$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,062 reviews
Great Spring Break Destination

We had an excellent time at this resort! This was our first all-inclusive trip and we were... See full review

  • Wisco Badger
  • Apr 29, 2014
Good Deal

Staff was Friendly. Sometimes a lil too friendly. They were constantly hitting on me. But overrall... See full review

  • nesa
  • Apr 27, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week.
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1062)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1062 out of 1062
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Nov 30, 2009

Great location, but not as advertised

I will start off with the good points of this hotel. The main one being its location, if you want to be close to everything this is perfect. We were able to walk to the clubs and it literally took us about 10minutes. The hotel is beautiful, we had a suite on the 6th floor with great views of the ocean. Now I will cover the bad points. First of all before booking this hotel I read a lot of reviews and went over all of the hotel information. First, according to the hotel information there are 4 restaurants and a Sports Bar that has food/drinks 24 hours. The truth is that there is 1 buffet style restaurant and as for the Sports Bar the food that is available is cold burgers and hotdogs that is left on trays at all times. The hotel tells you that there are 4 restaurants that you must make reservations in advance. Here is where the hotel is very deceptive. We arrived at around 12pm and were given a rundown of all of the restaurants and we went over to make our reservations. As we waited in line I heard the reservation clerk telling the guests in line that there were no reservations available for any of the 4 restaurants until Sunday. When we went to make our reservations we were told the same thing that all restaurants were booked to capacity, we explained to the lady that we were leaving on Monday and that it seemed ridiculous that we could not get a reservation until Sunday. The overall attitude of the staff was just to brush you off and say "oh you need to speak with so and so" instead of addressing the problem. I asked several of the staff if the hotel was full and they all answered that the hotel was at less than 50% capacity. In my opinion the hotel does not want you to take advantage of the 4 restaurants and lies about not having any reservations available. This was confirmed when we went to our dinner that we were able to reserve for Sunday and the place we were told was booked to capacity was only half full. If you have traveled to Mexico and are used to the great service, this is going to be a shock for you. The service is not personal and you get the feeling that no one really cares whether you are satisfied at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going out, save yourself money and walk instead of taking a cab.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Norma d S.
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

All included package PLUS Cockroaches :)

One week in cancun, and had to handle with cockroaches especially at night. The package came with everything included, yet I'm really disappointed with the service, every time my husband and I went to get drinks, I couldn't see any known bottles that were on the bar. There was small list on the corner of the bar that listed the well known bottles, and these bottles are not viewable to the public, they are hidden under the counter. Also, every time the bartender served them, he would be adding the mineral water at the same with the alcoholic drink, so at the end, there would be no taste to it. To me, this package was a complete rip off and a lie.. In addition, the package said I would get a free trip around the bay, which wasn't even the case.. because the trip was stopped at some random point in the middle of the ocean and this "trip" was just used to sell us even more tours and a complete waste of my time. Overall, I am completely disappointed with the package that was offered, I've been using Orbitz for many years, but next time I'll think twice before choosing your company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keith whiskers
ohio
May 9, 2012

Riu Cancun

the air was out it was 93 degrees in the day and the room was 95 same food everyday nothing different bed was very uncomfortable not enough umbrellas at the pool need a money exchange in hotel shows were really good but again no A/C in there either don't get a taxi from the hotel they over charge you get one outside hotel your self its about half price beach needed cleaned and raked there were straws and cups on the beach everyday i was out there at sunrise and the same trash still layed on beach they close pool down too early people with fair skin would like to swim when the sun starts to go down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

no matter what the hotel staff tells you the Market 28 is not the best place to go the zblack Coral flea market is much better and you can walk don't have to take a cab

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 27, 2008

Don't drink the water

The Riu Cancun has great curb appeal and a beautiful beach area. The buffets are varied and plentiful. However,I did not see the little not potable water graphic until after I had brushed my teeth in the other sink! You would think a 5 star hotel would have a filtering system by now. Somehow, I got diarhea and my traveling companion caught a cold! There is no room service, no coffee pot in the room, and no coffee to be found until the restaurant opens at 7:00AM. Sometimes they might bring out a couple of thermos around 6:30 and hide them in the lobby bar...for 700 rooms, not quite enough to tide us all over. They really need to start cleaning before the guests wake up. The 4 elevators are very slow, and get stuck if more than 8 people get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The sports bar upstairs had an espresso coffee maker if the one in the lobby bar is broken.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Emmaus, PA
Mar 15, 2009

