$352 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
695 reviews
love it

i love the place and will definitely be back to this hotel. See full review

  • Yuly g.
  • Feb 19, 2015
Awesome Honeymoon!

This hotel was VERY clean! All the staff was very friendly and helpful. I was very pleased with our... See full review

  • Megan D.
  • Feb 19, 2015
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (695)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
695 out of 695
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deshawne
Business
Glenwood, IA
Jan 10, 2014

Cannot be a four star.

This hotel while located in the hotel zone - could not have been worse. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly enough....but wanted to make sure that the kids knew not to lose their room keys or their towel keys or we would have to pay some ridiculous replacement amount. When we got to the rooms - we were told that both were suites. They were not. One room had two beds shoved together to seemingly make a king size bed and then a pull out couch. The other room had two very small twin beds shoved together to make a queen sized bed. Neither of the beds were comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked and there were adequate amounts of bottled water. However, the room was in a constant state of moisture. The floor was even slick due to the moisture content in the room. There is no shampoo and/or conditioner included in the room. The comforters and the furniture is from the 70's. Most disconcerting was the lack of coffee. Not available in your room. No coffee maker. No room service. No coffee unless you walk a mile to a dispensary in the lobby. On the plus side, the staff was great. Constantly cleaning, constantly asking if you need anything. The one thing I would suggest for the staff - if it is raining and there are 400+ people with nothing to do....maybe put on a show or ask people to play some games. Overall, the hotel would not rate a two star!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was amazing the service was great. We had a three day wait for reservations so make them early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dionw
Business
Nfld canada
Dec 30, 2013

Riu

The hotel staff were great , went out of their way to make my fiancée birthday special with balloons on the door and a complimentary bottle of champagne . The room was not the greatest , mostly ergonomics and flow .The room was extremely Damp and had a musty mold smell .The sheets felt wet every night and the a/c was not all that effective .We did manage to take in a few activities .A trip to xel-Ha was good , we swam with the dolphins great experience . was just annoyed that we had to keep hauling out money every step of the way.one price would have been better instead of feeling gouged all the time. Took the kids scuba diving for thei first time which was awesome well worth the money and this was at the hotel ...Over all it was a great family trip but the rooms were the only issue .the food was great and they have a great night show there which kept the family entertained .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun Mommy
Business
Northern, Virginia
Dec 22, 2013

Perfect for the 30 and younger crowd!

Great location...food just average, very very young crowd.....reminded me of a spring break atmosphere. I am a mother of an eighteen year old and a twenty year old. We traveled over the Christmas holiday. The kids were in their element and met so many kids in their age bracket. A lot of rowdy single groups. If you are looking for quiet this is not the resort. Nor is it romantic. Nor is the food out of this world. Or the Spa. Everything just average. This trip was for my kids, not me, so I feel I picked the perfect place for my two "young" adults to have a great time and meet nice friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ruth Chris's Steak house. Reservations required. Fantastic food and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frank0007
Business
new york
Nov 25, 2013

location

This hotel its grate if u like to party hard at nite. Its located 5 minutes away walking distance from the core of cancun nightclubs. The hotel its decent and afordable. The food was the only thing i didnt like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fun happy CC
Business
Boston
Nov 16, 2013

good for the money

first time at an all inclusive the hotel needs upgrading but I want to start with the good the grounds are well kept and the hotel is very clean the pools are awesome specially the infinity pool on the quiet side less people a bit cold though the beach is small but nice clear water some rocks but soft rocks we arrived late after(an issue with the transportation do not rent a car very sketchy and they dont tell you when you reserve on line that you have to buy extra expensive insurance is the law and then they put a $3000.00 hold on your credit card in case there is damages to the car when you returned it awful experience and we waited over an hour in line before we got waited on luckily we changed our minds and did not rent they do allow you to cancel at no charge we took a cab instead 60 us dollars for 4 of us the ride was a litte over half an hour with no traffic we used grayland tours for the ride back to the airport they were awesome good good service they even do the check in for you they pick up at the airport also no problem I think you can book ahead on line ) now back to the hotel check in process was so easy we had Luis who was wonderful we were also greeted with welcome drinks awesome! the food at the buffet was good my daughter who is a very picky eater found something she liked everyday they do have a variety of food and is good for a buffet the 2 restaurants the rodizzio and steak house where ok making reservations was easy, the staff was wonderful they were very pleasant we saw people not tipping but we did they work hard!! they did restocked the fridge every two days the room was ok our view could of been better they were clean but we did found a bug two days in a row (disgusting) and the beds are horrible very uncomfortable and they smelled bad including the pillows and the room smelled moldy I'm not one to complain but c'mon... also you have to look for a good spot if you want the sun the way the hotel is situated there's not alot of sun they also use cards for towels do not loose it it will cost you about $20-25 the location of the hotel is good is close to the clubs and malls, weather was good it did rain for a little bit but then it cleared rigth up my two daughters did two excursions swim with the dolphins and scuba diving they loved it ! you can book it right at the hotel lobby you have different choices when booking them I would go back to this hotel if they changed their beds and last if you are a drinker liquor is not top brand no corona either !!! (you do have to wear wristbands and if you like you can also visit and enjoy their partner hotel riu caribe about an hour walk to that hotel we did :) we liked it !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the mall is right across the street they have everything compare prices if you are on a budget they have some stores that sell for less than others

