$274 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,062 reviews
Great Spring Break Destination

We had an excellent time at this resort! This was our first all-inclusive trip and we were... See full review

  • Wisco Badger
  • Apr 29, 2014
Good Deal

Staff was Friendly. Sometimes a lil too friendly. They were constantly hitting on me. But overrall... See full review

  • nesa
  • Apr 27, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week.
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1062)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1062 out of 1062
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Dec 14, 2009

Money was stolen from my room!!!

I had my cash stolen from my hotel room!!! It was inside of my suitcase inside of my wallet!! I booked a day trip with the hotel so the staff knew I'd be out of the room all day. I had the money in the morning and it was gone at night. Someone from the cleaning staff or the people that fill up the mini bar definitely took it. The security manager said that the hotel has no responsibility for anything outside of the safe in the room! Completely ruined my vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Keep all of your valuables and cash in the safe provided or else it WILL get stolen!!!

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAandSA
New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

so disgusting had to leave early

Do not waste your money. The hotel is disgusting. There are bed bugs, the rooms stink, the water smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Honeymooner 2
Cancan
Mar 7, 2013

Dirty

Dirty sheets, hair on silverware, hair on toilet seat & water from shower smelled horrible. Told them it was my honeymoon gave me a room with two double beds & stained sheets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Dec 10, 2009

Don't stay here!

Bad service, terrible food. My girlfriend and I actually WALKED OUT of one of the restaurants in the hotel. The staff is clueless and poorly trained. The entertainment shows are just the pool staff acting like idiots on stage. The place is embarrassing. Also, [...] misinformed us about whether the hotel offers room service. THEY DO NOT. [...] I would recommend strongly against the Riu Cancun, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston tx
Aug 14, 2009

horrible service/horrible hotel

It's a big fat mess. I paid for a suite and they gave someone else my room. They were out of suites, so i didn't get one nor did i get a refund. Plus, they turn off the ac on occasion. I don't think our room ever got below 85. I've never had a bad experience in Mexico until now :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deshawne
Glenwood, IA
Jan 10, 2014

Cannot be a four star.

This hotel while located in the hotel zone - could not have been worse. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly enough....but wanted to make sure that the kids knew not to lose their room keys or their towel keys or we would have to pay some ridiculous replacement amount. When we got to the rooms - we were told that both were suites. They were not. One room had two beds shoved together to seemingly make a king size bed and then a pull out couch. The other room had two very small twin beds shoved together to make a queen sized bed. Neither of the beds were comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked and there were adequate amounts of bottled water. However, the room was in a constant state of moisture. The floor was even slick due to the moisture content in the room. There is no shampoo and/or conditioner included in the room. The comforters and the furniture is from the 70's. Most disconcerting was the lack of coffee. Not available in your room. No coffee maker. No room service. No coffee unless you walk a mile to a dispensary in the lobby. On the plus side, the staff was great. Constantly cleaning, constantly asking if you need anything. The one thing I would suggest for the staff - if it is raining and there are 400+ people with nothing to do....maybe put on a show or ask people to play some games. Overall, the hotel would not rate a two star!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was amazing the service was great. We had a three day wait for reservations so make them early.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mag2011
chicago IL
Nov 19, 2012

This hotel is horrible!

Avoid ! The holte is old and infested with cackroaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jul 13, 2010

bad experience

there was no beach as it shows on the pics, cleaning service extrimly noisy, start cleaning at 7am.......front desk not friendly at all. We had to switch to another hotel....the food was the ONLY thing that was better than other place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
SO JORDAN UTAH
Dec 4, 2009

VERY BAD HOTEL-NEEDS MAJOR UPDATING

THE YOUNG PEOPLE AT THE FRONT DESK WERE RUDE. WHEN YOU ASKED THEM A QUESTION IT WAS LIKE YOU WERE PUTTING THEM OUT. THE TV'S WERE WERE LIKE WATCHING YOUR LAP TOP. NO AUTOMATION, THE FITNESS CENTER HAD EQUIPMENT IN IT OLDER THAN DIRT. THE EQUIPMENT HAD GREASE FITTINGS THATS HOW OLD THEY WERE. THE FOOD WAS NOT VERY AMERICANIZED SO TO US IT WAS NOT VERY GOOD. IT WAS REALLY LIKE CAFETERIA FOOD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN THE HOTEL. NO FLAT SCREEN TV'S. I COULDNT FIND A CHAIR IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL THAT WAS COMFORTABLE. THE LOUNGE CHAIRS AT THE POOL WERE THE BEST.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krisirome
Washington, DC
Feb 22, 2013

Food, staff, and resort problems

In the three categories: 1. Food--the hotel brags three specialty restaurants, but doesn't tell you that it must be booked two days in advance and they only take 10-12 reservations. We managed to beg our way in one night, only to see the restaurant 1/3 full after being told it was "overbooked". On top of that, one person got food poisoning. The buffet was ok, though expect to see the evening's offerings reappear at breakfast and lunch the next day. 2. Staff: I've never felt so unwelcome at a resort. The management was hesitant to provide any help with a restaurant reservation, emphasized ridiculous policies like checking out 15 minutes late incurs a full day penalty (wonderful since the checkout line takes 15 minutes), or insisting that they cut off bracelets from all people before check out is complete. One couple wanted two juices while they waited for their airport transfer and the bartender wouldn't serve them because they had checked out. It was 1205. Worst of all, the 'security' at the door wouldn't let us load our bags into our own rental car without a OECD of paper, called a checkout sheet and couldn't explain in English why he was looking through the bags in our trunk--only that we need this checkout sheet. I felt like a prisoner trying to breakout. Except I'd paid $300 a night to be there. 3. Resort: the area is so rich with things to do and reasonable restaurants, I would never pay so much for such poor service and mediocre facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat local!! Tons of cute restaurants in this area with great specials!

Back to menu Return to top