$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
638 out of 638
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinP
Virginia
Jan 13, 2013

Great Vacation, Great Service

Everything was great. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice, the beach and pool are nice. It was a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican Vacation Lover
Business
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Apr 14, 2012

it was a fine trip, it WAS Cancun, after all!

Everything was average, to me. I've just been in better rooms. And nothing was really that spectacular except a young man working on the beach (Amilcar). The room was okay size, not a great layout, in my opinion. The hotel's idea of ocean view was to go out on your balcony and lean over, looking to the left. My other complaint was that it's so competitive to get a restaurant reservation! We even got in 3 hours before normal check-in and we still couldn't get a restaurant reservation for the night we arrived. Are you kidding me? Not to mention, in a 4-night stay, we were never able to get into the Japanese restaurant - and we are NOT late sleepers! But, all staff was extremely awesome! Not a single one miserable. The beach was incredible, as far as the sand, the crowd, being rock-free in the water & being able to get lounge chairs. And I already mentioned Amilcar, an outstanding employee, to say the least!! The pool closest to the hotel has NO lounge chairs around it (???), just 8 built-in cement "beds" w/pads. I don't understand that. It was by far the least crowded pool, so that was nice, but is it supposed to be only for those 16 people that get the beds at the crack of dawn? Beautiful inside the building, for sure. All in all, I was in Cancun for the week, how bad could it be?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VitaliyG
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 9, 2012

most horrible hotel ever

it was our second trip to mexico, i am very disappoint; A/C don't really work, smell of mold all over hotel, security safe i was able to open with toothpick, bad location and very dirty as soon you step out of hotel, super noisy from cars and something else....plus food poising, last night spent hugging toilet. I and my wife couldn't wait to get home. Next summer we will go to Hawaii, been they twice and much better than Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanDC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2012

everything is great except one MAJOR thing

I got a master suite with an ocean view and they upgraded us for a jacuzzi on the deck. Ocean view was excellent and the room was very clean, and big. Two showers, one tub, one outdoor jacuzzi. They are extremely stingy with their A/C. We realized that our A/C was not responding at all and so I called maintenance. They said that both my sliding glass doors have to be closed and locked, in order for the A/C to work. Like a DC cab driver... It never got cold. stayed at about 77 each night. I woke up in sweats the first night. Especially for a suite, the AC needs to be more powerful. Waitstaff was excellent. Food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the adjacent Riu's for the shows. The one at this one was stupid, cheap, and a waste of time. Almost mockable.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary couple2013
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
May 15, 2013

Overall good, not great.

First of all, I was expecting spectacular service after all the great reviews. I did feel like the staff were nice, but I did not feel like anyone went out of their way to make my stay special. I requested an upgraded room SEVERAL times, (and I KNOW there had to be upgrades available, as it wasn't that busy) but they wouldn't even consider it. They just flatly told us NO each time we asked. I was willing to pay for it, I just wanted an ocean view room. They would not help me at all. The food was just mediocre. We made reservations at most of the "special" restaurants, and I would not do that again. The Japanese restaurant was fine, but for the most part, the food was better at the buffet. (still not great, but better) One thing that was very upsetting was that the pool closed at 6 pm!! WHY?! One night they even pushed us out 1/2 hour early. (The one VERY SMALL hot tub closed at 8:30.) We traveled there specifically to enjoy the pools, and there was really nothing to do after 6 pm when they closed. I was VERY disappointed in that. We had money stolen out of our room one day. It was there in the morning, they cleaned our room, and then it was gone. It was a small amount, and I made sure to use the safe for all of our major valuables, but stealing is stealing however you look at it. I went to the front desk the next morning to tell them about it, and they just brushed it off. In fact, the guy even made a face like it was typical. The hotel was nice, and the outside is beautiful, but the inside needs a little TLC. Furniture is a little shabby, needs some detail wok. Overall good. Beach area is small, but nice. Overall we had a good time, and would possibly travel there again knowing what we know now. However, I would sure like it if they considered some of my concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tim in Columbus
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 29, 2013

