Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bkvd. Kukulcan Lote 4 Hotel Zone KM 10, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
622 reviews
Great time - friendly staff

Great time - friendly staff. Location is close to many activities and shopping See full review

  • NYCVAS
  • Oct 23, 2014
Fun entertainment staff and Great Resort overall!

We would definitely go back to the Riu Palace Las Americas! The entertainment staff did an... See full review

  • DiLu
  • Oct 15, 2014
Sun-soaked Cancun all-inclusive with luxury amenities, two pools

The Riu Palace Las Americas is situated on Cancun's Yucatan peninsula and offers endless ocean views. The property is dotted with palms and fringed by the vibrant waters of the Caribbean Sea. All-inclusive amenities range from unlimited dining at six restaurants to premium beverages at four bars and 24-hour room service. Elegant rooms have fully stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, some with terrace Jacuzzis. Added perks include two swimming pools -- one with an adjoining jetted hot tub -- plus a playground for children and a spa offering restorative massages and body treatments.

Highlights
  • Conveniently located in Cancun's hotel zone
  • All-inclusive dining and cocktailing at 10 venues, plus 24-hour room service
  • Rooms with stocked mini bars and terrace Jacuzzis
  • Exchange privileges with other Riu properties during the day
Rooms

The 372 guest rooms have either a king-sized bed or two double beds. Most have either a private balcony or terrace overlooking the Nichupte lagoon or the ocean. Amenities in all rooms range from in-room climate control, satellite TVs and ceiling fans to stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers, in-room safes, telephone with available data port and bathrooms with hair dryers and Lavarino Cosso products. Suites -- some with terrace Jacuzzis -- have more space, and many have an integrated living area with sofa.

Dining

Guests enjoy 24-hour in-room dining as well as all-inclusive meals and snacks at several a la carte and buffet restaurants. Options include Los Arcos, Japanese restaurant, steakhouse and fusion-minded eatery. Several bars, including a poolside bar and a terrace lounge, offer a respite from the sun-drenched sands. The guests at Riu Palace Las Americas can enjoy the facilities at sister properties Riu Cancun and Riu Caribe during the daytime.

Recreation

The property has a tennis court and gym as well as windsurfing, catamaran, canoe and snorkeling equipment. One introductory scuba lesson may be arranged at the pool free of charge. Additional entertainment includes organized activities for adults and children ages 4 to 12, an on-site nightclub and live music, shows or events nightly.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Cancun (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
  • Cozumel (45 mi/ 72.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (5.2 mi/ 8.3 km)
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Jacuzzi Sea View w/ balcony
Air-conditioned, 1 King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockable), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony or terrace with jacuzzi & bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Suite Sea View w/balcony
King bed, ceiling fan, satelite Flat Screen TV, phone, mini bar & liquor despenser (restockalbe), in room safe, hairdryer, with larger living area including sofa, walk-in closet, larger balcony with spectacular ocean view, larger bathroom, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table, air-conditioned,
Junior Suite Sea View w/balcony
Guest room includes one king size bed, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), balcony or terrace with ocean view and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits, in room safe, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, radio alarm, clock, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso
Junior Suite
Guest room includes two double beds, living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local Flat Screen TV, direct dial phone, mini bar with stock and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, and bathrooms equipped with hair dryer and amenity kits. 90% of these suites have either private balcony or terrace with views to Nichupte lagoon, radio/alarm clock, 110 v, telephone with data port available, Iron with ironing table. New Italian Bathroom amenities Lavarino Cosso

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.1387 -86.7502
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport 12 Miles
Area description
Beachfront property located at Cancun's famous resort area, across street of Plaza Caracol Shopping mall, five minutes walk from Cancun's convention center & discotheque zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2.1 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.2 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.1 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

