$263 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
610 reviews
Just a sic trip!!

Where to begin? Arrive at Rui with the entire staff greeting you, serving you assisting you,... See full review

  • Sweet Logistics
  • Aug 21, 2014
Excellent

We stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas August 6-11(2014).. it was a fantastic experience. The... See full review

  • Balkan
  • Aug 12, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (610)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
610 out of 610
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYC Girl
Manhattan, NY
Jun 18, 2011

The good, the bad and the horrible

Don't know where to begin and how to share the experience at the hotel. I would like to share this experience with other people trying to book a trip with [...] and this hotel. The front desk staff was RUDE. The room that we booked was sea view. When we arrived the room was not ready. It took them 2 hours to prepare the room. After we checked in and went to see the room, it was not what we booked. We went to the front desk to let them know that we want to change the room because it is not what we booked, the hotel representative [...]said ''of course you are not going to get what you see in the picture.. What did u think? After arguing for a very long time we were able to get what we wanted. I left my $250 sun glasses on the table in the main lobby for two minutes never saw them again. I went and reported the scenario to the main lobby they started laughing at the situation. Also we reserved the shuttle through GREENLINE, WORST SERVICE. When we arrived in MEXICO it took us 1 hour to find where they were, when we left MEXICO they showed up 2 hours late. Also when we came back we called cheap tickets and explained the situation, [...]the representative didn't really care. She used her sarcasm throughout the whole conversation. Please be CAREFUL when you go to this hotel and when you book your trip through this service. My husband and I have traveled a lot throughout Europe, Asia, Africa but never experienced this kind of service. The sad part is that this was our wedding anniversary and MEXICO will not see us again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of shopps. LV, Lacoste, Starbucks etc.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mimi45
New York, NY, USA
Aug 20, 2011

great week

when we first entered the RIU Palace there was a horrible smell in the lobby . We then checked into our room and again that smell was so strong we couldn't stay there . They had no rooms for us until the next day . The restaurants were good and bar service was Great.I felt the drinks were very watered down we had to ask for a side shot to our drinks . The entertainment staff was great and the shows were very good. i probably wouldn't good back to that hotel . I have to Cancun many times . This was not one of favorite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nashville
tn
Jan 18, 2012

not good food

Nice hotel but staff do not know english and the food is not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EARMA
DENVER
Jul 21, 2012

BIG DIAPPOINTMENT

tHEY DID NOT HAVE A ROOM FOR US, IT WAS REQUESTED NON SMOKING, BUT THE HOTEL IS ALL SMOKING, WERE NOT PERSONALBE, LOT OF THE STAFF DID NOT KNOW ENGLISH. THE WAITERS JUST DID WHAT THEY DO RUN AND SERVE. TWO OUT OF FOUR DINNERS WERE NO WHERE NEAR WHAT WAS ORDERED, THE PLACE ALWAYS SMELLED OF SMOKE, NEEDED TO ASK FOR NEW PILLOWS CAUSE OF THE SMOKE SMELL. FURNITURE IN LOBBY WORN AND CIGARETTE HOLES. WAS NOT ASKED ABOUT OUR STAY AS WE CHECKED OUT, THIS IS SUPPOSE TO BE A 5STAR BUT I CAN TELL YOU YOU GET BETTER SERVICE AT HOLIDAY INN.. A VERY BIG FLOP

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Get a way traveler
Columbus OH
Feb 2, 2010

Great facility food and beverage not goo

The restaurant choices were not good and offered only two seating times - food at these restaurants way below par. All well liquor and tap beer. I would have liked a Corona in a bottle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ac
Ogden, UT
Dec 21, 2009

Had fun

Hotel was ok... food was mostly bad and we lost cold water many times. That meant we couldn't flush our toilet or take showers. The wiring in the room was also messed up. Certain lights had to be on for the bathroom lights to work as well as the TV. Would never go back to the RIU Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't buy stuff from travel agents, the street guys can you everything for much much cheaper.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pretty disappointed
Athens, GA
Aug 5, 2011

Just barely OK

Entire hotel is rather fetid; our luggage and clothes retained the bad smell after we returned home. Maybe it was just our room, but the A/C was inadequate -- room was hot, humid. Food was ordinary at best -- should feature Yucatecan cuisine, rather than lame, overcooked and too salty Brazilian and Japanese charades. Service was top notch, staff was very helpful and friendly. Pools are nice, beach is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
the hotel
Tulsa, OK
Sep 2, 2009

Good for Hotel not so good Beach

Hotel is great, But not enough food choices and also the Beach area is too small. The location of the hotel is in Bay area so the beach is not lot of fun like other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RV
Arkansas
Oct 27, 2010

Great experiance

Excellent service, great room. (Junior Suite). Matress could be more comfortable. Odor in water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the RIU next door for dinner. The buffet is great.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Monica "Tell it like it is"
Seattle, WA
Jun 23, 2009

Riu Palace

I am hoping this review will assist you in making a decision when picking hotels. This is my second trip to Riu Palace and I must say I am extremely disappointed. There are five restaurants on site that you have to book reservations for the day before to get in. Seating is limited and if you are not in line by 745 am then you are not getting reservations. The buffet was good but for a week it gets boring. As for the room... I will start with the positives. We stayed in room 150 over looking the pool and out to the ocean. Gorgeous view. Now for the negatives... The bed was infested with fleas. I woke up in the middle of the night covered in bite marks, my forearms were peppered with bites and face,legs,stomach and back were covered as well. Thinking it was only me I looked over to realize that my husband was sitting in the chair asleep. He had gotten out of bed due to the bites he had covering his body. I asked to speak to the manager and was rudely informed by [...] that he was able to help me. He promised to change the sheets and pass on my request to speak to the manager. The sheets were changed but the manager never contacted me. The following day I went back up to complain again as the shower head exploded and water was spraying every where but out the head. They told me that they would have someone one fix it. It never happened either. I requested to have the beds cleaned again and the sheets were changed but the comforter and pillows (which we removed off the bed) were never changed and were the main issue with the fleas. On my final day of checking out, I asked why [...] the manager had never called me, and he said "he is too busy with real problems". I could only imagine what other people were experiencing. Pick a different place to stay. It has gone down hill and it is unfortunate to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Coco Bongo one night (Wed or Thurs) are ideal. Tons of people there but the show is one like Las Vegas. It is a night club and a couple of older people were nervous as to what to expect. But the entertainment is amazing and its not a typical night club. If you buy in advance you can save $10 off your tickets. Everything is open bar in Mexico and if you tip your waiter well ($20 the first time he brings you your drinks, they will flow endlessly all night long). There is a neat massage place across from the Riu Palace as well that has 90 min massage for 79.00 Cheap and they do an AMAZING JOB. Definitely worth looking into. If you want to purchase any trips (Jungle tour, swimming with dolphins,night cruises, fishing, etc) go to Walmart. You can take the bus there for 7 pesos (.50 cents) each way and the prices are half of what you would pay in the hotels. There is a neat office right inside Walmart that will help you make all the arrangements.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search