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SaltAndPepper
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 30, 2013

Food was fantastic!

10/23/13 - 10/27/13.... I couldn't believe that the food at an all-inclusive hotel was that good. The food really is high quality. Better than any food chain restaurant. A step below Ruth Chris Steakhouse but not much lower. It was that good. The only thing that I missed was having a waiter sometimes. Poor planning on our part. They do have three restaurants but we were having so much fun that we never made reservations. The food at the restaurant is not any better (from what I heard), you just have a waiter. I kind of missed that after three dinners at the buffet. We went to one of the best Mexican restaurant downtown, and I thought that the food was better at the hotel. The room was kind of warm for me. I complained and they fixed it the next day. They were very helpful. The staff was great. All of them. I don't live around the ocean so I was not aware of women wearing thongs, in their 40's and 50's too, any shape. So, that's a perfect place to try your thong if you have one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kevin and kim
Business
washington state
Oct 17, 2013

very relaxing

first time in cancun and definetly not the last. the riu hotel was beautiful and the staff was exellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mezzy CA
Business
Fremont, California
Sep 20, 2013

September Cancun Vacation

The hotel sits as described, directly on the beach of Cancun and is only blocks from the hottest clubs in Cancun so it is definitely on a prime plot of land. Our experience upon arrival was great, we were greeted promptly at the door and were even brought welcome drinks as we checked in by one of the staff. The staff was absolutely top notch when it came to helpfulness, friendliness and attentiveness. Everyone was happy and willing to help and when at the bar I don't believe I ever had to order another drink. The bartenders did a phenomenal job of watching the guests and as soon as your drink was even close to done you already had another sitting in front of you. They were very friendly and easy to get along with. Probably one of the best selling points of this hotel. The food was, in my opinion as well as the friend I went with, absolutely awful. Everything at the buffet tasted terrible and even the steak house (which you will need to make reservations for) was really really bad. Neither one of us got sick or anything from the food but we did decide on eating elsewhere outside of the hotel after a few days, which is disappointing considering you just paid for an all inclusive. We were not very impressed with the rooms (Junior Suite) only because our specific room had an AC which worked when it wanted to and the beds were about as soft as a cinder block. My friend and I both woke up sore in the morning on the side of our body that we slept on. There was also only one outlet in the entire room and the next accessible one was in the bathroom. The overall look and feel of the room was average, nothing special. It has a small safe for storing belongings, a fridge and a 4 bottle dispenser of alcohol which is stocked for you to drink (included in all inclusive). There are 3 pools available to choose from, one usually has entertainment staff games and things going on which is pretty fun. The biggest one gets about as deep as 5'6" and is good for swimming around. The third pool is the one with the swim up bar and is where most people usually hang out during the day drinking and meeting other guests. The pools were nice, no complaints there. The wireless internet in the lobby was pretty unreliable and can only be used for 90 consecutive minutes every 24 hours. The internet at the sports bar internet cafe computers was also very unreliable and would go down often or would just stop loading pages but it was unrestricted in terms of use. Overall, I expected much better for what we paid and for being such a big name in hotels in the Cancun area. I would probably recommend a different hotel during off-season but I have heard that this hotel has a much different feel during spring break and summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The hotel entertainment staff will take guests to a specific club every night where you can get bottle service and tables together. It was a good way to meet people and fellow guests, definitely ask one of the staff about it if you want to check out the night life scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Travel Girl
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 12, 2013

Best All-Inclusive & Fun Trip

There were a lot of great activities, staff was really nice. The room was comfortable and the food was good. Whatever you were in the mood for, you could find something you would enjoy. Nice Beach access and fun pools. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, New York
Sep 9, 2013

fantastic family getaway!

We had the best experience ever at this resort! The food, the entertainment, the friendly stafff, the room, and customer service! Special mention of Emilio and Delfino who went beyond service in the dining room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top