$372 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
628 reviews
Was better than expected!

food was great! staff was great! overall will be back See full review

  • las super dad
  • Nov 27, 2014
Memorable vacation

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Me and my friend enjoyed our vacation. See full review

  • brence
  • Nov 16, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (628)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashua nh
Nov 30, 2010

excellent value wonderfull staff

This was the 6th time we stayed @ round hotels around the world. Wonderfull staff 24 he room service they even serve you drink at the beach food excellent nice pools lots of activities only draw back little dampness smell overall highly recomanded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bloomington, indiana
Nov 28, 2010

great food and service

Both restaurants and buffet were exceptional. Attentive service. Beach was too short for decent walks, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
daytona jeff
Business
ky
Nov 27, 2010

Luxury at its best!!

Constant cleaning by the staff make it like new all over. All staff very helpful. Food wonderful. View fantastic. Rooms spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations in advance for night dining in hotel since you may only make them 2 days in advance, otherwise you will be eating at the main buffet the first 2 nights (which is great food as well).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middle GA, USA
Nov 24, 2010

Honeymooning in Cancun

We stayed on the beachside the view was of the beach but obstructed... but it was a beautiful oceanview. It would have been nice to be in the middle section so that we could have gotten a full view of the ocean and the pools.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When you buy from the local vendors it's best to bargain with them for the best price. You'll find that they're willing to come down 20 to 30 percent. In other words don't pay asking price. Most of all be CAREFUL when getting off the plane in the airport, don't be fooled by what appear to be customer service personnel...they're nothing but wolfs in sheep clothing trying to sell timeshares. If they try to pull you off to the side to give directions... walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OK GIRL
Business
SANTA MARIA, CA
Nov 23, 2010

AWSOME

I HAD THE MOST AMAZING TIME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

XPLOR IS AWSOME. ZIP LINES, RAFFTING, AND UNDERGROUND SWIMMING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENERALBS
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 20, 2010

Great place, great staff

This resort was very nice and the staff are super friendly.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The club hop tour was fun, I would recommend this if you like to hit the clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Nov 16, 2010

Riu Palace Las Americas

fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Married Young Professional
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Nice hotel, ok location

This was the first time my husband and I visited Cancun, first time all-inclusive, but we've been to Cabo and other places in Mexico before. We've also been to several beach vacations all over the Caribbean and Hawaii. I booked Riu Palace after reading great reviews. I didn't book a balcony room because I kept seeing reviews of people getting upgraded for free during peak season. Since our stay was in the beginning of Nov and it was supposed to be their low season, I thought we'd be ok. However, when we got there, the front desk wouldn't upgrade us so we were stuck with the standard room on the 8th floor. That put a major damper on my initial experience because I regretted not paying the extra $25/night to guarantee us a balcony. The hotel itself was nice and the infinity pool and ocean view as you step out is breathtaking. The property is very well kept. We didn't like that the jacuzzi tubs were kind of off on their own, separated from the main areas. The beach was ok. Sand was very soft but the beach is short with limited space for seating. The water was nice but not much action for snorkeling. We rented jet skis and were restricted to only jet ski in a fairly small perimeter... so we spent the 40 minutes riding back and forth about 20 times. It got boring and I was waiting for it to end after 4 round trips in the small perimeter. The food and service at the Riu Palace was great! However, the specialty restaurants require reservations in advanced which was quite annoying especially if your trip is short and you want to try a place your first night. For us, our first night was our anniversary night so we followed the advice of other reviews and went to Sakura (Japanese) shortly after the seating time (6:45pm) and asked to get slipped in if other reservations didn't show up. There was an opening so it worked out great. The food was good but not the best Japanese we've ever had. Second night we went to Los Arcos for Brazilian Steak and that was very good as well. However, third night we went to Krystal and LOVED IT! That was one of our most enjoyable dinner experience because the food was a unique fusion of so many different cultures. We also ate at the buffet other nights and the food was great also. Like all other buffets, they're not gonna hit an ace on EVERY dish, but overall there was enough variety and quality. The location of the hotel in Hotel Zone was below average due to the attractions. There are barely any shops across the street and the few that were there were extremely overpriced with people hassling you to buy anything and EVERY thing. The hassling part is normal for Mexico but doesn't make it any less annoying. The nicER shopping area is too far to walk. You can take a bus, but it's quite sketchy and is confusing... even for my husband who is good at Spanish. We went to XelHa one of the days and rented a car at Avis to get there. We booked an Avis package that included a one day car rental and 2 admission tickets. XelHa was hands down, the highlight of our entire trip. It's an all inclusive ecological park I recommend for all ages and group types. TIP!!! We brought a bunch of $1 USD bills (awkward experience at our home bank) with us to tip. They really appreciate it and the service people don't get paid enough for all the hard work they do. Tipping is supposedly already included and not required, but why wouldn't you tip? It's quite obvious these service people don't get paid very much so a few bucks goes a long way. Once a waitress myself, it's just the right thing to do. Cancun itself is NOT our ideal place to travel and we will most likely not be returning unless going with a group of friends that all want to go back there. Being from CA and traveling to several beach destinations before, we enjoy seeing the sun setting on the ocean. However, since Cancun is east of Mexico, the sun sets behind the hotel and land, also minimizing sun time on the beach. It...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Krystal - must have dining experience. And TIP all your servers and bartenders ($1-3)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy if room was decent
Business
Highlands Ranch, CO
Nov 8, 2010

