$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
764 out of 764
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JL in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 19, 2012

Not the place to stay unless you are 18 and on spring break

This is probably the worst food I've had in my life. The drinks are gross, and the "premium" alcohol that is listed on the menu at the bar just happens to never be available. The restaurants that require reservations didnt have a single reservation for our group of 4 any of the nights that we were there and we tried to make the reservations the day we checked in. Try another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GabyL
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Hotel is just OK, but not for small kids. Night shows are nice.

** Check in: The hotel reception is a bit gloomy, feels old. They offer you fresh drinks when you get there. Nice touch. They give you a key for each towel which you have to guard with your life because you only get one and needs to be returned at the end of your stay. So be prepared to keep an eye on them. They close the towel hut at 6 so you are stuck "guarding" your wet towel until the next day if you didn't return it on time. ** Food: There is one buffet restaurant which we used for everything because the other one by the pool had greasy, dry food. The buffet had a huge selection and the food was acceptable for a buffet. We couldn't use 3 of the restaurant because you needed reservations 2 DAYS in advance! We were there for 3 so it was impossible. ** Rooms: They feel old, and outdated but clean and with a nice balcony. Beds are very small and they put the 2 beds together as one for us, a family of four. We had to order an extra small bed for our 6 yr old in order to be more comfortable. We paid extra for that bed. ** Pools: BEWARE if you have small kids. The only pool where they were safe was the size of a jacuzzi. There was one with a decent depth but the bar was there so too many drunk people to be around kids. The other pools are VERY deep. Not kid friendly at all. Women sunbathe topless with no restrictions. My husband ask someone from the staff if they could say something and he asked "what, you don't like it?" ** Shows: They have pretty decent shows at night. The girls enjoyed all 3 of them. The MC has a tendency to tell people that they work 12 hours a day (pity) and the "deserve" more respect and more applause. At their age, hanging out at the pool all day having fun doesn't seem very sacrificing. Nevertheless, they are very talented and most of them are nice. We had a good experience because we take things as they come and make the best of it. We woulnd't go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Perico's Restaurant. Even if you are staying at an all inclusive please go there. The waiters are amazing and they are super entertaining. It is really one of a kind. Lots happening everywhere. Fun for the whole family. Also, the crew of Samba 2 that leave from Playa Tortugas port are very nice if you want to go snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alxp
Business
San Ramon, CA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Will think twice

Overall the trip to Cancun was fine. It is a good thing we don't spend a lot of time in the room. The room was dated and beds were extremely uncomfortable. When we first arrived, there was this acrid smell, which took a day to clear out. We were woken up a number of times by loud obnoxious guests, and there were multiple altercations among the guests at the pool. Of course in an all inclusive, alcohol was flowing all day contributing to such behavior. Although we did not let these issues keep us from having a good time, I would really think twice about staying at another RIU hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keith whiskers
Business
ohio
May 9, 2012

Riu Cancun

the air was out it was 93 degrees in the day and the room was 95 same food everyday nothing different bed was very uncomfortable not enough umbrellas at the pool need a money exchange in hotel shows were really good but again no A/C in there either don't get a taxi from the hotel they over charge you get one outside hotel your self its about half price beach needed cleaned and raked there were straws and cups on the beach everyday i was out there at sunrise and the same trash still layed on beach they close pool down too early people with fair skin would like to swim when the sun starts to go down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

no matter what the hotel staff tells you the Market 28 is not the best place to go the zblack Coral flea market is much better and you can walk don't have to take a cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanessa and Luis
Business
Mansfield, TX
Oct 3, 2012

