$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
765 out of 765
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Jan 25, 2011

Poor Service

Room was not ready @ 3:00 p.m. Desk clerk tried to move me to one of their hotels in Riviera Maya. I declined. He guaranteed me an excellent room if we would return to the desk in 1 1/2 hours(reservation had indicated it was our anniversary requesting a nice room, which I reiterated at the desk). When we came back it was obvious he had done nothing to secure a room and then quickly gave us a nothing special room on the 3rd. floor with the worst view in the hotel right above an outdoor bar. Our reward for waiting 1 1/2 hours. In addition to really poor service at the front desk at check-in, we had horrible service at the front desk when we needed to extend our stay 2 days because of flight cancellation. They had plenty of vacancies, and we would not have to change rooms. However, the female front desk supervisor informed my wife that instead of just extending our stay we had to call Riu from our room (upcharge) to book again. It was now 10:00 a.m. and checkout is at 11:00 a.m. We were also informed that if we did not secure a new reservation by 11:00 a.m. and our belongings were in the room we would be charged $100 U.S.D./hour starting at 11:01 A.M. How's that for customer service? Additionally, we couldn't help but feel Riu Cancun was on some cost cutting campaign. This was evidenced by: the cheapest liquor I have ever experienced, poor quality food that was re-worked into other dishes, racing to immediately put all food away at designated times, and for the entire 9 days we stayed we were not able to get a bar of soap without going to the front desk and making a special request. Lastly, this place really needs to do something about their smoking policy. It was very difficult to sit on your balcony, use any of the common bathrooms, be at any of the pools, or be in the lobby without smoke becoming an issue. By the way, I emailed Riu (We're Riu class members) with my concerns and they didn't even have the courtesy to respond. This is a 3 star property at best. I would avoid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 10, 2009

Don't stay here!

Bad service, terrible food. My girlfriend and I actually WALKED OUT of one of the restaurants in the hotel. The staff is clueless and poorly trained. The entertainment shows are just the pool staff acting like idiots on stage. The place is embarrassing. Also, [...] misinformed us about whether the hotel offers room service. THEY DO NOT. [...] I would recommend strongly against the Riu Cancun, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Parthivhiral
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 6, 2014

Riu Cancun worst service

One of the worst service I have ever got in the life. They never change blankets. Extremely terrible service. Half of the Elevators weren't working especially during morning rush time. I was about to miss my shuttle to airport and also my flight. When I complained about the same, the staff was laughing at me and shouted at me. Totally opposite to what should have happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Xcaret and Xplore

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 13, 2010

bad experience

there was no beach as it shows on the pics, cleaning service extrimly noisy, start cleaning at 7am.......front desk not friendly at all. We had to switch to another hotel....the food was the ONLY thing that was better than other place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MISS TREATED TRAVELER!
Business
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Jun 7, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

Although this hotel may look great on the internet and when you first walk through the door... It is only time before you see the true hotel. Let's put it this way, I have NEVER given a bad review before (if I don't have anything nice to say I do not say anything) but if I do not say something this time I feel someone else will be hurt. OK, lets start at the beginning. Upon entering the hotel no one is there to greet you. We stood in line at the desk for over 1/2 hour, to be handed two keys (not a card but a key) one for the room and a rusty one for the safe both on an old dirty string.Our room looked ok but after a long flight and the wait down stair I just wanted to lay down for a minute. THAT WAS THE SECOND PROBLEM. THE "BEDS" WERE NOT BEDS! They were Just box springs. THERE ARE NO MATTRESSES. Actually wood and springs covered with blankets. But still I thought at least I am on vacation. The next problem came at meal time. I am NOT a picky eater but the food was gross (food that was to be cold food was warm and food that was to be warm was not). Still I ate it and kept up the high spirits that at least I was on vacation. The next morning was the last straw! When we woke up my family (12 year old son and 8 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER) enter the hallway to go to breakfast.. Only to find vomit on the floors, food thrown everywhere, and a grown man PISSING in the hallway. Not to mention the fact that several people passed out drunk near the pool! When this occured infront of my 8 year old I went to the front desk to ask if there was a different part of the hotel that wasn't quite as wild or if there was anything they could do about the man peeing in the hallway and the manager laughed and she said all I could do was leave. [...] I booked the rest of the trip at the GRAND REAL CARIBEA CANCUN next to the Royal Cancun. BOY WHAT A GREAT PLACE!!!!!! It was Night and Day difference. If you want a great vacation book there. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SO JORDAN UTAH
Dec 4, 2009

VERY BAD HOTEL-NEEDS MAJOR UPDATING

THE YOUNG PEOPLE AT THE FRONT DESK WERE RUDE. WHEN YOU ASKED THEM A QUESTION IT WAS LIKE YOU WERE PUTTING THEM OUT. THE TV'S WERE WERE LIKE WATCHING YOUR LAP TOP. NO AUTOMATION, THE FITNESS CENTER HAD EQUIPMENT IN IT OLDER THAN DIRT. THE EQUIPMENT HAD GREASE FITTINGS THATS HOW OLD THEY WERE. THE FOOD WAS NOT VERY AMERICANIZED SO TO US IT WAS NOT VERY GOOD. IT WAS REALLY LIKE CAFETERIA FOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN THE HOTEL. NO FLAT SCREEN TV'S. I COULDNT FIND A CHAIR IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL THAT WAS COMFORTABLE. THE LOUNGE CHAIRS AT THE POOL WERE THE BEST.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pasco, wa
Mar 31, 2010

riu cancun all inclusive

I did not like how loud people were. I did not like being ignored by the staff. There was one great staff member named natalie who brought me coffee every morning. Other than that I felt ignored by the staff. There was a cockroach in my room two days in a row. The worst was the bathtub was slippery and I slipped and fell giving me a huge bruise on my leg. When i called the reception to get a thing for the tub, he laughed at me for falling. What a jerk! Also, my bed was super uncomfortable and the pillows smelled VERY bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I really loved the Grey Line company for my excursions. They were GREAT!

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Norma d S.
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

All included package PLUS Cockroaches :)

One week in cancun, and had to handle with cockroaches especially at night. The package came with everything included, yet I'm really disappointed with the service, every time my husband and I went to get drinks, I couldn't see any known bottles that were on the bar. There was small list on the corner of the bar that listed the well known bottles, and these bottles are not viewable to the public, they are hidden under the counter. Also, every time the bartender served them, he would be adding the mineral water at the same with the alcoholic drink, so at the end, there would be no taste to it. To me, this package was a complete rip off and a lie.. In addition, the package said I would get a free trip around the bay, which wasn't even the case.. because the trip was stopped at some random point in the middle of the ocean and this "trip" was just used to sell us even more tours and a complete waste of my time. Overall, I am completely disappointed with the package that was offered, I've been using Orbitz for many years, but next time I'll think twice before choosing your company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Dave
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Not what I thought it will be

The hotel was OK. Will I go there again. NOT. The furniture needs to be up grade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter Cb
Business
Illinois
Oct 20, 2011

Nothing special

Could be better. The staff was not to kind. Service not that good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top