Bars
La Nuit, Art Deco, La terraza, Cun pool bar and Can swim up bar.
Sakura Japanese
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, light-colored wood paneling, floor-to-ceiling windows, bamboo accents, woven-paddle ceiling fans. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Tio Pepe Tapas
Theme restaurant for dinner Spanish style. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
El Romero
Snack bar and restaurant, snack during the day (burgers, hot dogs, and pizza) and for dinner Grill Steakhouse. Open-air sea view restaurant with table linens, exhibition kitchen Dinner reservations required. Dinner dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Pool snack bar
Serving lunch ad snacks.
Don Roberto
Main restaurant offering buffet style dining and show cooking stations with air-conditioned and white linens, cove ceiling, wrought-iron chandeliers. Open-air sea view terrace. Buffet breakfast and lunch. Theme-buffet dinner served twice a week. Reservation is required
Los Arcos
Italian theme restaurant for lunch and for dinner Brazilian Rodizio style where skewered meats and poultry are sliced at tables. Also open from late night to early morning for snack foods. Air-conditioned restaurant. Reservations required. Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Krystal
A la Carte Gourmet restaurant for dinner. Intimate, air-conditioned, fine-dining restaurant with blue walls, wood paneling, etched mirrors, brocade chairs, white linens. Reservation required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 90 persons Free wireless Internet access lobby area and meeting rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (622)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
622 out of 622
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
navasco
Business
las vegas
Oct 2, 2013

great vacation

This hotel is Amazing.every penny is worthed.The ocean view is breathless.,the beach is so clean,the pools are fun with dj and activities all day.The best thing-the food -no comments,soooo delicios,everything.... you have so much choice of different food every day .i`v been so many places,but the service in Riu Palace Las Americas was #1.All the staff are so friendly and nice,everybody with no exeptions!!!!!!!!t The only thing may be,they can renovate the room or change the mattress.But everything else.......wonderfull!!!!i I`m gonna comme back again for sure!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

everywhere you eat in the hotel you can`t go wrong.The food is # 1.Great job chefs!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tim in Columbus
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Sep 29, 2013

Frequently travel to this area

Our 12th time to an all-inclusive, first one in Cancun, mostly in Riviera Maya. Riu Palace Las Americas is beautiful. Fantastic lobby, grounds and pools. Many reviews have complaints about the front desk, and I have to agree. We arrived 4 hours before the 3pm check in time. I would rather a hotel be honest and say to come back at three. This place goes through the full check in process, telling you that they have good news for you, gives you all the necessary things for your stay, and then tells you the room is not ready. We were told to have lunch and come back at noon (lunch starts at 12:30), we toured the resort for an hour, came back at noon, no room yet. This happened again at one pm and two pm. At 2:40pm, I stayed at the desk and was given my room key. One front desk woman was very snippy when I asked the code to dial a room from the house phone. As she barked, "20 then the room number", I was less than amused. The GREAT service came from: Restaurant waiters: Felipe (breakfast) Miguel (lunch and dinner at Krystal) Bartenders: Marianna and Abu And the absolute BEST service and smiles from pool and beach servers: Enrique, Fermin and William The entire staff was great, and I would rate them a five if not considering the front desk's attitude and incompetence/policies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CleOHTraveler
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 8, 2013

Fantastic Staff in an Overall Good Hotel

Atmosphere: Nice and well kept, however as other reviews mention, a rotten egg/sewer smell was periodically noticeable in the main pool area. Did not last long and came in spurts. Beach: Very nice and well kept. Minimal waves, slightly rocky, and a decent number of fish in the water. Beds: Mediocre; Sheets were rough and beds were stiff. Two of the four people in our group often woke up with a sore back. Drinks: Mediocre; Liquor was VERY watered down, frozen drinks contained minimal alcohol, but beer wine and champagne were plentiful (Beer was Dos Equies). Location: Close to the heart of it all, however between the two RIU hotels we did not venture off the resort very often. Pools: 2 pools, one "family friendly" and another with a swim-up bar and activities. The family pool was very nice, but the swim-up bar was noticeably "warmer" in temperature and always filled with people who never got out of the pool. Before going in the swim-up pool, go look at the water at night with the lights on. The particle difference between the two was remarkable. Restaurants: 5 restaurants and 1 main buffet. Italian was sub-par (shrimp linguine); Mexican was sub-par (mixed fajitas); Japanese was good (beef/vegetable dish); Fusion was very good (Lamb); Steakhouse was excellent (surf and turf); Buffet was overall good as the dishes always change but the restaurants in general proved a better meal. Rooms: Pay for the ocean view, it is well worth it. Our first room was "lagoon view" which consisted of facing another hotel with ongoing construction. Towards the end of our stay, we were upgraded to an ocean view and the difference was remarkable. Staff: Staff was remarkable. Very friendly and attentive. A small tip goes a long way, however it is not required. Overall: I would recommend this hotel to a friend. We made a few trips to the RIU next door and it was crowded, loud, and sub-standard to the level of attention and detail we received at the Palace Las Americas. If you book, book an ocean view. (Outside Resort): If going in 2013 I'd recommend a trip to Coba as this is the last Mayan pyramid you are still allowed to climb. The hotel staff mentioned that at the end of the year, the public will no longer be allowed to climb the pyramid. (Note: Coba is a 2 hour drive each way). Swimming with the dolphins was also a highlight of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad did it
Business
Woburn MA.
Sep 5, 2013

