Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
South Carolina
Aug 1, 2010

Exceeded Expectations. Great Hotel

We came here for a good mix of both. Quiet and relaxing and enough activities and fun to keep us entertained. We had a blast and were very impressed by the facilities and service. We highly recommend this place to couples looking for a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the club hopping package. You get VIP service and a big group of hoppers that travel to several of the clubs. There staff is fun and helpful.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flower Mound Girls
Friends
Flower Mound Texas
Jul 28, 2010

Girls Getaway

The staff was very helpful. Drinks came fast and the fodd was good. Make sure you eat at Krystal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joesmoe
Single
austin Texas
Jul 6, 2010

July 2010

due to tropical storm Alex the shoreline was covered with see weed. I don't feel that enough was done to clean the beaches. The staff were professional and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manateeboy
Couples
Melbourne, Florida
Jun 23, 2010

Simply the Best

We only go to the Riu Palace Las Americas when traveling to Cancun. We've tried others, but no other hotel campares to the excellent staff and management at the Riu Palace. Will be back in August!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

No need to leave this fabulous hotel, all you want or need is here.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
48
Couples
bismarck,north dakota
Jun 20, 2010

great experience on first all inclusive

My wife and i had a great time. First week of June. Weather was great. Service was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful beach and pool area. The shows were great also. Didn't get to try too much of the resaurants because we both got sick on our third day and couldn't handle much to eat. Don't know if we got sick from being in touch with the unfiltered water? Maybe the salads and fruits are washed in it? Not really sure. Other than getting sick, we had a great time and would definitely go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

arrange your transportation on the cancun airport website prior to your trip. other guests told us they paid twice as much as we did by not arranging transportation.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Dallas, TX
Jun 18, 2010

AWSOME!

Just returned last night. Awsome infinity pools. If you plan on lots of pool/beach time & time in & around the hotel, this is the place for you. (a quiet pool & a party pool). The gorgeous views, surroundings & great service will certainly fit the bill. They are eager to please here, so if something is not to your liking, let them know and it will be addressed quickly if within their ability to do so. Regarding the humidity/musty smells - comes with the territory folks, though, they do try hard to make the best of it here. We were on the 7th floor ocean front overlooking the pool. No bad smells in the room but the hall right off the elevator was a little ripe now and then but again is typical for this part of the country, regardless of hotel class. Appreciate the air conditioning, and crank it up as much as you can stand it and open and close the balcony doors quickly to reduce the wetness in the room. Younger crowd (teens/twenties) will most likely be happier next door or somewhere else. Sailing to Isla Muejeres was a highlight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We enjoyed the Tapas/Mexican restaurant. Beef filet @ Krystal - NOT good. Beef was a weird texture/flavor at this hotel, stick with chicken and seafood. Brazilian restaurant - not to our liking, (it is a long affair), though its salad bar at beginning was pretty good. Buffet - very good with good selection of healthy choices. Favorite drinks: Banana Bahama Mama, Mojito. TIPP - don't bother going into downtown Cancun unless you have a reason (i.e. really need something from Wallmart or Sam's, etc., or have a specific destination in mind). The public bus ride there was great, however, my friends were annoyed with me for wasting their time. We didn't have a specific reason for going, didn't buy anything and downtown's charm I remembered from years past (several trips 10+ years ago) was gone.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miss Hottie
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 8, 2010

WOW!!!

Wow... I just loved everything about this hotel. The staff was so friendly, nice, and always ready to help you. The view from my room was great. I guess you would have to book ocean front view because I did hear of someone who was staying there that there room was facing a building. Both pools are fun to be at but the pool with the bar was the best for me. They have entertainment inside the pool a DJ, volleyball game, and some dance game inside the pool. For dinning make sure to book as soon as you arrive because it's hard to book a reservation but if you're unable to get a dinner reservation the food at the buffet is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many clubs that are walking distance from the hotel or you can take a taxi for around $7-$10 dollars. When you get to the area where all the clubs are located ask around where the tourist are partying that night and they will tell you what club to go to. There are different nights for the clubs some nights are only for the locals. I guess you can go there if you want an experience or you can go to the club where all the tourist are at and meet people from all over the world. Whatever you do, do not miss the show at Coco Bongo it's great.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago
Jun 7, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Staff

