Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
669 reviews
Perfect place to stay

To be short, pros: beautiful views, nicely renovated interior and exterior, friendly and attentive... See full review

  • world piligrim
  • Sep 11, 2014
Excellent spot

Food was amazing, as were the drinks and staff. Being located right DT Cancun is what really excels... See full review

  • Like it loud
  • Sep 2, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week.
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (669)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
669 out of 669
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Dec 10, 2009

Don't stay here!

Bad service, terrible food. My girlfriend and I actually WALKED OUT of one of the restaurants in the hotel. The staff is clueless and poorly trained. The entertainment shows are just the pool staff acting like idiots on stage. The place is embarrassing. Also, [...] misinformed us about whether the hotel offers room service. THEY DO NOT. [...] I would recommend strongly against the Riu Cancun, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Californian
San Francisco, CA
Mar 31, 2009

AWFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This was the worst ever! The staff is rude, rooms dirty, pools close at 7pm, restaurants have odd hours, no room service, very limited (lowest quality)alcohol selection. The all incl domestic alcohol is ONLY Dos Equis & Jose Cuervo - no top shelf anything! And cannot get corona, sol, pacifico. Pools were filthy with things floating in them (they say they close at 7pm every nite for cleaning - I never saw them being cleaned). Mini bar restocked EVERY OTHER day. Cable went out twice. Staff changed my US dollars into pesos but refused to change pesos back to dollars upon checkout. Had to call down 3 times to get bottled water. When asked for new glasses the staff gave us the dirty ones from room next door that they were currently cleaning. Only decent place to eat is Don Juan (open for 3 meals - closes by 1030pm) and the steak house. Only 24 hr food is at sports bar which is filled w/gnats & filthy floor/counters. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is just as much a rip off. $50-70 cover charge w/all inclusive (all inclusive cheapest brands again....dos equis is the only beer & smirnoff is the top shelf vodka).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Dec 14, 2009

Money was stolen from my room!!!

I had my cash stolen from my hotel room!!! It was inside of my suitcase inside of my wallet!! I booked a day trip with the hotel so the staff knew I'd be out of the room all day. I had the money in the morning and it was gone at night. Someone from the cleaning staff or the people that fill up the mini bar definitely took it. The security manager said that the hotel has no responsibility for anything outside of the safe in the room! Completely ruined my vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Keep all of your valuables and cash in the safe provided or else it WILL get stolen!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAandSA
New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

so disgusting had to leave early

Do not waste your money. The hotel is disgusting. There are bed bugs, the rooms stink, the water smells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MISS TREATED TRAVELER!
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Jun 7, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE

Although this hotel may look great on the internet and when you first walk through the door... It is only time before you see the true hotel. Let's put it this way, I have NEVER given a bad review before (if I don't have anything nice to say I do not say anything) but if I do not say something this time I feel someone else will be hurt. OK, lets start at the beginning. Upon entering the hotel no one is there to greet you. We stood in line at the desk for over 1/2 hour, to be handed two keys (not a card but a key) one for the room and a rusty one for the safe both on an old dirty string.Our room looked ok but after a long flight and the wait down stair I just wanted to lay down for a minute. THAT WAS THE SECOND PROBLEM. THE "BEDS" WERE NOT BEDS! They were Just box springs. THERE ARE NO MATTRESSES. Actually wood and springs covered with blankets. But still I thought at least I am on vacation. The next problem came at meal time. I am NOT a picky eater but the food was gross (food that was to be cold food was warm and food that was to be warm was not). Still I ate it and kept up the high spirits that at least I was on vacation. The next morning was the last straw! When we woke up my family (12 year old son and 8 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER) enter the hallway to go to breakfast.. Only to find vomit on the floors, food thrown everywhere, and a grown man PISSING in the hallway. Not to mention the fact that several people passed out drunk near the pool! When this occured infront of my 8 year old I went to the front desk to ask if there was a different part of the hotel that wasn't quite as wild or if there was anything they could do about the man peeing in the hallway and the manager laughed and she said all I could do was leave. [...] I booked the rest of the trip at the GRAND REAL CARIBEA CANCUN next to the Royal Cancun. BOY WHAT A GREAT PLACE!!!!!! It was Night and Day difference. If you want a great vacation book there. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Honeymooner 2
Cancan
Mar 7, 2013

Dirty

Dirty sheets, hair on silverware, hair on toilet seat & water from shower smelled horrible. Told them it was my honeymoon gave me a room with two double beds & stained sheets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Franklin84
New York, NY, USA
Oct 29, 2011

One of the worst hotels ever

The staffs are not friendly at all. If you are not fluent in Spanish, best of luck getting the help you need. All the activities are at least 1/2 hour late. Hotel is not accommodating to travelers in distress. We experienced Hurricane Rina during our vacation stay there and hotel can't even provide any accommodations. They insisted that we have to checked out. We ended up paying taxi to go to the airport even though we found out our flight was cancelled. We stayed at Marriott courtyard. We totally regretted staying with Riu Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SM11
New york
Jan 21, 2014

HORRIBLE!!! not worth the money!

We have been excited for the trip to Riu but as we arrived there we were horrified.... We have been to 3-4 star resorts that have much more better service and beaches than this 5 star... The was a tiny beach ( if you can call it a beach) for such a tremendously huge resort.... three small pools... but they are located in such a way, both beach and resort that the sun appears only for few hours and than it hides besides the high Riu building....FOOOD is HORRIBLE!!! every single day the same food....most of it - fast, fat food....i got stomach virus there.....rooms look like ancient times, smells horrible, there was mould in the bathtub...I was shocked to find out that my sheets, towels, can be changed once in couple of days!!!!! If you want your vacation to be a disaster - go for RIU Cancun!!! Would not recommend ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Nov 9, 2010

Not at all what we hoped for.

We have been to Mexico several times and stayed at several different resort companies, but never have I had such an experience. While the hotel was beautiful to look at and the staff worked diligently to keep it clean throughout the day that is the best that can be said for it. The beds are so old, saggy and rock hard with springs poking through; we found that the poolside lounge chairs were more comfortable to sleep on. The air conditioners barely worked at all. We were lucky that the weather was perfect or we would have been miserable. The FOOD. Vile, bland, tastless except for being over salted and just plain bad. So much so that one of our party ended up with food poisoning. Even the most basic of meals were a disaster. We could not believe that they couldn't even get the Mexican food right. Never again. RIU resorts have such a good reputation we just couldn't understand what happened at this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
houston tx
Aug 14, 2009

horrible service/horrible hotel

It's a big fat mess. I paid for a suite and they gave someone else my room. They were out of suites, so i didn't get one nor did i get a refund. Plus, they turn off the ac on occasion. I don't think our room ever got below 85. I've never had a bad experience in Mexico until now :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top