$267 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
670 out of 670
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Sep 19, 2010

Bad food. Thieves all over.

Food: I don't like buffet places overall. But the buffet at RIU was just horrible. (Do not eat their hot dogs or hamburgers). The food is either tasteless or very very wrong tasting. And after you eat it, you will have stomach ache. The restaurant food is safer, but they still don't know how to get simple food right. Last two days of my stay, I didn't eat at this place at all. Alcohol: Everything is watered down, especially the bar in the room. Top shelf bottles are only the bottles, alcohol inside is three quarter water and one quarter cheap alcohol. Bohemia beer in the bottle is the only good choice. Hotel Cleanliness and Views: Overall look is great, the rooms, lobby, pools, beach, views. The staff cleans the pool and the beach in the morning. There are ashtrays all over, so there is no cigarette butts on the floor. Staff will bring you drinks anywhere and will take away empty glasses right away. Lobby and the colonnade are beautiful, but ugly patch work allover, brings its look way down. Staff: Fast, and Friendly. Security: Very Bad. Be aware of your belongings. No cameras anywhere. What ever happens, happens. Second day at the resort, my camera was stolen in the pool area. Third day, my friends cell phone was stolen from the room. (Phone calls were made all over Mexico, until he deactivated his service.) Last night at the resort I notice my neck chain missing from my neck. (Its to small to just lose it, and I didn't have any rip marks on my neck. How or When? Very skillful hands. I give Props.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Club Coco Bongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manateeboy
Business
melbourne, florida
Sep 18, 2010

the best

great staff. food was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Sep 16, 2010

Riu Palace

excellent location and well maintained facility,. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fabulous Fab
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 13, 2010

Amazing Stay

It was an amazing stay. Staff was very freindly and helpful. Food and drinks were okay. I would definitely recommend Riu Palace to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservation way ahead of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay the Broker
Business
Chicago,IL
Sep 13, 2010

"The Best of Cancun"

I have been going to Cancun since my first spring break in 1990. This hotel is in the best location and unlike so many all inclusive hotels it is first class. The food, service, and liquor quality I would compare to a non inclusive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try taking a fairy take the yello one its faster $15 per person to Isla Mujeres a 5 minute cab ride from the Riu. Rent a golf cart on the island $50.00 all day, and drive to the bridge in front of the Avalon hotel bridge. Most unbelieveable sand bar of any Cancun ocean front. You can walk 500 ft of just beautiful private beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Camper Richacha
Business
Wash DC Metro - NoVA
Sep 13, 2010

I WANT TO GO (BACK) TO RIU

We had another wonderful vacation at the Riu Palace Las Americas. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Restuarant and Bar service was exceptional this trip. However, the Palace had an unusually high occupancy rate -- and we learned during our trip that other visitors who had booked cheaper rooms at the RIU Cancun and RIU Caribe had been "upgraded" to the RIU Palace ... making it a bit more crowded than preferred, but still nice (just wish we could have paid less to get the same accomodations).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Bus System to travel within the hotel zone. Drivers accept US currency (generally no coin); use a $1 bill and most drivers issue a peso or two in change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cardinals-chic
Business
Tennessee
Sep 7, 2010

Couples fun

The overall experience was great!! The hotel was beautiful. Our room was extrmely clean everytime the cleaning service came by. She evn lined our shoes up. They had a "quiet" pool and then a "party" pool where they constantly had something going on there. It was a little noisey because of everything going on. The rooms must not be well insoltaed because we could hear a baby all night one night. Overall though it wasn't that noisey. The bartenders were great. The hotel is located on a great piece of the beach. I would say that the rooms stayed a little muggy at times. We had to wash even the clothes we didn't wear, because of the moisture. You can only get a King roo if you get an ocean view. Queens are on the other side. The hotel did upgrade us for free to a king room. The hotel was great! I would defiantly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I would defiantly do to out at least one night. The best bars are withing walking ditance. CoCO Bongos was the best! You will need to take a bus or taxi to go on the Pirate ship dinner or the Sail Away. The buses are cheaper, but extremly hot! The taxi's are a decent price. It was around $10.00 one way to all the places we went.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanita and Paco
Business
Florida
Sep 4, 2010

