$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ponch
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Yearly Cancun trip

This is the 3rd trip to Cancun. We have stayed at Viva Beach the 2 previous times. So the positives are.....better food and more pools. The buffet restaurants have a great selection and the food is pretty good. They have 4 pools, which is nice. As for drink service by the pools or the beach I didn't see much service around. The pool bar closes like at 6. Way too early for me. The negatives are...beach was nice but not much sand area. The beach is really narrow and there are alot of rocks in some area. We went during low season which was not a problem getting space but I'm sure during high season it would be really hard to get a lounge chair or palapa if you're not up by like 7 a.m. The bars are all ok. The sports bar is my favorite because they stay open 24 hours. Pretty much at midnight everything in the hotel is closed. They turn off all lights and there's really nothing to do at the hotel but hang out at the sports bar. Oh, there is a small club that opens at 11 and closes at 2. It's ok to go for a while The rooms....well...what can I say. We got a suite and it was really big. Yes, the rooms are outdated and the beds are hard, but I can live with that for a few days. What I cannot tolerate is the fact that our room had ROACHES....YES ROACHES! We killed like 5 roaches in our restroom. We told the front desk and all they said was they would send someone to take care of it but did not give us another room. When we got back in our room that night it smelled like raid. Overall, even though the Viva Beach is a smaller hotel I had a better experience there. I would probably not go back to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sam Patel
Business
Dallas Texas
Nov 29, 2011

Well located Hotel

Expected more from a 5 star hotel Rooms were comfortable. Entertainment could have been better. Friendly staff. There should have been more variety in the food section. Wi Fi was weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConnieandEd
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Lots of fun

We did have a great time and the staff was nice and unobtrusive.The bed was very uncomfortable! The drinks could have had more alcohol of a better quality. The weather was very windy so we couldn't use the elevator past the second floor for a few days. Everything was very clean and well run. We mostly ate at the buffet because it was very good and convenient. The food was fresh and delicious! Get better beds and we'll come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cardinal111
Business
Illinois, USA
Mar 24, 2012

A bit dissapointed

Pools and beach were very nice. Included water activities (snorkeling & kayaking) didn't happen due to beach conditions, although other resorts still allowed them. Several guest used their own equipment. Towel cards are given out at check in, while at the beach someone grabbed one of our towels & it cost $20 us to replace it. Several loud drunken guest one of wich tripped over me and dumped his drink on my son. Mattress was very hard making it difficult to get a good nights rest. While waiting for the evening show we were told by one the staff that snacks weren't allowed at the patio tables, the next evening several larger groups were at th same tables with snacks and it wasn't a problem. Overall not a great stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not quite pleased
Business
Peoria, IL
Mar 27, 2012

Nice property except for rooms need updated

The hotel grounds, amenities and staff are very good. However, the rooms are in drastic need of renovation. The rooms and linens smell like mildew. I would return to this resort only after the rooms are renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Azul88
Business
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Apr 8, 2012

Good location

Good location Great food Avarege rooms Bad Room air conditioner Average service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great food, lousy beds.

The hotel was beautifully placed on a great beach. The staff were perfect: friendly, courteous and attentive. The food was very good at the general buffet, however, the special dining rooms failed to impress us. There are three "special dining options": a steakhouse, a Brazillian steakhouse and a Japanese steakhouse. We visited the first two and it was not worth t he hassle to get a reservation. (One has to arrange the dinners at least 24 to 48 hours in advance and it can only be done in person so that leaves your first "special dining" experience to the third day of your trip or perhaps the second if you are lucky.) Nevertheless, the meals there were not anything to write home about. In marked contrast, however, the general dining option was FANTASTIC and great for a family. Lots of variety and fresh vegetables and fruit. We had two rooms: the top of the line room and a above grade room for our kids. The beds were terrible: hard and uncomfortable. THe AC did not work sufficiently either in both of our rooms. Considering we did not spend much time in the rooms, this did not turn out to be such a problem, however. If one is considering booking excursions, check with your travel agent to look for discounts. The hotel adds a premium if you book through them. Overall, a fine place for a family vacation with pleasant staff folks to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MN guy
Business
mn
Apr 24, 2012

Typical Cancun AI

This hotel was kinda what I expected for a Cancun AI. The pool had annoying techno music but sitting on the beach was nice with the waiters bringing drinks by. Rooms were nice and clean. Food was fine. Didnt blow me away but we found enough to eat that was good. Location was good and you could walk to coco bongo which was a ton of fun. I would give this resort 3.5 stars if I could. Although we had a nice time, would probably try a different resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We are old, 35, but we had a blast at cocobongo!

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AK traveler08
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
May 15, 2012

Nothing special. Expected A LOT more!

Hotel was described as being very nice and had a great rating. Was not impressed. Rooms were basic beds very uncomfortable. Staff was nice but at times ignored requests. All inclusive did help but the food was horrendeous and the alcohol was the cheapest in the world. Wouldn't go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Odetax
Business
New York, New York
May 29, 2012

Average experience

The hotel is average in all respects and offers a typical "all inclusive" experience except for the pools (only two) that are very small and not adequate for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Nightly shows.

Back to menu Return to top