$267 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
670 out of 670
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monica "Tell it like it is"
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 23, 2009

Riu Palace

I am hoping this review will assist you in making a decision when picking hotels. This is my second trip to Riu Palace and I must say I am extremely disappointed. There are five restaurants on site that you have to book reservations for the day before to get in. Seating is limited and if you are not in line by 745 am then you are not getting reservations. The buffet was good but for a week it gets boring. As for the room... I will start with the positives. We stayed in room 150 over looking the pool and out to the ocean. Gorgeous view. Now for the negatives... The bed was infested with fleas. I woke up in the middle of the night covered in bite marks, my forearms were peppered with bites and face,legs,stomach and back were covered as well. Thinking it was only me I looked over to realize that my husband was sitting in the chair asleep. He had gotten out of bed due to the bites he had covering his body. I asked to speak to the manager and was rudely informed by [...] that he was able to help me. He promised to change the sheets and pass on my request to speak to the manager. The sheets were changed but the manager never contacted me. The following day I went back up to complain again as the shower head exploded and water was spraying every where but out the head. They told me that they would have someone one fix it. It never happened either. I requested to have the beds cleaned again and the sheets were changed but the comforter and pillows (which we removed off the bed) were never changed and were the main issue with the fleas. On my final day of checking out, I asked why [...] the manager had never called me, and he said "he is too busy with real problems". I could only imagine what other people were experiencing. Pick a different place to stay. It has gone down hill and it is unfortunate to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo one night (Wed or Thurs) are ideal. Tons of people there but the show is one like Las Vegas. It is a night club and a couple of older people were nervous as to what to expect. But the entertainment is amazing and its not a typical night club. If you buy in advance you can save $10 off your tickets. Everything is open bar in Mexico and if you tip your waiter well ($20 the first time he brings you your drinks, they will flow endlessly all night long). There is a neat massage place across from the Riu Palace as well that has 90 min massage for 79.00 Cheap and they do an AMAZING JOB. Definitely worth looking into. If you want to purchase any trips (Jungle tour, swimming with dolphins,night cruises, fishing, etc) go to Walmart. You can take the bus there for 7 pesos (.50 cents) each way and the prices are half of what you would pay in the hotels. There is a neat office right inside Walmart that will help you make all the arrangements.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Sep 19, 2010

Bad food. Thieves all over.

Food: I don't like buffet places overall. But the buffet at RIU was just horrible. (Do not eat their hot dogs or hamburgers). The food is either tasteless or very very wrong tasting. And after you eat it, you will have stomach ache. The restaurant food is safer, but they still don't know how to get simple food right. Last two days of my stay, I didn't eat at this place at all. Alcohol: Everything is watered down, especially the bar in the room. Top shelf bottles are only the bottles, alcohol inside is three quarter water and one quarter cheap alcohol. Bohemia beer in the bottle is the only good choice. Hotel Cleanliness and Views: Overall look is great, the rooms, lobby, pools, beach, views. The staff cleans the pool and the beach in the morning. There are ashtrays all over, so there is no cigarette butts on the floor. Staff will bring you drinks anywhere and will take away empty glasses right away. Lobby and the colonnade are beautiful, but ugly patch work allover, brings its look way down. Staff: Fast, and Friendly. Security: Very Bad. Be aware of your belongings. No cameras anywhere. What ever happens, happens. Second day at the resort, my camera was stolen in the pool area. Third day, my friends cell phone was stolen from the room. (Phone calls were made all over Mexico, until he deactivated his service.) Last night at the resort I notice my neck chain missing from my neck. (Its to small to just lose it, and I didn't have any rip marks on my neck. How or When? Very skillful hands. I give Props.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Club Coco Bongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Romeoville, IL
Apr 18, 2009

If mold bothers you, stay away.

Orbitz - Their local agent ripped us off and bait/switched our Chitzen Itza trip for a cheaper one. Don't buy from them. There Orbitz airport transport company rep was complaining about his tips and stating that Orbitz made him work for free/ tips only. A really bad experience. Facility - Awesome view and rooms Smell - Terrible mold smell. Believe the reviews. Our luggage is still outside the house. Food - If you like a low grade buffet, then go here. Otherwise don't. The staff have handsinks and don't use them, ever. The 'restaurants' are pretty weak. Sushi - like the grocery store - no better, no worse The 'really nice' restaurant - ??? Tapas - not tapas Italian - not exactly Steakhouse - Grissle house Seriously, if you want all-inclusive, pay less somewhere else. Drinks - Dos Equis only, undrinkable wine, drinks are like going to Applebees, not Mexico. Also, they hide the 'call' liquors under the bar, very bizzare. We had to leave the resort to get a decent Margarita. We saw other people purchasing wine at Walmart and bringing it to the restaurant. Fitness Center - 30 years outdated. You can't get a workout here. Pools - Like the pictures, very nice. Hot tub, one broken and the other not clean. You can see large and small particulate matter floating in the water. We would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TAE WOO Y.
Business
Silver Spring
Apr 1, 2015

bad service.

