$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
698 reviews
The best

Clean good food the best family resort ever..great overall See full review

  • Eva...
  • Mar 13, 2015
love it

i love the place and will definitely be back to this hotel. See full review

  • Yuly g.
  • Feb 19, 2015
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 698
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krisirome
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 22, 2013

Food, staff, and resort problems

In the three categories: 1. Food--the hotel brags three specialty restaurants, but doesn't tell you that it must be booked two days in advance and they only take 10-12 reservations. We managed to beg our way in one night, only to see the restaurant 1/3 full after being told it was "overbooked". On top of that, one person got food poisoning. The buffet was ok, though expect to see the evening's offerings reappear at breakfast and lunch the next day. 2. Staff: I've never felt so unwelcome at a resort. The management was hesitant to provide any help with a restaurant reservation, emphasized ridiculous policies like checking out 15 minutes late incurs a full day penalty (wonderful since the checkout line takes 15 minutes), or insisting that they cut off bracelets from all people before check out is complete. One couple wanted two juices while they waited for their airport transfer and the bartender wouldn't serve them because they had checked out. It was 1205. Worst of all, the 'security' at the door wouldn't let us load our bags into our own rental car without a OECD of paper, called a checkout sheet and couldn't explain in English why he was looking through the bags in our trunk--only that we need this checkout sheet. I felt like a prisoner trying to breakout. Except I'd paid $300 a night to be there. 3. Resort: the area is so rich with things to do and reasonable restaurants, I would never pay so much for such poor service and mediocre facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat local!! Tons of cute restaurants in this area with great specials!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Californian
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 31, 2009

AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This was the worst ever! The staff is rude, rooms dirty, pools close at 7pm, restaurants have odd hours, no room service, very limited (lowest quality)alcohol selection. The all incl domestic alcohol is ONLY Dos Equis & Jose Cuervo - no top shelf anything! And cannot get corona, sol, pacifico. Pools were filthy with things floating in them (they say they close at 7pm every nite for cleaning - I never saw them being cleaned). Mini bar restocked EVERY OTHER day. Cable went out twice. Staff changed my US dollars into pesos but refused to change pesos back to dollars upon checkout. Had to call down 3 times to get bottled water. When asked for new glasses the staff gave us the dirty ones from room next door that they were currently cleaning. Only decent place to eat is Don Juan (open for 3 meals - closes by 1030pm) and the steak house. Only 24 hr food is at sports bar which is filled w/gnats & filthy floor/counters. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is just as much a rip off. $50-70 cover charge w/all inclusive (all inclusive cheapest brands again....dos equis is the only beer & smirnoff is the top shelf vodka).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Dec 14, 2009

Money was stolen from my room!!!

I had my cash stolen from my hotel room!!! It was inside of my suitcase inside of my wallet!! I booked a day trip with the hotel so the staff knew I'd be out of the room all day. I had the money in the morning and it was gone at night. Someone from the cleaning staff or the people that fill up the mini bar definitely took it. The security manager said that the hotel has no responsibility for anything outside of the safe in the room! Completely ruined my vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Keep all of your valuables and cash in the safe provided or else it WILL get stolen!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura, Ca
Oct 7, 2009

The BED BUG Hotel

We had a very bad experience in this hotel with the bed bugs. The sheets had blood stains and they were old. We will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter Cb
Business
Illinois
Oct 20, 2011

Nothing special

Could be better. The staff was not to kind. Service not that good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JL in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 19, 2012

Not the place to stay unless you are 18 and on spring break

This is probably the worst food I've had in my life. The drinks are gross, and the "premium" alcohol that is listed on the menu at the bar just happens to never be available. The restaurants that require reservations didnt have a single reservation for our group of 4 any of the nights that we were there and we tried to make the reservations the day we checked in. Try another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hot Travelor
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 15, 2009

I travel a lot, this place is over rated

Read above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cancun
Dec 5, 2009

Where is the Beef?

Mexico is our favorite destination, this was the the 2nd time in Cancun;12 other times in Riviera Maya. Property may look impressive from an external perspective, unfortunately it falls very short on some Key Expectations. Unless one is a business traveler, there is little to enjoy in this Hotel. The staff, I must say, really do their best to please you, and even the front desk is attentive with the follow-ups. The beach stretches pretty wide but only 20ft x 80ft is really usable; the balance is occupied by the Volley field or is continuously washed out by the even smallest waves. Thumbs down for the beach and the pools where the sun shows up at 8:30 and disappears at 2pm due to the towering hight of the Hotel. With it, half of your vacation also disappears. At meal time in the Main-Buffet, you'll find decent food presentation but mediocre quality. Fruits, with the exception of Cantaloupe, are usually not ripe therefore not sweet, woody and sour pineapples, or mostly tasteless; breads, danishes and all Desserts made with flower, no exceptions, taste absolutely stale; no fresh fish;frozen only and not accurately tawed because it punctually tastes like ammonia which is used to flash-freeze it on the ships. Meat is the only enjoyable main dish you'll find once you add salt. As for meat choices, don't hold your breath. The Steakhouse menu is very unimpressive and so is the dining experience. At the bars, Beer is always great while choice and quality of liquors is very poor. If you enjoy shopping, you are near everything and that is, seriously, the only reason why one would want to stay at the Riu Cancun (or Palace). Hardly, a good reason for a vacation spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Feb 23, 2010

Not So Happy

The room was not as pictured online. The very tiny balcony did not have an ocean veiw. There was a tall cement wall . The water coming from the faucets was orange and the beds were a nightmare(extremely hard) I thought the staff was friendly and helpful.There was always plenty of food with the all inclusive.The drinks were mostly water. I would not stay there again.Please don't show a room from the good side of Riu Cancun and then put us in the bad side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Emmaus, PA
Mar 15, 2009

Not Good

I just came back from the Riu Cancun and have to say that it was not very good. They apparently do not have enough room at either the beach or by the pool for all the chairs that they have or guests staying in the hotel. So everyday you are literally laying 6 inches from a complete stranger. A couple times I was laying out and people were banging into my chair and even moving chairs over my head! On to the food and drink. As one guest put it to me. "You don't go to cancun for fine dining". The food was mediocre at best. They have 3 restaurants and buffets. The steakhouse is supposed to be the best restaurant. Turns out it is so poorly run that you end up getting a steak cooked rare instead of medium. They then ask you if you will just eat it the way it is!?! Also, I was looking forward to all the fruity frozen drinks and it turns out all their drinks are so sweet! They leave such a bad taste in your mouth that you are forced to drink non-frozen drinks. On the positives is great location, great beach, waves and pool. Also, the rooms are very nice with almost every room having a great balcony with a view. I do not want to forget to say how pleasant the staff was as well. As far as hot tubs and saunas are concerned. Do not go to Riu if you think you are going to have a nice hot tub to relax in. They DO NOT heat the hot tubs. They are freezing cold. Also the sauna is pure heat it is not steam. :( To sum this vacation up. I would NEVER go to Riu Cancun again. It was not cheap and the experience was not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top