Not Good

I just came back from the Riu Cancun and have to say that it was not very good. They apparently do not have enough room at either the beach or by the pool for all the chairs that they have or guests staying in the hotel. So everyday you are literally laying 6 inches from a complete stranger. A couple times I was laying out and people were banging into my chair and even moving chairs over my head! On to the food and drink. As one guest put it to me. "You don't go to cancun for fine dining". The food was mediocre at best. They have 3 restaurants and buffets. The steakhouse is supposed to be the best restaurant. Turns out it is so poorly run that you end up getting a steak cooked rare instead of medium. They then ask you if you will just eat it the way it is!?! Also, I was looking forward to all the fruity frozen drinks and it turns out all their drinks are so sweet! They leave such a bad taste in your mouth that you are forced to drink non-frozen drinks. On the positives is great location, great beach, waves and pool. Also, the rooms are very nice with almost every room having a great balcony with a view. I do not want to forget to say how pleasant the staff was as well. As far as hot tubs and saunas are concerned. Do not go to Riu if you think you are going to have a nice hot tub to relax in. They DO NOT heat the hot tubs. They are freezing cold. Also the sauna is pure heat it is not steam. :( To sum this vacation up. I would NEVER go to Riu Cancun again. It was not cheap and the experience was not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 27, 2008

Don't drink the water

The Riu Cancun has great curb appeal and a beautiful beach area. The buffets are varied and plentiful. However,I did not see the little not potable water graphic until after I had brushed my teeth in the other sink! You would think a 5 star hotel would have a filtering system by now. Somehow, I got diarhea and my traveling companion caught a cold! There is no room service, no coffee pot in the room, and no coffee to be found until the restaurant opens at 7:00AM. Sometimes they might bring out a couple of thermos around 6:30 and hide them in the lobby bar...for 700 rooms, not quite enough to tide us all over. They really need to start cleaning before the guests wake up. The 4 elevators are very slow, and get stuck if more than 8 people get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The sports bar upstairs had an espresso coffee maker if the one in the lobby bar is broken.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless in Atlanta
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2009

Not that it's all cracked up to be

The grounds for the hotel were great including the pools but you would expect more music to be played. Beds were hard and box spring was dirty. Jr. Suite is 2 full sized beds pushed together. Bathrooms were nice size and clean. Cushions on lounge chairs should be cleaned more often as birds leave droppings. Food was bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Emmaus, PA
Mar 15, 2009

Not Good

I just came back from the Riu Cancun and have to say that it was not very good. They apparently do not have enough room at either the beach or by the pool for all the chairs that they have or guests staying in the hotel. So everyday you are literally laying 6 inches from a complete stranger. A couple times I was laying out and people were banging into my chair and even moving chairs over my head! On to the food and drink. As one guest put it to me. "You don't go to cancun for fine dining". The food was mediocre at best. They have 3 restaurants and buffets. The steakhouse is supposed to be the best restaurant. Turns out it is so poorly run that you end up getting a steak cooked rare instead of medium. They then ask you if you will just eat it the way it is!?! Also, I was looking forward to all the fruity frozen drinks and it turns out all their drinks are so sweet! They leave such a bad taste in your mouth that you are forced to drink non-frozen drinks. On the positives is great location, great beach, waves and pool. Also, the rooms are very nice with almost every room having a great balcony with a view. I do not want to forget to say how pleasant the staff was as well. As far as hot tubs and saunas are concerned. Do not go to Riu if you think you are going to have a nice hot tub to relax in. They DO NOT heat the hot tubs. They are freezing cold. Also the sauna is pure heat it is not steam. :( To sum this vacation up. I would NEVER go to Riu Cancun again. It was not cheap and the experience was not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Aug 18, 2010

OK

Hotel was ok, but a little crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless in Atlanta
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2009

Not that it's all cracked up to be

The grounds for the hotel were great including the pools but you would expect more music to be played. Beds were hard and box spring was dirty. Jr. Suite is 2 full sized beds pushed together. Bathrooms were nice size and clean. Cushions on lounge chairs should be cleaned more often as birds leave droppings. Food was bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping

Back to menu Return to top