$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
632 out of 632
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johno142002
Couples
Maplewood
Jan 6, 2015

riu

We had a great time,cant wait to go back.got treated like king and queen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate G.
Couples
Andover
Jan 5, 2015

Great couples trip!

We stayed at the Riu Cancun from Aug 26th 2014 - Sep 5th 2014. They had just finished remodeling a few weeks before and my husband had been there a few years back. Wow, what a difference! When we originally booked our room, we were not able to choose bed preference so when we checked in we asked the people at the desk what they could do for us. After a couple of minutes, he came back and said they were upgrading us to a deluxe junior corner suite at no extra charge for our 10 day stay! What a nice surprise. The room was very spacious, very clean. The mini fridge was restocked about every other day and had a liquor dispenser above the mini fridge. The shower was huge and awesome! Dual sinks and a jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room. We did have some issues with our A/C that they finally figured out had to do with the sensor attached to our balcony door. They had to fix it a couple times. Although the room temperature was fairly comfortable throughout we couldn't get it much cooler than 21-22 degrees celsius. We absolutely LOVED the food. The buffet was amazing and massive. Always something super yummy!!! Their specialty restaurants were great as well. Sushi awesome. Steakhouse good. Italian amazing. We've been to all of the Riu's in Cancun. This particular hotel did not have the best bar service. We noticed that the outspoken, loud patrons got served before the quiet, patient guests. We did tip pretty much every time, but that didn't seem to matter. However, it did not ruin our trip. The pools were always a nice temperature, not too warm, not too cool. What is nice about the multiple pools is one has a bar to sit, chat and relax (and drink!) one has most of the activities (pool staff is super fun) and others are fairly quiet. There was nightly entertainment which was always fun - I can't say enough about the entertainment staff! Make sure if you are there during the Michael Jackson show you SEE IT! The beaches at all of the Riu's have always been very well maintained and as much of the seaweed/debris picked up as possible. Every where you look in the lobby and restaurants there are always people cleaning and working hard. They are so nice. OH - lastly - they have super amazing views from the hotel rooms however if you are put in a room on the 13th floor you pretty much just have a sky view due to a massive ledge! Other minor cons: Elevators were always busy with some wait times, floors in hotel room were often slightly damp/slippery which I've heard is not surprising in Cancun. Overall we would DEFINITELY recommend this resort to ANYONE. Fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The specialty restaurants require shoes (no sandals) and reservations, they have told us long pants as well and no tank tops for men (women get away with a lot more, but no swimsuits, etc for them) but my husband got away in khaki shorts once - but don't chance it just bring pants! They will only allow you to make reservations 2 days ahead of time and we got down there right when they opened and never had many more times to choose from then 6:30pm or 8:30pm so be prepared!

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert C.
Family
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Christmas getaway

First, if you are traveling to Mexico for a great room, choose a new destination without beautiful beaches and warm weather. The rooms are fine - updated and modern and very clean, but not big and luxurious. This location is excellent with beaches as eclectic as the sunbathers you'll find on them - from picturesque and rocky to smooth and silky, the wide expanse of beach available within the resort "walls" is very fulfilling. This was a family trip and the resort, while not specifically family oriented, does a nice job of being very kid friendly by delivering daytime activities and nightly kid shows just before "bedtime". We had a few issues that were frustrating, but despite them, I cannot leave anything less than high marks for the resort. The food was good and the drinks plenty. If you're a cocktail lover, you will love the in room bar and the wide range of drinks at the ample bars. If youre a beer lover, well, just deal with the fact you will drink one brand of Mexican lager for a week. The three pools range from quiet cove to party central so if you want to kick back with grandma or party with Pedro, you're covered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty do within walking distance, but a short bus ride to huge shopping complex or downtown shops also available.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlywed2013
Couples
Michigan
Nov 26, 2014

Great Honeymoon Spot

My husband and I took our honeymoon here last December. Great location, wonderful staff and very clean. We had to go to another resort for an activity we booked and found out just how lucky we had it with our staff. The staff were not helpful in guiding us to where we needed to go and didn't speak English at all. The Riu Cancun is extremely accomadating with their guests. The nicest people we met while we were there. Our only complaint was that the food left something to be desired. We ate "as needed" at the resort, but decided by the 3rd and 4th day to venture out for dinner. Overall, this was not enough to sour our wonderful stay here. Free food and drink - what can you expect? Everything else was fantastic! I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The bus is cheap, but the driver will not know where you need to stop and they'll pretend to do so to get you on. We went several miles out of the way because we asked to be dropped in a certain location, he said yes, and then kicked us off 10 miles down the road! We had to catch a cab in order to make our reservations. SPEND THE EXTRA CASH FOR THE CABS! They're fast, friendly, and can assist you in locating places and attractions. The bus drivers don't care and really will hussle you. P.S. Everyone means it when they say don't stray down any allies! We did by accident and almost got mugged. Otherwise, Cancun is awesome!

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
experenced traveler
Friends
Germantown, NY
Nov 14, 2014

Rocky beach but excellent location; close to everything, BUT,...

Small rocky beach but water very enjoyable and calm. The hotel staff very attentive to your every need; food very good and great variety, however, water down drinks of lower quality. If asked, they'll give you top-shelf liquors or better wines. The only major problem was the smell in the room which was nauseating and couldn't be aired out. They checked everywhere, including AC ducts but couldn't find the source of it. They sprayed the ducts with disinfectant which caused a worse smell trying to mask the original one. Spoke with other guests and some had similar problem. I didn't use the AC and kept the window open for fresh air which I didn't mind as it wasn't too hot. The room floors were a little "sticky" and could be better cleaned. The fridge wasn't very clean and it was leaning forward for lack of support "feet" and could fall if not opened carefully. They said it would be replaced but never did it. So, I didn't use it, except for two bottles of water and one beer. Loved Cancun but next time will try a different hotel. Regarding the tours offered at the hotel concierge, I was sold a very expensive one that didn't suit my style, and later found better, less expensive ones at the mall right across the street, with two different tourism agencies. I've certainly learned from my first experience in Cancun and will be better prepared in the future. For comparison, I had no similar problems in my past trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

After shopping at the mall, found similar items much cheaper for sale right at the beach, like bags, silver jewelry, hats, wraps, etc.

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Parthivhiral
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 6, 2014

Riu Cancun worst service

One of the worst service I have ever got in the life. They never change blankets. Extremely terrible service. Half of the Elevators weren't working especially during morning rush time. I was about to miss my shuttle to airport and also my flight. When I complained about the same, the staff was laughing at me and shouted at me. Totally opposite to what should have happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Xcaret and Xplore

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
knicknet
Family
new york
Oct 22, 2014

vaca

My stay was great but there were a couples of things that could be improved as follows No clock in the room No real juice (seemed powdered) Room service kept rearranging the room from our liking by removing the blankets and pushing the beds together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
portugalo
Couples
massachusetts
Oct 6, 2014

great place

food at restaurants was just ok but facility was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauraaaaa
Couples
Austin, Texas
Oct 3, 2014

Enjoyable Time

It was a nice vacation, beautiful beach, and the hotel was nice. The food was good, but we were expecting a little more out of the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lauraaaaa
Friends
Austin, Texas
Oct 1, 2014

Upgraded for Free!

When we went to check into the Riu Cancun, they upgraded us to the newest Riu Hotel, Palace Peninsula. So the only thing I can say about the Riu Cancun is that the location was really GREAT and about the only thing we were sad about when we were upgraded. It is right near all the touristy things-- Coco Bongo, Señor Frogs, etc. The beach was large and the water in Cancun was absolutely beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top