Pampered in paradise

This was the first time we were able to do an all-inclusive vacation and it exceeded our expectations. Friends of ours, that are world travelers, have stayed at the Palace 13 times. The Palace treats you like family. With only 400 rooms it is capable of giving very personable service. Someone is always there to help you. Because we only had 5 days we spent all he time relaxing, drinking and eating at the resort. We ventured out once to do some shopping at the mall across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

We didn't find this out till our last day--the hotel staff(that coordinates the pool activities & nightly shows/at the La Nuit lounge provide a shuttle service. Around 11pm or so the Palace entertainment staff accompanies the bus to other nightlife activities and shows at other locations in Cancun that accomodate all RIU guests with entrance/ free drinks and a special designated seating place for RIU guests. This info was not given to us at c/in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agent M
Business
Lake Balboa, CA
Sep 1, 2010

Great time at our 1st All Inclusive

This was our first time at an all inclusive resort. Based on this experience, I never want to stay anywhere but a RIU. My only major gripe is that once you head up the elevators to the room floors, there is a slight moldy/mildewy smell as soon as you get onto the floor. In all fairness, Cancun is a very humid place, so I can understand how moisture can constantly seep into the structure. There was never any visible mold/mildew anywhere. Same smell is in the room, but after a week, I couldn't really tell anymore. The hotel workers are constantly cleaning the place. We would wake up around 6:30am - 7:30am local time there would be an army of people in the lobby and pool area sweeping, mopping, wiping everything down. Obviously, no glass containers by the pool, so instead the bars use small hard plastic cups. They are very small (~ 6 - 8 ounces), so I would recommend bringing a bigger cup with you. I saw a few guests do this. The restaurants on property are great, but you do have to make dinner reservations to the specialty ones. In order to make a reservation, you have to physically go down to the lobby and do it in person.I would recommend getting there when they open (7am) in order to reserve for the following day. I believe you can try to reserve for the same day and the following day only, but the girl let us make a 3rd reservation 2 days out. Also, for men, no sandals or shorts at the places that need a reservation, and you have to wear a shirt with sleeves. I did see somebody get turned away for wearing shorts. Although tips are supposed to be included, I would recommend tipping the hotel workers who provide excellent service I believe towel service for the pools starts at 7am. Hardcore guests would get their towels and "reserve" the chairs they wanted. Usually in prime locations next to the pool with he two bars. This is supposedly against hotel policy, but everybody does it. They place their towels on the chairs around 7-7:30am and probably don't make it to the pool until 9:00 or 10:00. I am guilty of this myself, but only after seeing how the prime pool real estate was being gobbled up. Public buses stop outside of the Riu Caribe (sister hotel), which is directly adjacent to the Riu Palace. One way is 8.5 pesos per person. We used it to go to Mercado 28 and Walmart. I had to stop at Costco (long story) and the cheapest way that was recommended to me was to take the bus into town, and once in town, take a cab to areas in El Centro. A cab ride from Mercado 28 to Costco was 20 pesos. That definately would have been a long walk. We booked two 1 day excursions with vendors that setup shop in the lobby every morning. Their prices are identical, but they may slightly differ as to stops, toll roads vs public roads, etc. We book an excursion to Chitzen Itza and to Xcaret in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Do not change your dollars to pesos. For the most part, you will get more bang for the buck using dollars. Vendors will give you a price in dollars, and if you have pesos, they will convert using a lousy exchange rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 27, 2010

Wonderful service, clean and beautiful

This is a wonderful hotel if you are looking for things to do for the whole family. The all inclusive is a good value for a family, although I enjoy the variety of venturing out. The service in all restaurants was exellent and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to plan day excursions away from the hotel right before you do them. If someone in your party becomes ill during the visit you will lose all or at least half of your money. Plus you may change your mind after a day or so, so don't let the company's pressure you in to planning your whole vacation the first day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top