$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
666 reviews
Great Resort

The resort was great. The staff was friendly, the rooms were very clean. Great location! See full review

  • joyk
  • Aug 25, 2014
The riu cancun was unbelievable

Food was great had rice and beans and great variety and loved the fried chicken great cosmetics for... See full review

  • Leeman
  • Aug 12, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week.
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (666)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 666
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Dec 10, 2009

Don't stay here!

Bad service, terrible food. My girlfriend and I actually WALKED OUT of one of the restaurants in the hotel. The staff is clueless and poorly trained. The entertainment shows are just the pool staff acting like idiots on stage. The place is embarrassing. Also, [...] misinformed us about whether the hotel offers room service. THEY DO NOT. [...] I would recommend strongly against the Riu Cancun, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAandSA
New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

so disgusting had to leave early

Do not waste your money. The hotel is disgusting. There are bed bugs, the rooms stink, the water smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Honeymooner 2
Cancan
Mar 7, 2013

Dirty

Dirty sheets, hair on silverware, hair on toilet seat & water from shower smelled horrible. Told them it was my honeymoon gave me a room with two double beds & stained sheets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Franklin84
New York, NY, USA
Oct 29, 2011

One of the worst hotels ever

The staffs are not friendly at all. If you are not fluent in Spanish, best of luck getting the help you need. All the activities are at least 1/2 hour late. Hotel is not accommodating to travelers in distress. We experienced Hurricane Rina during our vacation stay there and hotel can't even provide any accommodations. They insisted that we have to checked out. We ended up paying taxi to go to the airport even though we found out our flight was cancelled. We stayed at Marriott courtyard. We totally regretted staying with Riu Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SM11
New york
Jan 21, 2014

HORRIBLE!!! not worth the money!

We have been excited for the trip to Riu but as we arrived there we were horrified.... We have been to 3-4 star resorts that have much more better service and beaches than this 5 star... The was a tiny beach ( if you can call it a beach) for such a tremendously huge resort.... three small pools... but they are located in such a way, both beach and resort that the sun appears only for few hours and than it hides besides the high Riu building....FOOOD is HORRIBLE!!! every single day the same food....most of it - fast, fat food....i got stomach virus there.....rooms look like ancient times, smells horrible, there was mould in the bathtub...I was shocked to find out that my sheets, towels, can be changed once in couple of days!!!!! If you want your vacation to be a disaster - go for RIU Cancun!!! Would not recommend ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston tx
Aug 14, 2009

horrible service/horrible hotel

It's a big fat mess. I paid for a suite and they gave someone else my room. They were out of suites, so i didn't get one nor did i get a refund. Plus, they turn off the ac on occasion. I don't think our room ever got below 85. I've never had a bad experience in Mexico until now :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee
Jan 25, 2011

Poor Service

Room was not ready @ 3:00 p.m. Desk clerk tried to move me to one of their hotels in Riviera Maya. I declined. He guaranteed me an excellent room if we would return to the desk in 1 1/2 hours(reservation had indicated it was our anniversary requesting a nice room, which I reiterated at the desk). When we came back it was obvious he had done nothing to secure a room and then quickly gave us a nothing special room on the 3rd. floor with the worst view in the hotel right above an outdoor bar. Our reward for waiting 1 1/2 hours. In addition to really poor service at the front desk at check-in, we had horrible service at the front desk when we needed to extend our stay 2 days because of flight cancellation. They had plenty of vacancies, and we would not have to change rooms. However, the female front desk supervisor informed my wife that instead of just extending our stay we had to call Riu from our room (upcharge) to book again. It was now 10:00 a.m. and checkout is at 11:00 a.m. We were also informed that if we did not secure a new reservation by 11:00 a.m. and our belongings were in the room we would be charged $100 U.S.D./hour starting at 11:01 A.M. How's that for customer service? Additionally, we couldn't help but feel Riu Cancun was on some cost cutting campaign. This was evidenced by: the cheapest liquor I have ever experienced, poor quality food that was re-worked into other dishes, racing to immediately put all food away at designated times, and for the entire 9 days we stayed we were not able to get a bar of soap without going to the front desk and making a special request. Lastly, this place really needs to do something about their smoking policy. It was very difficult to sit on your balcony, use any of the common bathrooms, be at any of the pools, or be in the lobby without smoke becoming an issue. By the way, I emailed Riu (We're Riu class members) with my concerns and they didn't even have the courtesy to respond. This is a 3 star property at best. I would avoid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
SO JORDAN UTAH
Dec 4, 2009

