$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
680 reviews
Just Right

Good job Riu, again. Enjoyed another Riu resort before and this one did just as well. Look forward... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (680)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
680 out of 680
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sabionda2
Business
Cambridge, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Avoid at all cost!!!

The pics don't reflect the current state of this hotel. It's old, rundown, and ugly. Not only that, but the walls of our junior suite were covered in black mold!! The room smelled and it was really humid. Also, the two double beds were right next to each other. Weird! The food was ok, but not great. The people were trashy and drunk. Some of the staff was really rude to us. Others were nice enough, but not great. I'm definitely not going to spend another family vacation at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krisirome
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 22, 2013

Food, staff, and resort problems

In the three categories: 1. Food--the hotel brags three specialty restaurants, but doesn't tell you that it must be booked two days in advance and they only take 10-12 reservations. We managed to beg our way in one night, only to see the restaurant 1/3 full after being told it was "overbooked". On top of that, one person got food poisoning. The buffet was ok, though expect to see the evening's offerings reappear at breakfast and lunch the next day. 2. Staff: I've never felt so unwelcome at a resort. The management was hesitant to provide any help with a restaurant reservation, emphasized ridiculous policies like checking out 15 minutes late incurs a full day penalty (wonderful since the checkout line takes 15 minutes), or insisting that they cut off bracelets from all people before check out is complete. One couple wanted two juices while they waited for their airport transfer and the bartender wouldn't serve them because they had checked out. It was 1205. Worst of all, the 'security' at the door wouldn't let us load our bags into our own rental car without a OECD of paper, called a checkout sheet and couldn't explain in English why he was looking through the bags in our trunk--only that we need this checkout sheet. I felt like a prisoner trying to breakout. Except I'd paid $300 a night to be there. 3. Resort: the area is so rich with things to do and reasonable restaurants, I would never pay so much for such poor service and mediocre facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat local!! Tons of cute restaurants in this area with great specials!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Honeymooner 2
Business
Cancan
Mar 7, 2013

Dirty

Dirty sheets, hair on silverware, hair on toilet seat & water from shower smelled horrible. Told them it was my honeymoon gave me a room with two double beds & stained sheets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ventura, Ca
Oct 7, 2009

The BED BUG Hotel

We had a very bad experience in this hotel with the bed bugs. The sheets had blood stains and they were old. We will never go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Californian
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 31, 2009

AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This was the worst ever! The staff is rude, rooms dirty, pools close at 7pm, restaurants have odd hours, no room service, very limited (lowest quality)alcohol selection. The all incl domestic alcohol is ONLY Dos Equis & Jose Cuervo - no top shelf anything! And cannot get corona, sol, pacifico. Pools were filthy with things floating in them (they say they close at 7pm every nite for cleaning - I never saw them being cleaned). Mini bar restocked EVERY OTHER day. Cable went out twice. Staff changed my US dollars into pesos but refused to change pesos back to dollars upon checkout. Had to call down 3 times to get bottled water. When asked for new glasses the staff gave us the dirty ones from room next door that they were currently cleaning. Only decent place to eat is Don Juan (open for 3 meals - closes by 1030pm) and the steak house. Only 24 hr food is at sports bar which is filled w/gnats & filthy floor/counters. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is just as much a rip off. $50-70 cover charge w/all inclusive (all inclusive cheapest brands again....dos equis is the only beer & smirnoff is the top shelf vodka).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Dec 14, 2009

Money was stolen from my room!!!

I had my cash stolen from my hotel room!!! It was inside of my suitcase inside of my wallet!! I booked a day trip with the hotel so the staff knew I'd be out of the room all day. I had the money in the morning and it was gone at night. Someone from the cleaning staff or the people that fill up the mini bar definitely took it. The security manager said that the hotel has no responsibility for anything outside of the safe in the room! Completely ruined my vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Keep all of your valuables and cash in the safe provided or else it WILL get stolen!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MarinaStylist
Business
miami, fl
May 8, 2011

Do not go there!

I do not suggest going to this hotel. It smells horribly of mold and dingy. The first room they gave us smelled so bad, we walked right out after 1 minute. Not only did the whole hotel smell moldy & dingy, all our belongings smelled like that after we got back. Also, the whole is infested with Wilson birds. Impossible to eat a normal a normal meal outside without birds flying by your head trying to steal your food. If step away for one second from your plate, you will have a plate of birds! Food was not good either. The only meal of the day that was bareble was breakfast. Cant really mess up pancakes and eggs. Would need to wake up 8am to get chairs by the pool. The only thing that was good was the waiter service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K.Blair
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Aug 8, 2009

Rui Cancun all inclusive

Food was terrible, air conditioning in room very minimal, no airconditioning in the elevators which were small and no ventilation,like a sweat box. Elevators broken one day and had to walk up 12 flights of stairs with no air conditioning. Pools were very crowded and not relaxing at all. Beds in rooms were the worst and hardest beds ever slept in. All resturants were hot with minimal air conditioning, we pretty much sweated through the whole trip with your only relief was in the pool which was very crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston tx
Aug 14, 2009

horrible service/horrible hotel

It's a big fat mess. I paid for a suite and they gave someone else my room. They were out of suites, so i didn't get one nor did i get a refund. Plus, they turn off the ac on occasion. I don't think our room ever got below 85. I've never had a bad experience in Mexico until now :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Not at all what we hoped for.

We have been to Mexico several times and stayed at several different resort companies, but never have I had such an experience. While the hotel was beautiful to look at and the staff worked diligently to keep it clean throughout the day that is the best that can be said for it. The beds are so old, saggy and rock hard with springs poking through; we found that the poolside lounge chairs were more comfortable to sleep on. The air conditioners barely worked at all. We were lucky that the weather was perfect or we would have been miserable. The FOOD. Vile, bland, tastless except for being over salted and just plain bad. So much so that one of our party ended up with food poisoning. Even the most basic of meals were a disaster. We could not believe that they couldn't even get the Mexican food right. Never again. RIU resorts have such a good reputation we just couldn't understand what happened at this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top