I was here few days ago with my girl friend. We stayed thursday to Sunday. After we check in we went room and came down to make reservation for Japanese restaurant. ( I personally love japanese restaruants.. thats one of the reason why I picked this hotel..) The guy said they don't have anything for that day except buffet. I was ok with it so I asked him to make reservation for next day or saturday but the guy at service desk said they dont have anything until monday.. so I told the guy we are going back to USA on Sunday.. he said he can't do anything for us. Few hours later.. I asked front desk be asked his manager and made reservation for Japanese restaurant for us!! so I was happy at that moment but the guy at service desk called our room and Complaining that we went front desk to make reservation lol 1. he souldn't call our room. 2. he couldn't make reservation for us anyway. 3. what kind 4 star hotel call customer's room to complain?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mimi45
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 20, 2011

great week

when we first entered the RIU Palace there was a horrible smell in the lobby . We then checked into our room and again that smell was so strong we couldn't stay there . They had no rooms for us until the next day . The restaurants were good and bar service was Great.I felt the drinks were very watered down we had to ask for a side shot to our drinks . The entertainment staff was great and the shows were very good. i probably wouldn't good back to that hotel . I have to Cancun many times . This was not one of favorite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

try to book any site seeing the day you want to go because we experienced that not everyone felt good the day of the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike the Peace Bringer
Business
Culver City, CA
Jan 3, 2014

It's more like 3.5 stars at most...

Nice hotel in a good location, friendly staff and there was some variety in food. However be prepared for the 'upgrade' extortion, where they show you a couple of rooms, the one you paid for obviously is the worst room in the hotel and you would have to pay only in cash, no receipts. The food was worse than expected (mash potatoes made of flakes rather than fresh potatoes; not so many veggie options). Don't even bother with the Japanese restaurant, it was the worst. There's a mold/mildew smell across the hotel and there were signs of mold/mildew in the shower ceiling - they have no fans in the bath rooms, only vents. The water dropped on the floor, even a tiny bit, would stay there for days without drying. The beach was very nice, with a few rocks on the side where we could watch different types of fish using the snorkeling equipment provided by the hotel. Watch out for the sea urchins that hide under the rocks. Overall it is a good place to bring kinds and spend the time within the hotel.There were many fun activities organized by the hotel. It's not worth to book an all-inclusive though if you plan to have 2 or more day trips to the surrounding sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Javier Ala
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 20, 2014

Alright Stay

it was fun there, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I wish the food was a little better, but that's real about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joe
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 22, 2007

cancun 6/18/07

Upon arriving check in was smooth, we arrived late evening and all the food that was avalable was buffet. Room was nice and mini bar was well stocked. The next day we tried to make reservations for that nights meal, but they told us it was too late( it was only 12:30 pm)so we had buffet again, we made reservations for the next two nights at that time. The food at the buffets was just ok for all inclusive. That afternoon we tried to get our water and mini bar restocked and it fell on deaf ears, we called 5 times in a 4 hour period, and the last time we asked do we have to come get it our selfs!! finally after 5 hours we got our water restocked, i don't know what the big deal was. The beach was small, they charged you for towels if you did not have a towel card. The nightly shows were short and the bars closed at 1am, and didn't open back up until 10 am the next day.The food in the specialty resturants was good. All in all it was a good trip but the hotel staff didn't act like it was a 4 star hotel. If you walked outside the hotel you really could smell sewage and if the wind was right at the beach you could also smell it. We may try the RIU PALACE LAS AMERICAS again, but the staff better be more on the ball. The system for reserving dinner has to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VEL
Business
san Juan, PR
Oct 24, 2010

vacations

Was good experience but the beds were unconfortable and nights are bored. Food is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 13, 2011

Not a 5 star

My husband and I travel quite a bit. This was my first Riu hotel stay but my husband has stayed at several around the world. We were under-impressed. The location is beautiful but the service and quality of food and drink is somewhere between a 2-3. The staff was less than eager to help or wait on you and aside from the front desk, most spoke little to no english. Dining at the individual restaurants, we would rate that food between at 3-4. Room service food was 3-4. Breakfast and lunch were a big disappointment. I would rate it a 2-star. The buffets were rarely hot and the food was dry and virtually tasteless. My husband likened it to school "institutional" food. Drinks 2-star. We not big drinkers but getting someone to take your order was a task and the drinks were very watered down. We stayed in a suite which was beautiful! However, the bed was the most uncomfortable thing we've ever slept on and the room had a damp mold smell to it. Overall, if you haven't traveled much, you will probably love your experience. If your accustomed to 5-star hotels and treatment don't stay here you will be very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service is your best bet for lunch. Very limited menu but its made fresh and has a nice presentation and FLAVOR!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top