Riu Caribe All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. Km. 5.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
304 out of 304
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, MN
Apr 12, 2011

Enjoyed this hotel and beach

I have been to Cancun 4 times, and loved being on the calm beach side. Swimming in the ocean was a blast, and you can snorkel right at the Hotel's beach - there were lots of fish hanging out by the huge sand bags. The service was excellent, and the food was very good. The only negative was a little noisy at night. This is a perfect family or couple's hotel and this was probably the best Cancun vacation we've had. Short bus trip into Cancun's markets. The nightly shows at the hotel were one thing we looked forward to every night - great entertainment staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MistyOliver
Business
Lewiston, Idaho
Apr 5, 2011

Great Vacation

We enjoyed the hotel, the beach and the pool. A couple of days it was hard to find a chair by the pool. 95% of the chairs would have towels aleady on them by 8:00 a.m. and no one would use the chairs for hours. We were happy with the food. The beer selection was very limited, and there was no lounge or bar area in the hotel other than the main lobby. There were charges to use the in-room telephone, but no notice in the room to let you know. We took a sailing and snorkeling trip. Our kids really enjoyed it. We love the blue water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Lorenzillo's. It is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleve. oh
Apr 3, 2011

switched rooms

the room i was given had no view and was close to noisy lobby. I asked to change and with a 10 dollar tip for bellhop,the next day he searched for me at the pool and beach, gave me the key for the best room I ever had, top floor, inside corner, oversized terrace. the next day I gave him 20 more. what a view!!! The food here is the best I had in Cancun, this is my 3rd time in cancun. I will never come again the last week of march due to many youngsters. but I would love to return to Riu Caribe, when it is less crowded, and as always, wake up early,7am, bring towels down to pool or beach to save chairs! the first day we didnt, but we learned fast.This rule is never enforced anywhere, too bad , some inconsiderate people take advantage, throw a towel, a book, or a sandal on a lounge chair and never come to sit ,these three issues I dealt with and enjoyed this stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latonya super planner
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 31, 2011

Great Family Vacation

This is a great resort in a great location the only complaint I I have is that the 24hr snak bar is nothing but day old sandwiches and hot dogs that they didn't use early in the day other than that it's a great place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus for only $1.00 drops you off right in front of all the shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Sandofools!
Business
Dayton, OH
Mar 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel, great value

Wonderful experience. Rooms were clean and had a great view of both the ocean and pool area. For an 'all inclusive' the food was great and drinks were plentiful. We took two adult children (18 & 21)and everyone had a great time. This trip was a great value and I would recommend it to anyone considering Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bolingbrook Ill.
Mar 29, 2011

Fantastic value for the price

My trip was from 3/15/11 to 3/22/11. When we arrived and went to check in I asked the lady at the desk if they had spring breakers and she said yes. I told her I did not want to be near them and she told me not to worry. We were given a corner room which had a 24 ft.long x 11 ft. balcony with the most beautiful view I have ever had at a hotel.The room was a little small but it made up for with the balcony. We even had our own lounge chairs. The food was very good for an all Inclusive., I ESPECIALLY LOVED THE FRESH FISH. I am not a big fish eater but I only ate fish for the first 3 days it was so good~! All in all the trip was very good. I would defiitely go back. I have liked all the Riu hotels I have tried.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

T%he shows are mostly dancing. The Michael Jackson show was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentMexvisitor
Business
Colorado
Mar 24, 2011

Nice for the Price

Typical nice clean rooms for the Riu,beds were very firm, the food was good and a lot of variety, we found the staff friendly and helpful, the spring breakers were a little loud at times but we expected that going at this time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

take the city bus to the bar/shopping area of the hotel strip it was easy to catch and only one dollar per person. Lot cheaper than a cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOM AND COLLEGE KIDS
Business
MINNETONKA, MN
Mar 22, 2011