Frequently travel to this area

Our 12th time to an all-inclusive, first one in Cancun, mostly in Riviera Maya. Riu Palace Las Americas is beautiful. Fantastic lobby, grounds and pools. Many reviews have complaints about the front desk, and I have to agree. We arrived 4 hours before the 3pm check in time. I would rather a hotel be honest and say to come back at three. This place goes through the full check in process, telling you that they have good news for you, gives you all the necessary things for your stay, and then tells you the room is not ready. We were told to have lunch and come back at noon (lunch starts at 12:30), we toured the resort for an hour, came back at noon, no room yet. This happened again at one pm and two pm. At 2:40pm, I stayed at the desk and was given my room key. One front desk woman was very snippy when I asked the code to dial a room from the house phone. As she barked, "20 then the room number", I was less than amused. The GREAT service came from: Restaurant waiters: Felipe (breakfast) Miguel (lunch and dinner at Krystal) Bartenders: Marianna and Abu And the absolute BEST service and smiles from pool and beach servers: Enrique, Fermin and William The entire staff was great, and I would rate them a five if not considering the front desk's attitude and incompetence/policies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New York
Feb 13, 2011

Great Service, room OK

The service at this hotel was fantastic, especially in the restaurants. The main facility was nice, but could use some sprucing up. The couches in the main lobby could be cleaned. The bathtubs were like a closet and difficult to get in and out of. At check in we were not given any information about the facility or the shows, and our key did not work. Although there was 24 hour room service, it was a very limited menu and there were no beverages available. Dinner did not start until 6:30, which is a little late. Also guests should know that the specialty restaurants all require reservations, which need to be made in advance, which means that you cannot make one for your first evening. The specialty restaurants are only open for dinner. Grayline: although they were easy to locate, we had to wait over 15 minutes. Upon leaving there was an accident, which means that they were over 20 minutes late in picking us up. The driver, however, was lovely. Also they really pushed the day trips, which could be obtained for better prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

make your dinner reservations upon arrival.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 23, 2011

Hotel Review

We had a good experience. Making reservations for the restaurants was inconvenient. It would be nice to make the dinner reservations at the same time the hotel reservation is made. The room was very nice and very clean. We did have an issue with the lock on the door; our card did not work; they re-coded it and it still did not work; finally they called maintenance and they had to change the batteries on the door; this was done late in the evening and they worked on it over 30 minutes. We stayed at the resort the entire time and enjoyed sitting by the beach and the bar service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you can only make reservations for two days in advance. you need to get to the lobby by 8:00 a.m. to get your reservation for the restaurant of your choice. later than that, the restaurant is full and you will not get your first choice.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joesmoe
Business
austin Texas
Jul 6, 2010

July 2010

due to tropical storm Alex the shoreline was covered with see weed. I don't feel that enough was done to clean the beaches. The staff were professional and the rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna, VA
Feb 10, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

Our assigned room upon arrival was clean and had a wonderful view but, I was terribly disappointed with the completely overbearing musty smell in the room as well as in the hallways. Unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel. The hotel staff was very accomodating, first trying a thorough cleaning with clorox. Ok for a couple of hours, came back by evening and continued to linger. They changed our room after 2 nights and the second one was slightly better, not as potent. I've stayed in very nice resorts on the beach before and you will sometimes get a little sea smell, but not like this! Unfortunate because everything else was great. I personally would not stay there again or recommend to others because of this problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Caribbean Carnival Cruise was fun and the food served was very good.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toms River, NJ
Oct 29, 2009

Bad food

I would not recommend this hotel simply for the horrible food. My fiancé and I had to eat at the buffet for all but one of our meals and we were hungry the entire trip. The one meal we had at the so called "Steakhouse" was the only time I ate a piece of meat for five days. Not only was the food at the "Steakhouse" below average, but the "Steakhouse" was the buffet that we had eaten at all week. Very tough time staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of singles...you need to tip everyone!

Back to menu Return to top