desk, where the gentleman told us that would not be possible. ?? Not sure why... Also, housekeeping came in and turned down our bed 2 (random nights) of the 7 nights we stayed there, even though we requested it each night. Some days when we came back the bed was made, but the bathroom counters had not even been cleaned off. They did pay special attention to the floors, though - which was good because sand just seems to get on everything and they always got it all off the floor for us. I would recommend staying at this hotel, but it would be very beneficial if you speak Spanish very well so that you can be understood when speaking to the staff. Other than that we had a wonderful time and will hopefully return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mette & Eric
Business
Malmoe, Sweden
Feb 19, 2009

Great hotel with pleasant atmosphere

We stayed at the hotel for 12 days and we had a great time! Didn't want to go home... We used the pools, the gym, the tenniscourt, the beach and the restaurants every day. Every day started with an outstanding breakfast with lots of fruit and homemade smoothies - sitting in the outdoor restaurant viewing the beautiful beach - while being spoiled by the friendly and helpful waiters. The food variety got a bit monotonous after a while though - except for the breakfast. Our experience with the staff in the reception was unfortunately not as positive. Their English skills were very poor, and they seemed not at all service-minded - Marriott could teach these guys a thing or two... We had several issues with them during our stay - the first was when we complained about our initial room having a smell of mould. It took them a couple of days to get us another room. The second issue was when we were having a spot of trouble with the Airport-hotel roundtrip voucher we bought in combination with the hotel stay (at Orbitz). The hotel reception staff refused to help us in making a call to Gray Lines - the cab company - as they argued this was not a toll free number and as such it would cost them money to make. Could you ever imagine hearing such an argument coming from a Marriott or Hilton associate...? Finally, we wished to sign up as members of their Riu Class, which the reception staff couldn't fix for us - the told us to do it online ourselves instead... However, we did meet a lot of friendly people (other guests while staying there. And it should be said, if you're considering staying at one of the other two Riu hotels in Cancun - don't, this one is much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall La Isla is nice - and it's only a short busride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 3, 2007

Staff was great!!!

The Staff at this Hotel was great. Willing to help and good service. Hotel does not offer much in dining options. Restaurants are closed down before the time noted. Air condition in restaurant is also turn off before closing time. This makes for a terrible dining experience. Staff is not able to turn on air or continue sevice due to hotel polices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Beautiful grounds and great ocean view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach
Jul 6, 2008

Beautiful

Beautiful resort. Good service. Food & entertainment need to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2008

limited

Limited alcohol available also. nice pools and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 16, 2008

Pay more but not enjoy

The hotel is nice, the beach and the pool are very beautiful the only thing i don't understand is, the smelly of the bathroom, it has a strong odor. especially when the water run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping is cross the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Argyle
Sep 30, 2008

Hotel was Incredible

We loved the facilities at the RIU palace. It was a lot nicer than it's sister property next door. The lunch and dinner buffets left much to be desired but the breakfast was decent. The hotel tends to cater to the European crowd which is fine, but I was looking for more of my southern breakfast foods. Beautiful beach and location though. When you are looking out you can't see any other hotels, only Isla Mujeres across the way. Highly recommend upgrading to an ocean view room. Definately book reservations for the specialty restaurants at the table by the front desk. The Italian is good but only open for lunch, no res. required, the only other one that we ate at was the Brazilian and it was pretty good. The specialty restaurants are really the only decent food at the resort. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Everyone speaks English and it is within walking distance to Senor Frogs, Carlos N Charlies, Hard Rock Cafe and many shopping areas. The room was nice and the bathroom had 2 sinks and bathtub/shower combo. We loved the turndown service at night; it was a nice touch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping, a large souvenier store, Hard Rock Cafe, Starbucks, drugstores, McDonalds, Carl's Jr, Coco Bongo nightclub, Carlos N Charlies are all within walking distance. Don't take a cab, it really is a short walk to get to anything you want to do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flythe
Business
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Sep 24, 2011

Birthday gift

The beds were extremely uncomfortable. The room wasn't ready when we arrived. The room service menu needs to have more items available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an Argentinean steak house that is great, located in a mini mall near the clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 13, 2008

Ok

Riu Palace was just ok. Staff in lobby were friendly. Staff in restaurants were quite rude for the most part. It seemed that as our stay progressed they became more rude by the day. This was an all inclusive hotel and as such I wait until the end of my stay to reward great service with my tips. I could be wrong but I beleive that some of the staff were expecting tips on a daily basis. That is a shame because I did reward those with a great service attitude on the last two days. Those that gave up in thier commitment to my needs did not participate in the tips. The bufett food was beter than the individual restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top