$330 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
952 reviews
My Son got married there

They hotel was FABULOUS! They food was GREAT! It was alot more then we expected. The weather was... See full review

  • sonny24
  • Jun 26, 2014
Riu Palace Las Americas

Stayed here 6/17 to 6/22. The hotel was very nice service was good. Ask for a west wing room as we... See full review

  • jrico
  • Jun 23, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week.
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (952)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
952 out of 952
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
buxs2112
columbus, ohio
Aug 15, 2009

Learn you Spanglish

Ignoring the fact that my cell phone was stolen by an employee 20 minutes after arrival; the staff, from top to bottom were rude. i was told that I needed to speak Spanish by a bar waiter. My room assignment was wrong. My paperwork was lost. I was not given any safe keys, towel passes, or hotel orientation.When I went back to the Service desk to aquire these items, my original representative was not there. Upon being asked to describe him; which I did, the reply was "that's not good enough"!! When these issues were brought to the attention of the hotel manager, I was met with an unfriendly attitude. The reply to "speak more Spanish" was: Well you are in Mexico. Run from this resort. And yes, this was my 3rd trip to the same hotel!! Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Scuba is a must

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loves2Travel01542
Chicago, IL
Jun 24, 2014

Do not stay here

The worst food I ever had. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff was rude unaccommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The worst food I ever had.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just Me.
Sacramento, CA
May 24, 2010

Beautiful Resort, Food Not so Great!

The Hotel was very pretty and extremely clean. But, the means that were included were not that great. I can actually say that there was only one meal that i truly enjoyed (The Mexican Restaurant). The Drinks were very weak. More mix, than alcohol. Service was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Reject Rio Las Americas
Business
Louisiana
Aug 2, 2012

Maybe another Rio, Not this one!!

Stayed for 4 days. Day 1- First room no air condition (AC). Told staff when I arrived. Rio AC person said it will get cool, give it an Hour. Arrived back at my room around midnight- NO AC!! We moved to another room (no assistance from the resort) at 12.30 in the morning. AC seemed to be working. Tried to call front desk no phone. No TV remote. Day 2. Told front desk about No TV remote and phone at 8.30 am. Got back to room around 3.30- Room had not been cleaned and phone and TV still not woking. Day 3. Got locked out of the room because key was not working. Got back into the room late and AC Did not work... Staff said the balcony door was slightly open therefore the AC did not come on ALL DAY. We never opened the baclony door, so who did? Possibly housekeeping,,, Day 4- The front desk manager apologize for all of my inconviences and gave me a email address to complain. Visited another resort for a day- Moon Palace employees never asked for a tip but the Rio employees always asked about their service, which meant "CAN I GET A TIP" Would never stay at this resort again and would not refer!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus if you want to get around... Cost 80 cents. The local market was very fun!!!

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed to say the least
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 2, 2011

Worst trip ever

Were do I start? Aside from the reception employees, the staff at the rest of the hotel was great, which is the only positive thing I can say about this place and the 1 star goes to them. So issue one started there Thursday night, ate at the steak house, and by the next afternoon I was on the toilet for the next two days. Don't eat any of the raw fish there. On to the next issue, customer service at the front desk - waiting 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge us while other people after us were helped. Now I know in America we form lines and wait out turn, but if you go there as an american, plan on being rude and cutting in front of people to get any help. Next, if are you a diabetic, stay away. The drinks, supposedly all inclusive with alcohol, will either give you diabetes or give you stomachache which will lead to developing diabetes with the high sugar content. Next, if you think the food here is great, then you need to get out. I don't consider cooking the same meat in the same way with different garnishes to be considered a reason to say it's different to each restaurant there. The only place that had good food was the fusion restaurant. For the hotel itself - bring snorkeling flippers or you might drown in the bath tubs when they don't drain, bring incense because part of the hotel smell, take you liquor bottles for the rooms and add alcohol to the drink, plan on spending time in the lobby at a hotel that only offers wifi in the lobby. Overall- Cancun trip $2100- Pepto Bismol, Dorritos, Chex Mix $38 - Overall hotel quality and services, worthless - Dominos on vacation because everything else makes you sicker, priceless. No disrespect to the other people, but I have been on a lot of all inclusive vacations, and if you think this is the best place ever, then you need to travel more because you haven't truly experienced other places. My recommendation, go to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just Me.
Sacramento, CA
May 24, 2010

Beautiful Resort, Food Not so Great!

