$392 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
641 reviews
Great Stay at RIU Palace Las Americas

Everything about the stay was great. Excellent food with plenty of options, very nice resort which... See full review

  • Ryan F.
  • Feb 19, 2015
AMAZING!

My husband and I were impressed. We were treated like royalty. The food was to die for, the view... See full review

  • Happy in Sun
  • Feb 4, 2015
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (641)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
641 out of 641
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carencro,Louisiana
Dec 5, 2010

great time

We had a great time in Cancun. This is our second trip. We stayed at one of the Palace Resorts last year and the RIU LAS Americans was alot better.The food in the buffer lines at the Las Americans was OK, but you can walk over to the RIU Cancun next door and eat over there which has better food.At the speciality restaurants: The Brazilian was the best.You have to reserve a table a day or two in advance at the speciality restaurants.We notice that the food is not the greats in Cancun,but who goes over there to eat!.The suites were big and relaxing the room service was outstanding.The personnal at the front desk were very professionly.We read some reviews that the rooms smelled mold and mildew, well thats true,but your in a tropical climate it will smell alittle notthing to complain about.We relaxed on the beach,had a waiter bring us drinks and we tipped him a couple of bucks for his service. He deserved it. We went scuba diving with the personnal at the hotel.I can't say enough about this group of people.Professionly, caring and patient.They will train you, take you diving and film it for you.The shops around Cancun are a litte expensive but you can bargain them down. We didnot go any excursions because the weather was very windy on the days we wanted to go. We had to cancell one excusion cause of the weather.We will be there again and already plan on which one to go on. We were there November 14-20.I highly would recommend this hotel or the RIU Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

go to the RIU Cancun for the food.The nite-life is wonderful there is Dad-O's, Hard-Rock Cafe,Carlos and Charlie's,and Senior Frogs all walking distance from Hotel and all in the same area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southwest Missouri
Dec 3, 2010

Great time at the Riu Palace!

We have been to Mexico about 15 times over the past 20 years. This was our first trip to an all-inclusive and long stay in Cancun. We were so pleased with the all-inclusive aspect of the hotel...it is truly a no-brainer! Everything was very easy. Everyone was so generous. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The area is safe and everything you need (if you can't find it at the hotel) is within walking distance. In the winter months you might want to hit the pool early due to the early sunset. The chairs around the pool closest to the beach go first since they receive sun the longest. The Riu Palace stood out compared to the others on-line and walking the beach. This choice will not let you down. We will definitely return to the Riu Palace-Cancun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in the hotel was a great experience. The buffet was good...and so many choices! The restaurants were enjoyable if you don't mind working around the 2 dinner times offered. All the workers were kind and generous. The bars were great. The other guests seemed content and also felt like they made a great choice with The Riu-Palace!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashua nh
Nov 30, 2010

excellent value wonderfull staff

This was the 6th time we stayed @ round hotels around the world. Wonderfull staff 24 he room service they even serve you drink at the beach food excellent nice pools lots of activities only draw back little dampness smell overall highly recomanded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bloomington, indiana
Nov 28, 2010

great food and service

Both restaurants and buffet were exceptional. Attentive service. Beach was too short for decent walks, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
daytona jeff
Business
ky
Nov 27, 2010

Luxury at its best!!

Constant cleaning by the staff make it like new all over. All staff very helpful. Food wonderful. View fantastic. Rooms spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations in advance for night dining in hotel since you may only make them 2 days in advance, otherwise you will be eating at the main buffet the first 2 nights (which is great food as well).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middle GA, USA
Nov 24, 2010

Honeymooning in Cancun

We stayed on the beachside the view was of the beach but obstructed... but it was a beautiful oceanview. It would have been nice to be in the middle section so that we could have gotten a full view of the ocean and the pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When you buy from the local vendors it's best to bargain with them for the best price. You'll find that they're willing to come down 20 to 30 percent. In other words don't pay asking price. Most of all be CAREFUL when getting off the plane in the airport, don't be fooled by what appear to be customer service personnel...they're nothing but wolfs in sheep clothing trying to sell timeshares. If they try to pull you off to the side to give directions... walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OK GIRL
Business
SANTA MARIA, CA
Nov 23, 2010

