$313 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
681 reviews
Just Right

Good job Riu, again. Enjoyed another Riu resort before and this one did just as well. Look forward... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 18, 2014
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (681)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
681 out of 681
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
girly traveler
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Feb 16, 2014

great location, food disappointing

The hotel was quite good. The location, view, and beach we fantastic. However a warning you loose the sun in all places in the hotel in the afternoon. We were there in February and by 3pm there was not a spot of sun left neither by the pools or on the beach. My main disappointment was the food. Both the restaurants were buffet and both served the exact same food, so there was little variety. But the food at the buffet was ok. Breakfast was by far the best meal. The a la carte restaurants were horrible. The Brazilian restaurant had the same salad bar and desert as the buffet. The meat was less then desirable. If you have ever had a decent steak you will regret your visit. The Japanese restaurant was also lacking. The only thing that tasted remotely correct was the pickled ginger. As I was so disappointed in the 2 restaurants listed above I did not venture to try the steak house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many clubs and bars close by excellent .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reavisel
Business
Cancun, Mexico
Feb 13, 2014

Basic all-inclusive resort

RIU Cancun is your basic all-inclusive hotel. The staff is wonderful, and our room was super clean considering the amount of sand that we tracked upstairs. If you're looking for a quick getaway to an all-inclusive spot, RIU Cancun is perfect, especially since it's only a 20 minute ride from the airport. The beach is rather small and you are limited in how far you can wonder along the water. However, there are multiple pools, with one designated as the "quiet" pool for those who don't want to be bothered. If you're looking for ambiance and luxury on top of all-inclusive amenities, then this might not be the best spot for you. The actual furnishings (cover on the beds, beach towels, lounge chairs on the beach, the lobby bar) of this resort appear to be RIU sibling hand-me-downs. With Cancun known for crazy partying and kids going wild on spring break, I can understand why they might reuse items that are past their prime. The other RIU locations I've stayed at (RIU Yucatan in Riviera Maya and RIU Jalisco in Puerto Vallarta) have been beautiful and well keep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jetster Jane
Business
Belmont, MA
Feb 9, 2014

Trip to Cancun

This was our first stay at this hotel. Our room had a great view, but it was a real struggle to get the room cleaned on some days, and then getting them to clean the room properly (did not wipe down surfaces, put a blood stained sheet on the bed), and to provide basics like shower soap and comfortable sheets. I needed laundry service, but there was no bag or laundry slip in the room; called guest services and housekeeping, they kept saying they would send someone (I called several times, waiting a long time), nobody came to the room as promised (and I was also told I was going to have to pay for expedited service - though it was their fault, and I called several days in advance to my needing the items! Even the, still the did not pick up my laundry! I ended up carrying it to a local laundry myself). I asked to speak to a manager, and was put off by front desk staff. This was the first hotel I ever stayed at where management was not accessible to guests, and where everyone worked for housekeeping (housekeeping should be given a room checklist to complete every time they enter a room to insure nothing is missed). The hotel should realize that we are their guests, and we are there to relax. For a place at this price point, I think there are a better places with better service. I can think of a few other places in Cancun which are better..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not over pay for a tour of Isla Mujeres. There is an Ultramar ferry almost across from Plaza Caracol, with inexpensive fares You can rent golf carts reasonably to see the whole island, or you can even just walk around the town on your own and swim at the North beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Torosie
Business
Atlanta GA
Jan 30, 2014

My Birthday gift

Everything was GREAT!!!! we enjoyed every minute the only thing I did not like was the bed, I asked for a king size and they put together two beds to make it king. I was uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SM11
Business
New york
Jan 21, 2014

HORRIBLE!!! not worth the money!

