$372 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
625 reviews
Was better than expected!

food was great! staff was great! overall will be back See full review

  • las super dad
  • Nov 27, 2014
Memorable vacation

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Me and my friend enjoyed our vacation. See full review

  • brence
  • Nov 16, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Sep 19, 2010

Bad food. Thieves all over.

Food: I don't like buffet places overall. But the buffet at RIU was just horrible. (Do not eat their hot dogs or hamburgers). The food is either tasteless or very very wrong tasting. And after you eat it, you will have stomach ache. The restaurant food is safer, but they still don't know how to get simple food right. Last two days of my stay, I didn't eat at this place at all. Alcohol: Everything is watered down, especially the bar in the room. Top shelf bottles are only the bottles, alcohol inside is three quarter water and one quarter cheap alcohol. Bohemia beer in the bottle is the only good choice. Hotel Cleanliness and Views: Overall look is great, the rooms, lobby, pools, beach, views. The staff cleans the pool and the beach in the morning. There are ashtrays all over, so there is no cigarette butts on the floor. Staff will bring you drinks anywhere and will take away empty glasses right away. Lobby and the colonnade are beautiful, but ugly patch work allover, brings its look way down. Staff: Fast, and Friendly. Security: Very Bad. Be aware of your belongings. No cameras anywhere. What ever happens, happens. Second day at the resort, my camera was stolen in the pool area. Third day, my friends cell phone was stolen from the room. (Phone calls were made all over Mexico, until he deactivated his service.) Last night at the resort I notice my neck chain missing from my neck. (Its to small to just lose it, and I didn't have any rip marks on my neck. How or When? Very skillful hands. I give Props.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Club Coco Bongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pretty disappointed
Business
Athens, GA
Aug 5, 2011

Just barely OK

Entire hotel is rather fetid; our luggage and clothes retained the bad smell after we returned home. Maybe it was just our room, but the A/C was inadequate -- room was hot, humid. Food was ordinary at best -- should feature Yucatecan cuisine, rather than lame, overcooked and too salty Brazilian and Japanese charades. Service was top notch, staff was very helpful and friendly. Pools are nice, beach is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joe
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 22, 2007

cancun 6/18/07

Upon arriving check in was smooth, we arrived late evening and all the food that was avalable was buffet. Room was nice and mini bar was well stocked. The next day we tried to make reservations for that nights meal, but they told us it was too late( it was only 12:30 pm)so we had buffet again, we made reservations for the next two nights at that time. The food at the buffets was just ok for all inclusive. That afternoon we tried to get our water and mini bar restocked and it fell on deaf ears, we called 5 times in a 4 hour period, and the last time we asked do we have to come get it our selfs!! finally after 5 hours we got our water restocked, i don't know what the big deal was. The beach was small, they charged you for towels if you did not have a towel card. The nightly shows were short and the bars closed at 1am, and didn't open back up until 10 am the next day.The food in the specialty resturants was good. All in all it was a good trip but the hotel staff didn't act like it was a 4 star hotel. If you walked outside the hotel you really could smell sewage and if the wind was right at the beach you could also smell it. We may try the RIU PALACE LAS AMERICAS again, but the staff better be more on the ball. The system for reserving dinner has to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VEL
Business
san Juan, PR
Oct 24, 2010

vacations

Was good experience but the beds were unconfortable and nights are bored. Food is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 13, 2011

Not a 5 star

My husband and I travel quite a bit. This was my first Riu hotel stay but my husband has stayed at several around the world. We were under-impressed. The location is beautiful but the service and quality of food and drink is somewhere between a 2-3. The staff was less than eager to help or wait on you and aside from the front desk, most spoke little to no english. Dining at the individual restaurants, we would rate that food between at 3-4. Room service food was 3-4. Breakfast and lunch were a big disappointment. I would rate it a 2-star. The buffets were rarely hot and the food was dry and virtually tasteless. My husband likened it to school "institutional" food. Drinks 2-star. We not big drinkers but getting someone to take your order was a task and the drinks were very watered down. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful! However, the bed was the most uncomfortable thing we've ever slept on and the room had a damp mold smell to it. Overall, if you haven't traveled much, you will probably love your experience. If your accustomed to 5-star hotels and treatment don't stay here you will be very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service is your best bet for lunch. Very limited menu but its made fresh and has a nice presentation and FLAVOR!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jnash
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Premium Lobby but not so Premium Food, Drinks

The lobby was fantastic. We got upgraded (for a substancial fee) to a whirlpool suite with a HUGE balcony. We had a very nice time, but the all inclusive was simply not worth the money for the quality of food and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melrose
Business
Wichita, KS, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great Service..

