$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
701 out of 701
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missy04747
Business
Hicksville, NY
Aug 26, 2011

Good hotel

I've been to Cancun Mexico 3 times prior to this trip. I stayed at another Riu Hotel my last trip there. This was definitely better than the other Riu hotel, but nothing spectacular. The food was good. Not great. I received a free upgrade to a corner room so I'm not sure what the regular rooms look like. The staff was great. Very friendly. I would have liked the hotel more if the food was better. And I wasn't a fan of how they book reservations for the restaurants where you need reservations. You have to be up at 8am to get in line and it books up VERY fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If they give you a price on something and you attempt to leave.. you can cut that price in half.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chippie
Business
WV
Oct 14, 2011

susie

prefer a more quiet hotel, smaller, different food choices- it all tasted the same, but staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Distileria

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gina Q
Business
New Jersey
Nov 12, 2011

Wonderful Vacation!

Riu Cancun is a terrific resort. We were greeted immediately with friendliness and a drink while checking in. The staff was amazing! the rooms were average but very clean. The food was OK. Dinners ala cart were better than the buffets. Make dinner reservations as soon as you check in or you will not get a reservation. Overall a great relaxing and entertaining resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ponch
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Yearly Cancun trip

This is the 3rd trip to Cancun. We have stayed at Viva Beach the 2 previous times. So the positives are.....better food and more pools. The buffet restaurants have a great selection and the food is pretty good. They have 4 pools, which is nice. As for drink service by the pools or the beach I didn't see much service around. The pool bar closes like at 6. Way too early for me. The negatives are...beach was nice but not much sand area. The beach is really narrow and there are alot of rocks in some area. We went during low season which was not a problem getting space but I'm sure during high season it would be really hard to get a lounge chair or palapa if you're not up by like 7 a.m. The bars are all ok. The sports bar is my favorite because they stay open 24 hours. Pretty much at midnight everything in the hotel is closed. They turn off all lights and there's really nothing to do at the hotel but hang out at the sports bar. Oh, there is a small club that opens at 11 and closes at 2. It's ok to go for a while The rooms....well...what can I say. We got a suite and it was really big. Yes, the rooms are outdated and the beds are hard, but I can live with that for a few days. What I cannot tolerate is the fact that our room had ROACHES....YES ROACHES! We killed like 5 roaches in our restroom. We told the front desk and all they said was they would send someone to take care of it but did not give us another room. When we got back in our room that night it smelled like raid. Overall, even though the Viva Beach is a smaller hotel I had a better experience there. I would probably not go back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sam Patel
Business
Dallas Texas
Nov 29, 2011

Well located Hotel

Expected more from a 5 star hotel Rooms were comfortable. Entertainment could have been better. Friendly staff. There should have been more variety in the food section. Wi Fi was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConnieandEd
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Lots of fun

We did have a great time and the staff was nice and unobtrusive.The bed was very uncomfortable! The drinks could have had more alcohol of a better quality. The weather was very windy so we couldn't use the elevator past the second floor for a few days. Everything was very clean and well run. We mostly ate at the buffet because it was very good and convenient. The food was fresh and delicious! Get better beds and we'll come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cardinal111
Business
Illinois, USA
Mar 24, 2012

A bit dissapointed

Pools and beach were very nice. Included water activities (snorkeling & kayaking) didn't happen due to beach conditions, although other resorts still allowed them. Several guest used their own equipment. Towel cards are given out at check in, while at the beach someone grabbed one of our towels & it cost $20 us to replace it. Several loud drunken guest one of wich tripped over me and dumped his drink on my son. Mattress was very hard making it difficult to get a good nights rest. While waiting for the evening show we were told by one the staff that snacks weren't allowed at the patio tables, the next evening several larger groups were at th same tables with snacks and it wasn't a problem. Overall not a great stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not quite pleased
Business
Peoria, IL
Mar 27, 2012

Nice property except for rooms need updated

The hotel grounds, amenities and staff are very good. However, the rooms are in drastic need of renovation. The rooms and linens smell like mildew. I would return to this resort only after the rooms are renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Azul88
Business
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Apr 8, 2012

Good location

Good location Great food Avarege rooms Bad Room air conditioner Average service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great food, lousy beds.

The hotel was beautifully placed on a great beach. The staff were perfect: friendly, courteous and attentive. The food was very good at the general buffet, however, the special dining rooms failed to impress us. There are three "special dining options": a steakhouse, a Brazillian steakhouse and a Japanese steakhouse. We visited the first two and it was not worth t he hassle to get a reservation. (One has to arrange the dinners at least 24 to 48 hours in advance and it can only be done in person so that leaves your first "special dining" experience to the third day of your trip or perhaps the second if you are lucky.) Nevertheless, the meals there were not anything to write home about. In marked contrast, however, the general dining option was FANTASTIC and great for a family. Lots of variety and fresh vegetables and fruit. We had two rooms: the top of the line room and a above grade room for our kids. The beds were terrible: hard and uncomfortable. THe AC did not work sufficiently either in both of our rooms. Considering we did not spend much time in the rooms, this did not turn out to be such a problem, however. If one is considering booking excursions, check with your travel agent to look for discounts. The hotel adds a premium if you book through them. Overall, a fine place for a family vacation with pleasant staff folks to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top