VERY BAD HOTEL-NEEDS MAJOR UPDATING

THE YOUNG PEOPLE AT THE FRONT DESK WERE RUDE. WHEN YOU ASKED THEM A QUESTION IT WAS LIKE YOU WERE PUTTING THEM OUT. THE TV'S WERE WERE LIKE WATCHING YOUR LAP TOP. NO AUTOMATION, THE FITNESS CENTER HAD EQUIPMENT IN IT OLDER THAN DIRT. THE EQUIPMENT HAD GREASE FITTINGS THATS HOW OLD THEY WERE. THE FOOD WAS NOT VERY AMERICANIZED SO TO US IT WAS NOT VERY GOOD. IT WAS REALLY LIKE CAFETERIA FOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN THE HOTEL. NO FLAT SCREEN TV'S. I COULDNT FIND A CHAIR IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL THAT WAS COMFORTABLE. THE LOUNGE CHAIRS AT THE POOL WERE THE BEST.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MarinaStylist
miami, fl
May 8, 2011

Do not go there!

I do not suggest going to this hotel. It smells horribly of mold and dingy. The first room they gave us smelled so bad, we walked right out after 1 minute. Not only did the whole hotel smell moldy & dingy, all our belongings smelled like that after we got back. Also, the whole is infested with Wilson birds. Impossible to eat a normal a normal meal outside without birds flying by your head trying to steal your food. If step away for one second from your plate, you will have a plate of birds! Food was not good either. The only meal of the day that was bareble was breakfast. Cant really mess up pancakes and eggs. Would need to wake up 8am to get chairs by the pool. The only thing that was good was the waiter service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Nov 30, 2009

Great location, but not as advertised

I will start off with the good points of this hotel. The main one being its location, if you want to be close to everything this is perfect. We were able to walk to the clubs and it literally took us about 10minutes. The hotel is beautiful, we had a suite on the 6th floor with great views of the ocean. Now I will cover the bad points. First of all before booking this hotel I read a lot of reviews and went over all of the hotel information. First, according to the hotel information there are 4 restaurants and a Sports Bar that has food/drinks 24 hours. The truth is that there is 1 buffet style restaurant and as for the Sports Bar the food that is available is cold burgers and hotdogs that is left on trays at all times. The hotel tells you that there are 4 restaurants that you must make reservations in advance. Here is where the hotel is very deceptive. We arrived at around 12pm and were given a rundown of all of the restaurants and we went over to make our reservations. As we waited in line I heard the reservation clerk telling the guests in line that there were no reservations available for any of the 4 restaurants until Sunday. When we went to make our reservations we were told the same thing that all restaurants were booked to capacity, we explained to the lady that we were leaving on Monday and that it seemed ridiculous that we could not get a reservation until Sunday. The overall attitude of the staff was just to brush you off and say "oh you need to speak with so and so" instead of addressing the problem. I asked several of the staff if the hotel was full and they all answered that the hotel was at less than 50% capacity. In my opinion the hotel does not want you to take advantage of the 4 restaurants and lies about not having any reservations available. This was confirmed when we went to our dinner that we were able to reserve for Sunday and the place we were told was booked to capacity was only half full. If you have traveled to Mexico and are used to the great service, this is going to be a shock for you. The service is not personal and you get the feeling that no one really cares whether you are satisfied at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going out, save yourself money and walk instead of taking a cab.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search