RIU

Hotel was beautiful. Service and food outstanding. [...] in main outside dining for breakfast and lunch buffet was rude and begged for tips. Japanese, Los Arcos and French was awesome - food and service outstanding. Our biggest issue and why we would not return was as follows: The ROOM! Mold and musty to the point we could not breathe and could not wait to go home - sad but true then they cleaned with amonia to kill the mold/must. Bed uncomfortable and sheets damp always. Had to wash our clothes and souveniers three times when we returned to get the smell out. [...] - with Grey Line/[...]sold us activities and she did not know what she was talking about - expensive and disappointed with CocoBongo. She sold us the Dolphin experience and then came back and wanted more money?? That is it - overall the hotel staff and hotel was beautiful and we loved it but sleep is important and we never slept due to smell/dampness in the room - we slipped on the tile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joni/Chachee
Business
Indiana
Nov 7, 2010

Location, location, location

My husband and I have been to Cancun several times, however, this was our first stay at this location. Hotel is fair at best. The smell of mildew, dampness is a little overwhelming. We have stayed other places and never had this type of odor. The food is fair. Lots of choices on the buffets, three times a day, only reservations for dinners in the good restaurants. sometimes hard to make reservations, they only let you make them for the following two days only. Pools were excellent! Pool bar, service, servers, entertainment, was phenominal. Staff speaks very good english. Room service, maid, beverage cart for your rooms, were disappointing. NO TOP SHELF liquor. not even Captain Morgan. The person thats refills your mini fridge knocks twice and barges right in your room. I was showering and couldn't get to the door, the man just walked right in and filled the fridge. I also asked for Pepsi light, (this is the name of Diet Pepsi in mexico) he ignorred me, and proceeded to fill the other sodas. Your bed, sheets, towels, etc, in your room feels damp and smells like mildew the entire time. As far as night life goes...you have a different show on the resort every night. About an hour and then everything is done by eleven. If you choose to go into town, Coco Bongo, The City, sweet, etc..those are all in walking distance. They will try to get you a taxi or go as a group on a bus. The entertainment staff does very well in keeping you informed on which club or bar they will be going to each night. Please also note, there are rumors Mexico is not safe right now. WE were completely safe and felt fine the entire trip. When enjoying the pool/beach, if you bring your own cup/drinking glass, they will make you whatever you want in it, otherwise, you will be served tiny, six ounce juice cups, with hardly any ice. Ice was definately a huge problem...either they were afraid of too much ice watering down your drink, or people in mexico just dont like ice cold drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to nightlife, huge plus. however, they will still try to get you to pay for the group rate for the bus trip and VIP. When arriving to the place, cover charge was the same and there was no special perks with going with your hotel staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top