We always try to stay at RIU resorts. We have been to Cancun numerous times and usually stay at the RIU Carribe. We wanted to see if the Palace was worth the extra money. On a positive note the rooms are a little bigger but beds are no better and balcony not any bigger. The service at the Palace is top notch. Whether you are on the beach or by the pool they have someone taking your order and making sure your drinks are full. The beach is not real big, and the ocean is kind of rocky. Because the hotel is so tall it blocks the sun around 2pm. So the pools and most of the beach are sunless. The buffet was not as good as the Carribe or the RIU Cancun next door. The Restaurants were good. But we spent most of our time next door at the RIU Cancun's buffet. Very few kids, which is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go next door to the RIU Cancun and use their buffet, much much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YveC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 18, 2012

First Trip to Cancun

To sum it up. It wasn't what I expected. This is suppose to be a 4 star resort but the rooms are mediocre. They have this molding smell and the room was humid at all times even with AC on high and fan on. I just feel damp throughout my sleep. The views are pretty good though, since I got Ocean View Junior Suite. The food need a special touch to it and it was repetitive and not satisfying at all. But everyone should go try Puerto Madero, awesome steak & lobster house, which is a cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Find this guy name Hawaii in Forums Plaza. He gives the best deals on all the activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny S
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 22, 2012

First Experience at an All-Inclusive

Great hotel with amazing staff. I felt taken care of and very special. I'm in my late 20's and while I appreciate peace, quiet and conservativeness--I got a little too much at this hotel. The Riu Caribe next store did have a younger crowd, a small, very dark night club, and sports bar (open 24hrs). Most of the hotel shows were terrible and night clubs incredibly loud and overly crowded. I went late February to avoid spring breakers, but it just so happened that it was 'Canadian Spring Break'. I would prefer more options for nightlife so I'd have a choice of a happy medium. The food wasn't so great either. In between meals you don't get very good service, the buffet was almost the same every day, and there were no 'specialty stations' where you could create your own sandwich/smoothie/burrito etc. The dinner you needed reservations for however were pretty good. My biggest complaint -- there was no late time food options unless you went next door. (Don't count on room service, it was horrible). At night the grounds can get a little chilly since the hotel blocks most sunlight by 5:30pm. Ultimately, if you want to party like a spring breaker, get waited on like royalty, and have a quiet pool or beach to relax -- this is your hotel. At my age, I don't mind getting up to get my own drink. I would have rather saved that extra couple hundred and stayed at the Riu Caribe next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican Vacation Lover
Business
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Apr 14, 2012

it was a fine trip, it WAS Cancun, after all!

Everything was average, to me. I've just been in better rooms. And nothing was really that spectacular except a young man working on the beach (Amilcar). The room was okay size, not a great layout, in my opinion. The hotel's idea of ocean view was to go out on your balcony and lean over, looking to the left. My other complaint was that it's so competitive to get a restaurant reservation! We even got in 3 hours before normal check-in and we still couldn't get a restaurant reservation for the night we arrived. Are you kidding me? Not to mention, in a 4-night stay, we were never able to get into the Japanese restaurant - and we are NOT late sleepers! But, all staff was extremely awesome! Not a single one miserable. The beach was incredible, as far as the sand, the crowd, being rock-free in the water & being able to get lounge chairs. And I already mentioned Amilcar, an outstanding employee, to say the least!! The pool closest to the hotel has NO lounge chairs around it (???), just 8 built-in cement "beds" w/pads. I don't understand that. It was by far the least crowded pool, so that was nice, but is it supposed to be only for those 16 people that get the beds at the crack of dawn? Beautiful inside the building, for sure. All in all, I was in Cancun for the week, how bad could it be?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top