$372 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
628 reviews
Was better than expected!

food was great! staff was great! overall will be back See full review

  • las super dad
  • Nov 27, 2014
Memorable vacation

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Me and my friend enjoyed our vacation. See full review

  • brence
  • Nov 16, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (628)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GENERALBS1
Nashville, Tn.
Nov 20, 2012

GREAT SERVICE

Great experience from start to finish, second time at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try the club hop tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lioness7731
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Great Beach

Compared to other resorts I've stayed at in Riviera Maya and Puerto Vallarta, this resort had the best beach by far. It was clean, white sand and no rocks to worry about stepping on in the swimming area. We also had the absolute best server on the beach named Amilcar who always brought our drinks to us with a smile and a joke. When staying at the Palace you can enjoy the Riu Cancun resort as well which has a little better snack bar during the afternoon and a bigger buffet at night. We didn't play at the pool bar at Palace but did hang out for awhile at the Cancun pool bar...we mostly stayed at the beach. The only unpleasant thing I was hoping would be different at Palace was the quality of the drinks - more specifically the mixers. Maybe most all-inclusives carry only cheap mixes and juices, but was hoping that spending a little more money this year would be different but guess not. Stick with the frozen drinks like Miami Vices and Bahama Mamas if you like those. The rooms were kept clean if you wanted housekeeping, and you got towel animals on those days which is always amusing. room service left a lot to be desired as well..not many choices and the food was cold. Cold, congealed nachos are not very good, even when you are drunk :) The reservation restaurants were fabulous though, especially Tio Pepe's and the Steakhouse. We didn't get to try Sakura as they were full every night and you were not allowed to book a place more than two days in advance which was disappointing. Overall though, very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew4105
Business
Mount Prospect, IL
Apr 26, 2012

Great family vacation

Very nice hotel! Nice beach with small waves. Great location very close to the action. This hotel has 2 pools one that is very quiet which makes it great for relaxing and for young kids. The other has more action and more sun. The food was OK except for the breakfast buffet which was great! Great time had by all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Good kids shows every night that get the children involved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AntJ
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 3, 2012

Getaway!

Great hotel! Perfect location, not even a mile away from the main hotel zone. Food was great and the pools were huge and wonderful. Great couple spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make Sure you make reservations at all the restaurants at the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Lover Lynne
Business
Orlando
May 14, 2012

Excellent Family Vacation

We enjoyed our family vacation with our adult children at the Riu Palace in Cancun. The beach was incredible! The view from everyone's room was breath taking. The staff was wonderful, often anticipating your needs before you even request something. Activities around the pool were entertaining. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would highly recommend for family reunions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant on site was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JudyO
Business
Chicago
Jun 27, 2012

