Riu Caribe All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 5.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
307 out of 307
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Family
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Apr 25, 2011

Great Family All Inclusive Vacation

Stayed at the Riu Caribe with our family of four. Our kids are 12 & 14 but we also travelled with two other families with kids ranging from 4-12. This resort was great for what we paid. The all inclusive for the kids was perfect! The staff offered clean eating environment with good food!The hotel was kept very clean and the food was plentiful! We were able to snorkel right off the resort and saw some pretty fishes right off the beach. We also rented jet ski's and catamaran's right from the resort. The pool was very nice and the kids loved playing there. There were games and activities everyday(poolside bingo, volleyball, salsa lessons, kids games, sand soccer) as well as entertainment every night. We at in one of the specialty restaurants one night and it was pretty good but the main restaurant, buffet style, offered a large variety of meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel room was ok, fine but nothing too fancy which is what I was expecting. They were good about cleaning and providing plenty of towels. Our friends had three kids and were promised a cot(their room had two double beds) but never received one for their seven year old. So they ended up making a make shift cushion bed on the floor, that wasn't that great but they ended up staying even though they were considering leaving the hotel because of this issue. The front desk staff said they had so many families with lots of kids that they simply didn't have enough cots. That was probably the only real negative. There were shopping opportunities available in the hotel lobby at night as well as the beach during the day. But unlike other experiences I've had on other island vacations, the solicitors didn't harassas you, they just walked by you on the beach and kept going if you didn't show any interest. Some of us got massages outdoors which was pretty cool too- poolside or on the beach under a covered gazebo. We took a snorkel trip off property that was pretty fun for the kids and we did an all day excursion to place called Xplor which offered underwater caves with river floats, ATV's and zip lining. Good for a day out of the sun, most is in caves if you have a lot of sunburns and need a day out of the sun. Overall I would say the package we booked with flght, hotel and trasportation were well worth it and we all had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You need to get reservations for one of their three specialty restaurants very early in the morning, they start taking reservations at 7am so get there quick because they only take 40 people at a seating, two per night total.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Second stay, better than the first

This is the second time i've stayed at this resort. The pool and beach is fantastic and their entertainment has improved since the last time I stayed. We were able to scuba dive, jet ski and parasail directly off of the beach at the resort! Helpful hint...there are several places to eat dinner, but you need to make reservations for all but one, which you should do on your first day since they fill up quickly. Have Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi to flea market either north or south of the resort. Plan on paying $20 for a group of six or more. The market to the north has shopping and restaurants but the market to the south is shopping only. Also, bring your own suncreen! It's extremely expensive if you want to buy at the resort... up to $30 per bottle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATlanta , GA
Apr 12, 2011

Spring Break vacation

Riu Caribe was a nice hotel with many amenities. The food was average, but the staff was very nice. There were nightly shows at the hotel. This hotel was much nicer than the last all-inclusive we stayed in in Cancun. The air conditioning could have been colder, but everything was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, MN
Apr 12, 2011

Enjoyed this hotel and beach

I have been to Cancun 4 times, and loved being on the calm beach side. Swimming in the ocean was a blast, and you can snorkel right at the Hotel's beach - there were lots of fish hanging out by the huge sand bags. The service was excellent, and the food was very good. The only negative was a little noisy at night. This is a perfect family or couple's hotel and this was probably the best Cancun vacation we've had. Short bus trip into Cancun's markets. The nightly shows at the hotel were one thing we looked forward to every night - great entertainment staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MistyOliver
Business
Lewiston, Idaho
Apr 5, 2011

Great Vacation

We enjoyed the hotel, the beach and the pool. A couple of days it was hard to find a chair by the pool. 95% of the chairs would have towels aleady on them by 8:00 a.m. and no one would use the chairs for hours. We were happy with the food. The beer selection was very limited, and there was no lounge or bar area in the hotel other than the main lobby. There were charges to use the in-room telephone, but no notice in the room to let you know. We took a sailing and snorkeling trip. Our kids really enjoyed it. We love the blue water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Lorenzillo's. It is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleve. oh
Apr 3, 2011

switched rooms

the room i was given had no view and was close to noisy lobby. I asked to change and with a 10 dollar tip for bellhop,the next day he searched for me at the pool and beach, gave me the key for the best room I ever had, top floor, inside corner, oversized terrace. the next day I gave him 20 more. what a view!!! The food here is the best I had in Cancun, this is my 3rd time in cancun. I will never come again the last week of march due to many youngsters. but I would love to return to Riu Caribe, when it is less crowded, and as always, wake up early,7am, bring towels down to pool or beach to save chairs! the first day we didnt, but we learned fast.This rule is never enforced anywhere, too bad , some inconsiderate people take advantage, throw a towel, a book, or a sandal on a lounge chair and never come to sit ,these three issues I dealt with and enjoyed this stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latonya super planner
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 31, 2011

Great Family Vacation

This is a great resort in a great location the only complaint I I have is that the 24hr snak bar is nothing but day old sandwiches and hot dogs that they didn't use early in the day other than that it's a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus for only $1.00 drops you off right in front of all the shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Sandofools!
Business
Dayton, OH
Mar 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel, great value

Wonderful experience. Rooms were clean and had a great view of both the ocean and pool area. For an 'all inclusive' the food was great and drinks were plentiful. We took two adult children (18 & 21)and everyone had a great time. This trip was a great value and I would recommend it to anyone considering Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bolingbrook Ill.
Mar 29, 2011

Fantastic value for the price

My trip was from 3/15/11 to 3/22/11. When we arrived and went to check in I asked the lady at the desk if they had spring breakers and she said yes. I told her I did not want to be near them and she told me not to worry. We were given a corner room which had a 24 ft.long x 11 ft. balcony with the most beautiful view I have ever had at a hotel.The room was a little small but it made up for with the balcony. We even had our own lounge chairs. The food was very good for an all Inclusive., I ESPECIALLY LOVED THE FRESH FISH. I am not a big fish eater but I only ate fish for the first 3 days it was so good~! All in all the trip was very good. I would defiitely go back. I have liked all the Riu hotels I have tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

T%he shows are mostly dancing. The Michael Jackson show was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentMexvisitor
Business
Colorado
Mar 24, 2011

Nice for the Price

Typical nice clean rooms for the Riu,beds were very firm, the food was good and a lot of variety, we found the staff friendly and helpful, the spring breakers were a little loud at times but we expected that going at this time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take the city bus to the bar/shopping area of the hotel strip it was easy to catch and only one dollar per person. Lot cheaper than a cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top