$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
613 reviews
Good times

Excellent location and staff... my wife loved the traditional appearance of the hotel (very... See full review

  • Texas Travelerss
  • Sep 9, 2014
Excellent

Beautiful property, excellent food, and friendly stafff members. Drinks could have been better, not... See full review

  • Agemini86
  • Sep 9, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (613)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Feb 16, 2010

Very "Ritzy" Resort

The resort was very nice with friendly staff. The rooms were always cleaned to perfection and our belongings were never moved and tampered with. The only downfall was the weather. It was very windy, and cloudy for most of the days. You had to wear pants to be comfortable. Since the resort is situated on a curve it felt like a tunnel for the wind. However, it was in a very good location- walking distance from lots of places and we made the best of it since the weather was very enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to be out of the clubs and downtown by 1 am, after that it changes and turns into the locals hangout, I didn't feel comfortable and was scared. Also, if you do plan on going downtown, set something up within the hotel for a better rate, many clubs charge $40-$60 just to get in (but does include all drinks)! If you sign up for a "club tour" you pay roughly $80 dollars and get to go to 3 different clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vienna, VA
Feb 10, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

Our assigned room upon arrival was clean and had a wonderful view but, I was terribly disappointed with the completely overbearing musty smell in the room as well as in the hallways. Unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel. The hotel staff was very accomodating, first trying a thorough cleaning with clorox. Ok for a couple of hours, came back by evening and continued to linger. They changed our room after 2 nights and the second one was slightly better, not as potent. I've stayed in very nice resorts on the beach before and you will sometimes get a little sea smell, but not like this! Unfortunate because everything else was great. I personally would not stay there again or recommend to others because of this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Caribbean Carnival Cruise was fun and the food served was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Get a way traveler
Columbus OH
Feb 2, 2010

Great facility food and beverage not goo

The restaurant choices were not good and offered only two seating times - food at these restaurants way below par. All well liquor and tap beer. I would have liked a Corona in a bottle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gloucester, Virginia
Jan 23, 2010

Outstanding Service

Service here was best of any Rius that we've stayed at. At any meals they never let your glass go empty or a dirty plate be left. Highly recommend the steakhouse. You eat outside by the water and the filet was excellent ! Was best for us to sit at same table every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They really took care of us that way. Food overrall was of good quality and you could always find something you like. We were able to get drinks anywhere we sat....by the pool, in the lobby on the patio. They were attentive !!! Gotta love 85 degrees when we were leavin 40 degrees in Virginia !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Went to Chitzen Itza . It's one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It's a MUST see even if you are not a history buff. My wife is not and she enjoyed it. Take the bus ride n tour from any roadside vendors. Do NOT pay more than $40 per person. This includes bus ride, lunch buffet AND admission !! Plan on ALL day from about 8am til 8pm ( no matter what they tell you ).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sodakinseattle
Seattle, WA
Jan 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

The hotel was in great condition. The room had a spectacular view. The water sports were available at the RIU property next door but required advance reservations. The deserts were tasty. I would stay here again. [...]Transportation was provided by Gray-Line/ Mayaland and they force you to meet with their agent at the hotel to arrange your return transportation. The meeting is actually a sales opportunity for excursions and they overcharged me for an "adventure" that they sold to me. They make up their own exchange rate after quoting US Dollars. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

X-Terra was impressive with the caves and river. The sales office and transportation is a short walk east of the hotel. They also have the Xcaret and other park adventures there. Do not purchase through Gray-Line/ Mayaland. A Gray-Line/Mayaland agent sold me the adventure when meeting her to arrange my return transportation to the airport [...]. She quoted the price in US Dollars and then made up her own exchange rate which ended up being higher than the quoted price. They stated they would refund the discrepancy but it has not yet been refunded to my credit card. I assume it is their common practice since it is an easy way to make a lot of extra money off of tourists. Be WARNED! If you see Gray-Line /Mayaland in the lobby- stay away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Flower Mound, TX
Dec 23, 2009

Great deal; gorgeous resort!

