$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
628 out of 628
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jojo Drago
Business
Raleigh, NC
Feb 27, 2014

Fun Girls vacay

The staff was very courteous and helpful. The food was very good and their display was very impressive. Rooms could use a little update, bedspreads very old and worn out looking All in all a great resort and I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johno142002
Business
St Paul,Mn
Feb 25, 2014

Could not say enough good about the Riu

We got upgraded to the Palace next one down. It was a very friendly, clean, fun place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Riu Believer
Business
Riu Cancun
Feb 24, 2014

Amazing

All out amazing experience. Food, cleanliness, staff,location all A+. Able to take a safe, 10 minute walk to all of the night clubs. Beyond impressed with the selection of food through out the day. Staff couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
driu
Business
kansas city mo
Feb 22, 2014

getaway

too much distance between rooms and coffee. would be nice to have coffee available on floors of rooms. lots of walking to get to a restaurant, a pool, lobby. nothing wrong with walking but too much distance between room and facilities. advertised a free excursion sun and wed and when I called to schedule found out it was sun and tues. a weekly list of events at hotel. food was good but another open seated buffet would be nice to avoid everyone in one room and open one at 5:00pm and the other at 6:30 is fine. customer service was good, friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

schedule reservations early

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Say No To Timeshare
Business
USA
Feb 21, 2014

Great place

Great location. Right in the middle of the tourist zone. My wife and I have been to Cancun numerous times. This is the only resort we have gone to for a second time. Food is excellent. Resort gave us gifts, champagne and decorated our room to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary and both of our birthdays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony.h
Business
Boston,MA
Feb 20, 2014

old but renovated resort

old renovated hotel, the food is ok, but the same breakfast at the same restaurant. the other one open at 10am for breakfast. For dinner 3 good restaurants, but you need to have reservation, also the same food everyday. The activities team did good job, every night a different show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
girly traveler
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 16, 2014

great location, food disappointing

The hotel was quite good. The location, view, and beach we fantastic. However a warning you loose the sun in all places in the hotel in the afternoon. We were there in February and by 3pm there was not a spot of sun left neither by the pools or on the beach. My main disappointment was the food. Both the restaurants were buffet and both served the exact same food, so there was little variety. But the food at the buffet was ok. Breakfast was by far the best meal. The a la carte restaurants were horrible. The Brazilian restaurant had the same salad bar and desert as the buffet. The meat was less then desirable. If you have ever had a decent steak you will regret your visit. The Japanese restaurant was also lacking. The only thing that tasted remotely correct was the pickled ginger. As I was so disappointed in the 2 restaurants listed above I did not venture to try the steak house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many clubs and bars close by excellent .

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reavisel
Business
Cancun, Mexico
Feb 13, 2014

Basic all-inclusive resort

RIU Cancun is your basic all-inclusive hotel. The staff is wonderful, and our room was super clean considering the amount of sand that we tracked upstairs. If you're looking for a quick getaway to an all-inclusive spot, RIU Cancun is perfect, especially since it's only a 20 minute ride from the airport. The beach is rather small and you are limited in how far you can wonder along the water. However, there are multiple pools, with one designated as the "quiet" pool for those who don't want to be bothered. If you're looking for ambiance and luxury on top of all-inclusive amenities, then this might not be the best spot for you. The actual furnishings (cover on the beds, beach towels, lounge chairs on the beach, the lobby bar) of this resort appear to be RIU sibling hand-me-downs. With Cancun known for crazy partying and kids going wild on spring break, I can understand why they might reuse items that are past their prime. The other RIU locations I've stayed at (RIU Yucatan in Riviera Maya and RIU Jalisco in Puerto Vallarta) have been beautiful and well keep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetster Jane
Business
Belmont, MA
Feb 9, 2014

Trip to Cancun

This was our first stay at this hotel. Our room had a great view, but it was a real struggle to get the room cleaned on some days, and then getting them to clean the room properly (did not wipe down surfaces, put a blood stained sheet on the bed), and to provide basics like shower soap and comfortable sheets. I needed laundry service, but there was no bag or laundry slip in the room; called guest services and housekeeping, they kept saying they would send someone (I called several times, waiting a long time), nobody came to the room as promised (and I was also told I was going to have to pay for expedited service - though it was their fault, and I called several days in advance to my needing the items! Even the, still the did not pick up my laundry! I ended up carrying it to a local laundry myself). I asked to speak to a manager, and was put off by front desk staff. This was the first hotel I ever stayed at where management was not accessible to guests, and where everyone worked for housekeeping (housekeeping should be given a room checklist to complete every time they enter a room to insure nothing is missed). The hotel should realize that we are their guests, and we are there to relax. For a place at this price point, I think there are a better places with better service. I can think of a few other places in Cancun which are better..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not over pay for a tour of Isla Mujeres. There is an Ultramar ferry almost across from Plaza Caracol, with inexpensive fares You can rent golf carts reasonably to see the whole island, or you can even just walk around the town on your own and swim at the North beach.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Torosie
Business
Atlanta GA
Jan 30, 2014

My Birthday gift

Everything was GREAT!!!! we enjoyed every minute the only thing I did not like was the bed, I asked for a king size and they put together two beds to make it king. I was uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top