$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
680 reviews
Just Right

Good job Riu, again. Enjoyed another Riu resort before and this one did just as well. Look forward... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (680)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 680
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deshawne
Business
Glenwood, IA
Jan 10, 2014

Cannot be a four star.

This hotel while located in the hotel zone - could not have been worse. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly enough....but wanted to make sure that the kids knew not to lose their room keys or their towel keys or we would have to pay some ridiculous replacement amount. When we got to the rooms - we were told that both were suites. They were not. One room had two beds shoved together to seemingly make a king size bed and then a pull out couch. The other room had two very small twin beds shoved together to make a queen sized bed. Neither of the beds were comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked and there were adequate amounts of bottled water. However, the room was in a constant state of moisture. The floor was even slick due to the moisture content in the room. There is no shampoo and/or conditioner included in the room. The comforters and the furniture is from the 70's. Most disconcerting was the lack of coffee. Not available in your room. No coffee maker. No room service. No coffee unless you walk a mile to a dispensary in the lobby. On the plus side, the staff was great. Constantly cleaning, constantly asking if you need anything. The one thing I would suggest for the staff - if it is raining and there are 400+ people with nothing to do....maybe put on a show or ask people to play some games. Overall, the hotel would not rate a two star!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was amazing the service was great. We had a three day wait for reservations so make them early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 13, 2010

bad experience

there was no beach as it shows on the pics, cleaning service extrimly noisy, start cleaning at 7am.......front desk not friendly at all. We had to switch to another hotel....the food was the ONLY thing that was better than other place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MISS TREATED TRAVELER!
Business
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Jun 7, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

Although this hotel may look great on the internet and when you first walk through the door... It is only time before you see the true hotel. Let's put it this way, I have NEVER given a bad review before (if I don't have anything nice to say I do not say anything) but if I do not say something this time I feel someone else will be hurt. OK, lets start at the beginning. Upon entering the hotel no one is there to greet you. We stood in line at the desk for over 1/2 hour, to be handed two keys (not a card but a key) one for the room and a rusty one for the safe both on an old dirty string.Our room looked ok but after a long flight and the wait down stair I just wanted to lay down for a minute. THAT WAS THE SECOND PROBLEM. THE "BEDS" WERE NOT BEDS! They were Just box springs. THERE ARE NO MATTRESSES. Actually wood and springs covered with blankets. But still I thought at least I am on vacation. The next problem came at meal time. I am NOT a picky eater but the food was gross (food that was to be cold food was warm and food that was to be warm was not). Still I ate it and kept up the high spirits that at least I was on vacation. The next morning was the last straw! When we woke up my family (12 year old son and 8 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER) enter the hallway to go to breakfast.. Only to find vomit on the floors, food thrown everywhere, and a grown man PISSING in the hallway. Not to mention the fact that several people passed out drunk near the pool! When this occured infront of my 8 year old I went to the front desk to ask if there was a different part of the hotel that wasn't quite as wild or if there was anything they could do about the man peeing in the hallway and the manager laughed and she said all I could do was leave. [...] I booked the rest of the trip at the GRAND REAL CARIBEA CANCUN next to the Royal Cancun. BOY WHAT A GREAT PLACE!!!!!! It was Night and Day difference. If you want a great vacation book there. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chiksie
Business
santa clara, CA
Nov 8, 2012

A Dump in the name of 5 star...

The hotel is pretty old/run down. They have done a face lift and it looks good from the outside. But when you enter its a stale/old place. The rooms are terrible - bad colors/ terrible furniture. They do not even have key card access and hand out actual keys. I was very disappointed upon entering the hotel and even more in the room. The balcony is tiny. We paid 308$ per night for 3 people and did not even get an extra bed. A complete waste of money. The all inclusive plan - The buffet is decent. The restaurants are practically useless coz they need reservations 2 days in advance, no vegetarian options, the customer service desk staff only works until 4, making it even harder to make a reservation or get your questions answered. It works like a run down market with little assistance. They do not even help with local calls to work with car rentals and such. The entertainment/theater is another hoax. I wanted some entertainment and picked Riu just for this - but that too amateur. Overall, a vacation spoiler with an exorbitant price tag. At best I would give this room 50$ a night and a 2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mag2011
Business
chicago IL
Nov 19, 2012

This hotel is horrible!

