$313 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
681 reviews
Just Right

Good job Riu, again. Enjoyed another Riu resort before and this one did just as well. Look forward... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (681)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
681 out of 681
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reavisel
Business
Cancun, Mexico
Feb 13, 2014

Basic all-inclusive resort

RIU Cancun is your basic all-inclusive hotel. The staff is wonderful, and our room was super clean considering the amount of sand that we tracked upstairs. If you're looking for a quick getaway to an all-inclusive spot, RIU Cancun is perfect, especially since it's only a 20 minute ride from the airport. The beach is rather small and you are limited in how far you can wonder along the water. However, there are multiple pools, with one designated as the "quiet" pool for those who don't want to be bothered. If you're looking for ambiance and luxury on top of all-inclusive amenities, then this might not be the best spot for you. The actual furnishings (cover on the beds, beach towels, lounge chairs on the beach, the lobby bar) of this resort appear to be RIU sibling hand-me-downs. With Cancun known for crazy partying and kids going wild on spring break, I can understand why they might reuse items that are past their prime. The other RIU locations I've stayed at (RIU Yucatan in Riviera Maya and RIU Jalisco in Puerto Vallarta) have been beautiful and well keep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
girly traveler
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 16, 2014

great location, food disappointing

The hotel was quite good. The location, view, and beach we fantastic. However a warning you loose the sun in all places in the hotel in the afternoon. We were there in February and by 3pm there was not a spot of sun left neither by the pools or on the beach. My main disappointment was the food. Both the restaurants were buffet and both served the exact same food, so there was little variety. But the food at the buffet was ok. Breakfast was by far the best meal. The a la carte restaurants were horrible. The Brazilian restaurant had the same salad bar and desert as the buffet. The meat was less then desirable. If you have ever had a decent steak you will regret your visit. The Japanese restaurant was also lacking. The only thing that tasted remotely correct was the pickled ginger. As I was so disappointed in the 2 restaurants listed above I did not venture to try the steak house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many clubs and bars close by excellent .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
driu
Business
kansas city mo
Feb 22, 2014

getaway

too much distance between rooms and coffee. would be nice to have coffee available on floors of rooms. lots of walking to get to a restaurant, a pool, lobby. nothing wrong with walking but too much distance between room and facilities. advertised a free excursion sun and wed and when I called to schedule found out it was sun and tues. a weekly list of events at hotel. food was good but another open seated buffet would be nice to avoid everyone in one room and open one at 5:00pm and the other at 6:30 is fine. customer service was good, friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

schedule reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Northern Evergreen
Business
Vancouver Island
Mar 5, 2014

Nice....BUT

Great time with Most of the staff, very friendly and helpful. Rooms have a very nasty, mildew/mold smell. Asked for a King/Queen bed and got two doubles pulled together, made up separately. Changed rooms, 2 days in to our holiday. Room smell was better but the bed was like sleeping on plastic sheets.....even after putting the spare blanket under the sheet. All-inclusive - meals were very good overall. Swim up bar/pool - kids were all over and only occasionally did a employee make an attempt to have them removed to the other areas. Drinks.....if you like "Better" quality stock you are out of luck. Basic bar stock but better than the RIU Caribe, which we visited once. Snorkeling in front of property is OK, if not stirred up to much. Beautiful white sand beaches. Told that it was closing for renovations this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

At the Hotel, you can just walk out and get a $35.00 (Per couple) taxi to the Airport.............HOWEVER, coming from the airport, the standard rate is $68.00 (Or use the shuttle service just before you leave the airport). It is $17.00 each, max 8 people and stops only at the resorts that driver has passengers for, runs every 10 - 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Senior Brucey Bush
Business
Buffalo, New Yrok
Apr 4, 2014

Good Experience for the price

The hotel was clean but definitely needs to be updated. (reno is planned soon). The doors slam all through the night. King bed was two doubles pushed together and they had plastic covers that made noise through the night. The service was ok but only had service on the pool deck 1 day out of 8. The food was surprisely good. overall it was an ok experience. If you can afford a little more money there are other hotels that treat you better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Back ache Paulie
Business
Phila. Pa
Mar 10, 2011

Nice for the price

All in all a nice place. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. Food was very good. Hotel was very clean. Beach and pools were great. We had a jr suite, room was clean but the bed and the pillows smelled sour. Bed was very hard. I don't think I would go back becauce of the beds. I lost too much sleep becauce of the beds. Killed my back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak House was out side but very nice. I would recomend if you want to get any sleep to bring some kind of cushin for your bed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, Ca.
Apr 4, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The waitress from the main restaurant are very frienly the rooms are clean.The food is good but higine matter to me I got sick because it is a buffet and everybody touch the spoons and serve themself instead of having someone with gloves and serve the food in our plates.Unfortunely they have a very rude, unpolite, lady called [...] in the front desk. I needed help to get an area code to make a phone call and she did not help me.Good thing about is that now they have wifi in the lobby so you can take the laptop and it is free.This is my fifth time I have been in this hotel because of the location only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the middle of the hotel zone and you can walk to the night clubs and shopping nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jan 4, 2011

Relaxing romantic getaway!

Great place, clean, wonderful ocean view and nice staff. Only thing missing was more area to get some sun. The hotel is 15 stories high so the pool sun was gone by 1:00 pm. Had to move down to the small beach area and then sun was gone by 3:30 ish. Bad layout. I loved the hotel and our room had a great ocean view. Slept with the slider open every night and heard the waves all night long. Very relaxing. But, because of the sun problem I would not stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping mall right across the street and actually all over the place within walking dsistance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laurentina
Business
New York
Apr 24, 2011

Horrible Front Desk

My husband and I went together for a quick 4 day getaway as so a s we landed everything was great Cancun it's just an amazing place to be however I'm sad to say that the hotel Riu Cancun was not. The front Desk staff was not helpful at all from checking in to requesting a late check out on at last day not only did it took for ever but it was just lack of good customer service and efficency < but after all the whole hotel staff was very nice at all time and the food and drinks were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have time visit Islas Mujeres in a catamaran it's a great experience an it's not expensive at all and you have to do to get to them is take a short bus ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandy Hook, CT.
Apr 24, 2011

Great hotel if you dont mind crowds

We went to the RIU to relax, even though it was during most high schools' spring break. When we first arrived, we saw a lot of drunk/loud people everywhere and when we checked in we noticed that our room looked out to a roof, wall, and an ocean if you looked out the side of the balcony. Immediately I called the front desk since we had paid for an ocean view and the moved us the next night to a quiet end of the hotel with an amazing view! I think they had grouped us with the spring breakers since we're in our 20s. The problem was fixed and we were happy. The buffet was great. Not fancy, but they had great salads and seafood, pork, and chicken for every meal. Don't bother with the steak restaurant. We were only able to try this one (since you can only make reservations in person and they have to be made two days in advance, which makes NO sense). Food was so bad that we left the meal early and went to the dinner buffet.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top