$372 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
625 reviews
Was better than expected!

food was great! staff was great! overall will be back See full review

  • las super dad
  • Nov 27, 2014
Memorable vacation

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Me and my friend enjoyed our vacation. See full review

  • brence
  • Nov 16, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tran's Family
Business
San Jose, CA
May 5, 2012

Fun Family Trip

Very nice hotel, clean, great food, and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance from from center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AntJ
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 3, 2012

Getaway!

Great hotel! Perfect location, not even a mile away from the main hotel zone. Food was great and the pools were huge and wonderful. Great couple spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make Sure you make reservations at all the restaurants at the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DepDoug
Business
Michigan
Apr 30, 2012

Perfect

We felt that we were the owners!!!!!!!!!!! Everything was worth 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

You are in Cancun.....................

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew4105
Business
Mount Prospect, IL
Apr 26, 2012

Great family vacation

Very nice hotel! Nice beach with small waves. Great location very close to the action. This hotel has 2 pools one that is very quiet which makes it great for relaxing and for young kids. The other has more action and more sun. The food was OK except for the breakfast buffet which was great! Great time had by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good kids shows every night that get the children involved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Unsatified
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Never stay at this hotel !!!!!!!!!!

Service desk wasn't friendly, no water on sat . , bed to hard , pillows flat, no iPod dock , no adult club, no microwave, not even a sports bar , arrived on my birthday didn't acknowledge it. Pool closed at 7pm way to early!!!! No activities after 5pm. Limited access to restaurants and to grace period for reservation and restaurants was not full but denied entry. Buffet was carnival cruise line style . Negative 5 stars !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sloppy
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2012

Amazing Vacation

My experience at the Riu Palace Las Americas was fantastic. The hotel has a very ritzy feel to it. The upkeep was truly impressive. All day every day we saw maids mopping floors, workers sweeping sand from the poolside decks, and even people cleaning the blades of ceiling fans. Our room was so nice and was one of the cheaper options. My boyfriend and I had a king size bed with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Our 2 friends had a room right next to us which was great. Every day our room was made up and our fridge fully restocked with water, beer and soda - not to mention 4 types of hard liquor. The food was surprisingly awesome for an all-inclusive resort. The buffet had different dishes every day with everything from cheese and crackers, salad bar, and deli meats to paella, roast duck, pasta dishes, and soup. The 4 out of 5 restaurants we tried were excellent - all the way from service at the door to decor to food quality, and each had a different theme which kept things interesting. NOTE: You do need to make a reservation for dinner each night ahead of time, and these reservations are limited and seemed to fill up very quickly. You should stop at the customer service desk as soon as you get there to make some dinner reservations. The drink selection was also impressive for an all-inclusive resort. The frozen and mixed drinks were great and didn't taste cheap. The drink service was incredible - there was always a waiter walking around to take your drink order whether you were on the beach, in the lobby, or at the pool. At the restaurants and buffet, your glass never gets empty because they are so on top of their service. We also utilized the small gym (which is fine for a little bit of vacation exercise) and the spa, where we got a couples massage. It was very relaxing if you care to spend the extra money. My only complaint would be that the beach is a bit small and cramped, which you can kind of tell from the website's pictures. Also, the beach doesn't have any shade normally provided by umbrellas or grass hut thingys which would have been nice to get out of the hot sun sometimes. You can always go up to the pool area where there are umbrellas and palm trees that provide shade, but it would have been nice if there was something on the beach itself. We had an amazing time and would love to try another Riu hotel at another location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to venture outside of the hotel if you are willing to spend a little extra money - it felt very safe to us and we found some great places for food, drinks and entertainment within 5-10 minutes of walking off the resort. A little place called Mextreme was so much fun and prepared authentic, fresh guacamole for us right at our table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb430
Business
new york, new york
Apr 18, 2012

getaway

Riu Palace was a perfect choice for our weeks stay in cancun. The hotel is exactly the way it appears on their website, no surprises. The staff couldn't be nicer. Each and every employee truly puts forth every effort to make sure your stay at the Riu is a pleasant and memorable one :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Habichuela Cancun City Excellent food Fabulous service Worth the trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lioness7731
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Great Beach

