$267 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
655 out of 655
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maresness
Business
New York City
Feb 4, 2013

Family accommodating, not family- friendly.

If you want to enjoy this place, please go when you know the weather is great. The only fun things to do require you to be outside on the beach or pool. They don't have indoor pools or heated pools. They have a jacuzzi inside the spa but young children are not allowed. When we went, which was for 6 days, we only had 3 days of sun. (And even then, it wasn't that warm). My 2 year old spent most of her time in the bathtub with her beach toys. That being said, the staff were incredibly friendly and kind. Very eager to help and please. We were very pleased with them. Decor was classic, not the most modern but very beautiful, well- maintained and clean. The rooms were large and comfortable. Also, bring your own toothpaste!! We had to pay an arm and a leg for it. Food was pretty good. Room service food selection was very limited and there are no snacks in the minibar. They have tons of drinks in it though. The special restaurants that required dinner reservations were not that great. Our favorites were Mexican & steak, (the rest were subpar- Japanese & fusion in particular were not too good) the general buffet restaurant had a nice selection of foods. We ended up goin there most of the time. All in all, we had a great time despite the weather. My ratings are based on having a small child around. But if we didnt have to consider her, then we probably would've rated higher. **Also 3 standup employees were Eric at the front desk, Alexis (male waiter) and Rebecca (female waiter). They were warm, inviting and very accommodating. 5 stars for each of them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try asking nicely for a room upgrade!- or at least a room with a nicer view :) it worked for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kels69
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 15, 2013

Family Spring Break

We were upgraded to a ocean view suite from a ocean view jr. Suite. Very pleasant surprise. The suite was excellent. My 16 year daughter had a separate room with a very nice roll away bed. Our view was fantastic. We were able to try every restuarant but the Japanese restaurant. Food quality was very good for an all inclusive hotel. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. The selection and quality was impressive. I was worried the hotel would be over run with spring breakers, but it was not. The RIU Palace is probably a little too up scale for spring breakers. So I definitely recommend this hotel for families and couples, especially during the spring break season. We loved the beach. There were plenty of chairs and the view was stunning. We traveled off property for a couple of excursions. I highly recommend swimming with dolphins, it was fantastic. Overall this is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you sign up for the jungle tour excursion, check the wind speed before going out. The waters were very choppy the day we went and made the watercraft hard to handle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PROCESA
Business
LAS VEGAS, NV
Apr 1, 2013

its a dream come true

in this hotel amenities are good, I just hope they included peanuts or chips & crackers on amenities, because not everybody drink alcohol, food are good like steak & lobsters, I just wish on steak & lobsters they include rib eye & lobsters together, & salad please give each guest, now the buffet was a lot of choices that's was good, Italian restaurant are ok except I got a hair on my food I told to the waiter he didn't even say sorry or nothing I was a little upset about that, other than that I don't have complain, bell man was so helpful also the concierge & front desk clerks, one more thing I just want to emphasize these, my boyfriend was very generous guy, he tip everybody, so at the steak restaurant he tip the waiter, he ask for us to have a rib eye & Lobsters, because its our last day of dinner but since he's the one who gave the tips he got only the rib eye & steak so I ask I want same too, they gave to me after 30mins, it was good though but am not hungry anymore because I loose my appetite after what happen, just because he's the one gave the tips you gave him good service!!! well to me its not fare right? just to let u know we share the money, so the tips he's giving them its include mine too. so be fare!!!....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

JAPANESE RESTAURANT ARE VERY VERY BAD SORRY THAT ONE FOOD WISE I DONT LIKE IT AT ALL, BUT WAITER SERVIC ARE VERY VERY GOOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E.J.2
Business
Salt Lake City
Apr 11, 2013

