$313 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
681 reviews
Just Right

Good job Riu, again. Enjoyed another Riu resort before and this one did just as well. Look forward... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (681)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
681 out of 681
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Nov 30, 2009

Great location, but not as advertised

I will start off with the good points of this hotel. The main one being its location, if you want to be close to everything this is perfect. We were able to walk to the clubs and it literally took us about 10minutes. The hotel is beautiful, we had a suite on the 6th floor with great views of the ocean. Now I will cover the bad points. First of all before booking this hotel I read a lot of reviews and went over all of the hotel information. First, according to the hotel information there are 4 restaurants and a Sports Bar that has food/drinks 24 hours. The truth is that there is 1 buffet style restaurant and as for the Sports Bar the food that is available is cold burgers and hotdogs that is left on trays at all times. The hotel tells you that there are 4 restaurants that you must make reservations in advance. Here is where the hotel is very deceptive. We arrived at around 12pm and were given a rundown of all of the restaurants and we went over to make our reservations. As we waited in line I heard the reservation clerk telling the guests in line that there were no reservations available for any of the 4 restaurants until Sunday. When we went to make our reservations we were told the same thing that all restaurants were booked to capacity, we explained to the lady that we were leaving on Monday and that it seemed ridiculous that we could not get a reservation until Sunday. The overall attitude of the staff was just to brush you off and say "oh you need to speak with so and so" instead of addressing the problem. I asked several of the staff if the hotel was full and they all answered that the hotel was at less than 50% capacity. In my opinion the hotel does not want you to take advantage of the 4 restaurants and lies about not having any reservations available. This was confirmed when we went to our dinner that we were able to reserve for Sunday and the place we were told was booked to capacity was only half full. If you have traveled to Mexico and are used to the great service, this is going to be a shock for you. The service is not personal and you get the feeling that no one really cares whether you are satisfied at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going out, save yourself money and walk instead of taking a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 27, 2008

Don't drink the water

The Riu Cancun has great curb appeal and a beautiful beach area. The buffets are varied and plentiful. However,I did not see the little not potable water graphic until after I had brushed my teeth in the other sink! You would think a 5 star hotel would have a filtering system by now. Somehow, I got diarhea and my traveling companion caught a cold! There is no room service, no coffee pot in the room, and no coffee to be found until the restaurant opens at 7:00AM. Sometimes they might bring out a couple of thermos around 6:30 and hide them in the lobby bar...for 700 rooms, not quite enough to tide us all over. They really need to start cleaning before the guests wake up. The 4 elevators are very slow, and get stuck if more than 8 people get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The sports bar upstairs had an espresso coffee maker if the one in the lobby bar is broken.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 12, 2008

we stayed at the Riu ...

we stayed at the Riu Palace last year ,loved it so stayed at the Riu Cancun this year check in was late ,gave us the wrong room ,tv broke, door was broken,then 3 things were stolen out of our room.never would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

nice mall across the way ,bus is only fifty cents

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aunt Shelly
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 7, 2009

The good and the not so good

The good: The staff at the hotel was always very friendly and helpful, the only exception being when family called long distance and it took over 3 minutes just to get put through to the room. The location was right across from a shopping mall with a bus stop out front. The mediocre: The food, even the specialized restaurants were at best mediocre. The main pool was loud and rowdy, so we stuck to the smaller pools, a good walk from the one towel shack. The pools are all around 5 foot deep, no shallow areas for kids to play in and the one child pool is no bigger than a hot tub, really more suited to infants and toddlers. The bad: Several of the outdoor shower areas were broken, in fact they were jack hammering right by the pool for several hours one day to repair one of them and one area had a wooden board screwed over a gaping hole on the steps to the beach. The pools are off limits after 7PM (why didn't they wait until then to jack hammer?)/The elevators and hallways were stifling at all hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be wary of reservations with 3rd party vendors for activities. We went across the street to the mall and made resevations for swimming with the dolphins that was to have included a photo, but the clerk at the aquarium was adamant that that was never part of a package. I went back to the vendor upon returning from the swim and she apologized and promplty refunded the difference(in US $ even). Get all details in writing, including a contact number for the vendor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 18, 2010

OK

Hotel was ok, but a little crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Feb 23, 2010

Not So Happy

The room was not as pictured online. The very tiny balcony did not have an ocean veiw. There was a tall cement wall . The water coming from the faucets was orange and the beds were a nightmare(extremely hard) I thought the staff was friendly and helpful.There was always plenty of food with the all inclusive.The drinks were mostly water. I would not stay there again.Please don't show a room from the good side of Riu Cancun and then put us in the bad side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jan 17, 2011

Not all it's cracked up to be

We were not impressed at all. We arrived on a Wed evening and found out you need to reserve the restaurants by 2pm. We went to reserve the next day and the one we wanted was booked until Saturday. They said we could pay the hostess to get a seat, but that is not all inclusive to me. By the time we got in, we noticed a lot of empty tables. I think they just want you to eat buffet, which got old. The beds were uncomfortable, too. And the beachfront is small. =(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Emmaus, PA
Mar 15, 2009

Not Good

I just came back from the Riu Cancun and have to say that it was not very good. They apparently do not have enough room at either the beach or by the pool for all the chairs that they have or guests staying in the hotel. So everyday you are literally laying 6 inches from a complete stranger. A couple times I was laying out and people were banging into my chair and even moving chairs over my head! On to the food and drink. As one guest put it to me. "You don't go to cancun for fine dining". The food was mediocre at best. They have 3 restaurants and buffets. The steakhouse is supposed to be the best restaurant. Turns out it is so poorly run that you end up getting a steak cooked rare instead of medium. They then ask you if you will just eat it the way it is!?! Also, I was looking forward to all the fruity frozen drinks and it turns out all their drinks are so sweet! They leave such a bad taste in your mouth that you are forced to drink non-frozen drinks. On the positives is great location, great beach, waves and pool. Also, the rooms are very nice with almost every room having a great balcony with a view. I do not want to forget to say how pleasant the staff was as well. As far as hot tubs and saunas are concerned. Do not go to Riu if you think you are going to have a nice hot tub to relax in. They DO NOT heat the hot tubs. They are freezing cold. Also the sauna is pure heat it is not steam. :( To sum this vacation up. I would NEVER go to Riu Cancun again. It was not cheap and the experience was not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leebo22
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 1, 2011

Location is the only plus

Our initial opinion of the hotel was high, because the hotel supplied us a free room upgrade at check-in. After the check-in process, everything went downhill. The mattress was more like a bedspring and very hard. We slept terribly every night and woke up sore every morning. We were never able to eat at the onsite restaurants, because they were booked three nights out and we were only there four nights. Every meal is buffet style and less than stellar. The last day we were there, I got food poisoning after eating a sandwich and salad for lunch. I do NOT recommend visiting RIU Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

RIU Cancun is closely located to most restaurant's and nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Liekiela
Business
Lahaina Hawaii
Feb 26, 2011

in need of improvements

Need a few days to thaw out. had a great time... close to everythimh I needed.. bed was not comphy.. 3 light bulbs out in my room... Tub had injuries also.. happy it was Feb and not July.. The air wasnt working. Had a massage... it was great.... great drinks and food.... the service at the front desk needs a little more training.. they kept thinking I was a couple... maybe its because I was a single on Valentines Day was the reason I was overlooked as important. staying elsewhere next time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's everywhere!!! Have Fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top