Great getaway

I'd never been to Cancun, much less to an all-inclusive, but my husband and I were looking for a little getaway to take advantage of some plane tickets. After much investigation, I chose Riu Palace Las Americas. It is a beautiful hotel… one of the prettiest in Cancun from the outside. From the inside, also spectacular. The lobby is filled with marble everywhere, the towering ceiling showcasing beautiful stained glass that stretches nearly from one wall to the other. Having gone in January, we had nice breezes while outside and with the beautiful décor we were constantly reminded that we were someplace special and far away. We arrived later in the evening and were upgraded to a honeymoon suite without request at check-in, which was fantastic. We got up to the room – it was beautiful and just like one of the pictures provided, with a smaller relaxing area off of the ‘bedroom’ and wrap-around balcony. There was an issue with water on the tile floor there (due to sliding glass door left open), but it was cleaned up immediately during our visit downstairs and we never had another issue during our stay. I did notice a slight musty odor, but it obviously wasn't too bad as I didn’t even end up using the deodorizer I had brought along after reading other reviewers. The room was clean; you could see some areas in the hotel that needed a bit of repair (cracks & plaster repair) but nothing overtly distracting. The food at the hotel was at times really good and at other times mediocre. Be sure to sign up for dinners early and often. Our favorite was the Japanese restaurant, and my least favorite was probably the steakhouse (steaks WAY too thin). Guess I’m spoiled by Midwest American beef. I enjoyed eating lunch at the outside restaurant just off the pool/patio area, where we had some great fajita-type meals. Breakfast was decent… I’m more of an egg/bacon/fruit person and it was nice to have whatever you wanted but I was surprised that for a 4-star hotel that the offerings in the main dining area weren’t of a little higher quality. A lot of the fruit was really average and the melon was not tasty at all... I'd hoped for better after I was in a place where fruit should grow really well! Pineapple, grapefruit & grapes were good. I also did not like eating at the main dining area for lunch as the options during that time were not as tasty – however, once we figured out where & how to eat we were quite happy. There is an Italian restaurant that you can eat at for lunch, which we enjoyed. I regretted an evening out to an expensive dinner outside the hotel – not needed with all the dinner options in the hotel itself. I had my first pina coladas which turned out to be my drink of choice for this trip – somehow they were just perfect. Spent the last 2 days of our trip reading and lounging on the patio under palm trees and listening to the ocean. Servers would come by and as if we needed anything frequently enough; I was so relaxed by the end of the trip it was hard to think about going home. This was our first experience with all-inclusive and I loved the freedom of not having to worry about money and tipping. Would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up as early as possible with the reservation consierge for the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FamilyWithKids
Business
Chicago
Jul 9, 2012

Superb family vacation!

Pros: * Location is great; you can walk over to the other RIU resorts too which is great. * Food is great - buffet and the restaurants. Although we didn't get to try all the restaurants. * Service is really good. Waiters in the bar, pool, beach and restaurants were really good. * Rooms are awesome! Great view - we had a jr suite ocean view which was totally worth it. * Hard liquor, beer, soda and water - stocked daily in the room. We loved it!! * They had a bunch of activities for the kids every day - my 4 yr old had a blast. Cons: * Both the pools close at 7 which is really a bummer! I probably would look for a place where the pool is open until later or even overnight. * Restaurant reservations were hard to come by - particularly hard because we had a big group. But the buffet was pretty good for dinner too. * Not a lot of shade by the beach on one side - same with the pool. Fortunately, we went at a time that wasn't too hot - it was in the 80s. 100+ would have been bad though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco bongo which is a must-go dance club is really close. Ask at the front desk - they have free drop off service which is really good since they take you past all the crazy lines to get into the club. There is also a so-so dance club in Riu Cancun next door. Not so great but its a dance club... Jetski, parasailing and stuff available in the resort - pricey but definitely haggle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovely Mimi
Business
Herndon VIrginia
Jul 25, 2012

Romantic vacation

This was our second time staing in this hotel and we enjoyed it as much as we did last time we highly recommend it. Very friendly staff and high quality food .beautiful swimming pools and lots of intertainment day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Remember to make reservation for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akb006
Business
texas
Jun 8, 2012

Great

Hotel was very nicely kept, one of the best I have seen in Mexico. The beds were terrible, restaurants were fairly good, staff was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel next door is a RIU hotel so all amenities can be used there also with all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AA Supreme
Business
New York
Sep 6, 2012

Great experience. Great value.

My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves. The pools are great (one for activities and one for peace and quiet). The beach is fabulous. The staff is super-nice and helpful. There are a lot of families and children, so I wouldn't call it a classic couples resort. Overall we had a great time and will definitely be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The buffet at Roberto's was probably the best dining experience on the resort. We tried some of the reservation-restaurants, but nothing beat the quality of the food at Roberto's. So don't fret if you can't get a reservation at some other place. Also, if you want prime deck-chair placement you'll need to get up between 7am & 8am to save them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ML Charlotte
Business
North Carolina
Sep 12, 2012

Beautiful Family Getaway

We enjoyed this hotel from day 1 to last day of our stay. We definetly are coming back to Riu Palace Las Americas !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top