The Hotel was very pretty and extremely clean. But, the means that were included were not that great. I can actually say that there was only one meal that i truly enjoyed (The Mexican Restaurant). The Drinks were very weak. More mix, than alcohol. Service was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed to say the least
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 2, 2011

Worst trip ever

Were do I start? Aside from the reception employees, the staff at the rest of the hotel was great, which is the only positive thing I can say about this place and the 1 star goes to them. So issue one started there Thursday night, ate at the steak house, and by the next afternoon I was on the toilet for the next two days. Don't eat any of the raw fish there. On to the next issue, customer service at the front desk - waiting 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge us while other people after us were helped. Now I know in America we form lines and wait out turn, but if you go there as an american, plan on being rude and cutting in front of people to get any help. Next, if are you a diabetic, stay away. The drinks, supposedly all inclusive with alcohol, will either give you diabetes or give you stomachache which will lead to developing diabetes with the high sugar content. Next, if you think the food here is great, then you need to get out. I don't consider cooking the same meat in the same way with different garnishes to be considered a reason to say it's different to each restaurant there. The only place that had good food was the fusion restaurant. For the hotel itself - bring snorkeling flippers or you might drown in the bath tubs when they don't drain, bring incense because part of the hotel smell, take you liquor bottles for the rooms and add alcohol to the drink, plan on spending time in the lobby at a hotel that only offers wifi in the lobby. Overall- Cancun trip $2100- Pepto Bismol, Dorritos, Chex Mix $38 - Overall hotel quality and services, worthless - Dominos on vacation because everything else makes you sicker, priceless. No disrespect to the other people, but I have been on a lot of all inclusive vacations, and if you think this is the best place ever, then you need to travel more because you haven't truly experienced other places. My recommendation, go to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYC Girl
Manhattan, NY
Jun 18, 2011

The good, the bad and the horrible

Don't know where to begin and how to share the experience at the hotel. I would like to share this experience with other people trying to book a trip with [...] and this hotel. The front desk staff was RUDE. The room that we booked was sea view. When we arrived the room was not ready. It took them 2 hours to prepare the room. After we checked in and went to see the room, it was not what we booked. We went to the front desk to let them know that we want to change the room because it is not what we booked, the hotel representative [...]said ''of course you are not going to get what you see in the picture.. What did u think? After arguing for a very long time we were able to get what we wanted. I left my $250 sun glasses on the table in the main lobby for two minutes never saw them again. I went and reported the scenario to the main lobby they started laughing at the situation. Also we reserved the shuttle through GREENLINE, WORST SERVICE. When we arrived in MEXICO it took us 1 hour to find where they were, when we left MEXICO they showed up 2 hours late. Also when we came back we called cheap tickets and explained the situation, [...]the representative didn't really care. She used her sarcasm throughout the whole conversation. Please be CAREFUL when you go to this hotel and when you book your trip through this service. My husband and I have traveled a lot throughout Europe, Asia, Africa but never experienced this kind of service. The sad part is that this was our wedding anniversary and MEXICO will not see us again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of shopps. LV, Lacoste, Starbucks etc.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Get a way traveler
Columbus OH
Feb 2, 2010

Great facility food and beverage not goo

The restaurant choices were not good and offered only two seating times - food at these restaurants way below par. All well liquor and tap beer. I would have liked a Corona in a bottle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Sep 19, 2010

Bad food. Thieves all over.

Food: I don't like buffet places overall. But the buffet at RIU was just horrible. (Do not eat their hot dogs or hamburgers). The food is either tasteless or very very wrong tasting. And after you eat it, you will have stomach ache. The restaurant food is safer, but they still don't know how to get simple food right. Last two days of my stay, I didn't eat at this place at all. Alcohol: Everything is watered down, especially the bar in the room. Top shelf bottles are only the bottles, alcohol inside is three quarter water and one quarter cheap alcohol. Bohemia beer in the bottle is the only good choice. Hotel Cleanliness and Views: Overall look is great, the rooms, lobby, pools, beach, views. The staff cleans the pool and the beach in the morning. There are ashtrays all over, so there is no cigarette butts on the floor. Staff will bring you drinks anywhere and will take away empty glasses right away. Lobby and the colonnade are beautiful, but ugly patch work allover, brings its look way down. Staff: Fast, and Friendly. Security: Very Bad. Be aware of your belongings. No cameras anywhere. What ever happens, happens. Second day at the resort, my camera was stolen in the pool area. Third day, my friends cell phone was stolen from the room. (Phone calls were made all over Mexico, until he deactivated his service.) Last night at the resort I notice my neck chain missing from my neck. (Its to small to just lose it, and I didn't have any rip marks on my neck. How or When? Very skillful hands. I give Props.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Club Coco Bongo

Back to menu Return to top