JUST RETURNED 3/21/11

THIS WAS OUR FIRST STAY ON THE NORTHERN COAST OF CANCUN - I PREFER THE WAVEY SIDE BECAUSE IT'S FUN TO PLAY BUT THE PRICE WE GOT AT THE RIU CARIBE WAS GREAT SO WE GAVE IT A SHOT. MY COLLEGE AGE KIDS WANT LOTS OF ACTIVITIES AND THE RIU CARIBE FIT THE BILL. THEY OFFER DAILY POOL VOLLEYBALL, BEACH VOLLEYBALL, WATER AEROBICS, BINGO, DANCE LESSONS AND A 'CRAZY GAME' AT 3PM. THE SOUND SYSTEM WASN'T THE BEST AROUND THE POOL SO YOU COULDN'T ALWAYS UNDERSTAND WHAT WAS BEING SAID. I THOUGHT THE MUSIC WAS FAIRLY LAME TOO. THE POOL IS NICE, THEY HAVE A SWIM UP BAR. IF YOU WANT A PLACE TO SIT IN THE SUN YOU'LL NEED TO GET YOUR TOWEL DOWN ON A CHAIR BY 7:30AM - THIS IS PRETTY COMMON AT RESORTS AND I'M USED TO GETTING UP EARLY TO SAVE GOOD CHAIRS. THE BEACH IS NARROW AND FILLED WITH LOUNGE CHAIRS, NOT A WHOLE LOT OF ROOM TO WALK AROUND AND ENJOY THE BEAUTY. THE WATER HAS LOTS OF FLOATING DARK 'NEEDLES' THAT ARE ANNOYING BUT NOT A HUGE DEAL. THE WATER AND COLORS ARE SPECTACULAR. THE BEACH HAS FREE USE OF BOOGIE BOARDS AND HOBIE CAT SAILBOATS, MY DAUGHTER IS A SAILOR SO WE TOOK OUT A SAILBOAT DAILY, VERY FUN. THE FOOD AND DRINKS ARE REALLY GOOD, I WAS SURPRISED. I'M NOT A BIG MEAT EATER BUT THE SALADS, PIZZA, EGGS, CHICKEN WINGS ARE GOOD. THE CHICKEN AT THE STEAKHOUSE WAS EXCELLENT. THE ASIAN RESTAURANT WAS ALSO GREAT, YOU HAVE TO TRY THE FRIED ICE CREAM!! ANOTHER BIG PLUS, THEY HAVE BACON IN THE BREAKFAST BUFFET AND A SOFT SERVE ICE CREAM MACHINE IN THE POOL BAR/RESTAURANT AND ICE CREAM FOR DINNER. THE SPORTS BAR IS OPEN 24 HOURS AND HAS DRINKS, NACHOS, SANDWICHES AND DESSERTS. AT ABOUT 9:30PM EACH NIGHT THERE'S A SHOW IN THE THEATRE, CAN BE FUN. THERE'S A HIDDEN HOT TUB ON A BALCONY BEHIND THE BACK PIZZA BAR, YES, THEY ROLL OUT DOUGH AND COOK PIZZAS RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU (GRANTED, MEXICO DOESN'T SEEM TO KNOW THAT PIZZAS ARE SUPPOSE TO HAVE SAUCE BUT IT'S NOT TOO BAD). ALL IN ALL I WOULD GIVE THE RIU CARIBE 7 OF 10 STARS. SOME MINOR THINGS THAT I DIDN'T LIKE: 1) NOT NEARLY ENOUGH TRASH CANS 2) NO STATIONS TO DROP OFF DIRTY CUPS/PLATES 3) PEOPLE BRING GLASS TO THE POOL & BEACH AND SOME WILL BREAK - I DON'T LIKE ANY GLASS AT THE POOL OR BEACH 4) CAN'T WALK THE BEACH SHORELINE TO SEE OTHER RESORTS, SECLUDED BEACH 5) NO OTHER RESORTS WITHIN A COUPLE MILES, JUST SMALL CONDOS AROUND, NEED TO TAKE A CAB OR BUS TO THE CLUBS OR SENOR FROGS I WOULD GO BACK, IT WAS NICE, OUR BALCONY WAS OVER 100 SQUARE FEET - BE SURE TO GET THE JUNIOR SUITE, WELL WORTH THE $12 BUCKS A NIGHT. ROOMS ARE OUTDATED BUT I'M NOT ON VACATION TO CRITIQUE DRESSERS AND BEDSPREADS - I JUST LIKE THE SUN AND OCEAN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

FRIED ICE CREAM IN THE ASIAN RESTAURANT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new albany indiana
Mar 21, 2011

Nice hotel with terrible service.

Enjoyed the variety of food. [...] Got to the room and the toilet wouldn't flush. The shower head was broke and we could only take a bath. There were 2 light bulbs burnt out of the 3 lamps in the room. I had to call 3 times to get light bulbs. Finally on the second day after calling for a light bulb, they brought us one. The staff did not stock any drinks in the refrigerators until 6pm each night so it was not good timing when you needed them during the day when it was hot. We reserved the tennis courts and they said they weren't available until the next morning at 10am. So we went to the front desk to get our equipment only to find out that the clerk from the night before had us down for a reservation at that time for 2 days prior to that and now we couldn't play tennis until 7pm later that night which cut into our dinner reservations. We received two locks and 1 key for our safe in our rooms. The key matched both locks. When I went to return the key and locks upon check out, the tried to charge me $50 for a new lock and key because they said I received two keys upon check in. When I did not receive two keys with the locks and he said that the key doesn't match both locks, but they did. Not really secure when you have a key work on multiple locks from a theft standpoint. Overall the entertainment was good and the variety of food was good. Nice big pool that was not overcrowded. Would I go back to this resort, NO. If it would have had better service I think it would have been a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Caribe All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 21, 2011

Great Trip

Everything about the hotel was great, the food and service especially. The only complaint I have is the lack of night life, such as a disco or something of the sort. All they have is a sports bar that is open 24/7. However, this complaint doesn't even come close to outweighing the benefits of the Caribe. The beach and pool both share a phenomenal ocean breeze, making it perfect to spend time at each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the main club district of the hotel zone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top