We found the staff to be very hard working, helpful, and friendly. The hotel is spotless. One great benefit is that your wristband also entitles you to all of the amenities at the RIU hotel next door. One drawback is that the reservations at the restaurants fill up very quickly, so you have to book them a day or more in advance. If you're only there a few days, like we were, you will end up eating at the buffet every night. Make sure to make your reservations as soon as you get there! The buffet did have a great selection each night and the food is good, but the restaurants are a bit nicer. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jun 4, 2010

Very friendly staff

We were in Cancun May 28 to June 2 and had a great time. HOTEL/LOCATION: Riu Palace is amazing! It is super clean. There is always someone walking around cleaning the floors, picking up empty glasses, arranging the chairs, etc. When we first arrived to our room it smelled like a combo of sea air and cleaning product. When we turned off the air condition and open up the balcony door with the fan on, the smell went away. The tile/marbel floor is very sticky from the sea breeze. I would suggest bringing house slippers to walk around your room. The hallway always smells like cleaning product. The buffet food is good for an all-inclusive hotel. The breakfest/lunch/dinner buffet is the same every day but there are lots of variety to try. There are 5 specialty restaurants where you can get dressed up and feel like you are eating at a fancy restaurant. You have to reserve them at least a day in advance and they are very strict about no walk-ins. We ate at the Brazilian restaurant, the food was good but you get very small portions. It felt like your sampling the different meat. The steakhouse lamb was very delicious! The french fusion restaurant was okay, I didn't like my sea bass but my boyfriend loved his steak. The hotel location is within walking distance to the night clubs/bars, flea market, and shopping centers. TRANSPORTATION: We purchased our transportation from the airport to our hotel through greyline shuttle via [...]. There are a million of other shuttle services at the airport getting your attention so make sure you look for your specific servicer. The greyline rep actually saw us and called out my name. Riu palace is a 20 min walk to playa tortaguas for the ferry to Isla Mujeres or you can take a 5 min bus ride there. If you plan to take the bus, you should prepare in advance and get a map of the route. They don't have it there and we got off the wrong stop and had to walk 10 min to our hotel. If you prefer, just pay for the taxi to take you where you want to go. ACTIVITIES: 1)Jet skiing - walk around the beach and ask the other jet ski servicers their pricing, it ranges from $40-$65 for 30 min. We went to the hotel next door (Fiesta Americana) and haggled it down to $40. They will take your pic for $12. 2)Cozymel snorkeling purchased through greyline rep - $120 includes transportation to playa del carmen (45 min ride), ferry to Cozymel, speed boat to coral reefs, drinks/beer/margaritas on speed boat, lunch and drinks at private beach Playa Mia with kayaking, hammocks, etc included. Pick up at hotel time is 0745 and return at 1900 in time for dinner. 3) Isla mujeres - walk (20 min) or take bus ($1.50 5 min) to playa tortagas. The ferry cost $15 for round trip to the island. As for getting around the island you can rent a golf cart ($45 for all day) or scooter ($25 all day). If you like the thrill, a scooter is fun but if you want to keep it safe and be in the shade then get a golf cart. I would get it for all day vs hourly b/c you can stop at different spots and just hang out without feeling rushed. We went to the turtle farm ($3 entry fee), which you can only look at the turtles. There is no touching or snorkeling with the turtles. If you want an all-inclusive beach with snorkeling gear, zip line, and food/drinks included then go to Garrafon park ($49 entry fee). We did the cheaper alternative at the beach spot next door since we brought our own snorkeling gear. For $5 entry fee you can use their beach and rent snorkeling gear and buy your drinks/food separately. 4) Renova Spa massage - we had our beach view couples massage at our Riu hotel for $100/50 min. It was great! 5)Other Riu hotel - your wrist band gives you access to other Riu hotel. Riu Cancun is next door and has a larger beach with grass umbrellas. Riu Cancun Caribe Real is near playa tortagas. You can go there to eat breakfest/brunch and lounge at the beach before going to Isla Mujeres.SHOPPING: The luxury shops are expensive! I would skip it. The flea m...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Bx
Friends
New York, NY
Jun 4, 2010

Good and Bad

it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top