20th wedding anniversary

The hotel is well taken care of, food, and drinks were all top of the line. Staff were all on there game. The one thing i would like to see upgraded would be the bed's to queen not full size. We would very likly return. The kid's had a great time so much to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Trip to Xplor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mxlllo6
Business
chantilly, va
Aug 31, 2013

Great experience

Surprisingly good foods in the international buffer; great pool view and beach; the only complaint is the dampness in the room even with air conditioning on all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family group
Business
Michigan
Aug 31, 2013

Good Hotel but Needs improvement in some areas!

Stayed at RIU PALACE for one week in August ...I will go into detail about my stay =) Checkin: My reservation was for a standard room and I asked for an ocean view and was given an upgrade but didn't have a balcony but took it anyway... Didn't get a welcome drink although I did see other people receiving them ...might depend what time you get in perhaps? Check in was long and check in process was slow! Housekeeping/Room: Room had a bit of a musty smell ...I left 2 dollars and told a housekeeper I seen in the hallway to reclean the room ..When I came back the room looked recleaned and smelled a lot cleaner so I guess if you tip they clean better.. I only tipped the housekeeper the first two days stayed a week the room was cleaned even days a tip wasn't left... Room is all tile no carpet ...Beds I thought were on the hard side and pillows were flat ...Hotel should invest in new matters and pillows ....Overall room was pretty nice...nice size bathroom...bathtub was a lil on the slippery side ..Also the safes in rooms need to be upgraded they are not with a code you are given a key upon check in and if you lose it you have to pay $50 ....annoying having to carry that key around! Food: Food was pretty good not wow but you had plenty to choose from...does get repetitive after a week stay but always found something to my taste ! Only ate the buffet because every night is a themed night at the buffet and you are likely to find most food served at the restaurants at lest one night at the buffet! Pool: Pool area is nice but does show some wear and tear ... We swam anyway but would be nicer if the pool areas didn't look so worn out! Pool service was good they were always asking if you needed a drink! Beach: Very clean beach...Is a smaller beach but no seaweed which I really liked because other cancun hotels have a lot of seaweed on there beach!! Hotel should invest in putting umbrellas on the beach! there are plenty by the pools but would be nice to also have some on beach! Shows: shows were on the chessy side! could be a lot better! Was told other hotels in the area have way better shows...So if you are a show person this may not be a good hotel option! Over all hotel was clean (always seen workers cleaning) but is dated If the hotel did some remodeling and repairs would be a very nice hotel.... would only go back if I found a really good deal and if they did some renovations ...overall was a good trip and we did enjoy had great weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mijp
Business
Stow, Ohio
Aug 28, 2013

great vacation place

we had a great time ime in 2012, so we went back in 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janicetx
Business
Houston, tx
Aug 24, 2013

Great vacation!

Riu Palace LasAmericas was wonderful! The grounds are well maintained and the staff is very attentive. We had a family reunion and I had asked for a reservation for all 22 in the Mexican restaurant before we got there. Pablo did a wonderful job of setting it up as well as other dining reservations. Abundio in the bar is the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HoustonRome
Business
Houston
Aug 20, 2013

Great Location

Location was central to all of Cancun's main clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Las Americas - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE Salsa King
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 28, 2013

Fantastic place to relax and enjoy the sun and beach

Overall, my family and I enjoyed our stayed at this hotel. All employees BUT the front desk employees were very nice and helpful. This hotel has to definately change the young people working at the front desk, they don't know what they are doing and do not show care for your needs. I had to call several times making the same requests, there was never a scence of urgency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants across the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top