Great Vacation

My group of 8 spent March 30-April 6th at the RPLA. 6 adults, 2 kids(8-17). It is our 3rd visit to Cancun in the past 3 years and 4th total. Add in a few other visits to Mexico, PV and Mazatlan. We’ve been working our way down the 7 the past few years, this was our first time on the top. RESORT - The resort was immense, the biggest I have stayed in, in Mexico. As mentioned many times, the lobby is beautiful and we spent a fair share of time in the lobby bar having drinks before dinner, waiting for the entire party to arrive. The pools were beautiful and I enjoyed the fact that they were “cool” in temperature, as I find it refreshing to cool off when soaking in the sun during the day. The lower pool “party pool” was hopping with good music, crowd and the entertainment staff kept things hopping. It seems that almost everyone in the party noticed the lack of options of snacks at the pool. If you wanted something other than self-serve nachos, you needed to go inside. Beach is thin so to speak, but I never felt it was too small or we needed more space. Quick drink service at both the pool and beach. (side note, they could give the same size cups as the RIU Cancun gives [12oz] as opposed to the little cafeteria[8oz?] cups. Getting a “big boy” cup instead of 2 small cups seems reasonable) The area was beautiful and my 8 year old was able to swim in the ocean without me on her hip, due to the calmer waters on this side. She thought this was pretty neat. ROOMS - We were on the 3rd floor ocean side, think the room was 338? Third floor has the large column railings on the balcony, which make view of the ocean obstructed while seated. I didn’t find it a big deal, but something you may want to consider. I think only 2 floors have this set-up. It was on the shade side in the evening, which was great. The room was good sized and well laid out. I thought the shower was fairly small, but again, not a huge deal. Housekeeping was efficient, rooms were clean and adequate towels ect. Fridge was always stocked with waters, beers, soda ect. FOOD – Adequate, just what I have always expected at an all-inclusive. I will say that I was not impressed with the à la carte restaurants vs. the buffet. Which has not been the norm for me. I think this is 2 fold, as I think the buffet may have been better than I have experienced, but maybe the à la carte worse? We ate at them all but the Fusion(Krystal). That said, they were all fine. STAFF – The front desk, wait staff, servers, bartenders, bussers ect were great, to a person. They were always helpful and did their job with a smile. Wish I could remember the remarkable ones, as they really deserve the extra notice. The entertainment staff was excellent, always making sure everyone was involved, assuming they wanted to be. My daughter was a big beneficiary to this, taking full advantage of all their activities. It was an added bonus to be able to walk next door to the RIU Cancun and take advantage of that resort. We spent some time on that beach, as well as some time in their Sports Bar. All in all, we were happy with our stay and had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senor Lopes
Business
Virginia
Apr 18, 2013

The Crown Jewel of Cancun Riu properties

This was my 4th stay at the Las Americus, last year it was the Peninsula, but I will continue to come back to this Grand Hotel, helpful staff, wonderful location, new friends to meet each day, I , and my partner, marvel at the number of weddings that take place there, but then, it's just so Grand! To get an idea of just what it takes to keep this "Queen" looking proper, show up in the lobby any morning about 7:15, it's amazing how the staff swarms over every detail of the lobby and the pool area, would make a Marine reminisce!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vfrt564e
Business
nashville tn
Apr 20, 2013

GREAT !

The hotel was clean from top to bottom, i've never seen a cleaner hotel. The staff was always kind and accommodating The food was good and the selection was even better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jasko
Business
kansas city
Apr 25, 2013

My family trip

the hotel was nice and people were very kind. we didn't have the best experience with the massage people. some guy walked around and sold us the massages, when we went inside to pay and do it, we were called liers and that nobody would have offered us that kind of a deal. Tomas was aweosome, that's true wow customer service. Alejandra or Alexandra from the entertainment team was great. she took my daughter and painted with her and kept her engaged on top of all of all the other stuff she was doing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tjst
Business
texas
May 18, 2013

good

have stay here before. food was not up to its usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammie Red
Business
Brentwood, CA, USA
May 21, 2013

Birthday Getaway

Not sure where to start. Everything was so fantastic. The hotel was always clean from top to bottom. If there was anything that you needed, the staff would try and accomodate to the best of their ability.So many staff there to cater to the whims of ALL their guests. Pool areas: CUN what a blast. All the drinks you wanted, (bar staff continuously keep those drinks coming), great games, lots of sun and party time. Kiddy pool: great area for kids and quieter for the adults. Meals were very good, much more than I had expected with it being buffet style. Try some of the speciality restaurants for a change. Rooms were cleaned twice a day with turn down at night. See what animal might be waiting on your bed in the evening. Room bar and ref. were always stocked. Room amenities were great. Only thing that we were not happy with was the bed. It was not comfortable at all. Too many aches and pains when getting up in the morning. Maybe we should have had more margareitas before we went to sleep. All the conviences of a 5 star hotel without the cost. I will be booking again with this chain, and will upgrade the room to an ocean view. It is definately worth the few extra dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M and D Travelers
Business
Florida
Jun 22, 2013

Pleasant Family Getaway

The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The hotel, grounds and beach were beautiful. The rooms could benefit from some touch ups but were comfortable and had great ocean views. Wish their kids program was more consistent and available, but that said my 9 year old still had a wonderful time and enjoyed herself without participating in their kid specific activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top