1 year anniversary trip

The food was a hit or miss every day, sometimes good and others pretty bad. The majority of the staff was very unfriendly and not helpful. The nicest people were the waiters and bartenders. You need a 2-day advanced reservation for dinner at any of the 3 specialty restaurants, and we were never told this at check-in. Being we only stayed 5 nights, we almost didn't get dinner the first 2 nights. The room smelled terrible, there was mold on the walls and ceiling, we killed about 6 roaches during our stay, and the bedsheets smelled horrible. The terrace was huge and had a gorgeous ocean view right over the main pool. The room itself was big as well, and had a good mini-bar with water, sodas, beer, and 4 bottles of liquor that were restocked every 2 days. The steakhouse certainly had the best service and best food. Breakfast times aren't too convenient if you want the full breakfast, we didn't want to get up too early just for breakfast. So were just given fruit and pastries by 10:30am. The pools were beautiful, especially the infinity pool. The beach was very nice with plenty of room and chairs to lay out on. The entertainment staff was very boring! This was probably the biggest disappointment as we were used to a very fun time at other all-inclusive resorts. Not many activities during the day, and the nightly shows were not very fun to watch.. we literally fell asleep during one show. Drinks are great and the food was pretty good as well. Overall, Cancun is beautiful! However, we certainly wouldn't stay at this hotel if we return. If you do, you have access to the Riu Caribe from 11am-11pm everyday, and I would certainly take advatange of that, it was much bigger, nicer, the food tasted better, and the entertainment crew was funny! For a small price difference, next time we would certainly choose the Riu Caribe over the Riu Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely be sure the moment you arrive to make dinner reservations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
queenkat
Business
new york
Jan 15, 2013

Beware there is 4 RIU's in Cancun

We picked the wrong RIU when booking.If you would like to stay in a RIU make sure you pick the RIU Caribe instead of the RIU Cancun. THe RIU Caribe is a couple of hotels down the road and is much newer, nicer and cleaner; its also the same price range as this RIU. This hotel looks nice in the pictures but in person there is no comparison. Believe me for the same price book the RIU Caribe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbus,ohio
Aug 27, 2009

Hot Hot Hot

Me and my wife have been to other Riu hotels befor and had hoped for the same service here but half way in to our trip the air for the hole hotel broke!!! It was bad I have low blood suger and we had been drinking at the pool bar, and had no idea then we went to eat at the asian restraunt,it was so hot people were turning red and taking the food out side and eatting on the steps not my idea of fine dinning. The worst part was later in our room we were so hot we took turns taking cold showers the hole night!!! It was hard for me my wife was getting real worried for my health, she did everthing she could, got ice , opened the door to the patio even went for a walk on the beach at 3 am but nothing was helping in the room, we went down to the lobby to talk to someone and like 100 people were there upset yelling and trying to get some answers. The worst part was the staff was sweating in the food they were serving not there fault, we were sweating to but it was nasty all the same and we lost money on the deal because we had to go out of the hotel to eat and drink cause it was too hot to enjoy yourself look i am not a complaner but i was not trying to end up in a hospital in cancun because of the heat!! I am not happy at all with my stay, the time for relaxing was turned to worry and discomfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jun 1, 2011

Not very user friendly

Thge trip was nice but the room was lacking. The first night the room had 2 double beds instead of the king. They moved us the 2nd night and the room flooded from a leaking A/C unit as it did on the 2nd and 3rd night. The floor was completely soaked and the front desk absolutely refused to let us talk to management. They refused to clean our cloths that were soaked from all the water. Overall not a rally good experience. I won't go back. I can't even file a complaint with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wassup
Business
america
May 2, 2011

not great

staff service was great, but our room had no AC! also, no internet connection in our room, we had to go down 15 flights to the lobby for internet, called twice about the AC and not fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
One Diva
Business
Ohio
Mar 3, 2009

Should Not Be a 4 Star Hotel

We chose Riu because of the Orbitz hotel rating and brand name, but were very disappointed. Hotel was very run down. Furniture was old, warn and/or broken. All alcohol was extremely watered down and food (including themed restaurants) was poor. On our first day, we got stuck in a crowded malfunctioning elevator that had no air conditioning. The pools are not heated and there's very limited beach area. Spa area is drab, has broken equipment and is run down as well. Only good part of hotel is the location. Nightly hotel entertainment was boring and tacky. Hotel room was drab - bed was extremely hard, bedding and towels were old and stained (and don't look for flat screen televisions or computer connections).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top