$231 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
639 out of 639
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tjst
Business
texas
May 18, 2013

good

have stay here before. food was not up to its usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammie Red
Business
Brentwood, CA, USA
May 21, 2013

Birthday Getaway

Not sure where to start. Everything was so fantastic. The hotel was always clean from top to bottom. If there was anything that you needed, the staff would try and accomodate to the best of their ability.So many staff there to cater to the whims of ALL their guests. Pool areas: CUN what a blast. All the drinks you wanted, (bar staff continuously keep those drinks coming), great games, lots of sun and party time. Kiddy pool: great area for kids and quieter for the adults. Meals were very good, much more than I had expected with it being buffet style. Try some of the speciality restaurants for a change. Rooms were cleaned twice a day with turn down at night. See what animal might be waiting on your bed in the evening. Room bar and ref. were always stocked. Room amenities were great. Only thing that we were not happy with was the bed. It was not comfortable at all. Too many aches and pains when getting up in the morning. Maybe we should have had more margareitas before we went to sleep. All the conviences of a 5 star hotel without the cost. I will be booking again with this chain, and will upgrade the room to an ocean view. It is definately worth the few extra dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M and D Travelers
Business
Florida
Jun 22, 2013

Pleasant Family Getaway

The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The hotel, grounds and beach were beautiful. The rooms could benefit from some touch ups but were comfortable and had great ocean views. Wish their kids program was more consistent and available, but that said my 9 year old still had a wonderful time and enjoyed herself without participating in their kid specific activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victoria P.
Business
Cancum Mexico
Jul 21, 2013

Cancun trip Mid July 2013

Overall our stay was pretty good. My only complaints was the air conditioning was not good enough in our room. Even though It was cool, the room never cold enough to sleep well. Needed to sleep with no sheets and the fan running high to be moderate comfortable. I did request at the front desk many times that they send someone to fix our ac but never helped. The front desk staff was hit and miss on politeness. We had 2 or 8 phone calls had a rude front desk. However, the wait staff and the room maids were magnificent! I have a peaky 9 year old eater and since she liked the empanadas at the Mexican restaurant, even though it was just appetizer they brought her a plate full. Very nice and thoughtful. They made our dining experience great. Additionally, this all inclusive was really all inclusive, not once did I have to ask for a drink twice, they kept it flowing especially at dinner, even at the buffet. Justino our kids favorite waiter and definitely our since our kids liked them was always very attentive. There are plenty of activities always going on at the hotel, you never really have to leave because there is plenty to do on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family fun time in mexico
Business
Albuquerque
Jun 5, 2013

Great vacation

We had a lot of fun. Even with the rain. The staff was excellent and the food was good. The water at the beach was beautiful and warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to oingo boingo.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE Salsa King
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 28, 2013

Fantastic place to relax and enjoy the sun and beach

Overall, my family and I enjoyed our stayed at this hotel. All employees BUT the front desk employees were very nice and helpful. This hotel has to definately change the young people working at the front desk, they don't know what they are doing and do not show care for your needs. I had to call several times making the same requests, there was never a scence of urgency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants across the hotel.

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HoustonRome
Business
Houston
Aug 20, 2013

Great Location

Location was central to all of Cancun's main clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mijp
Business
Stow, Ohio
Aug 28, 2013

great vacation place

we had a great time ime in 2012, so we went back in 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mxlllo6
Business
chantilly, va
Aug 31, 2013

Great experience

Surprisingly good foods in the international buffer; great pool view and beach; the only complaint is the dampness in the room even with air conditioning on all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CleOHTraveler
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 8, 2013

Fantastic Staff in an Overall Good Hotel

Atmosphere: Nice and well kept, however as other reviews mention, a rotten egg/sewer smell was periodically noticeable in the main pool area. Did not last long and came in spurts. Beach: Very nice and well kept. Minimal waves, slightly rocky, and a decent number of fish in the water. Beds: Mediocre; Sheets were rough and beds were stiff. Two of the four people in our group often woke up with a sore back. Drinks: Mediocre; Liquor was VERY watered down, frozen drinks contained minimal alcohol, but beer wine and champagne were plentiful (Beer was Dos Equies). Location: Close to the heart of it all, however between the two RIU hotels we did not venture off the resort very often. Pools: 2 pools, one "family friendly" and another with a swim-up bar and activities. The family pool was very nice, but the swim-up bar was noticeably "warmer" in temperature and always filled with people who never got out of the pool. Before going in the swim-up pool, go look at the water at night with the lights on. The particle difference between the two was remarkable. Restaurants: 5 restaurants and 1 main buffet. Italian was sub-par (shrimp linguine); Mexican was sub-par (mixed fajitas); Japanese was good (beef/vegetable dish); Fusion was very good (Lamb); Steakhouse was excellent (surf and turf); Buffet was overall good as the dishes always change but the restaurants in general proved a better meal. Rooms: Pay for the ocean view, it is well worth it. Our first room was "lagoon view" which consisted of facing another hotel with ongoing construction. Towards the end of our stay, we were upgraded to an ocean view and the difference was remarkable. Staff: Staff was remarkable. Very friendly and attentive. A small tip goes a long way, however it is not required. Overall: I would recommend this hotel to a friend. We made a few trips to the RIU next door and it was crowded, loud, and sub-standard to the level of attention and detail we received at the Palace Las Americas. If you book, book an ocean view. (Outside Resort): If going in 2013 I'd recommend a trip to Coba as this is the last Mayan pyramid you are still allowed to climb. The hotel staff mentioned that at the end of the year, the public will no longer be allowed to climb the pyramid. (Note: Coba is a 2 hour drive each way). Swimming with the dolphins was also a highlight of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top