Compared to other resorts I've stayed at in Riviera Maya and Puerto Vallarta, this resort had the best beach by far. It was clean, white sand and no rocks to worry about stepping on in the swimming area. We also had the absolute best server on the beach named Amilcar who always brought our drinks to us with a smile and a joke. When staying at the Palace you can enjoy the Riu Cancun resort as well which has a little better snack bar during the afternoon and a bigger buffet at night. We didn't play at the pool bar at Palace but did hang out for awhile at the Cancun pool bar...we mostly stayed at the beach. The only unpleasant thing I was hoping would be different at Palace was the quality of the drinks - more specifically the mixers. Maybe most all-inclusives carry only cheap mixes and juices, but was hoping that spending a little more money this year would be different but guess not. Stick with the frozen drinks like Miami Vices and Bahama Mamas if you like those. The rooms were kept clean if you wanted housekeeping, and you got towel animals on those days which is always amusing. room service left a lot to be desired as well..not many choices and the food was cold. Cold, congealed nachos are not very good, even when you are drunk :) The reservation restaurants were fabulous though, especially Tio Pepe's and the Steakhouse. We didn't get to try Sakura as they were full every night and you were not allowed to book a place more than two days in advance which was disappointing. Overall though, very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mexican Vacation Lover
Business
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Apr 14, 2012

it was a fine trip, it WAS Cancun, after all!

Everything was average, to me. I've just been in better rooms. And nothing was really that spectacular except a young man working on the beach (Amilcar). The room was okay size, not a great layout, in my opinion. The hotel's idea of ocean view was to go out on your balcony and lean over, looking to the left. My other complaint was that it's so competitive to get a restaurant reservation! We even got in 3 hours before normal check-in and we still couldn't get a restaurant reservation for the night we arrived. Are you kidding me? Not to mention, in a 4-night stay, we were never able to get into the Japanese restaurant - and we are NOT late sleepers! But, all staff was extremely awesome! Not a single one miserable. The beach was incredible, as far as the sand, the crowd, being rock-free in the water & being able to get lounge chairs. And I already mentioned Amilcar, an outstanding employee, to say the least!! The pool closest to the hotel has NO lounge chairs around it (???), just 8 built-in cement "beds" w/pads. I don't understand that. It was by far the least crowded pool, so that was nice, but is it supposed to be only for those 16 people that get the beds at the crack of dawn? Beautiful inside the building, for sure. All in all, I was in Cancun for the week, how bad could it be?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CellaMay
Business
Woodbury, MN, USA
Apr 13, 2012

AMAZING

This was our second time at the Riu Palace Las Americas and it was just as amazing as the first time. Everything from the staff, food, service, cleanliness to the location was perfect. A lot of people complain about the smell. Well the smell is the ocean, not a musty smell. You will find that at any hotel in Mexico. The nightlife entertainment at the hotel is great. My boyfriend and I actually got to be a part of one of the shows and had a great time. They really know how to keep you entertained there if you don't want to go outside the hotel, or even before you leave for the night. ABUNDIO! The best service we received was from our bartender Abundio in the bar inside the first lobby, he really made the trip fun. He would see us walking in and he would start our drinks for us so by time we sat down at the bar they were ready. He just was very enjoyable to be around. The front desk was helpful as well. They were always very pleasant and accommodating. We stayed in an amazing ocean view room right in the middle and loved waking up to that every morning. All the food was great, however the steakhouse is our favorite. Along with the buffet that they offer there. Both times that we have stayed in Cancun, we have only had dinner at the hotel by choice. We went and explored other restaurants and found that they offer a lot of the same stuff that is prepared at the hotel. We can't wait to go back again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top