Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (707)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
707 out of 707
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 13, 2011

Not a 5 star

My husband and I travel quite a bit. This was my first Riu hotel stay but my husband has stayed at several around the world. We were under-impressed. The location is beautiful but the service and quality of food and drink is somewhere between a 2-3. The staff was less than eager to help or wait on you and aside from the front desk, most spoke little to no english. Dining at the individual restaurants, we would rate that food between at 3-4. Room service food was 3-4. Breakfast and lunch were a big disappointment. I would rate it a 2-star. The buffets were rarely hot and the food was dry and virtually tasteless. My husband likened it to school "institutional" food. Drinks 2-star. We not big drinkers but getting someone to take your order was a task and the drinks were very watered down. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful! However, the bed was the most uncomfortable thing we've ever slept on and the room had a damp mold smell to it. Overall, if you haven't traveled much, you will probably love your experience. If your accustomed to 5-star hotels and treatment don't stay here you will be very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service is your best bet for lunch. Very limited menu but its made fresh and has a nice presentation and FLAVOR!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jnash
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Premium Lobby but not so Premium Food, Drinks

The lobby was fantastic. We got upgraded (for a substancial fee) to a whirlpool suite with a HUGE balcony. We had a very nice time, but the all inclusive was simply not worth the money for the quality of food and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melrose
Business
Wichita, KS, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great Service..

We always try to stay at RIU resorts. We have been to Cancun numerous times and usually stay at the RIU Carribe. We wanted to see if the Palace was worth the extra money. On a positive note the rooms are a little bigger but beds are no better and balcony not any bigger. The service at the Palace is top notch. Whether you are on the beach or by the pool they have someone taking your order and making sure your drinks are full. The beach is not real big, and the ocean is kind of rocky. Because the hotel is so tall it blocks the sun around 2pm. So the pools and most of the beach are sunless. The buffet was not as good as the Carribe or the RIU Cancun next door. The Restaurants were good. But we spent most of our time next door at the RIU Cancun's buffet. Very few kids, which is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go next door to the RIU Cancun and use their buffet, much much better.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YveC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2012

First Trip to Cancun

To sum it up. It wasn't what I expected. This is suppose to be a 4 star resort but the rooms are mediocre. They have this molding smell and the room was humid at all times even with AC on high and fan on. I just feel damp throughout my sleep. The views are pretty good though, since I got Ocean View Junior Suite. The food need a special touch to it and it was repetitive and not satisfying at all. But everyone should go try Puerto Madero, awesome steak & lobster house, which is a cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find this guy name Hawaii in Forums Plaza. He gives the best deals on all the activities.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny S
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 22, 2012

First Experience at an All-Inclusive

Great hotel with amazing staff. I felt taken care of and very special. I'm in my late 20's and while I appreciate peace, quiet and conservativeness--I got a little too much at this hotel. The Riu Caribe next store did have a younger crowd, a small, very dark night club, and sports bar (open 24hrs). Most of the hotel shows were terrible and night clubs incredibly loud and overly crowded. I went late February to avoid spring breakers, but it just so happened that it was 'Canadian Spring Break'. I would prefer more options for nightlife so I'd have a choice of a happy medium. The food wasn't so great either. In between meals you don't get very good service, the buffet was almost the same every day, and there were no 'specialty stations' where you could create your own sandwich/smoothie/burrito etc. The dinner you needed reservations for however were pretty good. My biggest complaint -- there was no late time food options unless you went next door. (Don't count on room service, it was horrible). At night the grounds can get a little chilly since the hotel blocks most sunlight by 5:30pm. Ultimately, if you want to party like a spring breaker, get waited on like royalty, and have a quiet pool or beach to relax -- this is your hotel. At my age, I don't mind getting up to get my own drink. I would have rather saved that extra couple hundred and stayed at the Riu Caribe next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican Vacation Lover
Business
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Apr 14, 2012

it was a fine trip, it WAS Cancun, after all!