We have been excited for the trip to Riu but as we arrived there we were horrified.... We have been to 3-4 star resorts that have much more better service and beaches than this 5 star... The was a tiny beach ( if you can call it a beach) for such a tremendously huge resort.... three small pools... but they are located in such a way, both beach and resort that the sun appears only for few hours and than it hides besides the high Riu building....FOOOD is HORRIBLE!!! every single day the same food....most of it - fast, fat food....i got stomach virus there.....rooms look like ancient times, smells horrible, there was mould in the bathtub...I was shocked to find out that my sheets, towels, can be changed once in couple of days!!!!! If you want your vacation to be a disaster - go for RIU Cancun!!! Would not recommend ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ctrwoody
Business
Princeton Indiana
Jan 12, 2014

Very nice for the money

Great location, buffet was great, specialty restaurants were ok, everything was very clean three pools all ocean side one with pool bar all sweet, with nice views of the ocean, most of the staff was very helpful, especially they young lady at the exchange, she was very helpful in getting our bags delivered to to hotel after they missed a flight and can in 9 hours later (THANK YOU) also if you stay here get your transfer too and from the hotel from Grayline. They were very friendly and helpful, they gave my wife a rose when we arrived at there location at the Cancun airport. Ask for Carlos from Grayline at this hotel Carlos was very helpful, recovered my jacket I left in the transport van, told us about the hotel, the area, and who we could and could not trust in the area. Carlo's was not pushy and will not send you to visit a time share, he helped us setup a trip to the Mayan Chichen Itza temple. Very nice trip long but nice, Grayline has a private entrance, if you want to buy a Mayan charm don't do it at Chichen Itza, our hotel jewelry store had free transportation to the jewelry (factory) store downtown, they will customize your charm in 30 min at more then half the cost at Chichen Itza and then return you to your hotel free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You can sign up for specialty restaurants 48 hours in advance which we recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deshawne
Business
Glenwood, IA
Jan 10, 2014

Cannot be a four star.

This hotel while located in the hotel zone - could not have been worse. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly enough....but wanted to make sure that the kids knew not to lose their room keys or their towel keys or we would have to pay some ridiculous replacement amount. When we got to the rooms - we were told that both were suites. They were not. One room had two beds shoved together to seemingly make a king size bed and then a pull out couch. The other room had two very small twin beds shoved together to make a queen sized bed. Neither of the beds were comfortable. The mini bar was well stocked and there were adequate amounts of bottled water. However, the room was in a constant state of moisture. The floor was even slick due to the moisture content in the room. There is no shampoo and/or conditioner included in the room. The comforters and the furniture is from the 70's. Most disconcerting was the lack of coffee. Not available in your room. No coffee maker. No room service. No coffee unless you walk a mile to a dispensary in the lobby. On the plus side, the staff was great. Constantly cleaning, constantly asking if you need anything. The one thing I would suggest for the staff - if it is raining and there are 400+ people with nothing to do....maybe put on a show or ask people to play some games. Overall, the hotel would not rate a two star!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant was amazing the service was great. We had a three day wait for reservations so make them early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dionw
Business
Nfld canada
Dec 30, 2013

Riu

The hotel staff were great , went out of their way to make my fiancée birthday special with balloons on the door and a complimentary bottle of champagne . The room was not the greatest , mostly ergonomics and flow .The room was extremely Damp and had a musty mold smell .The sheets felt wet every night and the a/c was not all that effective .We did manage to take in a few activities .A trip to xel-Ha was good , we swam with the dolphins great experience . was just annoyed that we had to keep hauling out money every step of the way.one price would have been better instead of feeling gouged all the time. Took the kids scuba diving for thei first time which was awesome well worth the money and this was at the hotel ...Over all it was a great family trip but the rooms were the only issue .the food was great and they have a great night show there which kept the family entertained .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun Mommy
Business
Northern, Virginia
Dec 22, 2013

Perfect for the 30 and younger crowd!

Great location...food just average, very very young crowd.....reminded me of a spring break atmosphere. I am a mother of an eighteen year old and a twenty year old. We traveled over the Christmas holiday. The kids were in their element and met so many kids in their age bracket. A lot of rowdy single groups. If you are looking for quiet this is not the resort. Nor is it romantic. Nor is the food out of this world. Or the Spa. Everything just average. This trip was for my kids, not me, so I feel I picked the perfect place for my two "young" adults to have a great time and meet nice friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ruth Chris's Steak house. Reservations required. Fantastic food and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frank0007
Business
new york
Nov 25, 2013

location

This hotel its grate if u like to party hard at nite. Its located 5 minutes away walking distance from the core of cancun nightclubs. The hotel its decent and afordable. The food was the only thing i didnt like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top