$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
707 out of 707
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Idaho
Mar 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel, but......

This is our second stay at the Riu Palace Las Americas, and it is a beautiful, smaller, quieter, hotel. In our opinion one of the best locations in the hotel zone. The beach here, while small, is perfect, and the water always calm. It is protected and even on windy days,amazing. That being said, this hotel needs to step it up in the food and service (friendly) department!! The buffet was pathetic, imagine our surprise when we went next door to the cheaper Riu Cancun, and saw their extensive and quite tasty buffet. I would estimate it was 3-5 times as large, always had a carving station with prime rib and more, an italian (fresh pizza) area, an authentic Mexican food area, and a seafood area....and surprise it all had some flavor. The "reservation" only restaurants at the Palace were a joke, they would tell you they were totally booked and then would be half empty and closing down by 8...and at times the waitstaff in these "exclusive" restaurants could be rude. The front desk staff also bordered on rude, they failed miserably in the friendly department. Never smiling or asking how your stay was going. We did use the spa, and once again, while clean and pleasant I would not reccommend it....for the price I expected a little more pampering. The massage table was covered with a large towel and that was it! The massage itself was mediocre. However, for all my complaining, I would probably stay there again for the location, I like the size and the quieter atmosphere, and for the price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed to say the least
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 2, 2011

Worst trip ever

Were do I start? Aside from the reception employees, the staff at the rest of the hotel was great, which is the only positive thing I can say about this place and the 1 star goes to them. So issue one started there Thursday night, ate at the steak house, and by the next afternoon I was on the toilet for the next two days. Don't eat any of the raw fish there. On to the next issue, customer service at the front desk - waiting 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge us while other people after us were helped. Now I know in America we form lines and wait out turn, but if you go there as an american, plan on being rude and cutting in front of people to get any help. Next, if are you a diabetic, stay away. The drinks, supposedly all inclusive with alcohol, will either give you diabetes or give you stomachache which will lead to developing diabetes with the high sugar content. Next, if you think the food here is great, then you need to get out. I don't consider cooking the same meat in the same way with different garnishes to be considered a reason to say it's different to each restaurant there. The only place that had good food was the fusion restaurant. For the hotel itself - bring snorkeling flippers or you might drown in the bath tubs when they don't drain, bring incense because part of the hotel smell, take you liquor bottles for the rooms and add alcohol to the drink, plan on spending time in the lobby at a hotel that only offers wifi in the lobby. Overall- Cancun trip $2100- Pepto Bismol, Dorritos, Chex Mix $38 - Overall hotel quality and services, worthless - Dominos on vacation because everything else makes you sicker, priceless. No disrespect to the other people, but I have been on a lot of all inclusive vacations, and if you think this is the best place ever, then you need to travel more because you haven't truly experienced other places. My recommendation, go to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TM
Business
Chicago
Mar 2, 2011

Great place to vacation

Best place to stay and relax , best service and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to other dining and fun places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun
Business
Montreal
Mar 1, 2011

Amazing time at the Riu

Its an amazing place, though have been spending my time at the riu cancun close by because if you are under 25 you will have fun more at the riu cancun which has a younger crowd its connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles,ca
Feb 28, 2011

Great for the Price!

Second time staying at this Hotel, Overall is good,food is so so, the service is good, Great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Congo Bongo was worth seeing, the other clubs were not impressive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 25, 2011

Riu=great,[...]

Great hotel. Beautiful rooms, pristine beach, good food, helpful staff, & excellent service. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Maryland
Feb 25, 2011

P.U. STINKS - very musky/mildew

The Riu is absolutely gorgeous. Very clean. Staff is very friendly & helpful. The SMELL IS AWFUL. DON'T unpack your clothing. Leave them in your suitcase, with it zipped. If you don't, you will take that smell home with you, on your clothing, and it takes seeral washes to get rid of that smell. On bathing suites, (maybe because of the material) the smell did not come out, we had to pitch them. Also, they did not keep refridgerator full of beverages and did no turn down service at the end of the evening. Food was great, however, all 4 of us got really sick, intestional. It lasted for a week. Coincidental??? I don't know for sure. It is flu season :) The bed always felt wet, so much dampness. We stayed at the Riu in Punta Cana, it smelled the same way. Not sure what that is all about. YUCK! I would recommend to a friend, but, I will make sure they are aware of that foul odor. Sometimes looks are deceiving. Beautiful to look at, BUT....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping center and Flea Markets are setup in safe walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 23, 2011

Hotel Review

We had a good experience. Making reservations for the restaurants was inconvenient. It would be nice to make the dinner reservations at the same time the hotel reservation is made. The room was very nice and very clean. We did have an issue with the lock on the door; our card did not work; they re-coded it and it still did not work; finally they called maintenance and they had to change the batteries on the door; this was done late in the evening and they worked on it over 30 minutes. We stayed at the resort the entire time and enjoyed sitting by the beach and the bar service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you can only make reservations for two days in advance. you need to get to the lobby by 8:00 a.m. to get your reservation for the restaurant of your choice. later than that, the restaurant is full and you will not get your first choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsly
Business
philadelphia
Feb 22, 2011

cancun 2011

good hotel for the money. close to nightlife and shopping. Beach and pool was a bit crowded. food was ok but the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A happy family
Business
Stockholm ,Sweden
Feb 16, 2011

A pleasant stay

The stay at hotel was very nice. The staff was pleasant and helpful. It was a peaceful and avslapnande atmosphere. The hotel is very beautiful. We are very pleased with our holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top