Avoid ! The holte is old and infested with cackroaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sabionda2
Business
Cambridge, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Avoid at all cost!!!

The pics don't reflect the current state of this hotel. It's old, rundown, and ugly. Not only that, but the walls of our junior suite were covered in black mold!! The room smelled and it was really humid. Also, the two double beds were right next to each other. Weird! The food was ok, but not great. The people were trashy and drunk. Some of the staff was really rude to us. Others were nice enough, but not great. I'm definitely not going to spend another family vacation at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K.Blair
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Aug 8, 2009

Rui Cancun all inclusive

Food was terrible, air conditioning in room very minimal, no airconditioning in the elevators which were small and no ventilation,like a sweat box. Elevators broken one day and had to walk up 12 flights of stairs with no air conditioning. Pools were very crowded and not relaxing at all. Beds in rooms were the worst and hardest beds ever slept in. All resturants were hot with minimal air conditioning, we pretty much sweated through the whole trip with your only relief was in the pool which was very crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Not at all what we hoped for.

We have been to Mexico several times and stayed at several different resort companies, but never have I had such an experience. While the hotel was beautiful to look at and the staff worked diligently to keep it clean throughout the day that is the best that can be said for it. The beds are so old, saggy and rock hard with springs poking through; we found that the poolside lounge chairs were more comfortable to sleep on. The air conditioners barely worked at all. We were lucky that the weather was perfect or we would have been miserable. The FOOD. Vile, bland, tastless except for being over salted and just plain bad. So much so that one of our party ended up with food poisoning. Even the most basic of meals were a disaster. We could not believe that they couldn't even get the Mexican food right. Never again. RIU resorts have such a good reputation we just couldn't understand what happened at this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GabyL
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Hotel is just OK, but not for small kids. Night shows are nice.

** Check in: The hotel reception is a bit gloomy, feels old. They offer you fresh drinks when you get there. Nice touch. They give you a key for each towel which you have to guard with your life because you only get one and needs to be returned at the end of your stay. So be prepared to keep an eye on them. They close the towel hut at 6 so you are stuck "guarding" your wet towel until the next day if you didn't return it on time. ** Food: There is one buffet restaurant which we used for everything because the other one by the pool had greasy, dry food. The buffet had a huge selection and the food was acceptable for a buffet. We couldn't use 3 of the restaurant because you needed reservations 2 DAYS in advance! We were there for 3 so it was impossible. ** Rooms: They feel old, and outdated but clean and with a nice balcony. Beds are very small and they put the 2 beds together as one for us, a family of four. We had to order an extra small bed for our 6 yr old in order to be more comfortable. We paid extra for that bed. ** Pools: BEWARE if you have small kids. The only pool where they were safe was the size of a jacuzzi. There was one with a decent depth but the bar was there so too many drunk people to be around kids. The other pools are VERY deep. Not kid friendly at all. Women sunbathe topless with no restrictions. My husband ask someone from the staff if they could say something and he asked "what, you don't like it?" ** Shows: They have pretty decent shows at night. The girls enjoyed all 3 of them. The MC has a tendency to tell people that they work 12 hours a day (pity) and the "deserve" more respect and more applause. At their age, hanging out at the pool all day having fun doesn't seem very sacrificing. Nevertheless, they are very talented and most of them are nice. We had a good experience because we take things as they come and make the best of it. We woulnd't go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Perico's Restaurant. Even if you are staying at an all inclusive please go there. The waiters are amazing and they are super entertaining. It is really one of a kind. Lots happening everywhere. Fun for the whole family. Also, the crew of Samba 2 that leave from Playa Tortugas port are very nice if you want to go snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alxp
Business
San Ramon, CA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Will think twice

Overall the trip to Cancun was fine. It is a good thing we don't spend a lot of time in the room. The room was dated and beds were extremely uncomfortable. When we first arrived, there was this acrid smell, which took a day to clear out. We were woken up a number of times by loud obnoxious guests, and there were multiple altercations among the guests at the pool. Of course in an all inclusive, alcohol was flowing all day contributing to such behavior. Although we did not let these issues keep us from having a good time, I would really think twice about staying at another RIU hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top