Everything was average, to me. I've just been in better rooms. And nothing was really that spectacular except a young man working on the beach (Amilcar). The room was okay size, not a great layout, in my opinion. The hotel's idea of ocean view was to go out on your balcony and lean over, looking to the left. My other complaint was that it's so competitive to get a restaurant reservation! We even got in 3 hours before normal check-in and we still couldn't get a restaurant reservation for the night we arrived. Are you kidding me? Not to mention, in a 4-night stay, we were never able to get into the Japanese restaurant - and we are NOT late sleepers! But, all staff was extremely awesome! Not a single one miserable. The beach was incredible, as far as the sand, the crowd, being rock-free in the water & being able to get lounge chairs. And I already mentioned Amilcar, an outstanding employee, to say the least!! The pool closest to the hotel has NO lounge chairs around it (???), just 8 built-in cement "beds" w/pads. I don't understand that. It was by far the least crowded pool, so that was nice, but is it supposed to be only for those 16 people that get the beds at the crack of dawn? Beautiful inside the building, for sure. All in all, I was in Cancun for the week, how bad could it be?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VitaliyG
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 9, 2012

most horrible hotel ever

it was our second trip to mexico, i am very disappoint; A/C don't really work, smell of mold all over hotel, security safe i was able to open with toothpick, bad location and very dirty as soon you step out of hotel, super noisy from cars and something else....plus food poising, last night spent hugging toilet. I and my wife couldn't wait to get home. Next summer we will go to Hawaii, been they twice and much better than Mexico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanDC
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 7, 2012

everything is great except one MAJOR thing

I got a master suite with an ocean view and they upgraded us for a jacuzzi on the deck. Ocean view was excellent and the room was very clean, and big. Two showers, one tub, one outdoor jacuzzi. They are extremely stingy with their A/C. We realized that our A/C was not responding at all and so I called maintenance. They said that both my sliding glass doors have to be closed and locked, in order for the A/C to work. Like a DC cab driver... It never got cold. stayed at about 77 each night. I woke up in sweats the first night. Especially for a suite, the AC needs to be more powerful. Waitstaff was excellent. Food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the adjacent Riu's for the shows. The one at this one was stupid, cheap, and a waste of time. Almost mockable.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary couple2013
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
May 15, 2013

Overall good, not great.

First of all, I was expecting spectacular service after all the great reviews. I did feel like the staff were nice, but I did not feel like anyone went out of their way to make my stay special. I requested an upgraded room SEVERAL times, (and I KNOW there had to be upgrades available, as it wasn't that busy) but they wouldn't even consider it. They just flatly told us NO each time we asked. I was willing to pay for it, I just wanted an ocean view room. They would not help me at all. The food was just mediocre. We made reservations at most of the "special" restaurants, and I would not do that again. The Japanese restaurant was fine, but for the most part, the food was better at the buffet. (still not great, but better) One thing that was very upsetting was that the pool closed at 6 pm!! WHY?! One night they even pushed us out 1/2 hour early. (The one VERY SMALL hot tub closed at 8:30.) We traveled there specifically to enjoy the pools, and there was really nothing to do after 6 pm when they closed. I was VERY disappointed in that. We had money stolen out of our room one day. It was there in the morning, they cleaned our room, and then it was gone. It was a small amount, and I made sure to use the safe for all of our major valuables, but stealing is stealing however you look at it. I went to the front desk the next morning to tell them about it, and they just brushed it off. In fact, the guy even made a face like it was typical. The hotel was nice, and the outside is beautiful, but the inside needs a little TLC. Furniture is a little shabby, needs some detail wok. Overall good. Beach area is small, but nice. Overall we had a good time, and would possibly travel there again knowing what we know now. However, I would sure like it if they considered some of my concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tim in Columbus
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 29, 2013

Frequently travel to this area

Our 12th time to an all-inclusive, first one in Cancun, mostly in Riviera Maya. Riu Palace Las Americas is beautiful. Fantastic lobby, grounds and pools. Many reviews have complaints about the front desk, and I have to agree. We arrived 4 hours before the 3pm check in time. I would rather a hotel be honest and say to come back at three. This place goes through the full check in process, telling you that they have good news for you, gives you all the necessary things for your stay, and then tells you the room is not ready. We were told to have lunch and come back at noon (lunch starts at 12:30), we toured the resort for an hour, came back at noon, no room yet. This happened again at one pm and two pm. At 2:40pm, I stayed at the desk and was given my room key. One front desk woman was very snippy when I asked the code to dial a room from the house phone. As she barked, "20 then the room number", I was less than amused. The GREAT service came from: Restaurant waiters: Felipe (breakfast) Miguel (lunch and dinner at Krystal) Bartenders: Marianna and Abu And the absolute BEST service and smiles from pool and beach servers: Enrique, Fermin and William The entire staff was great, and I would rate them a five if not considering the front desk's attitude and incompetence/policies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top