Riu Caribe All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 5.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
328 out of 328
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western New York
Jun 27, 2011

Awesome resort!

We had an amazing honeymoon at this resort! Buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Food was excellent and more options then we could imagine. Great pool and swim up bar, (one of the at least 10 you have access to. Very happy, would definetly reccomend, and do not be afraid of Mexico we felt very safe on and off of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If your into going out to bars and clubs, definitely go to Coco Bongos, you won't regret it!

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jun 19, 2011

The good

An accurate honest unbiased review......... We thoroughly enjoyed it and wanted to extend our stay.All of the staff were over friendly and accommodating, just ask and it's handled. The atmosphere is stunning, drinks were great, the food was good The a/c in your room would freeze you out, great after a hot day at the beach. You have your in room alcohol bar, fridge with Pepsi, bottled water and cold beer. The crowd is mixed old and young, with a laid back atmosphere with no big parties and no all night parties to keep you up if you want a little shut eye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
May 5, 2011

Riu Cancun Review

We booked Riu Caribe but got bumped up to the Riu Cancun. The smiling service staff, the energetic, fun entertainment staff and the food was excellent. The beach...beautiful. Weather...perfect. Room was nice except for the COCKROACHES...disgusting! Instead of enjoying the last hours of my trip, I was inspecting our belongings making sure we didn't take any of the roaches home! Another thing...this hotel is marketed as a family resort and they said they don't allow spring breakers...not true...so roudy they had to get a security guard to watch over the partiers...some of them puking over the railings...loud in the halls...they must have gotten drunk somewhere else because the riu cancun will make you drinks all day....and it looks like they are pouring a good amt. of booze right in....it must be fake, MORE THAN watered down in those bottles...everyone I talked to marveled at how we could drink all day and feel no buzz...just heartburn from all the mixes. The beer must be odouls in disguise! I understand they dont want a bunch of drunk people, but that is ridiculous! We paid for that! The shows at 9:45 are not broadway but great fun family entertainment....have the kids take a nap so they will stay up for it. The entertainment staff was great and the people cooking and serving were wonderful. We could do without the fake booze and cockroaches so we won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

have the kids take a nap so they can stay up for the evening show...

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Family
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Apr 25, 2011

Great Family All Inclusive Vacation

Stayed at the Riu Caribe with our family of four. Our kids are 12 & 14 but we also travelled with two other families with kids ranging from 4-12. This resort was great for what we paid. The all inclusive for the kids was perfect! The staff offered clean eating environment with good food!The hotel was kept very clean and the food was plentiful! We were able to snorkel right off the resort and saw some pretty fishes right off the beach. We also rented jet ski's and catamaran's right from the resort. The pool was very nice and the kids loved playing there. There were games and activities everyday(poolside bingo, volleyball, salsa lessons, kids games, sand soccer) as well as entertainment every night. We at in one of the specialty restaurants one night and it was pretty good but the main restaurant, buffet style, offered a large variety of meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel room was ok, fine but nothing too fancy which is what I was expecting. They were good about cleaning and providing plenty of towels. Our friends had three kids and were promised a cot(their room had two double beds) but never received one for their seven year old. So they ended up making a make shift cushion bed on the floor, that wasn't that great but they ended up staying even though they were considering leaving the hotel because of this issue. The front desk staff said they had so many families with lots of kids that they simply didn't have enough cots. That was probably the only real negative. There were shopping opportunities available in the hotel lobby at night as well as the beach during the day. But unlike other experiences I've had on other island vacations, the solicitors didn't harassas you, they just walked by you on the beach and kept going if you didn't show any interest. Some of us got massages outdoors which was pretty cool too- poolside or on the beach under a covered gazebo. We took a snorkel trip off property that was pretty fun for the kids and we did an all day excursion to place called Xplor which offered underwater caves with river floats, ATV's and zip lining. Good for a day out of the sun, most is in caves if you have a lot of sunburns and need a day out of the sun. Overall I would say the package we booked with flght, hotel and trasportation were well worth it and we all had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You need to get reservations for one of their three specialty restaurants very early in the morning, they start taking reservations at 7am so get there quick because they only take 40 people at a seating, two per night total.

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 12, 2011

Second stay, better than the first

This is the second time i've stayed at this resort. The pool and beach is fantastic and their entertainment has improved since the last time I stayed. We were able to scuba dive, jet ski and parasail directly off of the beach at the resort! Helpful hint...there are several places to eat dinner, but you need to make reservations for all but one, which you should do on your first day since they fill up quickly. Have Fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi to flea market either north or south of the resort. Plan on paying $20 for a group of six or more. The market to the north has shopping and restaurants but the market to the south is shopping only. Also, bring your own suncreen! It's extremely expensive if you want to buy at the resort... up to $30 per bottle!

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATlanta , GA
Apr 12, 2011

Spring Break vacation

Riu Caribe was a nice hotel with many amenities. The food was average, but the staff was very nice. There were nightly shows at the hotel. This hotel was much nicer than the last all-inclusive we stayed in in Cancun. The air conditioning could have been colder, but everything was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, MN
Apr 12, 2011

Enjoyed this hotel and beach

I have been to Cancun 4 times, and loved being on the calm beach side. Swimming in the ocean was a blast, and you can snorkel right at the Hotel's beach - there were lots of fish hanging out by the huge sand bags. The service was excellent, and the food was very good. The only negative was a little noisy at night. This is a perfect family or couple's hotel and this was probably the best Cancun vacation we've had. Short bus trip into Cancun's markets. The nightly shows at the hotel were one thing we looked forward to every night - great entertainment staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MistyOliver
Business
Lewiston, Idaho
Apr 5, 2011

Great Vacation

We enjoyed the hotel, the beach and the pool. A couple of days it was hard to find a chair by the pool. 95% of the chairs would have towels aleady on them by 8:00 a.m. and no one would use the chairs for hours. We were happy with the food. The beer selection was very limited, and there was no lounge or bar area in the hotel other than the main lobby. There were charges to use the in-room telephone, but no notice in the room to let you know. We took a sailing and snorkeling trip. Our kids really enjoyed it. We love the blue water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Lorenzillo's. It is wonderful!

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MistyOliver
Business
Lewiston, Idaho
Apr 5, 2011

Great Vacation

We enjoyed the hotel, the beach and the pool. A couple of days it was hard to find a chair by the pool. 95% of the chairs would have towels aleady on them by 8:00 a.m. and no one would use the chairs for hours. We were happy with the food. The beer selection was very limited, and there was no lounge or bar area in the hotel other than the main lobby. There were charges to use the in-room telephone, but no notice in the room to let you know. We took a sailing and snorkeling trip. Our kids really enjoyed it. We love the blue water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Lorenzillo's. It is wonderful!

Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleve. oh
Apr 3, 2011

switched rooms

the room i was given had no view and was close to noisy lobby. I asked to change and with a 10 dollar tip for bellhop,the next day he searched for me at the pool and beach, gave me the key for the best room I ever had, top floor, inside corner, oversized terrace. the next day I gave him 20 more. what a view!!! The food here is the best I had in Cancun, this is my 3rd time in cancun. I will never come again the last week of march due to many youngsters. but I would love to return to Riu Caribe, when it is less crowded, and as always, wake up early,7am, bring towels down to pool or beach to save chairs! the first day we didnt, but we learned fast.This rule is never enforced anywhere, too bad , some inconsiderate people take advantage, throw a towel, a book, or a sandal on a lounge chair and never come to sit ,these three issues I dealt with and enjoyed this stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top