The hotel is beautiful; the lobby view out to the ocean and swimming pool are breathtaking!! Unfortunately we had bad weather for 3 out of the 5 days, but the hotel staff did everything they could to make the guests enjoy their time; provided board games; set up a casino table, etc. They even showed a movie in the theater due to the heavy rain we had on Monday. The food is very good! I cannot say excellent because this is an All Inclusive resort and you are not going to get top of the line here; but it is very, very good. The buffet offers a huge variety of items, I think sometimes there is just so much that the guests mistake this for low quality. That is not the case here and this is my second visit at this resort. You do have to make the effort for the reservations at the specialty restaurants but now you can actually reserve up to two days out so no more of that daily requirement to go to the Lobby and remembering to make the reservations. Some of the cons at this hotel; small swimming pool which gets crowded with "towels"... yes, towels not people. There are folks that are very inconsiderate and day after day leave their towels on the chairs therefore "reserving" some of the best spots (non-stop whether they are there or not and they don't care). I saw chairs reserved for an entire day and nobody ever showed up; while this is on a "first come first served" basis! The beach has eroded a lot since my last visit in 2005 and there is very little of it now... also the hotel is big and casts a shadow on most of the beach as well as the pool. The main pool with a swim-up bar is the most popular, but also gets a lot of shade which makes it difficult to tan especially while all the good spots are already taken by those who leave their towels overnight!! The pool is rather small but the view once again is gorgeous! Overall, I love this resort; it is beautiful and has great service! You get a lot for your money and you won't be disappointed "IF" you can live with not getting so tanned!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Jungle tour and snorkeling (via speedboat or wave runner)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
curtis 92591
temecula
Dec 23, 2009

Wonderfull food

Every evening we made reservations for 4 people and made two friends during the day. The food was wonderful and the bar near the lobby is delightful and refreshing. The bar tender [...] was very entertaining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ac
Ogden, UT
Dec 21, 2009

Had fun

Hotel was ok... food was mostly bad and we lost cold water many times. That meant we couldn't flush our toilet or take showers. The wiring in the room was also messed up. Certain lights had to be on for the bathroom lights to work as well as the TV. Would never go back to the RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy stuff from travel agents, the street guys can you everything for much much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ben, first-time Cancun traveler
San Antonio, Texas
Dec 16, 2009

Simply awesome!

This was our first all-inclusive trip as well as our first trip to Mexico and the Riu Palace and Cancun were both spectacular. We hardly left the resort, there was simply no need. It was a wonderful week of rest and relaxation. All the staff at the Riu Palace were extremely courteous, most everyone spoke English and catered to every need. When we did decide to venture out into Cancun, they gave us all the information we needed to get around and back. The only little picky thing I can get on to them about is the beds were a little hard, 3-4 nights and it may not have been a big deal but after a week it was a tad uncomfortable. Other than that, everything was spectacular. The buffets were good and the theme restaurants were good too. The bar staff was awesome and constantly had drinks ready. In all awesome trip. Be sure to take plenty of ones to tip the staff. They are very kind, hard working and appreciative of it. Tell [...] at bar Cun hello and have the time of your life!As far as getting money changed, we used dollars the entire week until we went in to town, then we converted to pesos. The shops in the hotel and in the area will have a bit of a fluctuating rate so if you feel better about just working with pesos then change your dollars. Either way it's not a big deal, you're not losing much since someone has to get paid to convert the money at one end or the other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

On your exit from your airport after you have walked out and cleared customs do not stop for the time share folks waiting to ambush you. Just walk past them, don't listen to a word they say or even hint at stopping or listening to them. They will try everything in the world to get you to stop including telling you they have your shuttle information and will get you with your ride. Again don't believe them. They are rude and will just hold you up on your trip. Just walk outside and get with your ride and go have fun :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pareja:)
Chicago, IL
Dec 16, 2009

AWESOME :)

People are friendly. The unlimited drinks, foods , and entertains are the most fantastic. All the staff are very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search