AWSOME

I HAD THE MOST AMAZING TIME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

XPLOR IS AWSOME. ZIP LINES, RAFFTING, AND UNDERGROUND SWIMMING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENERALBS
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 20, 2010

Great place, great staff

This resort was very nice and the staff are super friendly.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The club hop tour was fun, I would recommend this if you like to hit the clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Nov 16, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Married Young Professional
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Nice hotel, ok location

This was the first time my husband and I visited Cancun, first time all-inclusive, but we've been to Cabo and other places in Mexico before. We've also been to several beach vacations all over the Caribbean and Hawaii. I booked Riu Palace after reading great reviews. I didn't book a balcony room because I kept seeing reviews of people getting upgraded for free during peak season. Since our stay was in the beginning of Nov and it was supposed to be their low season, I thought we'd be ok. However, when we got there, the front desk wouldn't upgrade us so we were stuck with the standard room on the 8th floor. That put a major damper on my initial experience because I regretted not paying the extra $25/night to guarantee us a balcony. The hotel itself was nice and the infinity pool and ocean view as you step out is breathtaking. The property is very well kept. We didn't like that the jacuzzi tubs were kind of off on their own, separated from the main areas. The beach was ok. Sand was very soft but the beach is short with limited space for seating. The water was nice but not much action for snorkeling. We rented jet skis and were restricted to only jet ski in a fairly small perimeter... so we spent the 40 minutes riding back and forth about 20 times. It got boring and I was waiting for it to end after 4 round trips in the small perimeter. The food and service at the Riu Palace was great! However, the specialty restaurants require reservations in advanced which was quite annoying especially if your trip is short and you want to try a place your first night. For us, our first night was our anniversary night so we followed the advice of other reviews and went to Sakura (Japanese) shortly after the seating time (6:45pm) and asked to get slipped in if other reservations didn't show up. There was an opening so it worked out great. The food was good but not the best Japanese we've ever had. Second night we went to Los Arcos for Brazilian Steak and that was very good as well. However, third night we went to Krystal and LOVED IT! That was one of our most enjoyable dinner experience because the food was a unique fusion of so many different cultures. We also ate at the buffet other nights and the food was great also. Like all other buffets, they're not gonna hit an ace on EVERY dish, but overall there was enough variety and quality. The location of the hotel in Hotel Zone was below average due to the attractions. There are barely any shops across the street and the few that were there were extremely overpriced with people hassling you to buy anything and EVERY thing. The hassling part is normal for Mexico but doesn't make it any less annoying. The nicER shopping area is too far to walk. You can take a bus, but it's quite sketchy and is confusing... even for my husband who is good at Spanish. We went to XelHa one of the days and rented a car at Avis to get there. We booked an Avis package that included a one day car rental and 2 admission tickets. XelHa was hands down, the highlight of our entire trip. It's an all inclusive ecological park I recommend for all ages and group types. TIP!!! We brought a bunch of $1 USD bills (awkward experience at our home bank) with us to tip. They really appreciate it and the service people don't get paid enough for all the hard work they do. Tipping is supposedly already included and not required, but why wouldn't you tip? It's quite obvious these service people don't get paid very much so a few bucks goes a long way. Once a waitress myself, it's just the right thing to do. Cancun itself is NOT our ideal place to travel and we will most likely not be returning unless going with a group of friends that all want to go back there. Being from CA and traveling to several beach destinations before, we enjoy seeing the sun setting on the ocean. However, since Cancun is east of Mexico, the sun sets behind the hotel and land, also minimizing sun time on the beach. It...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Krystal - must have dining experience. And TIP all your servers and bartenders ($1-3)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top