$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
669 reviews
Perfect place to stay

To be short, pros: beautiful views, nicely renovated interior and exterior, friendly and attentive... See full review

  • world piligrim
  • Sep 11, 2014
Excellent spot

Food was amazing, as were the drinks and staff. Being located right DT Cancun is what really excels... See full review

  • Like it loud
  • Sep 2, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week.
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (669)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
669 out of 669
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kevin and kim
washington state
Oct 17, 2013

very relaxing

first time in cancun and definetly not the last. the riu hotel was beautiful and the staff was exellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mezzy CA
Fremont, California
Sep 20, 2013

September Cancun Vacation

The hotel sits as described, directly on the beach of Cancun and is only blocks from the hottest clubs in Cancun so it is definitely on a prime plot of land. Our experience upon arrival was great, we were greeted promptly at the door and were even brought welcome drinks as we checked in by one of the staff. The staff was absolutely top notch when it came to helpfulness, friendliness and attentiveness. Everyone was happy and willing to help and when at the bar I don't believe I ever had to order another drink. The bartenders did a phenomenal job of watching the guests and as soon as your drink was even close to done you already had another sitting in front of you. They were very friendly and easy to get along with. Probably one of the best selling points of this hotel. The food was, in my opinion as well as the friend I went with, absolutely awful. Everything at the buffet tasted terrible and even the steak house (which you will need to make reservations for) was really really bad. Neither one of us got sick or anything from the food but we did decide on eating elsewhere outside of the hotel after a few days, which is disappointing considering you just paid for an all inclusive. We were not very impressed with the rooms (Junior Suite) only because our specific room had an AC which worked when it wanted to and the beds were about as soft as a cinder block. My friend and I both woke up sore in the morning on the side of our body that we slept on. There was also only one outlet in the entire room and the next accessible one was in the bathroom. The overall look and feel of the room was average, nothing special. It has a small safe for storing belongings, a fridge and a 4 bottle dispenser of alcohol which is stocked for you to drink (included in all inclusive). There are 3 pools available to choose from, one usually has entertainment staff games and things going on which is pretty fun. The biggest one gets about as deep as 5'6" and is good for swimming around. The third pool is the one with the swim up bar and is where most people usually hang out during the day drinking and meeting other guests. The pools were nice, no complaints there. The wireless internet in the lobby was pretty unreliable and can only be used for 90 consecutive minutes every 24 hours. The internet at the sports bar internet cafe computers was also very unreliable and would go down often or would just stop loading pages but it was unrestricted in terms of use. Overall, I expected much better for what we paid and for being such a big name in hotels in the Cancun area. I would probably recommend a different hotel during off-season but I have heard that this hotel has a much different feel during spring break and summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The hotel entertainment staff will take guests to a specific club every night where you can get bottle service and tables together. It was a good way to meet people and fellow guests, definitely ask one of the staff about it if you want to check out the night life scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver Travel Girl
Denver, CO
Sep 12, 2013

Best All-Inclusive & Fun Trip

There were a lot of great activities, staff was really nice. The room was comfortable and the food was good. Whatever you were in the mood for, you could find something you would enjoy. Nice Beach access and fun pools. I would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Staten Island, New York
Sep 9, 2013

fantastic family getaway!

We had the best experience ever at this resort! The food, the entertainment, the friendly stafff, the room, and customer service! Special mention of Emilio and Delfino who went beyond service in the dining room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
awu917
Dallas, TX
Sep 3, 2013

Awesome getaway, amazing nightlife

Come here if you want to party! The hotel had great drinks and the buffet served each day was more than enough. The beach was clean and the staff was wonderful throughout the trip. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's about 5 minutes walking distance from all the major clubs in Cancun so come here if you plan on experiencing the nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROBINEGG
Dickeyville, Wisconsin
Aug 3, 2013

Great Vacation

I loved this resort and so did the other 5 people we went with. Relaxing, good food, fun staff and great shows. My only complaint would be having to hunt down a cup of coffee in the morning! Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and star bucks right across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ssr24
Plano, Texas
Jul 15, 2013

FANTASTIC experience!!

This was our fifth trip to Cancun. The staff could not have been nicer. Service was outstanding! They worked hard to make sure all of your needs were met. The maids came daily and made beds, replaced towels, swept and emptied trash. The food was good considering that they were trying to provide food that would make many nationalities happy. Never had a problem getting a reservations for dinner, lounge chair, etc. Would recommend. I am not sure why, but we received the VIP service with Grayhound Line transport service to the hotel. Once we exited the airport we were met by a representative who gave us bottled water, roses for the women, and took us straight to hotel in a Mercedes van. When they took us to the airport to leave, again our bags were taken, they got our bags checked, our seat assignment on the plane, and told us what gate to go to. Incredible! We had to to nothing. Such a wonderful overall experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
casalaza
Chicago IL
Jun 26, 2013

Staff not professional

The location is pretty good. Most of the people that stay in the hotel are in their early twenties. If you are party person, you will like this hotel since its close to all the bars and clubs. The food is okay. I like good alcohol and what they serve here is the cheap stuff. I have gone to can cun 6 times and this hotel has the worst alcohol. The best tequila they have is Jimador which is ok. The elevators are really slow and they only have 4. I ended up walking the stairs many times. When you are eating the waiters are eager to take your plate away if you are not done, yet they take forever to help serve any beverages. Internet is only allowed for 90 minutes a day and it takes forever to log on. Unless you pay for it, then its pretty good. Out of all the hotels i have stayed in cancun, this is my least favorite and this is my 6th hotel. Worst food, worst drinks, worst service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The sushi is the best restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pashington
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 16, 2013

Fantastic Couples Vacation

Came here for a relaxing couples vacation. Everything was better than expected. Located right on the beach with the beautiful cancun sand and water, and a few minutes walk from the nightlife. Many locations to grab a bite to eat. Bars surround the entire hotel, especially one directly in the pool. Staff is excellent and friendly always greeting you with a smile and a buenos dias. Capped off the vacation with a relaxing couples massage. Couldn't ask for more for a week long getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go through the hotel entertainment staff. They always meet up at 10:45 outside the lobby. But you can always run into them near the pool area to find out that nights nightlife activity. $50 fee per person for unlimited alcohol and secluded table serviec area for the hotel. Transportation is always provided to the venue. And its usually a short walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TX UK Travelers
Houston, Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Great place for a fun family reunion!

We had an awesome family reunion at the Riu Cancun, meeting up with family from the UK, Canada and the US. The resort had everything that we needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search