Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
628 reviews
Awesome trip

The hotel was awesome! Staff was very friendly! The best experience ever! See full review

  • Elena C.
  • Jul 4, 2015
Vacation

Very nice resort. Excellent food. Very friendly staff. See full review

  • Annwm
  • May 19, 2015

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Property features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Nearby attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Policies

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible parking

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (628)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deshawne
Business
Glenwood, IA
Jan 10, 2014

Cannot be a four star.

This hotel while located in the hotel zone - could not have been worse. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly enough....but wanted to make sure that the kids knew not to lose their room keys or their towel keys or we would have to pay some ridiculous replacement amount. When we got to the rooms - we were told that both were suites. They were not. One room had two beds shoved together to seemingly make a king size bed and then a pull out couch. The other room had two very small twin beds shoved together to make a queen sized bed. Neither of the beds were comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked and there were adequate amounts of bottled water. However, the room was in a constant state of moisture. The floor was even slick due to the moisture content in the room. There is no shampoo and/or conditioner included in the room. The comforters and the furniture is from the 70's. Most disconcerting was the lack of coffee. Not available in your room. No coffee maker. No room service. No coffee unless you walk a mile to a dispensary in the lobby. On the plus side, the staff was great. Constantly cleaning, constantly asking if you need anything. The one thing I would suggest for the staff - if it is raining and there are 400+ people with nothing to do....maybe put on a show or ask people to play some games. Overall, the hotel would not rate a two star!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was amazing the service was great. We had a three day wait for reservations so make them early.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SM11
Business
New york
Jan 21, 2014

HORRIBLE!!! not worth the money!

We have been excited for the trip to Riu but as we arrived there we were horrified.... We have been to 3-4 star resorts that have much more better service and beaches than this 5 star... The was a tiny beach ( if you can call it a beach) for such a tremendously huge resort.... three small pools... but they are located in such a way, both beach and resort that the sun appears only for few hours and than it hides besides the high Riu building....FOOOD is HORRIBLE!!! every single day the same food....most of it - fast, fat food....i got stomach virus there.....rooms look like ancient times, smells horrible, there was mould in the bathtub...I was shocked to find out that my sheets, towels, can be changed once in couple of days!!!!! If you want your vacation to be a disaster - go for RIU Cancun!!! Would not recommend ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Franklin84
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 29, 2011

One of the worst hotels ever

The staffs are not friendly at all. If you are not fluent in Spanish, best of luck getting the help you need. All the activities are at least 1/2 hour late. Hotel is not accommodating to travelers in distress. We experienced Hurricane Rina during our vacation stay there and hotel can't even provide any accommodations. They insisted that we have to checked out. We ended up paying taxi to go to the airport even though we found out our flight was cancelled. We stayed at Marriott courtyard. We totally regretted staying with Riu Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAandSA
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

so disgusting had to leave early

Do not waste your money. The hotel is disgusting. There are bed bugs, the rooms stink, the water smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chiksie
Business
santa clara, CA
Nov 8, 2012

A Dump in the name of 5 star...

The hotel is pretty old/run down. They have done a face lift and it looks good from the outside. But when you enter its a stale/old place. The rooms are terrible - bad colors/ terrible furniture. They do not even have key card access and hand out actual keys. I was very disappointed upon entering the hotel and even more in the room. The balcony is tiny. We paid 308$ per night for 3 people and did not even get an extra bed. A complete waste of money. The all inclusive plan - The buffet is decent. The restaurants are practically useless coz they need reservations 2 days in advance, no vegetarian options, the customer service desk staff only works until 4, making it even harder to make a reservation or get your questions answered. It works like a run down market with little assistance. They do not even help with local calls to work with car rentals and such. The entertainment/theater is another hoax. I wanted some entertainment and picked Riu just for this - but that too amateur. Overall, a vacation spoiler with an exorbitant price tag. At best I would give this room 50$ a night and a 2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mag2011
Business
chicago IL
Nov 19, 2012

This hotel is horrible!

Avoid ! The holte is old and infested with cackroaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mearske
Business
Bend Oregon
Jan 8, 2013

Would not frequent a RIU again

The front desk people are rude and ridiculous, very unfriendly and not helpful. The rest of the staff is fine. The rooms are fine but could not get the maid to put washrags in the room for 3 days. The restaurants are impossible to get into since you have to book 48 hours in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Parrilla

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sabionda2
Business
Cambridge, MA
Feb 20, 2013

Avoid at all cost!!!

The pics don't reflect the current state of this hotel. It's old, rundown, and ugly. Not only that, but the walls of our junior suite were covered in black mold!! The room smelled and it was really humid. Also, the two double beds were right next to each other. Weird! The food was ok, but not great. The people were trashy and drunk. Some of the staff was really rude to us. Others were nice enough, but not great. I'm definitely not going to spend another family vacation at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krisirome
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 22, 2013

Food, staff, and resort problems

In the three categories: 1. Food--the hotel brags three specialty restaurants, but doesn't tell you that it must be booked two days in advance and they only take 10-12 reservations. We managed to beg our way in one night, only to see the restaurant 1/3 full after being told it was "overbooked". On top of that, one person got food poisoning. The buffet was ok, though expect to see the evening's offerings reappear at breakfast and lunch the next day. 2. Staff: I've never felt so unwelcome at a resort. The management was hesitant to provide any help with a restaurant reservation, emphasized ridiculous policies like checking out 15 minutes late incurs a full day penalty (wonderful since the checkout line takes 15 minutes), or insisting that they cut off bracelets from all people before check out is complete. One couple wanted two juices while they waited for their airport transfer and the bartender wouldn't serve them because they had checked out. It was 1205. Worst of all, the 'security' at the door wouldn't let us load our bags into our own rental car without a OECD of paper, called a checkout sheet and couldn't explain in English why he was looking through the bags in our trunk--only that we need this checkout sheet. I felt like a prisoner trying to breakout. Except I'd paid $300 a night to be there. 3. Resort: the area is so rich with things to do and reasonable restaurants, I would never pay so much for such poor service and mediocre facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat local!! Tons of cute restaurants in this area with great specials!

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Honeymooner 2
Business
Cancan
Mar 7, 2013

Dirty

Dirty sheets, hair on silverware, hair on toilet seat & water from shower smelled horrible. Told them it was my honeymoon gave me a room with two double beds & stained sheets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top