$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
632 out of 632
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless in Atlanta
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Jul 7, 2009

Not that it's all cracked up to be

The grounds for the hotel were great including the pools but you would expect more music to be played. Beds were hard and box spring was dirty. Jr. Suite is 2 full sized beds pushed together. Bathrooms were nice size and clean. Cushions on lounge chairs should be cleaned more often as birds leave droppings. Food was bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to shopping

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dionw
Family
Nfld canada
Dec 30, 2013

Riu

The hotel staff were great , went out of their way to make my fiancée birthday special with balloons on the door and a complimentary bottle of champagne . The room was not the greatest , mostly ergonomics and flow .The room was extremely Damp and had a musty mold smell .The sheets felt wet every night and the a/c was not all that effective .We did manage to take in a few activities .A trip to xel-Ha was good , we swam with the dolphins great experience . was just annoyed that we had to keep hauling out money every step of the way.one price would have been better instead of feeling gouged all the time. Took the kids scuba diving for thei first time which was awesome well worth the money and this was at the hotel ...Over all it was a great family trip but the rooms were the only issue .the food was great and they have a great night show there which kept the family entertained .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetster Jane
Family
Belmont, MA
Feb 9, 2014

Trip to Cancun

This was our first stay at this hotel. Our room had a great view, but it was a real struggle to get the room cleaned on some days, and then getting them to clean the room properly (did not wipe down surfaces, put a blood stained sheet on the bed), and to provide basics like shower soap and comfortable sheets. I needed laundry service, but there was no bag or laundry slip in the room; called guest services and housekeeping, they kept saying they would send someone (I called several times, waiting a long time), nobody came to the room as promised (and I was also told I was going to have to pay for expedited service - though it was their fault, and I called several days in advance to my needing the items! Even the, still the did not pick up my laundry! I ended up carrying it to a local laundry myself). I asked to speak to a manager, and was put off by front desk staff. This was the first hotel I ever stayed at where management was not accessible to guests, and where everyone worked for housekeeping (housekeeping should be given a room checklist to complete every time they enter a room to insure nothing is missed). The hotel should realize that we are their guests, and we are there to relax. For a place at this price point, I think there are a better places with better service. I can think of a few other places in Cancun which are better..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not over pay for a tour of Isla Mujeres. There is an Ultramar ferry almost across from Plaza Caracol, with inexpensive fares You can rent golf carts reasonably to see the whole island, or you can even just walk around the town on your own and swim at the North beach.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reavisel
Couples
Cancun, Mexico
Feb 13, 2014

Basic all-inclusive resort

RIU Cancun is your basic all-inclusive hotel. The staff is wonderful, and our room was super clean considering the amount of sand that we tracked upstairs. If you're looking for a quick getaway to an all-inclusive spot, RIU Cancun is perfect, especially since it's only a 20 minute ride from the airport. The beach is rather small and you are limited in how far you can wonder along the water. However, there are multiple pools, with one designated as the "quiet" pool for those who don't want to be bothered. If you're looking for ambiance and luxury on top of all-inclusive amenities, then this might not be the best spot for you. The actual furnishings (cover on the beds, beach towels, lounge chairs on the beach, the lobby bar) of this resort appear to be RIU sibling hand-me-downs. With Cancun known for crazy partying and kids going wild on spring break, I can understand why they might reuse items that are past their prime. The other RIU locations I've stayed at (RIU Yucatan in Riviera Maya and RIU Jalisco in Puerto Vallarta) have been beautiful and well keep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
girly traveler
Friends
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 16, 2014

great location, food disappointing

The hotel was quite good. The location, view, and beach we fantastic. However a warning you loose the sun in all places in the hotel in the afternoon. We were there in February and by 3pm there was not a spot of sun left neither by the pools or on the beach. My main disappointment was the food. Both the restaurants were buffet and both served the exact same food, so there was little variety. But the food at the buffet was ok. Breakfast was by far the best meal. The a la carte restaurants were horrible. The Brazilian restaurant had the same salad bar and desert as the buffet. The meat was less then desirable. If you have ever had a decent steak you will regret your visit. The Japanese restaurant was also lacking. The only thing that tasted remotely correct was the pickled ginger. As I was so disappointed in the 2 restaurants listed above I did not venture to try the steak house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many clubs and bars close by excellent .

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
driu
Couples
kansas city mo
Feb 22, 2014

getaway

too much distance between rooms and coffee. would be nice to have coffee available on floors of rooms. lots of walking to get to a restaurant, a pool, lobby. nothing wrong with walking but too much distance between room and facilities. advertised a free excursion sun and wed and when I called to schedule found out it was sun and tues. a weekly list of events at hotel. food was good but another open seated buffet would be nice to avoid everyone in one room and open one at 5:00pm and the other at 6:30 is fine. customer service was good, friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

schedule reservations early

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Northern Evergreen
Couples
Vancouver Island
Mar 5, 2014

Nice....BUT

Great time with Most of the staff, very friendly and helpful. Rooms have a very nasty, mildew/mold smell. Asked for a King/Queen bed and got two doubles pulled together, made up separately. Changed rooms, 2 days in to our holiday. Room smell was better but the bed was like sleeping on plastic sheets.....even after putting the spare blanket under the sheet. All-inclusive - meals were very good overall. Swim up bar/pool - kids were all over and only occasionally did a employee make an attempt to have them removed to the other areas. Drinks.....if you like "Better" quality stock you are out of luck. Basic bar stock but better than the RIU Caribe, which we visited once. Snorkeling in front of property is OK, if not stirred up to much. Beautiful white sand beaches. Told that it was closing for renovations this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

At the Hotel, you can just walk out and get a $35.00 (Per couple) taxi to the Airport.............HOWEVER, coming from the airport, the standard rate is $68.00 (Or use the shuttle service just before you leave the airport). It is $17.00 each, max 8 people and stops only at the resorts that driver has passengers for, runs every 10 - 15 minutes.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Senior Brucey Bush
Friends
Buffalo, New Yrok
Apr 4, 2014

Good Experience for the price

The hotel was clean but definitely needs to be updated. (reno is planned soon). The doors slam all through the night. King bed was two doubles pushed together and they had plastic covers that made noise through the night. The service was ok but only had service on the pool deck 1 day out of 8. The food was surprisely good. overall it was an ok experience. If you can afford a little more money there are other hotels that treat you better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chippie
Couples
WV
Oct 14, 2011

susie

prefer a more quiet hotel, smaller, different food choices- it all tasted the same, but staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Distileria

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gina Q
Couples
New Jersey
Nov 12, 2011

Wonderful Vacation!

Riu Cancun is a terrific resort. We were greeted immediately with friendliness and a drink while checking in. The staff was amazing! the rooms were average but very clean. The food was OK. Dinners ala cart were better than the buffets. Make dinner reservations as soon as you check in or you will not get a reservation. Overall a great relaxing and entertaining resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top